Advice for conducting an interview

I have put myself in the unprecedented position of being able to interview at least one someone about videogames a couple weeks from now.

I've never done that before.

But I know some people here have.

I wanted to make kind of an open ended thread soliciting any basic advice about how to conduct an interview for journalistic purposes. The closest thing I've done to it is administer training or conduct qualification boards. I am a comfortable (enough) public speaker but since this is the first time attempting this I figured I would ask. But its hard to even know what the right questions are.

Good questions vs bad/boring questions? When to not get in the way of someone vs when to ask follow up question? Perhaps theres an embarrassing mistake you made that you'd like to help me avoid? Preparing Q's in advance vs spontaneity? Any tips of things you've noticed that have worked well for you?

I'm trying not to overthink it (I'm sure it will all be fine and casual) , but thought it could be interesting conversation subject.

Even if you're like me and have little experience in this arena I'd still be interested in your thoughts as a observer. Would like to hear if maybe you have any particularly favorite (or least favorite!) interviews or questions or something.

Speaking from the point of view of a person who‘s never interviewed someone, but has been interviewed a couple of times–it’s best when the questions themselves provide insight into the interviewee‘s work and make them think about it in new ways. So basically, know your shit and have your own thoughts about it. If they’ve done other interviews read them so you know what they've already been asked.

Don‘t over study for an interview. It’s not a book report and your subject won‘t exactly be impressed if you just learned their entire Wikipedia page, or read every interview they’ve ever done and created follow-up questions from them.