Ep. 186 - Dirtbag Strikes Back, with Alex Jaffe and Mathew Kumar

### Ep. 186 - Dirtbag Strikes Back, with Alex Jaffe and Mathew Kumar

With our [regular host](https://twitter.com/alexjaffe) recovering from vaccination, Riot Games’ [Alex Jaffe](https://twitter.com/blinkity) steps in along with Insert Credit correspondent [Mathew Kumar](https://twitter.com/mathewkumar) to dig into our Dirtbag of Patreon subscriber submitted questions.

_(Content warning: conversation takes a pretty morbid turn in question 5. Also it's a Mathew Kumar episode, so there is some swearing.)_

https://youtu.be/CT081aVZ7fA

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. What should Brandon do with all these copies of TV Sports Football and Hockey? (06:37)
  • 2. TheFragranceOfDarkCoffee asks: Whats the best heist in video games? (12:17)
  • 3. Yeso asks: What personal problem in your life would make a good Yakuza sidequest? (17:57)
  • 4. Shun asks: Design a Kanye West-focused Nintendo game (23:53)
  • 5. Ravioli asks: What video game attack move would you want to be killed by? (28:23)
  • 6. Billy asks: Name two video games each in ten seconds each, then rank those games (34:29)
  • 7. Kyle in Montreal asks: if the main character of a game were to become the director of a sequel to that game, what would it be like? (40:14)
  • 8. Skebump asks: What would a new Panzer Dragoon game look like in 2021? (44:34)
  • 9. Shin asks: What is the most engaging video game credit sequence? (49:13)
  • 10. Sam B asks: Who is the Marcel Proust of video games? (53:49)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND**: Emptying the Dirtbag (54:36)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Mario Monsters, a project that DOES feature our usual host Alex Jaffe](http://mariomonsters.com/)
  • - [Project L](https://leagueoflegends.fandom.com/wiki/Untitled_fighting_game)
  • - [Friend of the show Patrick Miller](https://twitter.com/pattheflip)
  • - [Alphabear](https://www.mobygames.com/game/alphabear)
  • - [Road Not Taken](https://www.mobygames.com/game/road-not-taken)
  • - [Steambirds Alliance](https://www.mobygames.com/game/steambirds-alliance)
  • - [Bushido Bear](https://www.mobygames.com/game/bushido-bear)
  • - Alex Jaffe's GDC talk, [Cursed Problems in Game Design](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8uE6-vIi1rQ)
  • - [TV Sports: Football](https://www.mobygames.com/game/tv-sports-football)
  • - [TV Sports: Hockey](https://www.mobygames.com/game/tv-sports-hockey)
  • - [Cody](https://www.twitch.tv/dskoopa) at [Pink Gorilla](https://pinkgorillagames.com/)
  • - [22cans](http://22cans.com/)
  • - [96 Tears by ? and the Mysterians](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bOCOMYGIfUQ)
  • - [Corpse Killer](https://www.mobygames.com/game/corpse-killer)
  • - [Maniac Mansion](https://www.mobygames.com/game/maniac-mansion)
  • - [Monaco: Whats Yours Is Mine](https://www.mobygames.com/game/monaco-whats-yours-is-mine)
  • - [Shots by LMFAO ft. Lil John](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XNtTEibFvlQ)
  • - [Due Process](https://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/due-process)
  • - [Frozen Synapse](https://www.mobygames.com/game/frozen-synapse)
  • - [Grand Theft Auto Online](https://www.mobygames.com/game/grand-theft-auto-v-premium-online-edition)
  • - [Tender](https://monsterheart.itch.io/tender)
  • - [Major Minor's Majestic March](https://www.mobygames.com/game/wii/major-minors-majestic-march)
  • - [Blazing Lasers](https://www.mobygames.com/game/blazing-lazers)
  • - [Ninja Spirit](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ninja-spirit)
  • - **THE TOP SIX GAMES OF QUESTION 6**:
    || - [Super Mario Bros.](https://www.mobygames.com/game/super-mario-bros)||
    || - [Sensible World of Soccer](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sensible-world-of-soccer)||
    || - [Mega Man 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/mega-man-2)||
    || - [Earth Defense Force 2017](https://www.mobygames.com/game/earth-defense-force-2017)||
    || - [Android Assault](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sega-cd/android-assault-the-revenge-of-bari-arm)||
    || - [Cuthbert Goes Walkabout](https://www.mobygames.com/game/cuthbert-goes-walkabout)||
  • - [Frank's Cuthbert tweet and game covers](https://twitter.com/frankcifaldi/status/1395169519677607936?s=20)||
  • - [WarioWare series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/warioware-series)
  • - [Antstream](https://www.antstream.com/)
  • - [Panzer Dragoon: Remake](https://www.mobygames.com/game/panzer-dragoon-remake)
  • - [Moebius](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jean_Giraud)
  • - [The Incal](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Incal)
  • - [Sable](https://www.shed-works.co.uk/)
  • - [Space Harrier](https://www.mobygames.com/game/space-harrier)
  • - [Katamari Damacy ending credits](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bhMvP2VeH3c)
  • - [Super Monkey Ball ending credits](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aI5w0RO2Dq0)
  • - [Metal Slug ending credits](https://youtu.be/ukBzGrsA1Ds?t=56)
  • - [The Mitchells vs. The Machines](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt7979580/) (2021)
  • - [What Remains of Edith Finch](https://www.mobygames.com/game/what-remains-of-edith-finch)
  • - [Jonathan Blow's jar of pee](https://www.pcgamer.com/you-decide-is-this-bottle-of-jonathan-blows-pee-real/) (warning: photo of jar of jonathan blow pee)
  • - *Esper Note: the correct answer to question 9 is NieR: Automata. No I'm not going to link it, go beat NieR: Automata.*
  • - [Marcel Proust](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marcel_Proust)
  • - [David Cage](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Cage)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Mathew:** Check out [decolonizepalestine.com](https://decolonizepalestine.com/), [BDS](https://bdsmovement.net/), donate to [Palestine Children's Relief Fund](https://www.pcrf.net/)
    **Brandon:** [itch.io Solidarity Bundle for Palestine](https://www.thegamer.com/itch-io-solidarity-bundle-for-palestine-700-games/)

    Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/insert-credit-show/id1509363651), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    Shoutout to Alex Jaffe for being the second best Alex Jaffe (hey, it's a high bar!).

    Shoutout to Mathew for the Alan Partridge reference when talking about Sensible World of Soccer. Just gonna leave this here because I think it's something everyone can appreciate regardless of their knowledge of/interest in football:
    https://youtu.be/Xhlx43rTs2Q

    Also shoutout to everyone keeping it real in the recommendations. Free Palestine

    ‘Walkabout’ is a coloniser term for an Aboriginal ritual that is often used derisively. You'd be better-off not using it in this context.

    Mathew’s answer to #3 had me imagining a version of Blast Corps that involved clearing a path for his brisk jog—just Kiryu straight up leveling buildings with a dump truck

    [“Ep. 186 - Alex Gone Walkabout, with Alex Jaffe and Mathew Kumar”,“Ep. 186 - Dirtbag Strikes Back, with Alex Jaffe and Mathew Kumar”]

    @Blrb#31315 AH! We did not know this, perhaps obviously. We will:


  • - change the episode title
  • - change the youtube title
  • - do some research
  • - apologize in the next episode!
  • Definitely unaware of this being a colonizer word in origin, and it looks like in the title we wound up using it in the derisive way. thank you for pointing it out!

    nobody mentioned the best heist game: Quadrilateral Cowboy. also gets a lifetime achievement award for best environmental storytelling

    I didn't know this was an offensive term. It makes the already-dreadful UK chain of aussie-themed sports bars of the same name even worse.

    Always like the Mathew Kumar episodes. He probably doesn't remember this but way back in the 1up.com days, we both ended up on a drunken GDC evening podcast where everyone was shouting and it was the most hated podcast in the history of 1up Yours.

    What part of Scotland is Mathew Kumar originally from? I‘m getting maybe somewhere west-ish but I could be way off. He is a source of much mental readjustment every time he’s on due to his ‘here’ accent among all the usual ‘there’ accents.

    *Jonathan Blow’s jar of pee

    *Marcel Proust

    *David Cage


    @goonbag#31311 is this REALLY not Steve Coogan?

    @Blrb#31315 thank you for educating us

    @dylanfills#31344 That's Steve Coogan.

    @dylanfills#31344 Alan Partridge is his most famous character!

    Any excuse to post more Partridge...
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m4T_4uLQ7e0

    @goonbag#31350 https://youtu.be/xbvY8iFtOJc

    relatable moments in cinema

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jxKz6nipEJc

    @christoffing#31351 Super reminiscent of an old Norm Macdonald bit.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wAMgT8LuZaw

    Johnathan Blow Piss Bag is my safe phrase