Ep. 249 - Space Jerks on Monkey Island

### Ep. 249 - Space Jerks on Monkey Island

Our beloved panel of experts discusses podcasts on Stadia, Chimp Chent, and Breath of the Gliald. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers and Brandon Sheffield. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ANK7ClR3pNI

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. From [Ash Parrish](https://twitter.com/adashtra): If game development studio was run like a busy kitchen, what would employees shout while running around? (01:18)
  • 2. How do developers make money from subscription services like GamePass? (06:12)
  • 3. Which former game development collaborators would you most like to see team up again? (10:52)
  • 4. What are the false impressions we get about war from war video games? (17:57)
  • 5. What’s the plot of Super Monkey Ball? (22:36)
  • 6. Gaagaagiins asks: Rank the following – dash, roll, slide, glide, hover, fly and jump. (27:22)
  • 7. How do you get past video game burnout? (37:11)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND**: Name a new Guilty Gear character (41:25)

    Recommendations and Outro (44:03)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - Giant Bomb
  • - [The Bear](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt14452776/)
  • - [Capriotti's Sandwich Shop](https://capriottis.com/)
  • - [Hot Comics for Cool People by Brandon Sheffield and Dami Lee](https://www.gocomics.com/hot-comics-for-cool-people)
  • - [Yakuza / Ryū ga Gotoku series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/yakuza-ry-ga-gotoku-series)
  • - [Stadia](https://stadia.google.com/)
  • - [Sonic Team](https://www.mobygames.com/company/sonic-team)
  • - [Balan Wonderworld](https://www.mobygames.com/game/balan-wonderworld)
  • - [SNK Corporation](https://www.mobygames.com/company/snk-corporation)
  • - [Silent Hill 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ps2/silent-hill-2)
  • - [Unity Signs New Deal To Help U.S. Army, Government](https://kotaku.com/unity-new-contract-us-government-military-army-engine-1849403118)
  • - [Metal Gear Ac!d](https://www.mobygames.com/game/psp/metal-gear-acd)
  • - [NeverDead](https://www.mobygames.com/game/neverdead)
  • - [Thimbleweed Park](https://www.mobygames.com/game/thimbleweed-park)
  • - [Monkey Island series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/monkey-island-series)
  • - [Bonk series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/bonk-series)
  • - [Final Fantasy series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/final-fantasy-series)
  • - [Dragon Warrior / Dragon Quest series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/dragon-warrior-dragon-quest-series)
  • - [Landstalker](https://www.mobygames.com/game/landstalker)
  • - [Shining Force](https://www.mobygames.com/game/shining-force)
  • - [Yo-kai Watch series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/yo-kai-watch-series)
  • - [The Adventures of Batman & Robin](https://www.mobygames.com/game/genesis/adventures-of-batman-robin_)
  • - [Darius series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/darius-series)
  • - [Call of Duty series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/call-of-duty-series)
  • - [Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots](https://www.mobygames.com/game/metal-gear-solid-4-guns-of-the-patriots)
  • - [America's Army series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/americas-army-series)
  • - [Super Monkey Ball series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/super-monkey-ball-series)
  • - [Super Mario series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/super-mario-series)
  • - [Legend of Zelda series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/legend-of-zelda-series)
  • - [Kirby games](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/kirby-games)
  • - [Rocket Knight Adventures](https://www.mobygames.com/game/genesis/rocket-knight-adventures)
  • - [Dark Souls series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/dark-souls-series)
  • - [Virtua Fighter series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/virtua-fighter-series)
  • - [Battle Arena Toshinden series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/battle-arena-toshinden-series)
  • - [Another World](https://www.mobygames.com/game/out-of-this-world)
  • - [Genital Jousting](https://www.mobygames.com/game/genital-jousting)
  • - [Demon's Crest](https://www.mobygames.com/game/demons-crest)
  • - [Castlevania / Akumajō Dracula series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/castlevania-akumaj-dracula-series)
  • - [Celeste](https://www.mobygames.com/game/celeste)
  • - [Burnout series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/burnout-series)
  • - [Astro’s Playroom](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playstation-5-included-game)
  • - [Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playstation-5/ratchet-clank-rift-apart)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Tim**: Don’t go outside if you live in New York
    **Brandon:** [The Cannibal Man (1972)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0067732/), ****you can eat squash leaves and stems, research the correct order to watch [The Prisoner](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0061287/)
    **Frank**: New [Beavis and Butt-Head series](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0105950/) is pretty good
    **Jaffe**: [The Sandman](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt1751634/)

    Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/insert-credit-show/id1509363651), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    Hover feels pretty good in Wizardry / Might & Magic style games when you‘re levitating over dungeon traps that got you previously. That’s about it though.

    We can all agree that Yoshi's flutter-jump is a hover, right?

    fuck w/ me: the traffic checking in burnout revenge owns

    Demon‘s Crest is too pretty for its own good. I love it to bits but it overshadows Gargoyle’s Quest for the Gameboy which is a way more enjoyable game and utilizes the hover better. The limited wing strength (hover time) makes for better platforming horizontally and makes for really thrilling descents vertically. There‘s a few levels where you just have to jump into a pit of spikes and cautiously stutter your way down but not too cautiously because you’ll run out of wing strength. It's such a unique platforming challenge.

    @“cleobirdwell”#p81789 Plus, the RPG conceit of the overworld is super charming and gives the game a lot of personality.

    There‘s been some relatable money talk in recent episodes. I too would like to go to Target and just buy something sometimes. All my video game purchases are mainly months long plans. New games, certainly. There’s a reason why I'm often either replaying games or diving into ROM sets for systems I happen to own an everdrive for.

    >

    What’s the plot of Super Monkey Ball? (22:36)

    as someone who's been trying to play all of the monkey ball games recently, the most complex story I've encountered so far was in Super Monkey Ball Adventure. Please refer to the plot section of the this [wikipedia entry](https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Super_Monkey_Ball_Adventure) if you want more details

    that being said maybe super monkey ball adventure isn't considered canon since it wasn't developed by Sega, instead it was developed by Traveller's Tales

    @“RubySunrise”#p81794 i have yet to set up a hard drive for my ps2, but in the meantime I've been burning games to discs, which is inconvenient in a lot of ways but feels right.

    @“gsk”#p81776 I think any sort of struggle jump where you go horizontal-ish for a bit is just a short glide - especially since there's usually an arc to it. hover should be flat horizontal!

    @"RubySunrise"#p81794 that is indeed relatable but I'm pretty sure with tim's comment it was specifically about the process of getting to target being so involved when you live in new york, vs just driving there in the bay area.

    @"穴"#p81795 VERY curious to play this now... is that the final Traveller's Tales/Sega collab?

    @“exodus”#p81799 ah that also makes sense and is relatable. Getting around Manhattan, especially with stuff, is a process.

    was listening to the episode driving today and got rear ended on lake shore drive right during the intro. I was stopped at the left turn lane onto chicago av that always fucks everything up (locals know). I saw the car coming and not stopping in the rearview mirror while everyone was doing their ‘that’s a yikes from me‘ routine. Then I caught the comment about ’loud Chicago people' while I was exchanging insurance info. thanks everyone

    this dude next to me at the police station is reporting his ex roommate for stealing his PS5

    chimp chent

    @“yeso”#p81812 Hope you're okay! there is so much of this these days, and for a about 6 years I was getting rear ended once per year, sometimes twice. That has not been great for my neck, it turns out, so watch out for that.

    I‘m ok, I was driving a work vehicle rather than my own which is pretty jacked up. I couldn’t tell if the car driving toward me was going 35 or like 70 so for a moment I did wonder if I was going to die listening to a video game podcast

    @“yeso”#p81836 I‘m glad you’re OK.

    I also got into a car accident while listening to IC. This was a couple months ago, and it was an old episode. A pretty odd juxtaposition. (Everyone involved is ok)

    @yeso glad you made it out with a story and that the work car was the only thing damaged

    Also it should be noted that while Monkey Ball hasn't made it into Yakuza, Yakuza has made it into Monkey Ball

    [upl-image-preview url=https://i.imgur.com/yxlu5HO.png]

    the rich guys mistaking y‘all for real estate enjoyers is a higher class version of what happens to me a lot here– which is I’ll be dressin, walking down the block and local NIMBY‘s will mistake me for one of them– a local renter– and go as far as complaining about "those RV’s on main street“, ”they should all be towed like they did that one time, blah blah blah“ … little do they know I am those RVs on main street. I tend to play along, gather intel, and drop hints that they're too stupid to catch, like ”Yeah, that one RV makes us all look bad“, and, ”I've lived on main street for five years“ ”my family has been here for 30 years". :joy: But also when given the opening, I will drop truth bombs on them as well, :moyai: prepared for anything

    *NIMBY: *Not In My Back Yard*, people who are against things like homeless shelters being built near their home, or homeless people existing nearby, and petition against it, AKA Karens

    Great episode!

    All the Dash Discussion had ROCKMAN DASH blasting in my brain.
    also this
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bPtfwAFJFXM