Ep. 235 - Unchardita, with Vincent Diamante

### Ep. 235 - Unchardita, with Vincent Diamante

Insert Credit Co-founder and legendary game composer [Vincent Diamante](https://twitter.com/vincentdiamante) joins the panel to cover Fighters Megamix romance, Russian Adventure, and the top 5 Sonic games that aren’t the immediately great ones. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Brandon Sheffield and Vincent Diamante. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6J8fvtm1rQQ

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. [Kris Graft](https://twitter.com/krisgraft) asks: Which two fighters from Fighters Megamix would make the best or worst romantic couple? (05:17)
  • 2. Now that we have a little distance, what features of the PS4/Xbox One era will feel retro someday? (09:45)
  • 3. On what occasions have you restarted a game from the beginning before finishing it? (15:02)
  • 4. What is “immersion” in video games? (19:54)
  • 5. Design an “In This House We Do Disney” piece of wall art for gamers (25:16)
  • 6. Dirtbag Salvatore Romano asks: Excluding 1, 2, 3, & Knuckles and Mania, what are the top 5 Sonic the Hedgehog games? (30:36)
  • 7. Which video game series took the greatest number of entries to start getting good? (36:16)
  • 8. What is the best logo design in video games? (41:38)
  • 9. Is Nintendo evil? (46:31)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND**: Acronymizer (50:33)

    Recommendations and Outro (56:30)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Bram Stoker’s Dracula](https://draculadaily.substack.com/)
  • - [Dan Slott’s Spider-Man run](https://www.marvel.com/articles/comics/the-full-reading-order-of-dan-slott-s-amazing-spider-man)
  • - [Children of Virtue and Vengeance](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Children_of_Virtue_and_Vengeance)
  • - [World Trigger](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_Trigger)
  • - [SimCity 2000](https://www.mobygames.com/game/simcity-2000)
  • - [Fighters Megamix](https://www.mobygames.com/game/fighters-megamix)
  • - [Bean the Dynamite](https://sonic.fandom.com/wiki/Bean_the_Dynamite)
  • - [Bark the Polar Bear](https://sonic.fandom.com/wiki/Bark_the_Polar_Bear)
  • - [Daytona USA](https://www.mobygames.com/game/daytona-usa_)
  • - [Virtua Cop](https://www.mobygames.com/game/virtua-cop)
  • - [Rent A Hero](https://www.mobygames.com/game/rent-a-hero_)
  • - [Banjo-Kazooie](https://www.mobygames.com/game/banjo-kazooie)
  • - [Kumachan](https://fightersgeneration.com/characters4/kumachan-pandachan.html)
  • - [Candy](https://sega.fandom.com/wiki/Candy)
  • - [Herbie](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Herbie)
  • - [Jeffry McWild](https://virtuafighter.fandom.com/wiki/Jeffry_McWild)
  • - [Dural](https://virtuafighter.fandom.com/wiki/Dural)
  • - [Tomb Raider series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/tomb-raider-series)
  • - [Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy](https://www.mobygames.com/game/marvel-guardians-of-the-galaxy)
  • - [Stranger of Paradise: Final Fantasy Origin](https://www.mobygames.com/game/stranger-of-paradise-final-fantasy-origin)
  • - [Balan Wonderworld](https://www.mobygames.com/game/balan-wonderworld)
  • - [Yuji Naka says Square Enix doesn’t ‘value games’ after Balan Wonderworld mess](https://www.theverge.com/2022/4/28/23046855/balan-wonderworld-yuji-naka-square-enix)
  • - [Castlevania: Symphony of the Night](https://www.mobygames.com/game/castlevania-symphony-of-the-night)
  • - [The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy](https://www.mobygames.com/game/hitchhikers-guide-to-the-galaxy)
  • - [Time Traveler](https://www.mobygames.com/game/time-traveler)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening](https://www.mobygames.com/game/gameboy/legend-of-zelda-links-awakening)
  • - [Super Hydlide](https://www.mobygames.com/game/super-hydlide)
  • - [Uncharted: The Lost Legacy](https://www.mobygames.com/game/uncharted-the-lost-legacy)
  • - [Chrono Cross](https://www.mobygames.com/game/chrono-cross)
  • - [Loop Hero](https://www.mobygames.com/game/loop-hero)
  • - [the stupid disney thing Jaffe talks about](https://www.amazon.com/This-House-Disney-Chalkboard-Background/dp/B01CW2VARK/ref=asc_df_B01CW2VARK/?tag=hyprod-20&linkCode=df0&hvadid=198061764911&hvpos=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=3996364645653016197&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&hvdev=c&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=9073501&hvtargid=pla-320576381716&psc=1)
  • - [Fortnite series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/fortnite-series)
  • - [Elden Ring](https://www.mobygames.com/game/elden-ring)
  • - [Battlefield 1942](https://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/battlefield-1942)
  • - [Zombie Revenge](https://www.mobygames.com/game/zombie-revenge)
  • - [Disaster Report](https://www.mobygames.com/game/disaster-report)
  • - [Sonic R](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sonic-r)
  • - [Sonic & All-Stars Racing: Transformed](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sonic-all-stars-racing-transformed)
  • - [Sonic Adventure](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sonic-adventure)
  • - [Sonic Rush](https://www.mobygames.com/game/nintendo-ds/sonic-rush)
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog Chaos](https://www.mobygames.com/game/game-gear/sonic-the-hedgehog-chaos)
  • - [Dr. Robotnik's Mean Bean Machine](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dr-robotniks-mean-bean-machine)
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog: Triple Trouble](https://www.mobygames.com/game/game-gear/sonic-the-hedgehog-triple-trouble)
  • - [Knuckles' Chaotix](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sega-32x/knuckles-chaotix)
  • - [Rush'n Attack series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/rushn-attack-series)
  • - [Tetris](https://www.mobygames.com/game/tetris_gb)
  • - [Final Fantasy series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/final-fantasy-series)
  • - [Madden series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/madden-series)
  • - [Bubsy 3D: Bubsy Visits the James Turrell Retrospective](https://www.mobygames.com/game/bubsy-3d-bubsy-visits-the-james-turrell-retrospective)
  • - [Bubsy: Paws on Fire!](https://www.mobygames.com/game/bubsy-paws-on-fire)
  • - [Mortal Kombat games](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/mortal-kombat-games)
  • - [Street Fighter series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/street-fighter-series)
  • - [Asuka 120% series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/asuka-120-series)
  • - [Castlevania / Akumajō Dracula series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/castlevania-akumaj-dracula-series)
  • - [Need for Speed series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/need-for-speed-series)
  • - [The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind](https://www.mobygames.com/game/elder-scrolls-iii-morrowind)
  • - [Mass Effect 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/mass-effect-2)
  • - [Capcom cubes logo](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qaXV_tUCCtY)
  • - [Ibrahim Hamdi’s game logos in arabic](https://twitter.com/tha_rami/status/1276303656653029377)
  • - [Brain Grey logo](http://gdri.smspower.org/wiki/images/3/3f/Braingrey.png)
  • - [HOT B Logo](https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/743918905789120552/971879459273715852/unknown.png)
  • - [TWEWY logo](https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/743918905789120552/971879875273195611/unknown.png)
  • - [original Puyo Puyo logo](https://www.segadriven.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/Puyo_Puyo_Logo_1_a.gif)
  • - [Reggie Fils-Aimé on contractor woes: ‘This isn’t the Nintendo I left’](https://www.washingtonpost.com/video-games/2022/05/03/nintendo-contractors-reggie-fils-aime/)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Vincent**: [Scritti Politti](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scritti_Politti_discography)
    **Brandon:** [Halloween (1978)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0077651/)
    **Frank**: [Dan Slott’s Spider-Man run](https://www.marvel.com/articles/comics/the-full-reading-order-of-dan-slott-s-amazing-spider-man)

    Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/insert-credit-show/id1509363651), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    05:17

    Fighters Megamix is not just a Sega cross-over but more specifically an AM#2 cross-over game, which I personally find even cooler (and Sega-of-the-time appropriate) as a concept! All the additional characters came from other AM#2 games, which is why they specifically picked Bean and Bark from Sonic The Fighters – they are the only characters from the game who were invented by AM#2. This still applies whether you consider Bean an original character or a Dynamite Dux reference!

    15:02
    I arrived at the final boss of **Dragon Force II** with one of the 8 generals/kingdoms and could not beat the game because my general lacked one crucial MP in order to cast another magic spell and slay the Final Boss (>!a gigantic zombie dragon!<) before the time runs out. Reaching the time limit gives you a Game Over. The Boss is too strong for the rest of your troops so you have to cast spells to finish them off. Maybe there was a way to recharge your magic, or to farm more MP outside of the final battle but my understanding of Japanese in 1998 was way too primitive to figure out how. So I gave up this scenario and finished the game with all 7 other generals (I think? I remember playing the game for a month straight), each time cautiously grinding MP during the play-through to make sure the same issue would not repeat itself.

    Perhaps an obvious answer, but when I think “best logo design in video games” I don‘t think of a particular game company, but of Designers Republic’s work on the Wipeout games, both on the logotype for the games themselves and for the diegetic logos used in the game.

    Thorough but rather copied and pasted summary of the Wipeout logo designs here:

    https://imjustcreative.com/wipeout-logo-history/2021/05/17

    As for Nintendo being evil, I remember they used to be rock bottom when it came to accountability in not using conflict minerals in their hardware. Apparently they've gotten better, though have received some criticism because rather than improve working conditions at oppressive facilities, they just cut while countries out of their supply chain to avoid the problem (I'm not sure if other companies actually do any better in this respect?).
    https://www.nintendolife.com/news/2021/07/nintendos_record_on_conflict_minerals_is_praised_but_with_an_important_catch

    Well, I‘ll admit that “In This House” bit flopped, but in this house you miss 100% of the shots you don’t take

    @“esper”#p69198

    Here is more specifically the ijidk ijidk logo referenced by @“exodus”#3 at 46:19.

    @“chazumaru”#p69214 that is so good!

    I did about half a video game in this house… but got mad at myself for what I was doing and thinking, so I had to stop

    @“chazumaru”#p69206 ah yes, that‘s a good point that didn’t come to mind at the time! It was indeed specifically an AM-2 crossover, as sort of a preview of the pseudo-autonomy sega's internal studios would get in the future, with smilebit, UGA… Though maybe Team Andromeda was the first of those.

    @"Girard"#p69207 definitely an answer that was too obviously correct for me to think of at the time since I was stuck in company logos - those logos and that music felt like they came from outside of games somehow (and I guess they kind of did since it was all externally commissioned), and lent the whole thing an air of extra legitimacy beyond itself.

    >

    @“exodus”#p69235 Though maybe Team Andromeda was the first of those.

    AM#2 precedes Team Andromeda by a few years and, to be fair, comparing them would be like comparing a little league baseball team to the New York Yankees. Team Andromeda wasn’t even a proper department but rather a team inside CS#1. A better comparison for them would be the Sonic Team of 1991-1995 before Naka returned to Japan and his division was properly renamed as Sonic Team.

    By comparison, AM#2 was a proper division with its own budget and staff. It was so popular after Virtua Fighter that, by Spring 1994, the department had its own dedicated monthly feature AM#2-ken Express in Beep! Megadrive. “_AM#2 has promised to support the Saturn with ports of its games!_” was pretty much 90% of Sega’s initial marketing strategy for the console (and it worked for a while!).

    [upl-image-preview url=//i.imgur.com/H9dtBz9.jpeg]

    It’s also no surprise and very telling that only AM#2 and Sonic Team kept their names during the major studio shakeup of the Dreamcast Era.

    @“chazumaru”#p69243 I mean I know AM2 was a proper division, it was arcade vs console, etc. but this game would be the first time it could investigate its own universe, which team andromeda was also able to do, and the later divisions were able to do as well.

    That said, I did miss that the marketing was "AM2 will support the saturn!" so I guess they were a really known entity earlier than I supposed. oops!

    Anyway, tweet relevant to this episode:
    https://twitter.com/necrosofty/status/1390891595386343428

    (it turns out they only used this for one game and is not the official acronym)

    6. Dirtbag Salvatore Romano asks: Excluding 1, 2, 3, & Knuckles and Mania, what are the top 5 Sonic the Hedgehog games? (30:36)

  • 1. Knuckles Chaotix
  • 2. Sonic R
  • 4. Sonic Triple Trouble / Sonic & Tails 2
  • 3. Sonic Chaos / Sonic & Tails
  • 5. Adventure
  • Runner ups:
    Sonic 3D Blast (any version)
    Sonic Advance 2

    >

    @“yeso”#p69228 I did about half a video game in this house… but got mad at myself for what I was doing and thinking, so I had to stop

    Well buddy, that's a shame, because in this house, we...

    [size=48][color=blue] Gotta [color=yellow]Catch [color=blue]'Em [color=yellow]All,
    [size=18] we are all
    [size=32][color=red]_masters of unlocking,_
    [color=purple]^and ^we _^always_[/SIZE]

    ### [color=limegreen][size=49] **FINISH THE FIGHT**

    @“Gaagaagiins”#p69250 because no-one set us up the bomb

    [upl-image-preview url=//i.imgur.com/56Kw098.png]

    Tangent but I really want one of these (for anyone unaware of what this is referencing, here is a [link ](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Long-term_nuclear_waste_warning_messages))

    @“exodus”#p69247 Hot•B is such a good logo. Some others I really enjoy are:

    Fill-in-cafe
    [upl-image-preview url=//i.imgur.com/traNne5.png]

    élf, specifically in Yu-No's opening
    [upl-image-preview url=//i.imgur.com/4ATTAnu.png]

    Riot (Telenet)
    [upl-image-preview url=//i.imgur.com/sZ4HI6x.png]

    Treasure. Any of them, really. The typeface never changed. The spinning box is really cool, but any time I see that typeface, I get goosebumps. Seeing the flames in the boxless version still screams _This Is Gonna Be A Good Time_ to me.
    [upl-image-preview url=//i.imgur.com/SzHCzgc.png]

    @“Gaagaagiins”#p69250 In This House… we may uh find a r-reading fwum da enewegy souwce m-megaman, and w-when we find dat meteow, we find doctah wahwee

    Starting to listen now completely ready to get annoyed at whatever negative was said about final fantasy, as announced by Brandon here.

    @“JJSignal”#p69258 yeah, that fill in cafe one is great! seems like you enjoy logos where they play with negative space, which I certainly get.

    As someone who has only played from Final Fantasy IV onwards I can‘t really get annoyed at what was said. Bringing up Castlevania though, THAT’S annoying.

    @"exodus"#3 isn't the PCE supposed to be your favourite console or whatever? That has the best playing AND best sounding pre-SotN Castlevania of them all!