Ep. 223 - Game of the Year 2021

### Ep. 223 - Game of the Year 2021

https://youtu.be/3OiuWxJ9l8s

In which our heroes recount a few of the best video games released in 2021, the most interesting video games released in 2021, and the video games they actually played in 2021. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers and Brandon Sheffield. Edited by Esper Quinn. Original music by Kurt Feldman.

**Nominees in Order of Discussion (Unranked)**

  • - [Moon: Remix RPG Adventure](https://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/moon-remix-rpg-adventure)
  • - [Dungeon Encounters](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dungeon-encounters)
  • - [Balan Wonderworld](https://www.mobygames.com/game/balan-wonderworld)
  • - [Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy](https://www.mobygames.com/game/marvel-guardians-of-the-galaxy)
  • - [Hitman III](https://www.mobygames.com/game/hitman-iii)
  • - [Ghosts 'n Goblins: Resurrection](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ghosts-n-goblins-resurrection)
  • - [F.I.S.T.: Forged In Shadow Torch](https://www.mobygames.com/game/fist-forged-in-shadow-torch)
  • - [Lost Judgment](https://www.mobygames.com/game/lost-judgment)
  • - [Cruis'n Blast](https://www.mobygames.com/game/cruisn-blast)
  • - [Psychonauts 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/psychonauts-2)
  • - [Chicory: A Colorful Tale](https://www.mobygames.com/game/chicory-a-colorful-tale)
  • - [Shin Megami Tensei V](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/shin-megami-tensei-v)
  • - [Final Fantasy Pixel Remasters](https://www.mobygames.com/game/final-fantasy___)
  • - [Scarlet Nexus](https://www.mobygames.com/game/scarlet-nexus)
  • - [Loop Hero](https://www.mobygames.com/game/loop-hero)
  • - [Mass Effect: Legendary Edition](https://www.mobygames.com/game/mass-effect-legendary-edition)
  • - [Final Fantasy XIV Online: Endwalker](https://www.mobygames.com/game/final-fantasy-xiv-online-endwalker)
  • - [Call of Duty: Vanguard](https://www.mobygames.com/game/call-of-duty-vanguard)
  • - [NieR Replicant ver.1.22474487139...](https://www.mobygames.com/game/nier-replicant-ver122474487139)
  • - [Fuga: Melodies of Steel](https://www.mobygames.com/game/fuga-melodies-of-steel)
  • - [Dodgeball Academia](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dodgeball-academia)
  • ### THE INSERT CREDIT TOP 21 OF 2021:

  • 1. ||F.I.S.T.: Forged in Shadow Torch||
  • 2. ||Shin Megami Tensei V||
  • 3. ||Dungeon Encounters||
  • 4. ||Balan Wonderworld||
  • 5. ||Marvel's Guardians of the Galaxy||
  • 6. ||Final Fantasy XIV: Endwalker||
  • 7. ||Hitman 3||
  • 8. ||Psychonauts 2||
  • 9. ||Lost Judgment||
  • 10. ||Chicory: A Colorful Tale||
  • 11. ||Nier Replicant ver.1.22474487139...||
  • 12. ||Fuga: Melodies of Steel||
  • 13. ||Loop Hero||
  • 14. ||Ghosts 'n Goblins Resurrection||
  • 15. ||Final Fantasy I-V Pixel Remaster||
  • 16. ||Dodgeball Academia||
  • 17. ||Scarlet Nexus||
  • 18. ||Cruis'n Blast||
  • 19. ||Call of Duty: Vanguard||
  • 20. ||Moon: Remix RPG Adventure||
  • 21. ||Mass Effect Legendary Edition||
  • **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Pig (2021)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt11003218/)
  • - [WandaVision](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt9140560/)
  • - [The Last Duel (2021)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt4244994/)
  • - [No Time to Die (2021)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt2382320/)
  • - [Melissa](https://melissanyc.bandcamp.com/album/s-t)
  • - [Barb and Star Go to Vista Del Mar (2021)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt3797512/)
  • - [Moon: Remix RPG Adventure](https://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/moon-remix-rpg-adventure)
  • - [Chulip](https://www.mobygames.com/game/chulip)
  • - [Moon’s manual](https://moon-rpg.com/en/sub/manual.html)
  • - [Papa John’s founder John Schnatter ate 40 pizzas in 30 days and says it’s gotten worse](https://www.cnn.com/2019/11/26/business/papa-johns-schnatter-interview-trnd/index.html)
  • - [Dungeon Encounters](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dungeon-encounters)
  • - [Bravely Default II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/bravely-default-ii)
  • - [Balan Wonderworld](https://www.mobygames.com/game/balan-wonderworld)
  • - [Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy](https://www.mobygames.com/game/marvel-guardians-of-the-galaxy)
  • - [Deus Ex series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/deus-ex-series)
  • - [Marvel Avengers](https://www.mobygames.com/game/marvel-avengers)
  • - [The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0167260/)
  • - [Hitman III](https://www.mobygames.com/game/hitman-iii)
  • - [Yakuza / Ryū ga Gotoku series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/yakuza-ry-ga-gotoku-series)
  • - [Hitman series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/hitman-series)
  • - [Ghosts 'n Goblins: Resurrection](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ghosts-n-goblins-resurrection)
  • - [Susumu Matsushita](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Susumu_Matsushita)
  • - [MiSTerAddons.com](https://misteraddons.com/)
  • - [Ghost 'N Goblins series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/ghost-n-goblins-series)
  • - [Maximo series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/maximo-series)
  • - [Getsu Fūma Den series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/getsu-fma-den-series)
  • - [F.I.S.T.: Forged In Shadow Torch](https://www.mobygames.com/game/fist-forged-in-shadow-torch)
  • - [Metroid series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/metroid-series)
  • - [Castlevania / Akumajō Dracula series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/castlevania-akumaj-dracula-series)
  • - [Genshin Impact](https://www.mobygames.com/game/genshin-impact)
  • - [Lost Judgment](https://www.mobygames.com/game/lost-judgment)
  • - [GTO: Great Teacher Onizuka](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Great_Teacher_Onizuka)
  • - [Space Channel 5](https://www.mobygames.com/game/space-channel-5)
  • - [Daytona USA](https://www.mobygames.com/game/daytona-usa_)
  • - [Sega Rally series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/sega-rally-series)
  • - [F-Zero GX](https://www.mobygames.com/game/gamecube/f-zero-gx)
  • - [Record of Lodoss War: Deedlit in Wonder Labyrinth](https://www.mobygames.com/game/record-of-lodoss-war-deedlit-in-wonder-labyrinth)
  • - [Cruis'n Blast](https://www.mobygames.com/game/cruisn-blast)
  • - [Cruis’n Blast Switch cover](https://www.mobygames.com/game/cruisn-blast/cover-art/gameCoverId,783251/)
  • - [Eugene Jarvis](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eugene_Jarvis)
  • - [Psychonauts 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/psychonauts-2)
  • - [Chicory: A Colorful Tale](https://www.mobygames.com/game/chicory-a-colorful-tale)
  • - [Wandersong](https://www.mobygames.com/game/wandersong)
  • - [VIDEOBALL](https://www.mobygames.com/game/videoball)
  • - [Polygon’s GOTY list for 2021](https://www.polygon.com/c/22796149/50-best-video-games-of-2021-polygon-goty)
  • - [Shin Megami Tensei V](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/shin-megami-tensei-v)
  • - [Shin Megami Tensei series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/shin-megami-tensei-series)
  • - [Final Fantasy](https://www.mobygames.com/game/final-fantasy___)
  • - [Octopath Traveler](https://www.mobygames.com/game/octopath-traveler)
  • - [Deltarune: Chapter 1&2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/deltarune-chapter-2)
  • - [Kentucky Route Zero](https://www.mobygames.com/game/kentucky-route-zero)
  • - [Resident Evil: Village](https://www.mobygames.com/game/resident-evil-village)
  • - [Tales of Arise](https://www.mobygames.com/game/tales-of-arise)
  • - [Scarlet Nexus](https://www.mobygames.com/game/scarlet-nexus)
  • - [Biohazard / Resident Evil series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/biohazard-resident-evil-series)
  • - [Astral Chain](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/astral-chain)
  • - [Loop Hero](https://www.mobygames.com/game/loop-hero)
  • - [Mass Effect: Legendary Edition](https://www.mobygames.com/game/mass-effect-legendary-edition)
  • - [Final Fantasy XIV Online: Endwalker](https://www.mobygames.com/game/final-fantasy-xiv-online-endwalker)
  • - [Astro’s Playroom](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playstation-5/playstation-5-included-game)
  • - [Eschatos](https://www.mobygames.com/game/eschatos)
  • - [Mars Matrix](https://www.mobygames.com/game/mars-matrix)
  • - [Eastward](https://www.mobygames.com/game/eastward)
  • - [Call of Duty: Vanguard](https://www.mobygames.com/game/call-of-duty-vanguard)
  • - [NieR Replicant ver.1.22474487139...](https://www.mobygames.com/game/nier-replicant-ver122474487139)
  • - [Tokimeki Memorial: Forever with You](https://www.mobygames.com/game/tokimeki-memorial-forever-with-you)
  • - [Fuga: Melodies of Steel](https://www.mobygames.com/game/fuga-melodies-of-steel)
  • - [Solatorobo: Red the Hunter](https://www.mobygames.com/game/nintendo-ds/solatorobo-red-the-hunter)
  • - [Tail Concerto](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playstation/tail-concerto)
  • - [Dodgeball Academia](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dodgeball-academia)
  • - [Golf Story](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/golf-story)
  • - [Inazuma Eleven series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/inazuma-eleven-series)
  • Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/insert-credit-show/id1509363651), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    Oh my god Esper were you up all night editing this? Are you that tireless?

    Turned it off after “whoomp there it is”, catch ya in 2023

    puttin on my cool guy sunglasses because the only games i’ve played on this list are numbers 2 and 3 (and 20, but I played that one in 2020).

    also i cannot believe that numbers 2 and 3 were ranked that highly. i am going to say that 2021 was a poor year for video games if that’s the best we could do, lol.

    Three hours! Crikey.

    Also, @exodus, Dungeon Encounters is on Switch and it is a grand old time.

    As it happens, I bought Balan Wonderworld very recently for precisely the reasons that are mentioned and I'm looking forward to it it being one of the first games that I play on PlayStation 5 despite owning a plethora objectively better games.

    Three Hours? There's never been a better value!

    I like Yakuza but I‘ve always had a hard time with the Judgement games. They just don’t stick for some reason. I beat the first one but I bee-lined the story and never did any side stuff (which I always do in Yakuza games). I played the second one for ~5 hours and just never came back to it, despite liking the school setting.

    Going to give it another try later this year!

    was dragon quest xi not in the running this year? >!that's a joke!<

    @“ukigusa”#p57973 judgment is just not as good! In my opinion the side yakuza should follow the guy who gives loans!

    @"whatsarobot"#p57962 I'd say overall I'm happy with this game of the year list and think there's lots of good games in it, so!!

    This list is a work of art. Good job to all involved.

    @“gsk”#p57958 weirdly for the last week I‘ve had 1.5 seconds of that song stuck in my head: “— — back again!” desperately googling every early 90s hip hop hit I could think of to remember who was back and with what song. I remembered it was Tag Team who was back again on Friday, so I’m on board with Tim‘s intro if only for serendipity’s sake.

    Good Lord this is a lot of podcast about a GOTY for a year where I can't think of a single game that came out without really mentally straining to do so

    EDIT: just want to be clear I am impressed and very excited to listen

    Balan Wonderworld is legitimately Almost There, frustratingly so. It blows that no one payed attention to it so there's little to no mod scene for it. I found myself enjoying the game WAY more once I just played Nights or Blinx music.

    I wish they would have just looked at something like Kirby for a sensible "Lots of power ups that feel meaningful in some way" as opposed to throw everything at the wall and keep it. I don't regret buying it, I had a Good Time with what I've played of it, so far. I just really wish I could inject other music in it. It's the only truly disappointing thing for me. Was really looking forward to at least a really catchy soundtrack, but it ain't Sega's sound team...

    (the sound is a bit loud on these)
    https://twitter.com/jjsignal/status/1418837183092248578?s=20&t=NI3xAgg1XgkvV3Mp0ogKbQ

    >

    @“JJSignal”#p57999 I wish they would have just looked at something like Kirby

    I think the #1 problem with this game is they didn't look at anything outside of their own brains and concepts. it feels like something that was created in a 90s vacuum and was never focus tested until the much-maligned demo came out. It really is almost there, and could've really been something beloved, but here we are. Even as it is though I don't think it deserves the extreme hate it got.

    @“exodus”#p58002 can I just say here that that new Kirby looks very me. Can’t wait to play it co-op with my son. I think it’s going to be a fun, chilled old time. Also, I bought Chicory on the Switch today because of the podcast and played a little F.I.S.T. as I’d totally forgotten it was my game library pile, somehow… :man_shrugging:t2:

    I enjoyed this list episode more than most, and I like the end result - it's also pretty fun for me personally that my choices are relatively evenly distributed through the list. I hope you all enjoy listening to it!!! at the very least we did not come up with a Gamespot list (no offense meant to Gamespot).

    i‘m listening right now, i love it. the only explanation for this coming out on valentine’s day is: the podcast loves me

    three hours, crikey

    @“exodus”#p57980 for sure! i was in no way intending to criticize the list, or the episode. sorry if it came across that way. i was just surprised those two games ranked above many of the ones that were ranked lower. i intend to check out several of the games on the list based on the show’s recommendation, and thank you for putting together this episode.