Ep. 252 - Quora Spectaskular 2, with Ash Parrish and Chris Kohler

### Ep. 252 - Quora Spectaskular 2, with Ash Parrish and Chris Kohler

The reunited [Ash Parrish](https://twitter.com/adashtra) and [Chris Kohler](https://twitter.com/kobunheat), both formerly of Kotaku Splitscreen, join Frank Cifaldi and Alex Jaffe in answering the top video game questions on Quora. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Ash Parrish and Chris Kohler. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WQfIjGX6MD8

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. Is there any reason to choose a female character in video games? (03:18)
  • 2. Why does everyone speak English in the Fallout video game series? (06:04)
  • 3. Playing Skyrim as a vampire, is it worth it? (06:56)
  • 4. Why is Magnus Carlsen hinting at not playing world championships anymore while at the peak of his power? (09:20)
  • 5. What’s the hardest video game ever made? (11:31)
  • 6. How can I permanently end my son’s gaming? (14:45)
  • 7. What are some good free game engines? (21:16)
  • 8. In a 4X game, do you play tall or wide? (22:45)
  • 9. What game has the environment that blew your mind? (24:27)
  • 10. Where do you scale the Game Sonic? (27:58)
  • 11. If you're making a game and a company wants to buy it from you, how much should you sell it for? (32:41)
  • 12. Will the era of console exclusive games ever end? (38:28)
  • 13. Why is it when I play Minecraft with 1660Ti I barely reach 60fps? (39:28)
  • 14. My son is playing Elden Ring and it's full of demonic imagery. What should I do? (40:28)
  • 15. What are the least known game genres? (42:34)
  • 16. Are there any games that can actually earn Paypal money?(45:42)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND**: Overwatch League Team Slogans (46:37)

    Recommendations and Outro (50:35)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Quora’s video game questions](https://www.quora.com/topic/Video-Games?q=video%20games)
  • - [Mass Effect series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/mass-effect-series)
  • - [Fallout games](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/fallout-games)
  • - [NetHack](https://www.mobygames.com/game/nethack)
  • - [Street Fighter II: The World Warrior](https://www.mobygames.com/game/street-fighter-ii-the-world-warrior)
  • - [New Super Mario Bros.](https://www.mobygames.com/game/new-super-mario-bros)
  • - [The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim](https://www.mobygames.com/game/elder-scrolls-v-skyrim)
  • - [Final Fantasy XIV Online: A Realm Reborn](https://www.mobygames.com/game/final-fantasy-xiv-online-a-realm-reborn)
  • - [Mister Mosquito](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ps2/mister-mosquito)
  • - [Boktai: The Sun is in Your Hand](https://www.mobygames.com/game/gameboy-advance/boktai-the-sun-is-in-your-hand)
  • - [Blood Omen: Legacy of Kain](https://www.mobygames.com/game/blood-omen-legacy-of-kain)
  • - [Dragon Age: Origins](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ps3/dragon-age-origins_)
  • - [Mortal Kombat games](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/mortal-kombat-games)
  • - [The Sims 4](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sims-4)
  • - [Magnus Carlsen](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magnus_Carlsen)
  • - [Nintendo World Championships 1990](https://www.mobygames.com/game/nes/nintendo-world-championships-1990)
  • - [Space Hulk: Vengeance of the Blood Angels](https://www.mobygames.com/game/space-hulk-vengeance-of-the-blood-angels)
  • - [Blood Will Be Spilled](https://www.mobygames.com/game/blood-will-be-spilled)
  • - [Edge of Tomorrow (2014)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt1631867/)
  • - [Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dos/teenage-mutant-ninja-turtles__)
  • - [Takeshi no Chōsenjō](https://www.mobygames.com/game/takeshi-no-chsenj)
  • - [Carmen Sandiego series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/carmen-sandiego-series)
  • - [Yars' Revenge](https://www.mobygames.com/game/yars-revenge)
  • - [Super Mario 64](https://www.mobygames.com/game/super-mario-64)
  • - [Star Fox 64](https://www.mobygames.com/game/star-fox-64)
  • - [Chameleon Twist](https://www.mobygames.com/game/n64/chameleon-twist)
  • - [Roblox](https://www.mobygames.com/game/roblox)
  • - [Minecraft](https://www.mobygames.com/game/minecraft)
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog: Triple Trouble](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sonic-the-hedgehog-triple-trouble)
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog universe](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/sonic-the-hedgehog-universe)
  • - [Lemmings](https://www.mobygames.com/game/lemmings)
  • - [Twine](https://twinery.org/)
  • - [RPG Maker](https://www.rpgmakerweb.com/downloads) (not free)
  • - [Undertale](https://www.mobygames.com/game/undertale)
  • - [Homestuck](https://www.homestuck.com/)
  • - [Reigen Arataka and Sans squared off in Tumblr Sexyman poll](https://www.polygon.com/23344824/reigen-arataka-toby-fox-fan-fic-undertale-sans-tumblr-sexyman)
  • - [Video Game History Hour Ep. 22: Remembering Atari with Howard Scott Warshaw](https://gamehistory.org/ep-22-remembering-atari-with-howard-scott-warshaw/)
  • - [Stellaris](https://www.mobygames.com/game/stellaris)
  • - [Civilization series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/civilization-series)
  • - [World of WarCraft series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/world-of-warcraft-series)
  • - [Dragon Warrior II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dragon-warrior-ii)
  • - [Zelda II: The Adventure of Link](https://www.mobygames.com/game/zelda-ii-the-adventure-of-link)
  • - [Pokémon Silver Version](https://www.mobygames.com/game/pokmon-silver-version)
  • - [Penny Arcade](https://www.penny-arcade.com/)
  • - [MC Frontalot](https://frontalot.com/)
  • - [MC Chris](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MC_Chris)
  • - [Call of Duty series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/call-of-duty-series)
  • - [Elden Ring](https://www.mobygames.com/game/elden-ring)
  • - [Q*bert](https://www.mobygames.com/game/qbert)
  • - [Miner 2049er](https://www.mobygames.com/game/miner-2049er)
  • - [Splatoon series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/splatoon-series)
  • - [The Oregon Trail](https://www.mobygames.com/game/oregon-trail)
  • - [eBay](https://www.ebay.com/)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Frank**: [The Video Game History Hour](https://gamehistory.org/the-video-game-history-hour/)
    **Ash:** [BPM: Bullets Per Minute](https://www.mobygames.com/game/bpm-bullets-per-minute)
    **Chris**: [Immortality](https://www.mobygames.com/game/immortality)

    Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/insert-credit-show/id1509363651), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    [upl-image-preview url=https://i.imgur.com/BnoJ4iV.jpeg]

    I had no idea about the Zelda 2 thing! That‘s a cute approximation of the first game. Revisiting a previous game’s map is a bit of a cheap trick but I can't help but love it, even in cases of a copy-paste.

    PS: After recently reading Homestuck, something I thought was of another era, it's funny how often I'm seeing references to it - profile pics, memes, usernames and now a podcast mention. Almost as if I've been filtering them unconsciously before.

    YEAH! Ash gets it!! Sonic Triple Trouble, but also Sonic Chaos, are the best portable Sonic games, hands down. Also Sonic 1 still has its charm, 2 is only flawed because of the screen space, but is infinitely better on the Master System.

    Best Game Gear Game, nothing honestly comes to mind outside of Sonic since, despite owning a Game Gear, I only owned Sonic games on it hahaha. Really enjoyed Tails Adventures, but Triple Trouble takes the cake.

    I did get the GG Aleste collection when it came out, though, and let me tell you, the GG Aleste games are spectacular. You're gonna have a real good time with them and GG Aleste 3 if you're a STG fan. Amazing set of games, my goodness.

    the panel arrived at the correct answer re the 4X question imo

    Alex Jaffe calling Frank a substitute panelist is peak Jaffe vs. Cifaldi tension

    @“穴”#p84526 jaffaldi

    An Esper Jaffe game sounds cool! Looking forward to hearing more about it

    @“DavidNoo”#p84538 thank you so much!! we‘re still early on it, but it’s an exciting idea and we're having a lot of fun so far.

    @“JJSignal”#p84519 what the heck, did they talk about best game gear games without me? that's a mistake

    top of my head best game gear games:

  • - shining force sword of hadja
  • - gunstar heroes
  • - sylvan tale
  • - power rangers
  • - sonic chaos
  • - gg aleste 1/2
  • - ristar
  • I'd have to look at my collection for more but there's a lot of solid stuff on there.

    @“esper”#p84546 I can't wait to draw fanart of it!

    Oh also I‘m fairly sure Undertale wasn’t made in RPG Maker, it was made in Game Maker, which IS free

    frank's reaction to “something we did about 90 episodes ago” was too good

    straight up "uh oh" to "ha ha ha ha yeahhhhhhh"

    >

    @“esper”#p84546 thank you so much!! we’re still early on it, but it’s an exciting idea and we’re having a lot of fun so far.

    Petition to implement a sidebar on the homepage of website which tracks a community managed list of "most hyped upcoming releases" and it's just this at #1

    >

    @“Gaagaagiins”#p84579 Petition to implement a sidebar on the homepage of website which tracks a community managed list of “most hyped upcoming releases” and it’s just this at #1

    Oh I guess HYPER GUNSPORT and Demonschool and TRUCK HECK can be on there too

    @“exodus”#p84566 Oh yeah! Gunstar Heroes! I got the Game Gear Micro specifically because it has Sonic & Tails/Chaos and Gunstar on it. That is a ridiculous port. Haven't played enough Ristar or Dynamite Headdy to make a judgement on those, though, but perhaps that might change soon.

    On the topic of modern edutainment, Prodigy is an entire free Pokémon-ish mmorpg that they tell elementary school kids to play in class because you win battles by doing math programs.

    The music gets stuck in your head way too easily when heard from an iPad on the opposite side of the living room. https://www.prodigygame.com/main-en/

    Someone remind me to check and make sure I'm not still paying for a subscription, whatever that was for.

    I recall there were a bunch of made up genres for Saturn and Dreamcast games, but the only ones I could immediately find were “Dramatic Action” (Sakura Taisen) and Full Reactive Eyes Entertainment (Shenmue). There must be a list of them out there somewhere.

    The Shinobi Games on GG were pretty great too.

    Also, although it's obviously very cut back I had a surprisingly good time playing Road Rash on it.

    love this format - I think I just love the idea of chatting shit on shuffle (which kind of applies to IC in general)

    I must have glazed over the discussion of an Esper/Jaffe game, but those few words are enough to get me on board