Ep. 240 - Get On The Centaur, with The Night Sky Prince

### Ep. 240 - Get On The Centaur, with The Night Sky Prince

Final Fantasy and JRPG streamer [The Night Sky Prince](https://www.youtube.com/TheNightSkyPrince) pals around with the panel for an RPG-focused episode covering wily game mavens, Bush doing 9/11, and the Lynchian madness of Kingdom Hearts. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers, Brandon Sheffield and The Night Sky Prince. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

https://youtu.be/QbXpGRnnKFQ

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. Brandon Sheffield asks: What is the “Play it again, Sam” of video games? (05:46)
  • 2. What would make Final Fantasy XVI not just the best game in the series, but a game that even Frank and Brandon would want to play immediately? (12:44)
  • 3. What are some RPG mechanics from a bygone age you’d like to see make a comeback? (20:54)
  • 4. Rename Creative Business Units 1 through 4 (26:24)
  • 5. MoxBagel asks: If Chunsoft continued to make all eleven main Dragon Quests, how would they be different? (37:21)
  • 6. Is the practice of grinding a fundamental flaw in RPGs, or can it be additive to the experience? (43:38)
  • 7. What are the qualities of a party member you’ll always keep in your party? (50:44)
  • 8. Establish a canon of worthy 2D successors to Final Fantasies IV-VI (56:32)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND**: (01:03:07)

    Recommendations & Outro (01:09:29)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Dragon Ball Z: Super Saiya Densetsu](https://www.mobygames.com/game/snes/dragon-ball-z-super-saiya-densetsu)
  • - [Phantasy Star IV](https://www.mobygames.com/game/phantasy-star-iv)
  • - [Phantasy Star games](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/phantasy-star-games)
  • - [Dragon Warrior](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dragon-warrior)
  • - [Advanced Dungeons & Dragons: Treasure of Tarmin Cartridge](https://www.mobygames.com/game/advanced-dungeons-dragons-treasure-of-tarmin-cartridge)
  • - [Pokémon Blue Version](https://www.mobygames.com/game/pokmon-blue-version)
  • - [Quest 64](https://www.mobygames.com/game/n64/quest-64)
  • - [Play it again, Sam](https://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/284700.html)
  • - [Casablanca (1942)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0034583/)
  • - [Pac-Man](https://www.mobygames.com/game/pac-man)
  • - [Death Stranding](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playstation-4/death-stranding_)
  • - [Pong](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dedicated-console/pong_______)
  • - [Super Mario series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/super-mario-series)
  • - [Final Fantasy XV](https://www.mobygames.com/game/final-fantasy-xv)
  • - [Everything we learned from Final Fantasy XVI’s new trailer](https://www.theverge.com/2022/6/3/23153215/final-fantasy-xvi-trailer-lore-square-enix)
  • - [The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt](https://www.mobygames.com/game/witcher-3-wild-hunt)
  • - [Call of Duty series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/call-of-duty-series)
  • - [Devil May Cry 5](https://www.mobygames.com/game/devil-may-cry-5)
  • - [Ultima](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ultima)
  • - [Shin Megami Tensei series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/shin-megami-tensei-series)
  • - [Elden Ring](https://www.mobygames.com/game/elden-ring)
  • - [Creative Business Unit I](https://finalfantasy.fandom.com/wiki/Creative_Business_Unit_I)
  • - [Final Fantasy series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/final-fantasy-series)
  • - [Saga Frontier series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/saga-frontier-series)
  • - [Kingdom Hearts series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/kingdom-hearts-series)
  • - [The World Ends with You series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/world-ends-with-you-series)
  • - [Creative Business Unit II](https://finalfantasy.fandom.com/wiki/Creative_Business_Unit_II)
  • - [Dragon Warrior / Dragon Quest series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/dragon-warrior-dragon-quest-series)
  • - [Gunslinger Stratos](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gunslinger_Stratos)
  • - [NieR series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/nier-series)
  • - [Bravely Default series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/bravely-default-series)
  • - [Octopath Traveler series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/octopath-traveler-series)
  • - [Creative Business Unit III](https://finalfantasy.fandom.com/wiki/Creative_Business_Unit_III)
  • - [Final Fantasy XIV Online: A Realm Reborn](https://www.mobygames.com/game/final-fantasy-xiv-online-a-realm-reborn)
  • - [Final Fantasy XVI](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Final_Fantasy_XVI)
  • - [Dragon Quest Builders series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/dragon-quest-builders-series)
  • - [Creative Business Unit IV](https://finalfantasy.fandom.com/wiki/Creative_Business_Unit_IV)
  • - [Seiken Densetsu / Mana series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/seiken-densetsu-mana-series)
  • - [Nintendo R&D 1](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nintendo_Research_%26_Development_1)
  • - [Sega AM2](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sega_AM2)
  • - [Meet Shinra, Square Enix' powerful cloud processing tech](https://www.pcgamer.com/meet-shinra-square-enix-powerful-cloud-processing-tech/)
  • - [Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder's Revenge](https://www.shredders-revenge.com/)
  • - [Spike Chunsoft](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spike_Chunsoft)
  • - [Yuji Horii](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yuji_Horii)
  • - [Akira Toriyama](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Akira_Toriyama)
  • - [Koichi Sugiyama](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Koichi_Sugiyama)
  • - [Destiny 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/destiny-2)
  • - [Loop Hero](https://www.mobygames.com/game/loop-hero)
  • - [Half-Minute Hero series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/half-minute-hero-series)
  • - [Cecil Harvey](https://finalfantasy.fandom.com/wiki/Cecil_Harvey)
  • - [Shining Force series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/shining-force-series)
  • - [Centaur (pinball)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Centaur_(pinball))
  • - [Deus Ex: Human Revolution is FINE, And Here's Why](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bgJazjz9ZsA)
  • - [Legend of Heroes series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/legend-of-heroes-series)
  • - [Lost Odyssey](https://www.mobygames.com/game/lost-odyssey)
  • - [Lufia II: Rise of the Sinistrals](https://www.mobygames.com/game/snes/lufia-ii-rise-of-the-sinistrals)
  • - [Chrono Trigger](https://www.mobygames.com/game/chrono-trigger)
  • - [Wild Arms](https://www.mobygames.com/game/wild-arms)
  • - [Suikoden series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/suikoden-series)
  • - [The Legend of Xanadu II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/legend-of-xanadu-ii)
  • - [Seiya Monogatari: Anearth Fantasy Stories](https://www.mobygames.com/game/turbografx-cd/seiya-monogatari-anearth-fantasy-stories)
  • - [Tokimeki Memorial games](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/tokimeki-memorial-games)
  • - [Albert Odyssey](https://www.mobygames.com/game/albert-odyssey)
  • - [Tales series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/tales-series)
  • - [Final Fantasy Tactics](https://www.mobygames.com/game/final-fantasy-tactics)
  • - [Wild Arms 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/wild-arms-2)
  • - [Xenogears](https://www.mobygames.com/game/xenogears)
  • - [Grandia](https://www.mobygames.com/game/grandia)
  • - [Dark Savior](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sega-saturn/dark-savior)
  • - [Alundra](https://www.mobygames.com/game/alundra)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Brandon:** [Wishlist Necrosoft’s new game Demonschool on Steam](https://store.steampowered.com/app/1900250/Demonschool/), check out the [website](https://necrosoftgames.com/demonschool/)
    **Frank**: [Our Flag Means Death](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt11000902/)
    **Tim**: Buy a nice pair of shoes
    **The Night Sky Prince**: [The Night Sky Prince on Youtube](https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFJ5FLd5CSLc4YquvO_cf8A), [Twitch](https://www.youtube.com/redirect?event=video_description&redir_token=QUFFLUhqbnAycTFIUS1GcHo5cU90ZWdRQnJHNkQ0NVplUXxBQ3Jtc0trTTUwMzRoTXdVUkJMMHZxdXhKcnp2akZJR0R4Q21jUGVDbXgtWkhMT1JmckdUSUlyT3JBQ08tZGctbDZyQ0p1WDA5OUdnb19MOElJUnpIenVqTU93U2JnRGFabFhGWFNfMXFhRTlDZ01JX0dleXJVQQ&q=https%3A%2F%2Ftwitch.tv%2FTheNightSkyPrince%E2%80%8B) and [Twitter](https://twitter.com/nightskyprince_)

    Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/insert-credit-show/id1509363651), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    Ho boy, never would have expected TheNight Sky Prince in here. I have to listen the last two episodes as soon as I can.

    Dragon Warrior was also my first RPG. Made for a long love of JRPGs. Those giant monster sprites were the coolest and the world map with different locations to visit was the first time a game gave me the feeling of being in a place, as opposed to participating in a semi-complicated test of button pressing skill. It was one of tiny me‘s three favorite games, despite being pre-kindergarten and unable to read. I memorized what all those jumbles of letters like ’FIGHT‘ and ’HEAL‘ did and could meander my way through, up to the point of the cave dragon. Don’t know if I already knew addition and subtraction at the time, whether the game forced the knowledge on me through trial and error or if I was just like, “Oh, all the text just changed colors. Better do that HEAL thing now.”

    It’s awesome you got NSP on the show! I pretty sure I suggested him a year ago in the thread for requesting podcast guests.

    I am going to go ahead and assume this means SphereHunter Suzi will also make an appearance at some point.

    That Demonschool looks sweet

    Just wanna say I played that M2 port of Phantasy Star 1 on the Switch and had a whale of a time. That game's got a lot of cool stuff in it. Talking cat, talking spider, man that tells you to listen to the talking spider. The talking spider being 100% correct with its advice. Good game.

    the “play it again, Sam” of video games has to be “It’s a’me Mario”. Mario never actually says this in any game

    i was playing god of war 2018 yesterday, doing sidequesty stuff in the boat, and kratos keeps telling fables to the boy. this is the kind of thing i need to keep me grinding, just nice little character moments either acknowledging the grindy situation (which the niers do a lot i think) or just small-talking like in this GoW.

    @“esper”#p73936

    >

    the party member question

    i’ll say it since everyone else is a coward: goth girl. if a game has a goth girl she’s in the party until I quit playing.

    @““I thought lethal weapon was safe…yeah.””#p73975 Super Mario 64

    @“rootfifthoctave”#p73983 i think this is 100% right for single player games. if a game can afford a lot of sweet little character moments like this during grind/non-main-story stuff (and they're all unique), it bumps my enjoyment way up.

    destiny 2 gives you sweet little character moments, too, but the repetition makes it agonizing by comparison.

    My memory is pretty bad but I think FF Mystic Quest was my first RPG, and the FF USA strategy completely worked on me. I qualify that because I had been primed to start thinking about games controlled through menu selections rather than button presses by playing through Princess Tomato and the Salad Kingdom. I wouldn't call that a RPG, but it was close enough to let me immediately start liking FFMQ and FF2.

    >

    @“esper”#p73984 i’ll say it since everyone else is a coward: goth girl. if a game has a goth girl she’s in the party until I quit playing.

    THIS is the kind of shit I was looking for. Ash Parrish would've gotten the spirit of this question.

    Funny characters have to be in the party. Silvando or Veronica in DQXI, Yangus in DQVIII, etc etc

    Great ep! Love a lot of RPG and specifically FF talk.

    I said this in the FF thread a while back but I see the different zones in FFXIV as the modern equivalent to what world maps were in that series, and the genre, at the time. They're beautiful and intricate spaces that are at first harder to traverse and then can be easily flown through and seen from a different angle when you unlock flying. They have puzzles and secrets to discover. They give you an idea of what the layout and geography of the different areas are but they leave a ton of room to speculate on how they all connect to each other. One of my favorite parts of that game is getting to a new area and just running around it on foot for a while.

    also if there's a girl who punches stuff she is going to always be in my party 100%

    The powerhouse mentor character stays in the party, doesn't matter if they have awful strength scaling compared to the protag and become nothing more than a glorified meat shield. Auron, Wakka, Gibari, Fang – hell, Marcus AND Wallace in FE7 if that counts. also goth girls @espercontrol is right we're all cowards

    Now, who here is modding Control to be about Tetsuya Nomura attempting to break out of the Creative Business Unit 1 office?

    The way it was explained to me, blowing into cartridges does have a very short term benefit for the reasons Frank described with the condensation, but said condensation also contributes to rust and corrosion on the pins so it is not advisable in the long term.

    Also very dumb thing for me to get hung up on but there's no way "Play it (again), Sam" is a more famous line from Casablanca than "I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship"

    @“GigaSlime”#p74016 There‘s that analytics tool we can use to sort out the number of google results for these phrases… I don’t know what it's called, but uh… it exists and we can find out for sure!

    @“exodus”#p74017 [upl-image-preview url=https://i.imgur.com/eAHuGTS.jpeg]