Ep. 264 - Doki Doki Paisano, with Ash Parrish

### Ep. 264 - Doki Doki Paisano, with Ash Parrish

Video Game Reporter [Ash Parrish](https://twitter.com/adashtra) joins the panel to cover unfinished games, Mario’s origins, and the friendship-building return of Violence Island. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Brandon Sheffield, and Ash Parrish. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S3nV0AbSfJ8

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. Is Mario Italian? (04:22)
  • 2. From [Esper Quinn](https://ourbroadcastday.com): If a game offers you a starting class of Warrior, Wizard, Rogue or Cleric, which do you choose and why? (09:30)
  • 3. With Sonic Frontiers and the new Pokemon games we must ask, what does it mean for a game to be finished? (13:15)
  • 4. Do you have any questions for Alex Jaffe? (24:33)
  • 5. Spencer’s Gifts asks: What is the best game with the worst graphics, and what is the worst game with the best graphics? (30:55)
  • 6. Violence Island (36:37)
  • 7. Who or what is the Gritty of video games? (53:06)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND**: Dirtbag Diving (55:08)

    Recommendations and Outro (58:57)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Gunhouse](https://www.mobygames.com/game/gunhouse)
  • - [Mr. Hooper](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mr._Hooper)
  • - [Hangin' with Mr. Cooper](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hangin%27_with_Mr._Cooper)
  • - [The Super Mario Bros. Movie Official Trailer](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TnGl01FkMMo)
  • - [Bob Hoskins](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bob_Hoskins)
  • - [The Sopranos](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Sopranos)
  • - [Pod Yourself A Gun](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/pod-yourself-a-gun-a-sopranos-podcast/id1449785792)
  • - [Yume Kōjō: Dokidoki Panic](https://www.mobygames.com/game/nes/yume-kj-dokidoki-panic)
  • - [Diablo series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/diablo-series)
  • - [The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim](https://www.mobygames.com/game/elder-scrolls-v-skyrim)
  • - [Cadash](https://www.mobygames.com/game/cadash)
  • - [Pokémon](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/pokmon-universe)
  • - [Sonic Frontiers](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sonic-frontiers)
  • - [Gunsport](https://www.mobygames.com/game/stadia/gunsport)
  • - [Hyper Gunsport](https://store.steampowered.com/app/1663250/Hyper_Gunsport/) now wishlistable on steam
  • - [Sonic Mania](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sonic-mania)
  • - [Sonic Adventure](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sonic-adventure)
  • - [The Adventures of Batman & Robin](https://www.mobygames.com/game/genesis/adventures-of-batman-robin_)
  • - [Batman: The Video Game](https://www.mobygames.com/game/nes/batman-the-video-game_)
  • - [Batman: Arkham Knight](https://www.mobygames.com/game/batman-arkham-knight)
  • - [Gotham Knights](https://www.mobygames.com/game/gotham-knights)
  • - [The Adventures of Batman & Robin](https://www.mobygames.com/game/snes/adventures-of-batman-robin__)
  • - [Batman](https://www.mobygames.com/game/batman_)
  • - [Super Mario Sunshine](https://www.mobygames.com/game/gamecube/super-mario-sunshine)
  • - [Super Smash Brothers series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/super-smash-brothers-series)
  • - [Krystal](https://starfox.fandom.com/wiki/Krystal)
  • - [Defender](https://www.mobygames.com/game/defender)
  • - [BioShock Infinite](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ps3/bioshock-infinite_)
  • - [David Cage](https://www.mobygames.com/developer/sheet/view/developerId,14514/)
  • - [Detroit: Become Human](https://www.mobygames.com/game/detroit-become-human)
  • - [French baguette given UNESCO protection](https://www.cnn.com/travel/article/french-baguette-unesco/index.html)
  • - [Ex-BioShock Infinite developer explains the viral baguette boy](https://www.polygon.com/22923705/bioshock-baguette-boy-explained)
  • - [Pong](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dedicated-console/pong_______)
  • - [Asteroids](https://www.mobygames.com/game/asteroids_)
  • - [Minesweeper](https://www.mobygames.com/game/minesweeper)
  • - [A Mind Forever Voyaging](https://www.mobygames.com/game/a-mind-forever-voyaging)
  • - [Marvel Midnight Suns](https://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/marvel-midnight-suns)
  • - [Dragon Age series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/dragon-age-series)
  • - [PaRappa Rappa](https://parappatherapper.fandom.com/wiki/PaRappa_Rappa)
  • - [Paper Mario](https://www.mariowiki.com/Paper_Mario_(character))
  • - [PaRappa the Rapper anime opening](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PweFuUlR3-E)
  • - [PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playstation-all-stars-battle-royale)
  • - [Sol Badguy](https://guiltygear.fandom.com/wiki/Sol_Badguy)
  • - [Die-Hardman](https://deathstranding.fandom.com/wiki/Die-Hardman)
  • - [Gene](https://godhandcapcom.fandom.com/wiki/Gene)
  • - [Kazuma Kiryu](https://yakuza.fandom.com/wiki/Kazuma_Kiryu)
  • - [Francis York Morgan](https://deadlypremonition.fandom.com/wiki/Francis_York_Morgan)
  • - [Phoenix Wright](https://aceattorney.fandom.com/wiki/Phoenix_Wright)
  • - [Marvel Vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds](https://www.mobygames.com/game/marvel-vs-capcom-3-fate-of-two-worlds)
  • - [Gritty](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gritty)
  • - [Blinx: The Time Sweeper](https://www.mobygames.com/game/blinx-the-time-sweeper)
  • - [Command & Conquer: Red Alert](https://www.mobygames.com/game/command-conquer-red-alert)
  • - [Doom Patrol](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doom_Patrol)
  • - [Doom Runners (1997)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doom_Runners)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Brandon:** [TOUGH BOY by TOM★CAT](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mdju-W_ZAnw), [Doom Runners (1997)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doom_Runners)
    **Frank**: Don’t give Frank any money, [RichWhitehouse.com](http://richwhitehouse.com/)
    **Ash**: [Donate to the Video Game History Foundation Winter Fundraiser](https://gamehistory.org/donate/) where donations are matched dollar for dollar until the goal is met, [Bleach: Thousand-Year Blood War](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bleach:_Thousand-Year_Blood_War), [Marvel Midnight Suns](https://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/marvel-midnight-suns), [Marvel Snap](https://www.mobygames.com/game/marvel-snap)

    Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    One day early?!

    Ash‘s idea for a clear tube ride at the nintendo theme park is great. I’d go just to watch tourists get launched down those transparent mario pipes

    I was telling Esper that it was taking frustratingly way too long for the panel to get my Sopranos Dream Sequence/Super Mario Bros. 2 joke, only for Esper themself to not get it either. I still don‘t think I’m the problem

    i've not even seen the sopranos and i got it!

    Red from Fraggle Rock is the videogameist Muppet because she's the coolest.

    I appreciate the emergent, collaborative, storytelling elements that are allowed on Violence Island. As long as @“Jaffe”#p95795 continues to wrangle the panel like a good DM, it's a recipe for a real good time.

    @“Jaffe”#p95795 Jaffe is publicly shaming me for not knowing or caring about Mario of all things

    I'd have liked to see Parappa go even farther!

    @“DavidNoo”#p95838 he's not really a fighter, he was never gonna go that far…

    c‘mon, the correct answer for which important video-games figure would get into smash bros. is miyamoto’s wife!

    @“exodus”#p95839 I know, but I can dream! I just liked the idea of him coming out on top with his car somehow.

    @“Jaffe”#p95795

    Honestly, it took me until you said "turnips" to get it. I just don't see Wart as a frog any more than I see Bowser as a lizard or dragon - just a big, scaly monster.

    As soon as Ash said Oscar The Grouch I immediately remembered Ultimate Play The Game’s Cookie on the Spectrum with its highly unofficial Oscar appearance…

    [upl-image-preview url=https://i.imgur.com/pisDRzn.png]

    [upl-image-preview url=https://i.imgur.com/0nqnAQF.png]

    @“exodus”#p95839 @Jaffe Can there be a Non-Violence Island someday for all the videogame characters who aren‘t fighters? Like, I don’t know, it could be a debate tournament? The panelists can hypothesize what points Parappa would make in favor of ending social security, or whatever it is they talk about at debate tournaments. (I have no idea what actual serious debate competitions are like).

    @“saddleblasters”#p95852 that's a fun idea!

    Per John Romero correcting Sandy Peterson

    [upl-image-preview url=https://i.imgur.com/ndzPd4J.jpeg]

    a maybe dated answer cir. 2004 but the videogamiest muppets are beaker and bunsen because they've been writing penny arcade for like 25 years

    hehe