Ep. 217 - Asynchronicity

### Ep. 217 - Asynchronicity

In which our heroes, scattered across time and space, convene by way of editing to cover The Freak Sword, looking to the One Mode Future, and sexy slutty bunny boys. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers and Brandon Sheffield. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k2tj_Gx4d2c

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. What is the ugliest video game ever made? (02:05)
  • 2. Have you formed any habits in video games that have translated into your normal life? (07:50)
  • 3. Should every game have an easy mode? Should every game have a hard mode? (12:20)
  • 4. Imagine that you had the power to create video game mods just by speaking them into existence. What would you make? (18:20)
  • 5. IMPROV ZONE: Game Counselor help line (22:23)
  • 6. What does it take to convince someone to try a video game? (31:42)
  • 7. Design a track in the same a video spirit as any video game character for Mario Kart. (38:26)
  • 8. How have focus groups affected game development? (43:18)
  • 9. What is the worst game that you would still consider the game of the year for its year, considering its competition? (47:55)
  • 10. Knowing that they will probably never listen to this episode, what are your feelings about the other two panelists? (53:09)
  • Recommendations and Outro (57:28)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - Garfield and his Nine Lives (Game Boy Advance)
  • - [Ice Cream Cone Pokemon](https://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wiki/Vanillite_(Pok%C3%A9mon))
  • - [Swedish Erotica: Custer's Revenge](https://www.mobygames.com/game/atari-2600/swedish-erotica-custers-revenge)
  • - [Hatred](https://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/hatred)
  • - [Goemon's Great Adventure](https://www.mobygames.com/game/n64/goemons-great-adventure)
  • - [Valis series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/valis-series)
  • - [Valis X series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/valis-x)
  • - [Coke Zero formula change](https://www.nytimes.com/2021/07/14/business/coke-zero-change.html)
  • - [Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ps2/shin-megami-tensei-persona-3)
  • - [Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 4](https://www.mobygames.com/game/shin-megami-tensei-persona-4)
  • - [Final Fantasy VII](https://www.mobygames.com/game/final-fantasy-vii)
  • - [Bloodstained: Curse of the Moon](https://www.mobygames.com/game/bloodstained-curse-of-the-moon)
  • - [Annapurina Interactive](https://www.mobygames.com/company/annapurna-interactive)
  • - [Florence](https://www.mobygames.com/game/florence)
  • - [Hyper Gunsport](https://store.steampowered.com/app/1663250/Hyper_Gunsport/) now wishlistable on Steam
  • - [Red Dead Redemption II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/red-dead-redemption-ii)
  • - [Final Fantasy VII: Remake](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playstation-4/final-fantasy-vii-remake)
  • - [Madden series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/madden-series) (R.I.P. John Madden)
  • - [2K Sports games](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/2k-sports-games)
  • - [Portal](https://www.mobygames.com/game/portal_)
  • - [Grand Theft Auto V](https://www.mobygames.com/game/grand-theft-auto-v)
  • - [Days Gone](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playstation-4/days-gone_)
  • - [Yakuza series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/yakuza-ry-ga-gotoku-series)
  • - [Super Mario Bros.](https://www.mobygames.com/game/super-mario-bros)
  • - [Legend of Zelda series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/legend-of-zelda-series)
  • - [Final Fantasy VI](https://www.mobygames.com/game/final-fantasy-iii__)
  • - [Bonk series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/bonk-series)
  • - [Project X Zone](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3ds/project-x-zone)
  • - [Princess Tomato in the Salad Kingdom](https://www.mobygames.com/game/princess-tomato-in-the-salad-kingdom)
  • - [Silent Hill](https://www.mobygames.com/game/silent-hill)
  • - [Gensō Tairiku Auleria](https://www.mobygames.com/game/turbografx-cd/gens-tairiku-auleria)
  • - [Duck Hunt](https://www.mobygames.com/game/vs-duck-hunt)
  • - [Final Fantasy XV](https://www.mobygames.com/game/final-fantasy-xv)
  • - [Critically Acclaimed MMORPG Final Fantasy XIV With An Expanded Free Trial Which You Can Play Through The Entirety Of A Realm Reborn And The Award Winning Heavensward Expansion Up To Level 60 For Free With No Restrictions On Playtime](https://www.mobygames.com/game/final-fantasy-xiv-online-a-realm-reborn)
  • - [Soft Non-Threatening Friends](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/animal-crossing-new-horizons)
  • - [Cyberpunk 2077](https://www.mobygames.com/game/cyberpunk-2077)
  • - [Stardew Valley](https://www.mobygames.com/game/stardew-valley)
  • - [Mario Kart series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/mario-kart-series)
  • - [Awesome Possum Kicks Dr. Machino's Butt](https://www.mobygames.com/game/genesis/awesome-possum-kicks-dr-machinos-butt)
  • - [Super Smash Brothers series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/super-smash-brothers-series)
  • - [Chocobo Racing](https://www.mobygames.com/game/chocobo-racing)
  • - [Chocobo GP](https://www.polygon.com/nintendo-switch/22834039/final-fantasy-chocobo-gp-nintendo-switch-release-date)
  • - [Dragon Quest series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/dragon-warrior-dragon-quest-series)
  • - [Deadly Premonition](https://www.mobygames.com/game/deadly-premonition)
  • - [Mad Men](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0804503/)
  • - [Project: Snowblind](https://www.mobygames.com/game/project-snowblind)
  • - [Ratchet & Clank: Up Your Arsenal](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ratchet-clank-up-your-arsenal)
  • - [1984 in video games](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1984_in_video_games)
  • - [Track & Field](https://www.mobygames.com/game/track-field)
  • - [10-Yard Fight](https://www.mobygames.com/game/10-yard-fight_)
  • - [Jet Set Willy](https://www.mobygames.com/game/jet-set-willy)
  • - [Manic Miner](https://www.mobygames.com/game/manic-miner)
  • - [Sabre Wulf](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sabre-wulf)
  • - [Jetpack](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dos/jetpack)
  • - [Gears of War](https://www.mobygames.com/game/gears-of-war)
  • - [The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion](https://www.mobygames.com/game/elder-scrolls-iv-oblivion)
  • - [BioShock](https://www.mobygames.com/game/bioshock)
  • - [Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare](https://www.mobygames.com/game/call-of-duty-4-modern-warfare)
  • - [God Hand](https://www.mobygames.com/game/god-hand)
  • - [Spacewar!](https://www.mobygames.com/game/mainframe/spacewar__)
  • - [Space Invaders](https://www.mobygames.com/game/space-invaders________)
  • - [Highlander (TV Series 1992-1998)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0103442/)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Frank**: Drive-in Theaters
    **Tim**: Drink more water, if you’re Tim’s dad
    **Brandon:** The song [Walk](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rs9l32P0wC0) from the Sega CD game [Nostalgia 1907](https://www.mobygames.com/game/nostalgia-1907), sincerely it would be really appreciated if you [wishlisted Hyper Gunsport on Steam](https://store.steampowered.com/app/1663250/Hyper_Gunsport/), thanks for being a part of Insert Credit, take care of yourselves

    Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/insert-credit-show/id1509363651), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    I can’t wait to listen to this.

    Thank you to ||Ash Parrish||, ||Liz Ryerson||, and especially ||Esper Quinn|| for their help on this episode.

    @“Jaffe”#p52653 intriguing!

    This episode was amazing. Great way to start the year.

    Tim's helpline improv in this episode is a certified all-timer.

    >

    @“esper”#p52645 Have you formed any habits in video games that have translated into your normal life? (07:50)

    I think this started because I played a lot of JRPGs very early on in my childhood, specifically Earthbound, as well as playing co-op arcade beat 'em ups with my buds, lots of dating sims and visual novels Where Choices Matter, but I learned to always value my friends and that being nice to people is generally very, very rewarding.

    @“exodus”#p52663 I'd encourage you ||to listen to the Improv Zone!||

    that improv zone blasted me sooty and blew my hair back like a cartoon scientist. and then it did it again

    I'm worried about Jerry Trashcan

    @“Jaffe”#p52665 I'm listening to it! Great job everybody, and especially great job to @espercontrol for making my improv segment funny after the fact by adding your own. This is the game by the way! Gensō Tairiku Auleria (1993) - MobyGames

    What is the ugliest video game ever made?

    I just wanted to say I felt personally attacked by Goemon's Great Adventure being mentioned here. My existence is absolutely shattered. BUT, Mystical Ninja Starring Goemon on the N64 is indeed a pretty beautiful game.

    _Imagine that you had the power to create video game mods just by speaking them into existence. What would you make?_
    Music mod for Balan Wonderworld for god sake, please. Let me just inject Nights into Dreams/Journey of Dreams/Blinx the Timesweeper music into it. Having it on in the background while turning the volume down on the music in-game is a less than satisfactory experience! The volume doesn't even zero out, it still can faintly be heard!!

    _What does it take to convince someone to try a video game?_
    While this won't work for everything, I was presented with the challenge to convince someone to play Bloodborne or the Souls games in general. Rather than spouting out what people usually say about the games, I mentioned that they were almost like a dancing rhythm game. It wasn't quite as commonly said then, but mentioning how rhythm plays a big part in fighting or "dancing" around the enemies and bosses intrigued them. No idea if they actually played any of them after that, but they did at least say, "Alright, now that does actually have me interested."

    _How have focus groups affected game development?_
    Riffing off of what Tim was saying, everyone can pet a dog now in a lot of things, and I'm positive has been a discussion in dev meetings thanks to memes and a twitter bot. On the flip side, no one can press F to pay their respects in most games. Then again, I don't think there's a funny twitter bot for that.

    >

    @“esper”#p52645 What does it take to convince someone to try a video game? (31:42)

    Oh man I mean I live with three friends and I'm always complaining to myself in my head that we don't play games together often, or that they won't play some dumb ass coop game based around floppy mushroom men or whatever, but they have actually conceded a number of times including a somewhat storied tradition of playing Conduct Together - a weirdly excellent, cartoony train coop game where everyone can control the stopping of trains and switching of tracks, so verbal communication is a dire perogative.

    I've also had some exuberant yelling about Towerfall after dismissing it myself and then my roommate saying they checked it out and really enjoyed it.

    So, the only way is to live with somebody and own enough solid controllers

    This is one of my favorite episodes and I fully support the asynchronous format if it's ever convenient for the crew again.

    i‘ll say, while i was initially disappointed this wasn’t an interactacular with 4 people at once, i think this is a pretty neat format (and man, that improv zone was easily in my top 3)

    @“dylanfills”#p52690 you have good taste because Towefall: Ascension and Conduct Together are both superb.

    One thing I struggle with “together” games is an often insurmountable skill gap, especially between say an Insert Credit poster, and a normal human being who may/may not be a game enthusiast. Like, I **love** say _Capsule Force_ (or _Videoball_) but people who aren’t games fluent are not gonna have a good time. (Certainly way less so in _Videoball_)

    I was having a conversation about this with a buddy and the biggest design problem in multiplayer games is agreeing on the level of emotional investment between the players. If it’s inherently asymmetric, someone is almost assured to have a bad time.

    He used to play trading/living/customizable card games competitively and showed himself the door. The asymmetric experience is why I politely decline to play “kitchen table poker”. I don’t play much anymore, but as a small winning player over 20 years who has played in red-chip games, my expectations can’t be reconciled with people putting M&Ms in the middle and eating them in between hands.

    I know this is probably tangential and I should write a thread about it, but I didn’t know where else to put it and you all prompted these thoughts.

    PS @"esper"#p52645, hecka great cameo!

    @“Sails”#p52697 We might do this again around the holidays, or when we‘re too busy to all meet up at a designated time! Definitely not too often, but it was good enough that I’d do it again.

    IMO you should do Brandon & Frank a favour and transition the improv zone into nothing but solo pre-records by Tim

    youtube version now available, for those who prefer visuals https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k2tj_Gx4d2c

    Here for the Jerry Trashcan lore

    i‘ve been dying for nintendo to do super smash kart for years! thought they might finally do it with mk8 having zelda/animal crossing/f-zero/excitebike in it but they need to go full ham hog with it.

    link on a horse

    mario on a yoshi

    pikachu on a child’s shoulder

    that sort of thing