Ep. 207 - Specdracular 2021, with Ian Ferguson

### Ep. 207 - Specdracular 2021, with Ian Ferguson

Video game documentarian and podcaster [Ian Ferguson](https://twitter.com/pxlsicle) joins the panel to assist in the slaying of that vile creature that haunts this very night, Gamer Dracula. Original music by Kurt Feldman. Mashtlevania by Max Hully.

Video version (with castle map updated in real time) premiering at 6:00 PM PST:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=80al8NlpYEo

**Gamer Dracula's Castle**:

  • 1. What’s the best way to orient a video game player in a space and provide direction? (02:46)
  • 2. What’s the worst NPC in a video game? (07:49)
  • 3. How do you create good interior design for locations in video games? (13:10)
  • 4. What are the worst attempted comebacks in video games? (18:29)
  • 5. Improv Zone: Monster Mash (23:50)
  • 6. Dirtbag Triple Dive - Dusty: DeLorean of Video Games? Spencer: Do you watch the credits? MoxBagel: Shareware boom today? (28:38)
  • 7. Which two unrelated video games would you Frankenstein together? (34:25)
  • 8. How do video games evoke horror in a way other media cannot? (39:24)
  • 9. What competitive game could you beat Death at? (44:32)
  • 10. What are the greatest boss battles in video games? (48:00)
  • **FRIGHTENING ROUND**: 13 Spooky Game Names (53:26)

    Recommendations and Outro (57:35)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Hirokazu Yasuhara](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hirokazu_Yasuhara)
  • - [Ninja Gaiden Black](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ninja-gaiden-black)
  • - [Kim Swift](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kim_Swift)
  • - [Quantum Conundrum](https://www.mobygames.com/game/quantum-conundrum)
  • - [Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction](https://www.mobygames.com/game/tom-clancys-splinter-cell-conviction_)
  • - [Killer7](https://www.mobygames.com/game/killer7)
  • - [D](https://www.mobygames.com/game/d)
  • - [Beedle](https://zelda.fandom.com/wiki/Beedle)
  • - [Exile](https://www.mobygames.com/game/exile_)
  • - [Disaster Report 4: Summer Memories](https://www.mobygames.com/game/disaster-report-4-summer-memories)
  • - [NieR](https://www.mobygames.com/game/nier)
  • - [Yakuza 3](https://www.mobygames.com/game/yakuza-3)
  • - [Highlander: The Last of the MacLeods](https://www.mobygames.com/game/jaguar/highlander-the-last-of-the-macleods)
  • - [Grandia](https://www.mobygames.com/game/grandia)
  • - [Demolition Man](https://www.mobygames.com/game/demolition-man)
  • - [Whiplash](https://www.mobygames.com/game/whiplash-)
  • - [Shaq Fu: A Legend Reborn](https://www.mobygames.com/game/shaq-fu-a-legend-reborn)
  • - [Duke Nukem Forever](https://www.mobygames.com/game/duke-nukem-forever)
  • - [NBA Playgrounds](https://www.mobygames.com/game/nba-playgrounds)
  • - [Bubsy](https://bubsy.fandom.com/wiki/Bubsy_(character))
  • - [Ulililia](https://www.patreon.com/ulillillia)
  • - [Strider (The Metroidvania one)](https://www.mobygames.com/game/strider__)
  • - [Strider 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/strider-2)
  • - [Final Fight: "Streetwise"](https://www.mobygames.com/game/final-fight-streetwise)
  • - [Final Fight Revenge](https://www.mobygames.com/game/final-fight-revenge)
  • - [Rygar: The Legendary Adventure](https://www.mobygames.com/game/rygar-the-legendary-adventure)
  • - [Shinobi (the PS2 one)](https://www.mobygames.com/game/shinobi-)
  • - [Golden Axe: Beast Rider](https://www.mobygames.com/game/golden-axe-beast-rider)
  • - [Shadowrun (the 2007 one)](https://www.mobygames.com/game/shadowrun___)
  • - [Valis games](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/valis-games)
  • - [Power Glove](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_Glove)
  • - [Arkham City](https://www.mobygames.com/game/batman-arkham-city)
  • - [Get in the Car, Loser!](https://www.mobygames.com/game/get-in-the-car-loser)
  • - [A Short Hike](https://www.mobygames.com/game/a-short-hike)
  • - [Sam & Max: Hit the Road](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sam-max-hit-the-road)
  • - [DooM (the 2016 one)](https://www.mobygames.com/game/doom___)
  • - [DooM Eternal](https://www.mobygames.com/game/doom-eternal)
  • - [Final Lap Twin](https://www.mobygames.com/game/turbo-grafx/final-lap-twin)
  • - [World Court Tennis](https://www.mobygames.com/game/turbo-grafx/world-court-tennis)
  • - [Yakuza 7: Like A Dragon](https://www.mobygames.com/game/yakuza-like-a-dragon)
  • - [Racing Lagoon](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playstation/racing-lagoon)
  • - [Sigma Star Saga](https://www.mobygames.com/game/gameboy-advance/sigma-star-saga)
  • - [Undertale](https://www.mobygames.com/game/undertale)
  • - [Cooking Mama](https://www.mobygames.com/game/cooking-mama)
  • - [Miltank](https://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wiki/Miltank_(Pok%C3%A9mon))
  • - [Stardew Valley](https://www.mobygames.com/game/stardew-valley)
  • - [Oddworld series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/oddworld-series)
  • - [Crossed Swords](https://www.mobygames.com/game/crossed-swords)
  • - [Sonic Adventure](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sonic-adventure)
  • - [Resident Evil 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/resident-evil-2__)
  • - [Silent Hill 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ps2/silent-hill-2)
  • - [Silent Hill 3](https://www.mobygames.com/game/silent-hill-3)
  • - [Crypt of Medea](https://www.mobygames.com/game/apple2/crypt-of-medea)
  • - [Alien Vs Predator](https://www.mobygames.com/game/jaguar/alien-vs-predator)
  • - [Metal Gear Solid](https://www.mobygames.com/game/metal-gear-solid__)
  • - [WarioWare](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/warioware-series)
  • - [Fire Pro Wrestling](https://www.mobygames.com/game/fire-pro-wrestling-world)
  • - [The World Famous Vincent](https://twitter.com/vincentdiamante)
  • - [Puyo Puyo](https://www.mobygames.com/game/puyo-puyo)
  • - [Asuka 120%](https://www.mobygames.com/game/asuka-120-final-burning-fest)
  • - [Gunsport](https://www.mobygames.com/game/stadia/gunsport)
  • - [Builder's Block, AKA Landmaker](https://www.mobygames.com/game/builders-block)
  • - [Elite Beat Agents](https://www.mobygames.com/game/nintendo-ds/elite-beat-agents)
  • - [Leigh Alexander](https://leighalexander.net/)
  • - [The End](https://metalgear.fandom.com/wiki/The_End)
  • - [Psycho Mantis](https://metalgear.fandom.com/wiki/Psycho_Mantis)
  • - [Splatoon](https://www.mobygames.com/game/wii-u/splatoon)
  • - [Zelda II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/zelda-ii-the-adventure-of-link)
  • - [NieR: Automata](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/nier-automata)
  • - [Rayxanber III](https://www.mobygames.com/game/turbografx-cd/rayxanber-iii)
  • - [R-Type](https://www.mobygames.com/game/r-type)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Brandon:** [The Void (2016)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt4255304/), [Demon Wind (1990)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0099401/), [Death Spa (1988)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0099384/), [Arhoolie Records 40th Anniversary Collection](https://www.discogs.com/release/5312873-Various-Arhoolie-Records-40th-Anniversary-Collection-1960-2000)
    **Frank**: Watch kids get excited when picking out pumpkins from a pumpkin patch, buy some Halloween stuff for your house
    **Ian**: [Empire of Ants by Susan Foitzik and Olaf Fritsche](https://www.amazon.com/Superpowers-Six-Legs-Hidden-Lives/dp/1615197125), [We Have Always Lived in the Castle, by Shirley Jackson](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/We_Have_Always_Lived_in_the_Castle), [Extra Napkins](https://extranapkins.libsyn.com/), [Completely Unnecessary Podcast](https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/completely-unnecessary-podcast/id705355841), [Mon Amour](https://www.mobygames.com/game/mon-amour)

    Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/insert-credit-show/id1509363651), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    Just want to put it out there that I was going to put in a Violence Island suggestion of a full tournament bracket of 8 different versions of the big man Count Vlad Dracula, but I stopped after finding out that at least 4 of them if not more would really suck at fighting, and that's too many to be a fun premise for a Violence Island segment

    Looking at the Youtube preview there I realize, horrified, that for the past twelve years I have somehow mistaken the white space above Dracula's eyes for his eyes

    [upl-image-preview url=//i.imgur.com/ac1PTk1.jpeg]

    I guess my visual cortex thought they were doing a comic book super hero eyes-under-a-mask thing

    EDIT I figured it out:

    [upl-image-preview url=//i.imgur.com/lto1zqJ.png]

    his eyes are each a single red pixel in-game and I'M ||kind of|| COLORBLIND

    As soon as I saw the words “worst NPC in a video game” my mind went immediately for this character in Deus Ex: Human Revolution

    https://youtu.be/He09JaBVZdE

    >

    @“Gaagaagiins”#p46449 would really suck at fighting

    nice one

    >

    @“kory”#p46456 Gaagaagiins would really suck at fighting


    >
    >

    nice one

    [upl-image-preview url=//i.imgur.com/jR6Mk1Z.jpeg]

    in myself...............

    Yeahh Frank talking about Kevin Gifford‘s fave games: Whiplash. (He’d be a good guest…)

    answer for “worst NPC”

    [upl-image-preview url=//i.imgur.com/QKlLTwg.png]


    shouldn't have let them worm out of the improv zone just because it was impossible and made no sense

    @"GigaSlime"#p46455 I thought I was having an aneurysm when I played this part

    RE: Shadowrun for the 360. I worked at a certain AAA FPS where, when prototyping new multiplayer modes, someone had gathered like 8 copies and we had multiple intense playtests where we analyzed the game. It actually has really good multi-class fps action. It also runs kind of slow, so you have to be more methotical. I remember liking it

    Disappointing pun performance.

    @“billy”#p46475 I could only think of you during that entire debacle…

    edit: I can’t be too harsh, it did bless us with “Boorok Boo,” which had me LLOLing (literally laughing out loud), a fact that was certainly noticed by adjacent motorists. Also, the best I could come up with in the moment was “Ghoul Boarders,” so I appreciate the struggle.

    lol yeah I immediately thought of forum user billy as well. Who was it that came up with “Yoshi's Eye-Wound” a while back?

    @“Ankh-ef-en-yeso”#p46486 my masterpiece.

    @“GigaSlime”#p46455 oh god i remember playing this game (which btw has weird/bad writing and characterization throughout the game in general) and coming upon this specific character and being like “oh dear god who on earth thought this was a good idea???” and i guess the answer was French Canadians did.

    Wow, I didn‘t play much deus ex human revolution - they really made some choices with this, I see. I couldn’t make it through the whole video!

    Need for Bleed: Ghost Haunted

    @“BluntForceMama”#p46505 very good

    yeah, I couldn't think of even the names of games, that was my problem! If I hadn't packed all my games away...

    @“BluntForceMama”#p46505 Gonna pitch an Assassins Creed Valhalla DLC to Ubisoft

    Mead for Swede: Boast Vaunted