Ep. 244 - Double-Sized Dirtbag Delve, with Andrés Velasco y Coll

### Ep. 244 - Double-Sized Dirtbag Delve, with Andrés Velasco y Coll

EVO Head Tournament Organizer [Andrés “nothingxs” Velasco y Coll](https://twitter.com/nothingxs) fills in as host for a number of listener submitted questions, covering Italian David Cage, Stardon’t Valley, and how to get a job in the video game industry. Hosted by Andrés Velasco y Coll, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers, and Brandon Sheffield. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y5NEDFThCwM

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. Anders asks: How do you get into the video game industry? (07:35)
  • 2. AOL Netscape asks: What series or franchise has a spinoff game arguably better than its predecessor? (23:32)
  • 3. Ross Hamrick asks: How would you remake Jackie Chan Stuntmaster? (29:52)
  • 4. Horizontal Hold asks: Which Nintendo IP would Sega make a good entry of? (37:08)
  • 5. Mox Bagel asks: Which game director would make the best physical version of their game? (44:24)
  • 6. Dilson asks: What are the best crouching animations? (54:40)
  • 7. The Fragrance of Dark Coffee asks: What is the oldest game you’d still recommend today? (59:48)
  • 8. Spencer asks: Which games have the best third act? (01:09:18)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND**: Name Design – Popular Podcasts (01:15:51)

    Recommendations and Outro (01:22:32)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Crime City](https://www.mobygames.com/game/arcade/crime-city__)
  • - [Divekick: Addition Edition](https://www.mobygames.com/game/divekick-addition-edition)
  • - [Super Hexagon](https://www.mobygames.com/game/super-hexagon)
  • - [VIDEOBALL](https://www.mobygames.com/game/videoball)
  • - [Metal Gear series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/metal-gear-series)
  • - [Hyper Gunsport](https://store.steampowered.com/app/1663250/Hyper_Gunsport/) now wishlistable on steam
  • - [Indivisible](https://www.mobygames.com/game/indivisible)
  • - [BioShock series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/bioshock-series)
  • - [Animal Crossing: New Horizons](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/animal-crossing-new-horizons)
  • - [Necrosoft Games is hiring a producer](https://twitter.com/necrosoftgames/status/1542940326494515200)
  • - [Evo](https://www.evo.gg/)
  • - [Combo Breaker](https://combobreaker.org/)
  • - [CEO Fighting Game Championships](https://ceogaming.org/ceo/)
  • - [Video Game History Foundation](https://gamehistory.org/)
  • - [Ninja](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ninja_)
  • - [Ninja Gaiden](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ninja-gaiden____)
  • - [King of Fighters series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/king-of-fighters-series)
  • - [Castlevania: Symphony of the Night](https://www.mobygames.com/game/castlevania-symphony-of-the-night)
  • - [Monster World IV](https://www.mobygames.com/game/monster-world-iv)
  • - [Super Mario series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/super-mario-series)
  • - [Biohazard / Resident Evil series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/biohazard-resident-evil-series)
  • - [Tōhō (Touhou) series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/th-touhou-series)
  • - [Sonic R](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sonic-r)
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog: Spinball](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sonic-the-hedgehog-spinball)
  • - [Heroes of Might and Magic series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/heroes-of-might-and-magic-series)
  • - [Dark Arms: Beast Buster 1999](https://www.mobygames.com/game/neo-geo-pocket-color/dark-arms-beast-buster-1999)
  • - [Dark Souls series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/dark-souls-series)
  • - [King's Field](https://www.mobygames.com/game/kings-field_)
  • - [Legend of Zelda series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/legend-of-zelda-series)
  • - [Bust-A-Move](https://www.mobygames.com/game/bust-a-move__)
  • - [Jackie Chan Stuntmaster](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playstation/jackie-chan-stuntmaster)
  • - [Scarface: The World Is Yours](https://www.mobygames.com/game/scarface-the-world-is-yours)
  • - [Simpsons: Hit & Run](https://www.mobygames.com/game/simpsons-hit-run)
  • - [Incredible Hulk: Ultimate Destruction](https://www.mobygames.com/game/incredible-hulk-ultimate-destruction)
  • - [Prototype](https://www.mobygames.com/game/prototype__)
  • - [Jackie Chan's Action Kung Fu](https://www.mobygames.com/game/jackie-chans-action-kung-fu)
  • - [Dynamite Deka series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/dynamite-deka-series)
  • - [Star Wars: Jedi - Fallen Order](https://www.mobygames.com/game/star-wars-jedi-fallen-order)
  • - [Stranglehold](https://www.mobygames.com/game/stranglehold)
  • - [Watch_Dogs](https://www.mobygames.com/game/watch_dogs)
  • - [Destroy All Humans!](https://www.mobygames.com/game/destroy-all-humans_)
  • - [inFAMOUS series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/infamous-series)
  • - [Kirby games](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/kirby-games)
  • - [Landstalker](https://www.mobygames.com/game/landstalker)
  • - [Sylvan Tale](https://www.mobygames.com/game/game-gear/sylvan-tale)
  • - [Crusader of Centy](https://www.mobygames.com/game/genesis/crusader-of-centy)
  • - [Linkle Liver Story](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sega-saturn/linkle-liver-story)
  • - [Magic Knight Rayearth](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sega-saturn/magic-knight-rayearth_)
  • - [Dark Savior](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sega-saturn/dark-savior)
  • - [Star Fox series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/star-fox-series)
  • - [Kid Icarus series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/kid-icarus-series)
  • - [Punch-Out series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/punch-out-series)
  • - [Super Smash Brothers series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/super-smash-brothers-series)
  • - [Panzer Dragoon](https://www.mobygames.com/game/panzer-dragoon)
  • - [Pokémon Snap](https://www.mobygames.com/game/pokmon-snap)
  • - [River City Ransom series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/river-city-ransom-series)
  • - [Yakuza / Ryū ga Gotoku series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/yakuza-ry-ga-gotoku-series)
  • - [Vagrant Story](https://www.mobygames.com/game/vagrant-story)
  • - [Bennett Foddy](https://www.mobygames.com/developer/sheet/view/developerId,403273/)
  • - [Illbleed](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dreamcast/illbleed)
  • - [Silent Hill series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/silent-hill-series)
  • - [Sleep No More](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sleep_No_More_(2011_play))
  • - [Chris Pratt says his Mario voice is 'unlike anything you've heard'](https://www.theverge.com/2022/6/23/23180812/chris-pratt-mario-movie-voice)
  • - [City Hunter](https://www.mobygames.com/game/turbo-grafx/city-hunter)
  • - [Rolling Thunder series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/rolling-thunder-series)
  • - [The Ninja Warriors](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ninja-warriors)
  • - [Sonic Mania](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sonic-mania)
  • - [The Adventures of Batman & Robin](https://www.mobygames.com/game/snes/adventures-of-batman-robin__)
  • - [Bayonetta series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/bayonetta-series)
  • - [Gears of War series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/gears-of-war-series)
  • - [Kenka Bancho: Badass Rumble](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kenka_Bancho:_Badass_Rumble)
  • - [Asteroids Deluxe](https://www.mobygames.com/game/asteroids-deluxe)
  • - [Tempest](https://www.mobygames.com/game/zx81/tempest___)
  • - [Galaga](https://www.mobygames.com/game/galaga)
  • - [Zoo Keeper](https://www.mobygames.com/game/arcade/zoo-keeper_)
  • - [Dog Patch](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dog-patch)
  • - [California Extreme](https://caextreme.org/)
  • - [Pong](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dedicated-console/pong_______)
  • - [Combat](https://www.mobygames.com/game/combat-)
  • - [DOOM](https://www.mobygames.com/game/doom)
  • - [Crispy Doom](https://www.chocolate-doom.org/wiki/index.php/Crispy_Doom)
  • - [Warlords](https://www.mobygames.com/game/warlords_____)
  • - [Spacewar](https://www.mobygames.com/game/terminal/spacewar___)
  • - [Computer History Museum](https://computerhistory.org/)
  • - [Lunar Lander](https://www.mobygames.com/game/wang2200/lunar-lander____)
  • - [StarCraft series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/starcraft-series)
  • - [Marvel Spider-Man: Miles Morales](https://www.mobygames.com/game/marvel-spider-man-miles-morales)
  • - [Cyberpunk 2077](https://www.mobygames.com/game/cyberpunk-2077)
  • - [Mother / EarthBound series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/mother-earthbound-series)
  • - [Undertale](https://www.mobygames.com/game/undertale)
  • - [King Kong (1933)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0024216/)
  • - [Ape Escape](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ape-escape)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Frank**: Listen to some other show if you want recommendations, [GDQ 2022 Mario Kaizo relay race](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UdMR0uMA_2Q)
    **Brandon:** [Space Is the Place (1974)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0072195/), [Void Pyramid](https://www.mobygames.com/game/void-pyramid), [Xoo: Xeno Xafari](https://store.steampowered.com/app/1339180/Xoo_Xeno_Xafari/)
    **Andres**: [Dimension 20’s Starstruck Odyssey](https://dimension20.fandom.com/wiki/A_Starstruck_Odyssey)

    Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/insert-credit-show/id1509363651), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    hello! deep space nine is my fav star trek! :slight_smile:

    >

    @“esper”#p77735 AOL Netscape asks: What series or franchise has a spinoff game arguably better than its predecessor? (23:32)

    PSO and beyond certainly had a much greater impact than the classic Phantasy Star games ever did.

    There's a generation who'd argue for Mega Man Battle Network over any of the sidescrollers, and if Capcom hadn't Capcom'd it with half-assed sequels it very well could've handily surpassed any of the other sub-series financially, too.

    Puyo Puyo's universe is derived from a dungeon-crawling RPG series called Madou Monogatari, and those waters were muddied further when Compile started making Puyo RPGs that weren't Madou games (and further still by the Compile breakup which means the Madou IP owner can't make new games using the original characters). They're so different that one hardly supersedes the other, but I don't think the Madou games are especially compelling RPGs.

    New Pokemon Snap ended up being one of the more successful Pokemon spinoffs in a long time, I think people just stopped talking about it because it's not the sort of game to sustain a ton of discussion. If anything, people seemed most disappointed by the inability to pelt fruit at Pikachu or whatever.

    @“gsk”#p77782

    Going off this, I think many people my age, which is the age that bought the original Pokemon Snap, bought the new one to play with their children. And, man, you ain‘t seen nothing until you’ve seen a toddler shriek in absolute delight at some big silly glowing creature on your screen.

    Some people share these kinds of things online, but most people, I think, keep their kids to themselves. It might not seem this way because some people relentlessly shove images of their children all over the internet, but the internet is made of a few absolute freaks surrounding by gaggles of mostly boring, normal people.

    italian david cage got me good

    @“cheezopath”#p77797 he send-a the auteur theory into the space, ohhh!

    @“gsk”#p77782 Yeah, PSO! That was the best answer I could think of when they were discussing. Going to keep thinking on this one, it was a fun prompt.

    Great episode this week!

    My first thought on the spin off question was MegaMan Legends, but I wouldn‘t necessarily say it’s better than some of those classic or X games. Despite Legends being one of my favorite games ever, I think MegaMan 2 or 5 might be better imo. It's so tough.

    Is MegaMan X a spinoff?

    Final Fight is better than the first Street Fighter.

    I played Void Pyramid on the Ouya back when the Ouya store frontend still worked, I liked it, my favorite Ouya game


    I gotta say: every single Pokémon spinoff is better than every single mainline Pokémon game! The Pokémon Mystery Dungeon and Pokémon Snap games are so much absurdly better than any mainline Pokémon game that I can't even believe they belong to the same property.

    its interesting listening to Brandon talk about the people who apply being generally underqualified when I have the opposite problem of qualifying for jobs and having 90-95% of the experience in the job listing but getting passed over for the one thing I didn‘t have on my resume. I haven’t been on the other side where I‘m sifting through applicant resumes, but I have been on the applying side hundreds of times. It’s kind of a crapshoot both ways, huh!

    >

    @“Karnovski”#p77808 Is MegaMan X a spinoff?

    I would rule that yes, it is. I would also rule that X4 is the best one but I don't think that's a hard ruling to make

    @“marlfuchs2”#p77821 yeah, this is interesting because I‘ve had folks asking me “what are the boxes I need to check to get hired” and “what programs do I need to know” and I’m like… you just need to have the skills I need, I‘m not using an algorithm for this! I’m looking at the application and seeing if you have production experience and what form that‘s taken. I guess I’m doing it the weird way, but it doesn't seem like it should be!!

    @“exodus”#p77835 Yeah, your comments reflect a lot of what I hear from the other side in terms of getting a lot of applications that aren‘t anywhere near relevant. Application tracking systems are pretty common now and just filter for keywords, for a time I used a service that would scan the job application page, and your resume, and then give you a score based on how much matched up. I’d raise the score by rewriting copy on the resume to match for the keywords until it reached 90% or something, then submit it thinking it would get past the ATS, this never ever worked.

    I enjoyed the how to get a job in games discussion. I 100% agree with make something to show off and then show it off. I went through a tertiary school and did a course focusing on games and while I made stuff in it I could share, I didn‘t have anything externally. It wasn’t until I started putting together more work after graduating that I started to get interviews.

    I am still yet to get a job working in the game industry, but I work alongside it mostly making interactive apps in Unity for businesses.

    Having gone through the process of looking for jobs recently I think there's a disconnect with what companies want and what the current how-to-get-a-job advice is.

    >

    @“exodus”#p77835 I’ve had folks asking me … “what programs do I need to know”

    I've definitely read that you should contact the person hiring and ask what skills are required before applying so they learn your name and to show initiative.

    @“beets”#p77872 ah, so that‘s where that comes from! I bet it makes sense with a large company with a hiring manager but when it’s an indie company of 6 people you are basically asking the director (or whomever) of the company to explain the listing to you before you decide if you want to apply… It definitely has the opposite of the desired effect. For a small company hiring takes time away from doing work, and the easier a person makes that for you, the better. Literally every minute I spend on this is time I‘m not able to work on the game. In larger companies it is someone’s job to do this so it kind of makes sense to ask questions, maybe. But if I‘m looking for a producer (as I am now) and somebody tells me everything I need to know about them and why they’re a good candidate, that‘s kind of what I want a producer to actually do. When somebody is taking more time rather than saving me time, it gives me questions about what they’re going to be like to work with. Know what I mean?

    I think the shorthand would be, if you're applying to a big company and you know you're talking to a hiring manager or staffing agent, chit chat with them could help you improve your resume and tailor it to what the people want. If you're applying to a small company, it's the people making the game that have to look at and answer all questions and emails and all that. If you ask somebody like that a bunch of questions they're probably gonna get sour, and it's going to indicate you don't know what the job is or aren't ready for it.

    I hope that's not too harsh sounding! That's just how it is for me and folks I know.

    Being a native spanish speaker who does 80% of her internet consumption in English my brain often doesn‘t register the switch between Spanish and English when I’m reading stuff online, so after reading this episode‘s title i was like "when is this ’coll' person going to join this episode???" for the whole time i was listening

    I‘m looking for a job rn and fuck, if there’s anything I have come to accept over the years it's that there are no universally good tipz and trickz when it comes to applying for a job.

    You might as well flip a coin for every individual thing like that because it's basically a coin toss as to whether it will be good or not. Maybe it will "work" on the HR person/hiring person or committee or whatever because they personally think it is a positive thing for a candidate to do and/or they don't recognize it as a misdirection or ploy to get their attention. Maybe they will be aware of it and know it's a ploy or just have some other damn arbitrary reason for thinking it's not a good thing for an applicant to do. There's no definitive way to tell.

    Sorry if that is a little harsh, there is perhaps nothing in life beyond actual direct intentional harm on my mind and/or body that I despise more than looking for a job, so maybe I'm just cranky about it.

    I feel for anyone who doesn‘t have the desire or capacity to Build their Personal Brand Online because it’s one of the biggest differentiators between who can cut through the pack and who can't, even for non-public jobs.