Ep. 256 - Top 20 Arcade Edition

### Ep. 256 - Top 20 Arcade Edition

The full panel reassembles to create an Insert Credit approved ranked list of twenty arcade games. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers, and Brandon Sheffield. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R8gQkFGT-gE

**Nominees in Order of Discussion:**

  • - Asteroids Deluxe (21:30)
  • - The Irritating Stick (26:10)
  • - Ivan 'Ironman' Stewart's Super Off Road (30:16)
  • - Alien Vs. Predator (34:28)
  • - X-Men (40:15)
  • - Capcom Vs. SNK 2 Millionaire Fighting 2001 (44:43)
  • - The Outfoxies (50:33)
  • - NBA Jam: Tournament Edition (01:02:25)
  • - Groove Coaster (01:08:24)
  • - F-Zero AX (01:15:51)
  • - Frogger (01:26:25)
  • - Typing of the Dead (01:30:10)
  • - Tapper (01:39:32)
  • - Azumanga Puzzle Daioh (01:42:23)
  • - Prop Cycle (01:47:39)
  • - Dog Patch (01:57:29)
  • - Darius (02:02:04)
  • - Ibara Kuro: Black Label (02:07:28)
  • - G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero (02:10:33)
  • - Outrun (02:14:31)
  • **THE INSERT CREDIT RANKED 20 ARCADE EDITION:**
    ||1. OutRun*||
    ||2. The Outfoxies||
    ||3. NBA Jam Tournament Edition||
    ||4. F-Zero AX||
    ||5. Groove Coaster||
    ||6. Irritating Maze||
    ||7. X-Men||
    ||8. G.I. Joe||
    ||9. Ivan "Ironman" Stewart's Super Off Road||
    ||10. Capcom vs. SNK 2: Millionaire Fighting 2001||
    ||11. Ibara: Black Label||
    ||12. Darius||
    ||13. Typing of the Dead||
    ||14. Dog Patch||
    ||15. Asteroids Deluxe||
    ||16. Prop Cycle||
    ||17. Wing War||
    ||18. Azumanga Puzzle Daioh||
    ||19. Tapper||
    ||20. Frogger||
    || *OutRun 2||

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Curiosity](https://www.mobygames.com/game/curiosity)
  • - [22Cans](https://www.mobygames.com/company/22cans)
  • - [Elvis (2022)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt3704428/)
  • - [X-Men](https://www.mobygames.com/game/x-men___)
  • - [Final Fight series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/final-fight-series)
  • - [Rampart](https://www.mobygames.com/game/rampart)
  • - [Metal Slug series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/metal-slug-series)
  • - [Giovanni’s Pizza](https://www.yelp.com/biz/giovannis-pizza-new-york)
  • - [Galaga](https://www.mobygames.com/game/galaga)
  • - [Xevious](https://www.mobygames.com/game/xevious)
  • - [Ibara](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ibara)
  • - [Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles](https://www.mobygames.com/game/nes/teenage-mutant-ninja-turtles)
  • - [Derby Stallion series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/derby-stallion-series)
  • - [Dog Patch](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dog-patch)
  • - [OutRun series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/outrun-series)
  • - [Asteroids Deluxe](https://www.mobygames.com/game/asteroids-deluxe)
  • - [Spacewar!](https://www.mobygames.com/game/mainframe/spacewar__)
  • - [Tempest](https://www.mobygames.com/game/tempest)
  • - [The Irritating Maze](https://www.mobygames.com/game/arcade/irritating-maze)
  • - [Irritating Stick](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playstation/irritating-stick)
  • - [Ivan 'Ironman' Stewart's Super Off Road](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ivan-ironman-stewarts-super-off-road)
  • - [Ivan Stewart](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ivan_Stewart)
  • - [Tony Hawk's Pro Skater](https://www.mobygames.com/game/tony-hawks-pro-skater)
  • - [Dungeons & Dragons: Tower of Doom](https://www.mobygames.com/game/arcade/dungeons-dragons-tower-of-doom)
  • - [Double Dragon](https://www.mobygames.com/game/double-dragon_)
  • - [Alien vs. Predator](https://www.mobygames.com/game/arcade/alien-vs-predator__)
  • - [Street Fighter series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/street-fighter-series)
  • - [The Punisher](https://www.mobygames.com/game/punisher__)
  • - [Undercover Cops](https://www.mobygames.com/game/undercover-cops)
  • - [Panzer Bandit](https://www.mobygames.com/game/panzer-bandit)
  • - [Yakuza / Ryū ga Gotoku series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/yakuza-ry-ga-gotoku-series)
  • - [Judgment / Judge Eyes series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/judgment-judge-eyes-series)
  • - [Metamorphic Force](https://www.mobygames.com/game/arcade/metamorphic-force)
  • - [Capcom Vs. SNK 2 Millionaire Fighting 2001](https://www.mobygames.com/game/capcom-vs-snk-2-mark-of-the-millennium)
  • - [Marvel vs. Capcom series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/marvel-vs-capcom-series)
  • - [SoulCalibur](https://www.mobygames.com/game/soulcalibur)
  • - [Guilty Gear](https://www.mobygames.com/game/guilty-gear)
  • - [Super Smash Brothers series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/super-smash-brothers-series)
  • - [The Rumble Fish 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/arcade/rumble-fish-2)
  • - [pop'n music series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/popn-music-series)
  • - [Dance Dance Revolution / Dancing Stage series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/dance-dance-revolution-dancing-stage-series)
  • - [Pump It Up series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/pump-it-up-series)
  • - [The Outfoxies](https://www.mobygames.com/game/arcade/outfoxies)
  • - [Rolling Thunder](https://www.mobygames.com/game/rolling-thunder)
  • - [Code Name: Viper](https://www.mobygames.com/game/nes/code-name-viper)
  • - [Cobra Triangle](https://www.mobygames.com/game/nes/cobra-triangle)
  • - [Vice: Project Doom](https://www.mobygames.com/game/vice-project-doom)
  • - [Among Us](https://www.mobygames.com/game/among-us)
  • - [Pac-Man](https://www.mobygames.com/game/pac-man)
  • - [Samurai Gunn](https://www.mobygames.com/game/samurai-gunn)
  • - [TowerFall series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/towerfall-series)
  • - [Nidhogg](https://www.mobygames.com/game/nidhogg)
  • - [VIDEOBALL](https://www.mobygames.com/game/videoball)
  • - [Elevator Action Returns](https://www.mobygames.com/game/elevator-action-ii)
  • - [NBA Jam series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/nba-jam-series)
  • - [Mortal Kombat games](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/mortal-kombat-games)
  • - [Tecmo Bowl series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/tecmo-bowl-series)
  • - [NFL Blitz](https://www.mobygames.com/game/nfl-blitz)
  • - [Groove Coaster series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/groove-coaster-series)
  • - [Flappy Bird](https://www.mobygames.com/game/flappy-bird)
  • - [Fruit Ninja series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/fruit-ninja-series)
  • - [Darius series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/darius-series)
  • - [The Ninja Warriors series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/ninja-warriors-series)
  • - [Alundra](https://www.mobygames.com/game/alundra)
  • - [F-Zero AX](https://www.mobygames.com/game/arcade/f-zero-ax)
  • - [Super Monkey Ball series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/super-monkey-ball-series)
  • - [Sega Rally series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/sega-rally-series)
  • - [After Burner series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/after-burner-series)
  • - [Time Crisis II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/time-crisis-ii)
  • - [Point Blank 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/point-blank-2)
  • - [Deus Ex](https://www.mobygames.com/game/deus-ex)
  • - [Frogger](https://www.mobygames.com/game/frogger)
  • - [Crossy Road](https://www.mobygames.com/game/crossy-road)
  • - [The Typing of the Dead](https://www.mobygames.com/game/typing-of-the-dead)
  • - [The House of the Dead series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/house-of-the-dead-series)
  • - [Virtua Cop 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/virtua-cop-2)
  • - [Police Trainer series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/police-trainer-series)
  • - [Tapper](https://www.mobygames.com/game/tapper)
  • - [Diner Dash series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/diner-dash-series)
  • - [Red Dead Redemption II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/red-dead-redemption-ii)
  • - [Landmaker](https://www.mobygames.com/game/builders-block)
  • - [Azumanga Daioh Puzzle Bobble](https://www.mobygames.com/game/arcade/azumanga-daioh-puzzle-bobble)
  • - [Puzzle Fighter series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/puzzle-fighter-series)
  • - [Wing War](https://www.mobygames.com/game/arcade/wing-war_)
  • - [Wing Arms](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sega-saturn/wing-arms)
  • - [Virtua Fighter](https://www.mobygames.com/game/virtua-fighter)
  • - [Virtua Racing](https://www.mobygames.com/game/virtua-racing)
  • - [Virtual On series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/virtual-on-series)
  • - [Cyber Sled](https://www.mobygames.com/game/cyber-sled)
  • - [Katamari series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/katamari-series)
  • - [Ridge Racer series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/ridge-racer-series)
  • - [Prop Cycle](https://www.mobygames.com/game/arcade/prop-cycle)
  • - [Hyper Gunsport](https://store.steampowered.com/app/1663250/Hyper_Gunsport/)
  • - [Ibara Kuro: Black Label](https://www.mobygames.com/game/arcade/ibara-kuro-black-label)
  • - [RayForce / Layer Section series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/rayforce-layer-section-series)
  • - [G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero](https://www.mobygames.com/game/arcade/gi-joe-a-real-american-hero__)
  • - [Sin and Punishment series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/sin-and-punishment-series)
  • - [Cabal](https://www.mobygames.com/game/cabal)
  • - [Yu Suzuki](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yu_Suzuki)
  • - [After Burner: Climax](https://www.mobygames.com/game/after-burner-climax)
  • Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/insert-credit-show/id1509363651), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    Does Frank C. frequent this place?

    Frank interviewed Tim Lapetino about a year ago on The Video Game History Foundation podcast. I love that episode and finally purchased Tim's book Pac-Man: Birth of an Icon. I just want to say thank you. Excellent podcast. Can't wait to read the book and play the game.

    I love that on an arcade game list episode, one that even has a Shinobu Yagawa game on it, the game of his that gets the most discussion is Kick Master haha

    This was great, maybe my favorite list episode yet

    >

    @“bwood”#p88004 Does Frank C. frequent this place?

    As far as I know, Frank consciously avoids the forums on principle (that's a joke, he says he doesn't post or lurk here, but the reasons why are his own).


    ----

    [img width=300]https://i.imgur.com/rL1g4Rk.png[/img]

    >

    @“Gaagaagiins”#p88011 the reasons why are his own

    lazy/doesn't feel like it lol

    I'm all you get, hooligans!

    I just had a revelation.

    Dog Patch (Midway, 1978)

    [upl-image-preview url=https://i.imgur.com/6Xg2I5w.png]

    Hyper Gunsport (Necrosoft, 2022)
    [upl-image-preview url=https://i.imgur.com/ul8Tfob.png]

    @“exodus”#p88012 If you can, please let him know I love his show and picked up the book.

    And thank you for all your video game goodness. I love checking out your recommendations.

    This was a really fun episode. Hearing everybody's arcade memories was a treat.

    @“hellomrkearns”#p88015 WHO TOLD YOU

    (edit: please imagine me saying it like this:)
    https://youtu.be/BY1VHRhzWpU?t=6

    @"bwood"#p88018 I did indeed, thanks!!

    >

    @“exodus”#p88012 I’m all you get, hooligans!

    the insert credit forum user @Jaffe vs the insert credit forum user exodus violence island

    I am neither dirtbag nor panelist. I am Host

    You can‘t talk about Jeff Minter without mentioning Eugene Jarvis and you can’t talk about Eugene Jarvis without mentioning robotron2084, defender and NARC because everyone wants to be a hero cop killing evil drug users or whatever that game is about.

    well shit, I always thought I was good at NBA Jam :frowning:

    One of those all time great list episodes. you don’t need me to tell you this is awesome.

    Prop cycle looks amazing. for a moment I thought it was a game I remember playing in the arcade that shoots air conditioning at you. I played it at some resort or something, I don’t even remember, I was in elementary school still! But I do remember it was like road rash, sitting on a hang on style bike controller, but it was winter motor sports themed and you’re on like a snowmobile, hence the air conditioned fans blowing on you to simulate downhill winter feels. Also like road rash you could attack on either side, I remember having a laser sword. It “”was such a vibe”” … it was low-poly 3D

    @“exodus”#p88024 lol. I had only heard the very beginning of the episode before posting that. Glad it came back around :stuck_out_tongue:

    If F-Zero AX just had the soundtrack from Wangan Midnight Maximum Tune 3, then it would be the best arcade racer out there

    yeaaaaah!

    Tiger Electronics and my hand-me-down green Play It Loud Gameboy were the only things i had to play at home until the end of 1999, otherwise i would’ve had to hang out with my chill spoiled cousin cuz that fucker had everything, dude had an MA1, an MA2, Sega CD, 32x and a Saturn all at once! point is the arcade is where i spent as much time as i could, i guess the experience is a little more equitable, we all share it with quarters.

    **The Mall**
    my most frequented arcade was definitely the untitled arcade in the Melbourne Square Mall by the main entrance, next to Suncoast, two down from the electric piani store and opposite the food court. No tickets, no redemption. They had a huge fighting game crowd that forced the throne game to the front and very center of the room, the first thing you see from outside walking by. Killer Instinct was wildly popular and i got my ass kicked every time i played (TJ Combo), later when it got literally sidelined i went scrounging for quarters behind it and found a Penthouse mag. rule. They had plush red carpets, mirrored ceilings with old marquees surrounding the perimeter, acting as vertically angled lampshades. There was a Sinistar marquee that overlooked the throne game. People would print out combo sheets and tape em to the sides of the cabs, MK fatalities too. Best I ever got here was at Marvel Superheroes (Cap).

    APB, 720, the 3-screen Darius, they even say Stun Runner still haunts the space. It wasn't the *best* arcade but it was the one i went to the most. It's where I first saw, played, and beat Metal Slug! It is my formulative Rowe BC-35 sensory imprint. the days when it would not accept bills were otherwordly bogus. I only talked to the dude that lived there a few times but unless it was a busy friday night at Time Killers (Orion) he would just be silently sitting in the dimly red-lit office watching Robo-Cop 2 or brooding.

    There are so many arcades that i loved and i would really love to talk about most of them, so i will but in easily skippable segments. There are mostly just two more that have great significance in my life but a couple more experiences that left impressions like the 8-bank wall of Daytona USAs at the Daytona Intl. Speedway. I only went to the BX a couple of times but Patrick AFB didn't have an Anthony's, just a Burger King and the Virtual Boy on demo at the commissary next to tvs looping Captain Nuke and the Bomber Boys.

    We should've talked about more arcades we went to maybe!

    @"treefroggy"#p88052 prop cycle does blow wind at you! We forgot to mention it in the show, but there's a fan! Which also helps with all the pedaling you're doing.

    By chance I saw this poor, neglected Outrun 2 machine being left to rot in a bowling alley last week.

    ![](https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FeeBOzuWIAAL4js?format=jpg&name=4096x4096)