Ep. 216 - The Dirtbag of Podcasts Part II: Double Dip

### Ep. 216 - The Dirtbag of Podcasts Part II: Double Dip

Alex Jaffe, Tim Rogers and Brandon Sheffield continue the celebration of Patron-submitted questions, upending the dirtbag for even more “What is the ____ of video games?” Hosted by Alex Jaffe with Tim Rogers and Brandon Sheffield. Edited by Esper Quinn. Original music by Kurt Feldman.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3qQuysdEAUQ

  • 1. Dirtbag Sailor Silica asks: What is the squeezing through a gap while the next area loads for previous eras of video games? (03:02)
  • 2. Dirtbag Dilson asks: What is the video game equivalent of a sommelier? (04:27)
  • 3. Dirtbag Walt asks: What is the The Adventures of Buckaroo Bonzai Across the 8th Dimension of video games? (05:08)
  • 4. Dirtbag MoxBagel asks: What is the This restaurant packaged the salt and pepper packets in a bag with the napkins and now the napkin is all peppery and unpleasant to use of video games? (08:35)
  • 5. Dirtbag Kory asks: What is the OK Computer of video games, and what is the Kid A of video games? (12:13)
  • 6. A Dirtbag We Don’t Have the Name Of asks: What are the farm-to-table restaurant and microwave dinner of video games? (14:39)
  • 7. Dirtbag UG asks: What is the Joe Pera Talks with You of video games? (19:15)
  • 8. Dirtbag Roman asks: What is the 1989 Velvet Revolution of video games? (22:02)
  • 9. Dirtbag Chopemon asks: What is the Chinese food buffet of video games? (24:07)
  • 10. Dirtbag Dusty asks: What is the DMC DeLorean of video games? (26:29)
  • 11. Dirtbag TapeVulture asks: What is the British accent of video games? (29:39)
  • 12. Dirtbag Chopemon asks: What is the hanging up of holiday decorations of video games? (34:43)
  • 13. Dirtbag Marshall asks: What is Ross Dress for Less of video games, and what is the TJ Maxx of video games? (34:43)
  • 14. Dirtbag A Dry Cleaner for Dogs asks: What is the hoop trundling of video games? (40:42)
  • 15. A Dirtbag We Don’t Have the Name Of asks: What is the James Joyce’s Ulysses of video games, and what is the Alfred Lord Tennyson’s Ulysses of video games? (42:55)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND**: The Gaagaagiins Six (46:00)

    Recommendations and Outro (54:05)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - Bedouin Sheep dog
  • - [Yorkshire Terrier](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yorkshire_Terrier)
  • - [Chihuahua](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chihuahua_(dog))
  • - [Beverly Hills Chihuahua (2008)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt1014775/)
  • - [Galaxian](https://www.mobygames.com/game/galaxian)
  • - [Ridge Racer](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ridge-racer)
  • - [Mass Effect](https://www.mobygames.com/game/mass-effect)
  • - [Sommelier DS](https://gamefaqs.gamespot.com/ds/939228-sommelier-ds)
  • - [Nintendo 3DS Guide: Louvre](https://www.nintendo.com/games/detail/nintendo-3ds-guide-louvre-english-version/)
  • - [The Adventures of Buckaroo Bonzai Across the 8th Dimension (1984)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0086856/)
  • - [Ed Harris](https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0000438/) (not in Buckaroo Bonazi)
  • - [Jeff Goldblum](https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0000156/) (is in Buckaroo Bonzai)
  • - [Knightriders (1981)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0082622/)
  • - [Breakin' (1984)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0086998/)
  • - [Breakin' 2: Electric Boogaloo (1984)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0086999/)
  • - [Destroy All Humans!](https://www.mobygames.com/game/destroy-all-humans)
  • - [Leisure Suit Larry 5: Passionate Patti Does a Little Undercover Work](https://www.mobygames.com/game/leisure-suit-larry-5-passionate-patti-does-a-little-undercover-w)
  • - [Final Fantasy VII](https://www.mobygames.com/game/final-fantasy-vii)
  • - [Leonard Part 6 (1987)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0093405/)
  • - [Remo Williams: The Adventure Begins (1985)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0089901/)
  • - [Kinect](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kinect)
  • - [Seinfeld](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0098904/)
  • - [Curb Your Enthusiasm](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0264235/)
  • - [Joycon drift](https://www.theverge.com/21504741/nintendo-switch-joy-con-drift-problem-explained)
  • - [OK Computer](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OK_Computer)
  • - [Kid A](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kid_A)
  • - [Braid](https://www.mobygames.com/game/braid)
  • - [Rez](https://www.mobygames.com/game/rez)
  • - [Katamari Damacy](https://www.mobygames.com/game/katamari-damacy)
  • - [Atari Jaguar](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atari_Jaguar)
  • - [Kid Acarus](https://www.mobygames.com/game/kid-icarus)
  • - [FarmVille](https://www.mobygames.com/game/farmville)
  • - [Diner Dash](https://www.mobygames.com/game/diner-dash)
  • - [FarmVille 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/browser/farmville-2)
  • - [VIDEOBALL](https://www.mobygames.com/game/videoball)
  • - [Butt Sniffin Pugs](https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/spacebeagles/butt-sniffin-pugs)
  • - [Where in North Dakota is Carmen Sandiego?](https://www.mobygames.com/game/apple2/where-in-north-dakota-is-carmen-sandiego)
  • - [Line Wobbler](https://robinb.itch.io/line-wobbler)
  • - [Harvest Moon / Story of Seasons series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/harvest-moon-story-of-seasons-series)
  • - [Dragon Quest Builders series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/dragon-quest-builders-series)
  • - [Joe Pera Talks with You](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8199790/)
  • - [Michigan: Report from Hell](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ps2/michigan-report-from-hell)
  • - [Animal Crossing series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/animal-crossing-series)
  • - [Velvet Revolution](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Velvet_Revolution)
  • - [Yakuza: Kiwami 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/yakuza-kiwami-2)
  • - [Cyber Troopers Virtual On](https://www.mobygames.com/game/cyber-troopers-virtual-on)
  • - [Fighters Megamix](https://www.mobygames.com/game/fighters-megamix)
  • - [Fighting Vipers](https://www.mobygames.com/game/fighting-vipers)
  • - [DMC DeLorean](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DMC_DeLorean)
  • - [The Guy Who Wrote The Ready Player One](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ernest_Cline)
  • - [Back to the Future (1985)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0088763/)
  • - [E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial](https://www.mobygames.com/game/atari-2600/et-the-extra-terrestrial_)
  • - [Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon](https://www.mobygames.com/game/far-cry-3-blood-dragon)
  • - [Double Dragon Neon](https://www.mobygames.com/game/double-dragon-neon)
  • - [The Simpsons](https://www.mobygames.com/game/simpsons)
  • - [Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles](https://www.mobygames.com/game/teenage-mutant-ninja-turtles__)
  • - [WipEout](https://www.mobygames.com/game/wipeout)
  • - [Octopath Traveler](https://www.mobygames.com/game/octopath-traveler)
  • - [Fatal Frame](https://www.mobygames.com/game/fatal-frame)
  • - [Animal Crossing: Happy Home Designer](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3ds/animal-crossing-happy-home-designer)
  • - [Final Fantasy VI](https://www.mobygames.com/game/final-fantasy-iii__)
  • - [Ross Dress for Less](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ross_Dress_for_Less)
  • - [TJ Maxx](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tj_maxx)
  • - [Marshalls](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marshalls)
  • - [Far Cry 6](https://www.mobygames.com/game/far-cry-6)
  • - [Target](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Target_Corporation)
  • - [Meijer](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Meijer)
  • - [ToeJam & Earl: Back in the Groove!](https://www.mobygames.com/game/toejam-earl-back-in-the-groove)
  • - [Hoop trundling](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hoop_rolling)
  • - [A Hard Day's Night (1964](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0058182/))
  • - [Irritating Stick](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playstation/irritating-stick)
  • - [James Joyce’s Ulysses](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ulysses_(novel))
  • - [Alfred Lord Tennyson’s Ulysses](https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/45392/ulysses)
  • - [Super Mario Odyssey](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/super-mario-odyssey)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Tim**: Listen to some more podcasts, subscribe to [patreon.com/insertcredit](http://patreon.com/insertcredit)
    **Brandon:** [Cellular shades](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cellular_shades)
    **Jaffe**: Stop playing gacha games, read more comics

    {“sticky”:true}

    I‘m only starting the episode, and I’m sorta losing it at the pronunciations if somellier

    @“dylanfills”#p52203 I‘ve been saying something that sounds like smellier with an o after the S for so long that I’m not sure I can even say it correctly anymore

    @“exodus”#p52208 somellie ya later

    Thank you Alex Jaffe for reading the borderline insane half-thoughts I shove into the Dirtbag (also just saying if I ever send in a question twice it‘s just because I can’t remember if I sent it in already, even if I use precisely the same wording).

    Apparently when I'm thinking of the "The ______ of videogames" question I am experiencing some sort of evil hunger

    It‘s kind of simplistic, but I think the British accent of video games might just be pixel art? It’s a legitimate way to make a game, and it is legitimately tied to the history of the medium. But it also gets deployed (for good or ill) as a kind of affect to imply either old timey authenticity or indie cultural sophistication.

    The British accent of videogames is when the marketing for a game mentions the director by name

    I listened to this while driving through snow in the Appalachian Mountains and it guided me to safety.

    knightriders is a great underappreciated film just sayin

    RIP

    @“Syzygy”#p52272 You are a shivering chihuahua of a man

    getting high and playing 57 years of madden 2005 franchise mode (unable to play the actual game part) while listening to spiderland ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ madden memories…………. ~ ~ ~ ~ ~~ ~

    [upl-image-preview url=//i.imgur.com/teIOnye.jpeg]

    The British accent of videogames is Nintendo's next console. Everyone thinks they know what it is but it turns out to be a mishmash of things but that.

    @“LeFish”#p52309 excellent answer.

    @“LeFish”#p52309 yeahhhhh that's a hot one!!!

    The Wood CMVS Neo-Geo systems in different types of wood was Analogue.

    That was back when they built up from existing systems on a small scale, before they started making FPGA based products.

    as soon as i heard the intro prompt i wondered if the shivering chihuahua bit was coming! i was not disappointed.

    @“Alyx”#p52419 lol I totally forgot that was them.

    @pattheflip OH YEAH you were there for that too!! Good times.

    @“After that rat, another and another.”#p52283 for me it was watching the ambulance hit players on the field in Madden 92. There was one time when the ambulance didn't pick up the injured player, the crowd booed, and then the ambulance backed up and picked him up. The height of comedy

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_138p6uzhUk