Ep. 192 - July 4 Best British Games Spectacular w/ Bennett Foddy & Mathew Kumar

### Ep. 192 - Star Spangled 4th of July Best British Games of All Time, with Bennett Foddy and Mathew Kumar

Happy Canada Day! To celebrate, Brandon and Frank (American) along with writer, designer and Insert Credit regular [Mathew Kumar](https://twitter.com/mathewkumar) (Scottish) and legendary game designer [Bennett Foddy](https://twitter.com/bfod) (Australian) determine the greatest British video games of all time.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bA5C9IrMp3Y

### THE INSERT CREDIT TOP 20 BEST BRITISH GAMES:

  • 1. ||TxK||
  • 2. ||Elite||
  • 3. ||Lemmings||
  • 4. ||Batman: Arkham Knight||
  • 5. ||Head Over Heels||
  • 6. ||Grand Theft Auto IV||
  • 7. ||Wipeout 2097||
  • 8. ||Sensible World of Soccer||
  • 9. ||Damocles||
  • 10. ||Burnout Paradise||
  • 11. ||The Chaos Engine||
  • 12. ||Deus Ex Machina||
  • 13. ||Wizkid: The Story of Wizball II||
  • 14. ||Populous||
  • 15. ||Skool Daze||
  • 16. ||Alien: Resurrection||
  • 17. ||Pipe Mania!!||
  • 18. ||Dizzy: Prince of the Yolkfolk||
  • 19. ||Sonic R||
  • 20. ||Where Time Stood Still||
  • **The List, in order of discussion**:

  • - Sonic R (05:51)
  • - Lemmings (09:02)
  • - Pipe Mania!! (12:03)
  • - Burnout Paradise (15:20)
  • - Alien Resurrection (17:29)
  • - Elite (21:27)
  • - Damocles (25:34)
  • - Where Time Stood Still (29:46)
  • - TxK (33:40)
  • - Skool Daze (37:56)
  • - Wizkid (42:20)
  • - Batman: Arkham Knight (45:52)
  • - The Chaos Engine (50:11)
  • - Head Over Heels (54:12)
  • - Populus (58:35)
  • - Grand Theft Auto IV (01:02:35)
  • - WipEout 2097 (01:06:55)
  • - Sensible World of Soccer (01:10:32)
  • - Deus Ex Machina (01:16:27)
  • - Dizzy: Prince of the Yolkfolk (01:20:11)
  • **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Charity shops](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charity_shop)
  • - [Sonic R](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sonic-r)
  • - [Lemmings](https://www.mobygames.com/game/lemmings)
  • - [Benefactor](https://www.mobygames.com/game/benefactor)
  • - [Troddlers](https://www.mobygames.com/game/troddlers)
  • - [GameCenter CX](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GameCenter_CX)
  • - [Pipe Mania!!](https://www.mobygames.com/game/pipe-dream)
  • - [Frisky Tom](https://www.mobygames.com/game/frisky-tom)
  • - [Burnout Paradise](https://www.mobygames.com/game/burnout-paradise)
  • - [Alien: Resurrection](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playstation/alien-resurrection)
  • - [Alien: Resurrection (1997)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0118583/)
  • - [Alien: Isolation](https://www.mobygames.com/game/alien-isolation)
  • - [The making of Alien Resurrection PSOne](https://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2018-09-09-the-making-of-alien-resurrection-for-psone)
  • - [Elite](https://www.mobygames.com/game/elite)
  • - [Elite: Dangerous](https://www.mobygames.com/game/elite-dangerous)
  • - [Frontier: Elite II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/frontier-elite-ii)
  • - [Zarch](https://www.mobygames.com/game/virus__)
  • - [Damocles](https://www.mobygames.com/game/damocles-mercenary-ii)
  • - [Outer Wilds](https://www.mobygames.com/game/outer-wilds)
  • - [Midwinter](https://www.mobygames.com/game/midwinter)
  • - [Lords of Midnight](https://www.mobygames.com/game/lords-of-midnight_)
  • - [Where Time Stood Still](https://www.mobygames.com/game/where-time-stood-still)
  • - [Hardcore Gaming 101 on Where Time Stood Still](http://www.hardcoregaming101.net/where-time-stood-still/)
  • - [Frankie Goes to Hollywood](https://www.mobygames.com/game/frankie-goes-to-hollywood)
  • - [The Great Escape](https://www.mobygames.com/game/great-escape)
  • - [TxK](https://www.mobygames.com/game/txk)
  • - [Jeff Minter](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jeff_Minter)
  • - [Skool Daze](https://www.mobygames.com/game/skool-daze)
  • - [Bully](https://www.mobygames.com/game/bully)
  • - [Grange Hill](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grange_Hill)
  • - [Wizkid: The Story of Wizball II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/amiga/wizkid-the-story-of-wizball-ii)
  • - [Batman: Arkham Knight](https://www.mobygames.com/game/batman-arkham-knight)
  • - [Renegade](https://www.mobygames.com/game/renegade)
  • - [Batman: Arkham Asylum](https://www.mobygames.com/game/batman-arkham-asylum)
  • - [The Chaos Engine](https://www.mobygames.com/game/soldiers-of-fortune)
  • - [Speedball 2: Brutal Deluxe](https://www.mobygames.com/game/speedball-2-brutal-deluxe)
  • - [Gods](https://www.mobygames.com/game/gods)
  • - [Magic Pockets](https://www.mobygames.com/game/magic-pockets)
  • - [Head Over Heels](https://www.mobygames.com/game/head-over-heels)
  • - [Knight Lore](https://www.mobygames.com/game/knight-lore)
  • - [Light Crusader](https://www.mobygames.com/game/light-crusader)
  • - [Syndicate](https://www.mobygames.com/game/syndicate)
  • - [Populous](https://www.mobygames.com/game/populous)
  • - [Magic Carpet](https://www.mobygames.com/game/magic-carpet)
  • - [WipEout 2097](https://www.mobygames.com/game/wipeout-xl)
  • - [Sensible World of Soccer](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sensible-world-of-soccer)
  • - [Kick Off](https://www.mobygames.com/game/kick-off)
  • - [Deus Ex Machina](https://www.mobygames.com/game/deus-ex-machina)
  • - [The Graveyard](https://www.mobygames.com/game/graveyard)
  • - [Dizzy: Prince of the Yolkfolk](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dizzy-prince-of-the-yolkfolk)
  • - [Wonderland Dizzy](https://www.mobygames.com/game/wonderland-dizzy)
  • - [Fantasy World Dizzy](https://www.mobygames.com/game/fantasy-world-dizzy)
  • - [Treasure Island Dizzy](https://www.mobygames.com/game/treasure-island-dizzy)
  • Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/insert-credit-show/id1509363651), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    glad you guys actually did this episode! also loling a bit at the complete lack of Rare (or i guess Timesplitters) games in there.

    @“ellaguro”#p36559 I really thought someone would mention goldeneye at least! But it wasn't gonna be meeee

    this episode was enough to make me jump back into batman arkham knight. i bounced off asylum for no real reason, but Knight came free with my ps4 and I couldn’t quickly afford much else, so I 100%ed that game. it’s still pretty gorgeous!! the gliding is not as fun as gliding is now in games, but the combat is still rock solid and it’s a fun Batman story.

    also: apologies for some crackly weirdness in some of bennett’s audio. tried to work around it where I could.

    the youtube version this week updates in real time if you want to watch along with things, I had fun making that!!

    Oi. Wots all this then?

    I can‘t ever think of Burnout as British because the early games in particular were shameless clones of Konami’s Thrill Drive.

    RE: Lemmings and cross-media, the PS Lemmings platformer Adventures of Lomax was supposed to be a part of a big cross-media initiative that would've included a cartoon, merchandise, etc but the game was the only thing that made it to market. (It was also made by the same team as, and very derivative of, the MD/MCD game Misadventures of Flink, which was helmed by Henk Nieborg, artist on Brandon's favourite homebrew MD game Xeno Crisis.)

    fun episode, and it felt sincere though the end list still feels a bit like damning with faint praise to me (make of that what you will). the total rare blackout was funny, though i would‘ve enjoyed even just a few lines of dialogue about why their oeuvre doesn’t make for particularly good (or british-good) games. i know it‘s a time-honored IC tradition to dismiss the old DKC games though i do think that’s meting out a pretty severe punishment for its slightly ropey physics and subpar visual messaging. those games may have been overrated for a time (perhaps still are?) but they were formative experiences for the industry, had incredible soundtracks and innovative world maps, and certainly did push the limits of the hardware in that same way frank identified as a definitively british inclination. certainly their sense of humor was pretty dang britty.

    @“coughsoda”#p36577 I bet if frank had remembered donkey kong country was British he would've voted it in…

    Jet-Pac? An actual arcade quality game on the ZX Spectrum in 1983 and the beginning of Ultimate/Rare…

    The sequel Lunar Jetman is ludicrously hard and not worth anyone’s time.

    terrific episode! I would have put x com in place of sonic r, but then again I'm not an expert on British games.

    @“Punzai”#p36582 Lunar Jetman is fun to poke around on in the Rare Replay collection since it has a rewind feature. It took me a long time to really get that game, but after a bunch of rewinding I appreciate it.

    I've been playing that Rare collection a lot lately, and they've done some interesting stuff over the years.

    I’d like to chip in and say that I totally agree with Bennet regarding Gods. (I wonder if that is a particularly Australian viewpoint?)

    It is a shame nobody mentioned Jet Set Willy. We must perform a quirkafleeg!

    @“TheFragranceOfDarkCoffee”#p36610 Knight Lore blew… my… brain open ! A genuinely stunning moment. Imagine playing spectrum games and then taking that home and loading it up, not knowing what it would look like? In my head it was going to be another Sabre Wulf style game… Their boxes were so enigmatic. No screenshots on them or any real descriptions.

    [upl-image-preview url=//i.imgur.com/gxMNDNf.jpeg]


    Re: the lack of Rare, as I noted on the show I never really rated any of the Rare “filmation” games probably because I played them after playing Head over Heels. I had Blast Corps on my list, though, and Donkey Kong: Diddy's Kong Quest is up there too.

    If we were talking Japanese/UK collabs too there's of course also Argonaut and Star Fox, which feels incredibly British to me--more in the lineage of Elite through Argonaut's own Starglider than anything Nintendo was doing to that point.

    And of course, @"yeso"#p36589: x-com should absolutely be on the list. Bit of a crime to not have a Gollop game on the list.

    @"rejj"#p36631 I considered putting Maniac Miner on my list, because it's an extremely solid, very specific sort of hard platformer that's accessible by virtue of its single screen challenges. Jet Set Willy honestly isn't really very playable by comparison. There's some argument to be made for Technician Ted being the better game I'd say (but I don't like it very much either.)

    another quick production note: looks like the video version has a rendering error at 58:00 that lasts for about a minute and ceases audio. i’ll get that fixed tonight!!

    I loved this episode! It had a much higher ratio of games I‘ve actually played than usual. When Brandon mentioned Sheffield (a cool city I’ve spent some time in) I was curious if any of the games mentioned were developed there. I think OutRun 2006: Coast 2 Coast was. I came across this post about the history of Sheffield game development companies and there's way more than I thought. A lot of video game Brands in Sheffield.

    I'm basic cause Jetpac would be my number 1

    This was a great episode! I would have put forward:

  • * Split/Second
  • * Discworld Noir
  • * Enslaved: Odyssey to the West
  • * Eyetoy
  • @“Dunkr”#p36647 Yeah, I think Sumo is based in Sheffield still, so outrun would be there!

    I didn't realize there were so many out there though, and it seems like Gremlin is really the origin point of most of these larger studios, one way or another. Some day it'd be cool to do a sheffield studio tour!