Ep. 221 - Popey Fox

### Ep. 221 - Popey Fox

Our heroes reunite to tackle the return of Reagen Sheffield, the Turkish Star Wars of Yuzo Koshiro, and Paul Blart Mall Battletoad. They also discuss the Microsoft-Activision-Blizzard-King merger, Tifa in the Italian senate, and the metaverse. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers and Brandon Sheffield. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g1EWJbQIIhc

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. In the wake of the MicroBlizzion buyout, how screwed are video games? (03:20)
  • 2. What would be a less useless metric for determining game story quality than number of words in script? (14:46)
  • 3. What video game music would you play for the Pope? (20:31)
  • 4. What would be the worst video game clip to interrupt a national senate meeting with? (26:10)
  • 5. Dirtbag Spencer asks: What is the shallowest, nitpickiest reason you dislike a video game? (30:29)
  • 6. Does “the metaverse” actually have anything to do with video games? (37:45)
  • 7. In a video game, how high should you be able to jump? (44:03)
  • 8. What are the best uses of the PocketStation and VMU? (51:08)
  • 9. What is the mumblecore of video games? (58:16)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND**: Bad Bad Game Reviews (01:02:22)

    Recommendations and Outro: (01:24:13)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Katamari Damacy](https://www.mobygames.com/game/katamari-damacy)
  • - [Killer7](https://www.mobygames.com/game/killer7)
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog 3](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sonic-the-hedgehog-3)
  • - [Sonic Jam](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sega-saturn/sonic-jam)
  • - [Mega Man / Rockman series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/mega-man-rockman-series)
  • - [Silent Hill series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/silent-hill-series)
  • - [Microsoft to acquire Activision Blizzard for $68.7 billion](https://www.theverge.com/2022/1/18/22889258/microsoft-activision-blizzard-xbox-acquisition-call-of-duty-overwatch)
  • - [Call of Duty series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/call-of-duty-series)
  • - [Candy Crush Saga](https://www.mobygames.com/game/candy-crush-saga)
  • - [Stretch Armstrong](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stretch_Armstrong)
  • - [Extremely good Tifa and Barrett crossplay](https://twitter.com/philipharts/status/1462130748870348801?s=20&t=25vm5CL3SSeTCBs8HgPdZw)
  • - [Call of Duty: Vanguard](https://www.mobygames.com/game/call-of-duty-vanguard)
  • - [Call of Duty: Black Ops - Cold War](https://www.mobygames.com/game/call-of-duty-black-ops-cold-war)
  • - [World of WarCraft](https://www.mobygames.com/game/world-of-warcraft)
  • - [Overwatch](https://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/overwatch)
  • - [God of War](https://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/god-of-war_)
  • - [Final Fantasy VII: Remake](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playstation-4/final-fantasy-vii-remake)
  • - [After Burner: Climax](https://www.mobygames.com/game/after-burner-climax)
  • - [OutRun: Online Arcade](https://www.mobygames.com/game/outrun-online-arcade)
  • - [Adorama](https://www.adorama.com/)
  • - [The Goblin Bunker](http://discord.gg/actionbutton) (shouts out to yall)
  • - [Dying Light 2 Threatens 350K Words, 40K Lines Of Dialogue](https://www.gamespot.com/articles/dying-light-2-threatens-350k-words-40k-lines-of-dialogue/1100-6499794/)
  • - [Anna Karenina](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anna_Karenina)
  • - [Dead Island](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dead-island)
  • - [The Intellivision Amico Disaster, Explained](https://kotaku.com/the-new-gaming-console-thats-become-a-giant-car-crash-1847699027)
  • - [Liz Ryerson](https://twitter.com/ellaguro) (shouts out to liz)
  • - [Hideki Naganuma](https://twitter.com/Hideki_Naganuma) (proceed with caution)
  • - [Cyberpunk 2077](https://www.mobygames.com/game/cyberpunk-2077)
  • - [The Pope Seems To Enjoy Listening To Undertale's Megalovania](https://kotaku.com/the-pope-listened-to-undertales-megalovania-in-the-year-1848314246)
  • - [Castlevania: Bloodlines](https://www.mobygames.com/game/castlevania-bloodlines)
  • - [Castlevania: Dracula X](https://www.mobygames.com/game/castlevania-dracula-x)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda](https://www.mobygames.com/game/legend-of-zelda)
  • - [EverGrace](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ps2/evergrace)
  • - [Super Mario Bros. 3](https://www.mobygames.com/game/super-mario-bros-3)
  • - [large prime numbers performing "ZiGGURAT" live in oakland on 01222012 (part one of two)](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u0f5HUzlqxs) with camerawork by frank cifaldi
  • - [Final Fantasy Rule 34 vid smut shocks Italy, surprising artist](https://www.polygon.com/22893534/tifa-lockhart-rule-34-porn-video-italian-senate-artist-reaction-viral)
  • - [Metal Gear series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/metal-gear-series)
  • - [The iDOLM@STER series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/idolmster-series)
  • - [Mortal Kombat games](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/mortal-kombat-games)
  • - [Beyond Good & Evil](https://www.mobygames.com/game/beyond-good-evil)
  • - [Flynn: Son of Crimson](https://www.mobygames.com/game/flynn-son-of-crimson)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/legend-of-zelda-links-awakening_switch)
  • - [Cliff Bleszinski](https://twitter.com/therealcliffyb)
  • - [The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt](https://www.mobygames.com/game/witcher-3-wild-hunt)
  • - [Paradise Killer](https://www.mobygames.com/game/paradise-killer)
  • - [“A Race to Dominate the Metaverse”](https://www.nytimes.com/2022/01/18/briefing/microsoft-metaverse-omicron-australian-open.html)
  • - [Pac-Man](https://www.mobygames.com/game/pac-man)
  • - [Pong](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dedicated-console/pong_______)
  • - [Destiny](https://www.mobygames.com/game/destiny_)
  • - [Yakuza / Ryū ga Gotoku series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/yakuza-ry-ga-gotoku-series)
  • - [Fortnite: Battle Royale](https://www.mobygames.com/game/fortnite-battle-royale)
  • - [Doomcube](http://doomcube.com/)
  • - [Second Life](https://www.mobygames.com/game/second-life)
  • - [Final Fantasy XV](https://www.mobygames.com/game/final-fantasy-xv)
  • - [Jumping Flash!](https://www.mobygames.com/game/jumping-flash)
  • - [Hyper Gunsport on Steam](https://store.steampowered.com/app/1663250/Hyper_Gunsport/) by Necrosoft Games now wishlistable which really helps more than you’d think
  • - [Power Stone](https://www.mobygames.com/game/power-stone)
  • - [Godzilla Generations](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dreamcast/godzilla-generations)
  • - [Darius](https://www.mobygames.com/game/darius)
  • - [Doko Demo Issyo](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playstation/doko-demo-issyo)
  • - [Tokimeki Memorial 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/tokimeki-memorial-2)
  • - [NFL 2K](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dreamcast/nfl-2k)
  • - [The Jackbox Party Pack](https://www.mobygames.com/game/jackbox-party-pack)
  • - [Fallout Shelter](https://www.mobygames.com/game/fallout-shelter)
  • - [Fallout 4](https://www.mobygames.com/game/fallout-4)
  • - [XCOM: Enemy Within](https://www.mobygames.com/game/xcom-enemy-within)
  • - [Pokémon GO](https://www.mobygames.com/game/pokmon-go)
  • - [Pokémon: Let's Go! series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/pokmon-lets-go-series)
  • - [Interstellar (2014)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0816692/)
  • - [Mumblecore](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mumblecore)
  • - [Life Is Strange series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/life-is-strange-series)
  • - [The Last of Us](https://www.mobygames.com/game/last-of-us)
  • - [Night in the Woods](https://www.mobygames.com/game/night-in-the-woods)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Brandon:** The digital single [OARANA](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PZgW9ZmB150) by our very own [The World Famous Vincent Diamante](https://twitter.com/vincentdiamante)
    **Frank**: Put things in the world for reasons other than making money

    Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/insert-credit-show/id1509363651), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    Liz Ryerson: “The Turkish Star Wars-Philippines Spider-Man of Yuzo Koshiro”

    That's a top of resume grade title if you ask me

    >

    What is the shallowest, nitpickiest reason you dislike a video game?

    I don’t like the way the player character runs in Bloodborne. This guy’d get wrecked by a mid-sized dog, never mind all the stuff crawling ‘round that game.

    re: Perfect Dark‘s Japanese name: the game was announced as “Perfect Dark (temp.)” and then re-announced as “Aka to Kuro (temp.)”—they never explained precisely what it was supposed to mean in relation to the game, but the rationale was that Japanese audiences didn’t find “Perfect Dark” to be especially evocative, particularly because it was a new IP and nobody was going to know that the player-character's surname was Dark, and so they changed it to something that would be more immediately memorable (and because kanji titles were back in vogue, they went with one of those).

    Anyway, Japanese Nintendo dorks hated it and mailed petitions to Nintendo and so on, and so "Aka to Kuro" lasted all of six weeks before it was re-announced with the final title of Perfect Dark... but the Japanese packaging retains the red-and-black motif, and is all the better for it:

    https://i.imgur.com/8ud5VmD.png

    Incidentally, that temporary title gave Treasure's crew an excuse to change the title of their game to Tsumi to Batsu (Sin & Punishment), instead of going with any of the very generic English titles being thrown around at the time.

    I got to go ‘Wait, what?’ twice!!

    Prior to today if anyone had asked me what Perfect Dark's name was in Japan, I would have said it was Joanne Dark.

    I remember having at least one conversation in which someone said they were a big fan of Joanne Dark on N64.

    man, what is UP with ps5 memory hijinks? i had >200gb of “other” bloat on the ssd that i could not shift through rebuilding databse/other safe mode dark magics, so i also had to wipe and star fresh. now i once again have 50gb of “other”! that‘s a whole big boy videogame i don’t have the space for! it's not good.

    Can’t believe the episode isn’t called Pope’n Music.

    My housemate plays Pokémon Go at an obsessive level. I won't go into it too much but from the sheer frequency that I can hear him play and the frequency that I overhear the videos he watches of the game it sounds like one of the most infuriating, boring, shitty games that I can imagine engaging with. And yes, I do feel pretty terrible saying that.

    Oh no… what did you do?

    https://twitter.com/jasonschreier/status/1488210539276902407?s=20&t=Ro1abjtHu15QUXAQKpw7_w

    two things. first:

    https://twitter.com/jasonschreier/status/1488210539276902407

    second:
    [upl-image-preview url=//i.imgur.com/ekIoj7H.png]

    Time Rogers strikes again

    oh come on

    (about corporate acquisitions not podcast bets)

    Also thank you Esper, I'm going to spend this money on a good cause (pizza for me)

    I feel like the team answered this a few weeks ago.

    AJ: "What should Sony do."
    Panel: "Nothing, but they're going to to something anyway."

    I'm still waiting for the Sony/Discord integration so PlayStation chat becomes usable because for some reason, everyone wants to use Discord with their game audio blaring in the background instead of using in-game chat with the headphones of their choice.

    In summary, no strong feelings about _Destiny_ (Bungie doesn't make any other games anyway), and Discord kinda sux.

    @"billy "#p56237 I can‘t believe I didn’t think of pope'n music during the episode!! what a fool.

    @"Jaffe"#p56248 except it was meeeeee

    I relate to what Brandon said about Paradise Killer. Playing through that game for me was mostly loving it, and a bit of just sitting there aghast like… how could you do this to me??? It's a specific type of mental/emotional comfort provided by every aesthetic choice in that game that had previously felt private and secluded. So an entire game made up of those things, like… every detail…. I, too, felt extremely targeted.

    I really love that game, though.

    @“exodus”#p56259 Oops! Sorry, my mistake.

    @“exodus”#p56259 from this point on you are not allowed to even joke about anyone buying sega :eyes:

    I drive a Yaris and I have to second Tim‘s praise of the vehicle. It’s quite efficient, I have driven it almost 200k miles and have never had a problem with it. It also has one big windshield wiper instead of two which I always thought was cool. Guess I'll have to check out the game now.