Ep. 214 - The Ocarina of Time of Anything

### Ep. 214 - The Ocarina of Time of Anything

In which our heroes discuss a game you can play right now that is secretly from 2023, 100 Jeff Minters, and cheap tricks and old names. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=24tHxrkTO5A

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. [Brandon Sheffield](https://twitter.com/necrosofty) asks: What was the first time a parent of your praised a video game unprompted? (02:01)
  • 2. Has Dark Souls replaced Ocarina of Time as The Greatest Game of All Time? (07:59)
  • 3. If you could clone one person 100 times to make an entire game development team, who would it be? (15:03)
  • 4. In light of his passing, what can you tell us about NES and SNES lead architect Masayuki Uemura? (20:45)
  • 5. Is Halo cool? (26:06)
  • 6. Dirtbag Nick asks: What are the best times a game has broken its own rules? (31:55)
  • 7. You wanna talk about the Game Awards? (37:53)
  • 8. Are there really any video games that you couldn’t make today? (45:18)
  • 9. Previously on Insert Credit: What is the real life equivalent of playing a Far Cry game? (50:21)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND**: Name Design – JAV Titles (56:22)

    Recommendations and Outro (01:02:54)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Yars' Revenge](https://www.mobygames.com/game/yars-revenge)
  • - [Vic Viper](https://gradius.fandom.com/wiki/Vic_Viper)
  • - [Blaster Master](https://www.mobygames.com/game/blaster-master)
  • - [Journey to Silius](https://www.mobygames.com/game/journey-to-silius)
  • - [Fester's Quest](https://www.mobygames.com/game/festers-quest)
  • - [Batman: The Video Game](https://www.mobygames.com/game/nes/batman-the-video-game_)
  • - [The Addams Family](https://www.mobygames.com/game/addams-family___)
  • - [Bullet Witch](https://www.mobygames.com/game/bullet-witch)
  • - [Myst](https://www.mobygames.com/game/jaguar/myst) ([Jaguar](https://www.mobygames.com/browse/games/jaguar/))
  • - [Power Drive Rally](https://www.mobygames.com/game/jaguar/power-drive-rally)
  • - [Castle Wolfenstein](https://www.mobygames.com/game/castle-wolfenstein)
  • - [DOOM](https://www.mobygames.com/game/doom)
  • - [ACTION BUTTON REVIEWS DOOM](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=38zduHkwGcc)
  • - [Assassin's Creed III](https://www.mobygames.com/game/assassins-creed-iii)
  • - [Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag](https://www.mobygames.com/game/assassins-creed-iv-black-flag_)
  • - [Assassin's Creed: Valhalla](https://www.mobygames.com/game/assassins-creed-valhalla)
  • - [Assassins Creed III commercial](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0OOlCHbkedI)
  • - [Super Mario Bros. 3](https://www.mobygames.com/game/super-mario-bros-3)
  • - [Shenmue](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dreamcast/shenmue)
  • - [Super Mario Land 2: 6 Golden Coins](https://www.mobygames.com/game/gameboy/super-mario-land-2-6-golden-coins) ([Game Boy](https://www.mobygames.com/browse/games/gameboy/))
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time](https://www.mobygames.com/game/legend-of-zelda-ocarina-of-time)
  • - [Dark Souls](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dark-souls)
  • - [GameFaqs "Best. Game. Ever." Poll](https://gamefaqs.gamespot.com/features/bge20_vote)
  • - [Red Dead Redemption II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/red-dead-redemption-ii)
  • - [Yngwie Malmsteen](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yngwie_Malmsteen)
  • - [Death Stranding](https://www.mobygames.com/game/death-stranding)
  • - [Ocarina of Time decompilation](https://github.com/zeldaret/oot)
  • - [Toby Fox](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toby_Fox)
  • - [Shigesako Itoi](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shigesato_Itoi)
  • - [Jeff Minter](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jeff_Minter)
  • - [Undertale](https://www.mobygames.com/game/undertale)
  • - [Groove Coaster](https://www.mobygames.com/game/groove-coaster)
  • - [Jay Tholen](https://www.jaytholen.net/)
  • - [Hypnospace Outlaw](https://www.mobygames.com/game/hypnospace-outlaw)
  • - [Joakim Sandberg](http://www.konjak.org/)
  • - [NES and SNES creator Masayuki Uemura dies at 78](https://www.polygon.com/22825994/nes-snes-famicom-creator-masayuki-uemura-death)
  • - [Ralph H. Baer](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ralph_H._Baer)
  • - [Gunpei Yokoi](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gunpei_Yokoi)
  • - [Time Crisis](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/time-crisis-series)
  • - [The House of the Dead](https://www.mobygames.com/game/house-of-the-dead)
  • - [Halo: Combat Evolved](https://www.mobygames.com/game/halo-combat-evolved)
  • - [Halo: Infinite](https://www.mobygames.com/game/halo-infinite-multiplayer)
  • - [Dwayne The Rock Johnson was in Fortnite](https://kotaku.com/the-rock-turns-fortnites-island-upside-down-in-the-end-1848161793)
  • - [The moon in Duck Tales, dude](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KF32DRg9opA)
  • - [The Secret of Monkey Island](https://www.mobygames.com/game/secret-of-monkey-island)
  • - [Dragon Warrior](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dragon-warrior)
  • - [Mother / EarthBound series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/mother-earthbound-series)
  • - [I Wanna Be The Guy: The Movie - The Game](https://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/i-wanna-be-the-guy-the-movie-the-game)
  • - [Fight Club](https://www.mobygames.com/game/fight-club)
  • - [Mega Man 11](https://www.mobygames.com/game/mega-man-11)
  • - [The Game Awards](https://thegameawards.com/)
  • - [Cyberpunk 2077](https://www.mobygames.com/game/cyberpunk-2077)
  • - [Resident Evil: Village](https://www.mobygames.com/game/resident-evil-village)
  • - [Metroid Dread](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/metroid-dread)
  • - [Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde](https://www.mobygames.com/game/nes/dr-jekyll-and-mr-hyde)
  • - [Swedish Erotica: Custer's Revenge](https://www.mobygames.com/game/atari-2600/swedish-erotica-custers-revenge)
  • - [Shenmue III](https://www.mobygames.com/game/shenmue-iii)
  • - [Star Citizen](https://robertsspaceindustries.com/star-citizen/)
  • - [Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playstation-5/ratchet-clank-rift-apart)
  • - [Shin Megami Tensei III: Nocturne](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ps2/shin-megami-tensei-iii-nocturne)
  • - [Shin Megami Tensei IV: Apocalypse](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3ds/shin-megami-tensei-iv-apocalypse)
  • - [Far Cry series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/far-cry-series)
  • - [Blue Man Group](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blue_Man_Group)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Brandon:** [School of Chocolate](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt15172154/) if you're interested in seeing a reality show that doesn't work so great, [Hyper Gunsport](https://store.steampowered.com/app/1663250/Hyper_Gunsport/) now wishlistable on Steam
    **Frank**: Get a Costco card
    **Tim**: Don't even try getting a PS5 for the holiday season, get your child a [MiSTer](https://www.retrorgb.com/mister.html)

    Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/insert-credit-show/id1509363651), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    >

  • 1. What was the first time a parent of your praised a video game unprompted?
  • My father was so interested behind the story of Assassin’s Creed that he personally gifted me Black Flag on Christmas! He tried playing the game but, controlling a character and the camera at the same time was quite hard for him.

    I also remember watching The Game Awards when they announced No Man’s Sky and him looking over my shoulder, saying it looked pretty cool. Overall, he’s never been really interested in video games, but he did like anything related to sports on the Nintendo Wii.

    “I disliked it before it was popular.” - A very much Brandon quote.

    >

    If you could clone one person 100 times to make an entire game development team, who would it be? (15:03)

    Who would make a better game, a team of 100 Peter Molyneux clones or a team of 100 David Cage clones?

    The thing about the dragonlord in Dragon Quest attacking you if you wait too long is really cool. I didn’t know about that.

    for years my dad would buy the latest COD WWII release at full price, because like frank‘s dad he wanted to “shoot some nazis.” He’d play it for 20 min, looking down at the controller for each button press, totally unable to move and operate the camera at the same time while getting shot 500000 times. Then get frustrated and never play it again.

    my only real experience with ocarina of time was on the gamecube, on the collectors disc, as a kid, never getting out of that starting area. i could‘a been playing the wind waker, but my kid brain was like ’yeah but this disc has more games‘ (2 of which i’d already played, and 4 of which i was no good at). that is to say, i‘ve never thought of it as more than a typical zelda, and am surprised it was ever considered ’the best game ever‘ or somethin’ (i mean zeldas are good, just ocarina of time isn’t that good, is it?)

    >

    @“esper”#p51143 What are the best times a game has broken its own rules?

    As long as we're talking about Dark Souls, I have to say one of my favorite subversions is ||waking up in prison after dying during your first encounter with Seath the Scaleless. Considering how central the gameplay loop of dying and respawning at a bonfire is, this one-off trick was delightfully disorienting. Waking up in the Yahar'gul prison in Bloodborne seemed like something of a callback to this, though I had to find out about that one from a guide...there was _no way_ I was getting near enough to those burlap sack dudes to find out that trick organically.|| I'm going to keep this one spoiler tagged because it's worth experiencing it yourself if you ever intend to play Dark Souls... @exodus I guess you're excused ;)

    yurt the silent chief breaks I suppose what could be called rules about what you're supposed to do when you find an npc in distress and what can happen in a “safe zone”

    >

    @“穴”#p51166 Who would make a better game, a team of 100 Peter Molyneux clones or a team of 100 David Cage clones?

    Peter Molyneux has a pretty strong programming background so I guess he would probably be heavily favored by bookies. Cage can write stuff and compose music (he was the composer for [Super Dany](https://youtu.be/fyR3R6PHdsE)) but he has no programming experience (as far as I know) so at best he can aim for maybe a Toby Fox-like experience, using something like RPG Maker or maybe GMS. I am more concerned about the feedback loop of these people working with a 100 of themselves; manpower without any reasonable safeguards or creative dissent is scary.

    Not necessarily rule-breaking but I like how Resident Evil REmake subverts expectations with its new rules and set pieces.

    I‘m firmly in the “Ocarina of Time is the greatest game of all time” age range (born in ’95.) It was probably the first 3D game I ever played and basically set my expectation for what large adventuring video games are, to the point where I've never been able to get into the 2d Zeldas since.

    It's no wonder to me why it's such a popular pick. It's technically well executed, it's got plenty of memorable moments, surprises, hidden little somethings, a big 3D world, nice music, etc. Plus the fact that practically everyone with an N64 either owned or at least played it.

    I don't think there is a Greatest Game of All Time but there's definitely an interesting generational divide between Ocarina and Dark Souls. Ocarina is elegant but much more childish; Dark Souls is more mature but less refined. I like them both a lot.

    Dark Souls won the Insert Credit Video & Games Poll so i guess that means we're not cool.

    ah that Toby Fox discussion. ah. yeah. yep. I feel that.

    I think that moment for me was Toby doing a video for Kenny fucking Omega before a huge wrestling show.
    https://youtu.be/30SYBrsqaCY

    Kenny Omega wrestled in 4 out of 5 of the top rated wrestling matches...of all time. (according to Dave Meltzer of the highly respected Wrestling Observer Newsletter.) Note the +7 and +6 ratings. This is on a scale of 5. These matches were so good, they broke the scoring system.
    [upl-image-preview url=//i.imgur.com/cCXpMhc.png]

    I reckon Bennet Foddy or Terry Kavanagh could be good competition for 100 Toby Foxes — assuming they ever wanted to work in a team of 100 on anything in the first place

    i‘m sure it’s happened many times over the last 30 yrs but most recently, my mom came in the room, saw demon's souls boletaria and said “oh yeah, i like this”.

    Toby Fox used his success to crowbar a Homestuck fan song about mpreg into a Pokemon game, his legacy is cemented.

    >

    @“wickedcestus”#p51187 I’m firmly in the “Ocarina of Time is the greatest game of all time” age range (born in ’95.)

    I would've thought that's way beyond the age range for anyone venerating Ocarina—I don't say that to call you out, either, it's just surprising to me that anybody could be so into it without being around to witness just how far ahead it was of most of its contemporaries when it released. That said, it's not as if it didn't take a lot of developers a really long time to catch up with Ocarina, either.

    @“NoJoTo”#p51173 It isn't even the best Zelda on the Nintendo 64!

    >

    @“esper”#p51143 If you could clone one person 100 times to make an entire game development team, who would it be?

    Not sure about the how great the resulting game would be, but if there's anyone I trust to effectively massively parallelize their intellect, it would have to be Carmack. A multi-core Carmack would produce the most mind-blowing mundane post apocalyptic FPS you could imagine, what with the holographic VR petatexel mongotextures and all.

    @“kory”#p51202 Frankly I’d just use my Carmack Farm to mine bitcoins.