Ep. 250 - Getcha Self a Hot Dog, with Liz Ryerson

### Ep. 250 - Getcha Self a Hot Dog, with Liz Ryerson

Insert Credit Fringe Games Correspondent [Liz Ryerson](https://twitter.com/ellaguro) returns to the panel to cover being a tool user, the year of peak stupidity in video games, and crystals of fun syrup. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Brandon Sheffield, and Liz Ryerson. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OIW7w8roXGk

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. If you had a free day at the world’s most complete arcade, how would you spend a thousand quarters? (02:27)
  • 2. Is Gamescom the new E3? (07:59)
  • 3. What is the Snyder Cut of game conferences? (13:19)
  • 4. Recommend a video game soundtrack for Alex Jaffe’s dad’s commute (18:57)
  • 5. Improv Zone: Game Director YouTube Channels (23:49)
  • 6. Mr. Heck asks: what makes successful video games similar, and what makes video game failures unique? (39:24)
  • 7. What’s the stupidest thing you’ve ever seen in a video game? (47:59)
  • 8. How would you put the sound of a black hole into a video game? (52:47)
  • 9. What kind of games and areas of game culture do we not talk about enough on Insert Credit? (56:30)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND**: Episode Title Throwbacks (01:01:41)

    Recommendations and Outro (01:11:06)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Yo, Bro](https://www.mobygames.com/game/yo-bro)
  • - [California Extreme](https://caextreme.org/)
  • - [2 Spicy](https://www.mobygames.com/game/arcade/2-spicy)
  • - [Emergency Call Ambulance](https://www.mobygames.com/game/arcade/emergency-call-ambulance)
  • - [Prop Cycle](https://www.mobygames.com/game/arcade/prop-cycle)
  • - [Elevator Action Deluxe series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/elevator-action-deluxe-series)
  • - [Daytona USA](https://www.mobygames.com/game/daytona-usa_)
  • - [Marble Madness](https://www.mobygames.com/game/marble-madness)
  • - [Revolution X](https://www.mobygames.com/game/revolution-x)
  • - [Metal Slug series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/metal-slug-series)
  • - [Cadash](https://www.mobygames.com/game/cadash)
  • - [EightyTwo](eightytwo.la/la/)
  • - [Golden Axe: The Revenge of Death Adder](https://www.mobygames.com/game/arcade/golden-axe-the-revenge-of-death-adder)
  • - [Long Island Retro Gaming Expo](https://liretro.com/)
  • - [Phantasmagoria series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/phantasmagoria-series)
  • - [Gamescom](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gamescom)
  • - [Kölsch](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/K%C3%B6lsch_(beer))
  • - [Zack Snyder's Justice League (2021)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zack_Snyder%27s_Justice_League)
  • - [Todd Rogers](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Todd_Rogers_(gamer))
  • - [John Romero](https://www.escapistmagazine.com/john-romero-apologizes-for-trying-to-make-you-his-bitch/)
  • - [that Seinfeld photo shoot](https://i.pinimg.com/originals/79/08/02/790802291a826fb8f6e15915ed4cc5f6.jpg)
  • - [Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas](https://www.mobygames.com/game/grand-theft-auto-san-andreas)
  • - [EverGrace](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ps2/evergrace)
  • - [NieR series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/nier-series)
  • - [BioShock series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/bioshock-series)
  • - [Fallout games](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/fallout-games)
  • - [Deathloop](https://www.mobygames.com/game/deathloop)
  • - [Grand Theft Auto: Vice City](https://www.mobygames.com/game/grand-theft-auto-vice-city)
  • - [Tony Hawk skateboarding series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/tony-hawk-skateboarding-series)
  • - [Katamari Damacy](https://www.mobygames.com/game/katamari-damacy)
  • - [Space Channel 5](https://www.mobygames.com/game/space-channel-5)
  • - [Ape Out](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ape-out)
  • - [EarthBound](https://www.mobygames.com/game/earthbound)
  • - [FunHouse](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FunHouse_(pinball))
  • - [Mortal Kombat games](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/mortal-kombat-games)
  • - [Disney's Goof Troop](https://www.mobygames.com/game/snes/disneys-goof-troop)
  • - [Biohazard / Resident Evil series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/biohazard-resident-evil-series)
  • - [Maniac Mansion](https://www.mobygames.com/game/maniac-mansion)
  • - [Twister (1996)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0117998/)
  • - [Inception (2010)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt1375666/)
  • - [Dan Snaith](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dan_Snaith)
  • - [Osu! Tatakae! Ouendan / Elite Beat Agents series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/osu-tatakae-ouendan-elite-beat-agents-series)
  • - [London Cab Challenge](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ps2/london-cab-challenge)
  • - [Smashing Drive](https://www.mobygames.com/game/smashing-drive)
  • - [Billy Hatcher and the Giant Egg](https://www.mobygames.com/game/billy-hatcher-and-the-giant-egg)
  • - [Billy the Wizard: Rocket Broomstick Racing](https://www.mobygames.com/game/billy-the-wizard-rocket-broomstick-racing)
  • - [Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events](https://www.mobygames.com/game/lemony-snickets-a-series-of-unfortunate-events)
  • - [Neopets: The Darkest Faerie](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ps2/neopets-the-darkest-faerie)
  • - [Death of Adventure Games](http://oldmanmurray.com/features/79.html)
  • - [Gabriel Knight 3: Blood of the Sacred, Blood of the Damned](https://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/gabriel-knight-3-blood-of-the-sacred-blood-of-the-damned)
  • - [Armed & Delirious](https://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/armed-delirious)
  • - [Alex Kidd series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/alex-kidd-series)
  • - [Exile: Wicked Phenomenon](https://www.mobygames.com/game/turbografx-cd/exile-wicked-phenomenon)
  • - [Knuckles' Chaotix](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sega-32x/knuckles-chaotix)
  • - [Nasa releases audio of what a black hole 'sounds' like](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_tXhBLg3Wng)
  • - [Legend of Zelda series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/legend-of-zelda-series)
  • - [Oh, Deer!](https://www.mobygames.com/game/oh-deer)
  • - [Super Mario series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/super-mario-series)
  • - [Fortnite series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/fortnite-series)
  • - [Clash Royale](https://www.mobygames.com/game/clash-royale)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Brandon:** Wash your car from top to bottom, watch the Comanche dub of [Prey (2022)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt11866324/), [Winter Beast (1992)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0103270/)
    **Frank**: If you like to channel surf old games, don’t forget to play the popular good stuff too
    **Liz**: [Death’s Dynamic Shroud](https://deathsdynamicshroud.bandcamp.com/album/darklife-2), [Season of the Witch (1972)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0069239/), [Kitschfork](https://kitschfork.podbean.com/)

    Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/insert-credit-show/id1509363651), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    Regarding SWERY's hypothetical youtube channel, it kind of exists, at least as a short film on a different youtube channel

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nA86aYWrPZI

    A FunHouse reference episode title?!

    I have a bunch of ideas for music for Jaffe‘s dad. Maybe he’d like soundtracks made by artists from the 60s-80s. That means you could try the Mr. Bones soundtrack by Ronnie Montrose, the Wachenröder soundtrack by King Crimson‘s Ian McDonald, or the Spyro soundtrack by the Police’s Stewart Copeland. Expanding on Keiichi Suzuki, he might be a fan of either the Mother soundtrack or the Mother Music Revisited album released last year. You could see if he can see the sunshine while living in a city by giving him the Sonic R soundtrack. Or you just give him a CD filled with his favorite jingle for a laugh.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6L951Wh61ss

    *Edit*: Apparently there's a 10 hour version that was actually posted by O'Reilly's, so you all get to enjoy that as well.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNlTWBh9viI

    this is the John Carmack tweet i mentioned in the episode, by the way

    https://twitter.com/id_aa_carmack/status/1493432345441062914

    https://youtu.be/GrNsXOOwDUc

    Ed Boon lines start at 1:52
    Getchaselfahotdog at 2:11

    Very very good game, one of the last pre-dot matrix display tables. Pat Lawlor on the lanes, Larry DeMar on the boards, Ed Boon on the mic, absolute dream team. Plays alright in Pinball FX 3 if you can't find it in the wild.

    Can we get some love for Frank‘s off-the-cuff “Star Citizen” when asked about the game industry’s longest con?

    @“manalive”#p83225 made me happy!

    I‘m a survivor of the hops wars as I lived in Portland in the mid-2000s where everything was about “How hoppy can we make this beer?” For the record, the best beers are Oktoberfest/Fest-style and if you’re in Portland (or will be during the Portland Retro Gaming Expo) we can prove this definitively and objectively.

    >

    @“TracyDMcGrath”#p83222 Plays alright in Pinball FX 3 if you can’t find it in the wild.

    Big fan of _Zen Pinball/Pinball FX_ and can second the fact that they are a good surrogate.

    @“ellaguro”#p83220 carrying a phone in my pocket has a subtle metaphysical context for me. I am a scholar. I can Google answers about the world, not just inhabit it.

    BTW when I said Itagaki was “probably alright” I didn't remember how he had all those sexual harassment suits. oops!!!

    RE making beers out of stuff, I had this one last night (not my picture)

    [upl-image-preview url=https://i.imgur.com/KpFPmFq.jpeg]

    Look at the colour!

    Re: the stupidest thing you‘ve ever seen in a videogame question. My answer is about videogames rather than in videogames, and aside from completely bone-headed stuff like vagina bones I’d argue that the most consistently stupid things I see are the reader features on the Metro UK newspaper website .

    In the interests of fairness I've picked the most recent feature that I immediately saw that includes one reader's lament at the lack of videogames and videogame news this year and puts it down to a deliberate lack of engagement from Sony, Microsoft and major publishers, before immediately contradicting themselves by saying Nintendo are doing a great job.

    This, surprisingly, is one of the least stupid features that's been published for a while and I must admit that whenever these articles appear in the suggested pages on Google's homepage I'll admit to visiting the site just to masochistically satisfy myself with whatever tripe some nimrod has thought to be a good idea to actually articulate on a substantial platform.

    Improv zone hit it out of the park this week!

    Black hole sound I would put into a game like SMT Strange Journey. At first it's barely audible but as you get closer to the end of the game, it becomes overwhelming and builds dread.

    My recommendation for this week: Not sleeping on NASA's various releases recently, mostly [via the James Webb Telescope](https://www.flickr.com/photos/nasawebbtelescope/with/52310593818/). Some marvelous sights if you get nothing else out of it.

    Oh man! I met the guy who sued Caribou. Handsome Dick Manitoba. Dude was a middling punk rocker a long time ago and ran a bar in alphabet city for a long time.

    Glad to hear some Mike Love disdain in my Insert Credit Show.

    @“LeFish”#p83288 The Metro reader letters page is a pretty good articulation of the sound of a black hole

    I won't stand for the Kolsch slander