Ep. 265 - Starfield and Friends

### Ep. 265 - Starfield and Friends

The panel is ill-prepared for these questions, but unites once more to cover The Game Awards 2022, cool ladies, and the greatest game of all time no one is talking about yet. Brandon Sheffield reviews the first four episodes of Bleach and One Piece. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers and Brandon Sheffield. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nx95LBmxM54

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. Do we want to talk about the FTC suing to block Microsoft from buying Activision Blizzard? (06:37)
  • 2. From [Ash Parrish](https://twitter.com/adashtra): if you could lock Geoff Keighley in a room and make him reveal the video game industry's biggest secret, what would you ask him? (09:13)
  • 3. Let’s try to have a sincere discussion about The Game Awards (11:43)
  • 4. Let’s predict The Game Awards (20:48)
  • 5. How have video games influenced our vocabulary? (37:24)
  • 6. Does a video game protagonist have to be likable? (42:47)
  • 7. Insert Credit Anime Review: Bleach vs. One Piece (48:32)
  • 8. Mek asks: has there ever been a good boss fight in a first person shooter? (54:54)
  • 9. Which fighting game has the coolest lady? (01:00:37)
  • 10. What is the Jeanne Dielman, 23 quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles of video games? (01:05:24)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND**: Improv Zone - Introducing the Nominees (01:16:20)

    Recommendations and Outro (01:22:02)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Michigan J. Frog - "Hello My Baby"](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=evgEJlOPoeo)
  • - [Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door](https://www.mobygames.com/game/gamecube/paper-mario-the-thousand-year-door)
  • - [Osu! Tatakae! Ouendan / Elite Beat Agents series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/osu-tatakae-ouendan-elite-beat-agents-series)
  • - [Dragon Quest series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/dragon-warrior-dragon-quest-series)
  • - [The Sopranos](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Sopranos)
  • - [Dororo](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ps2/blood-will-tell-tezuka-osamus-dororo)
  • - [Parasite Eve](https://www.mobygames.com/game/parasite-eve)
  • - [Gungrave series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/gungrave-series)
  • - [FTC Seeks to Block Microsoft Corp.'s Acquisition of Activision Blizzard](https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/news/press-releases/2022/12/ftc-seeks-block-microsoft-corps-acquisition-activision-blizzard-inc)
  • - [Monopoly](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monopoly_(game))
  • - [The Game of Life](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Game_of_Life)
  • - [Itadaki Street series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/itadaki-street-series)
  • - [Disney's Bonkers](https://www.mobygames.com/game/snes/disneys-bonkers)
  • - [Bonk series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/bonk-series)
  • - [Geoff Keighley](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geoff_Keighley)
  • - [The Game Awards 2022](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Game_Awards_2022)
  • - [what me suit should look like?](https://www.google.com/search?q=what+me+suit+should+look+like%3F&source=hp&ei=Vc6WY8-8J_DO0PEP-Lqp4As&iflsig=AJiK0e8AAAAAY5bcZYD3BqAYIFX2smTZ9v02dSLNyQF7&ved=0ahUKEwiPu6nvvfP7AhVwJzQIHXhdCrwQ4dUDCAo&uact=5&oq=what+me+suit+should+look+like%3F&gs_lcp=Cgdnd3Mtd2l6EAMyBwgAEB4QogQyBQgAEKIEMgUIABCiBDIFCAAQogQyBQgAEKIEOggIABCPARDqAjoICC4QjwEQ6gI6CwgAEIAEELEDEIMBOhEILhCABBCxAxCDARDHARDRAzoLCC4QgAQQsQMQgwE6CwguELEDEIMBENQCOggIABCxAxCDAToICC4QgAQQ1AI6BQgAEIAEOggIABCABBCxAzoICAAQgAQQyQM6BAgAEAM6BQgAELEDOgsILhCABBCxAxDUAjoLCC4Q1AIQsQMQgAQ6BwgAEIAEEAo6BwguEIAEEAo6BggAEBYQHjoICAAQFhAeEAo6BggAEB4QDToICAAQCBAeEA06BQgAEIYDOggIIRAWEB4QHToKCCEQFhAeEA8QHVCEBFiCH2CsJGgBcAB4AIABkAGIAbwUkgEEMjQuNpgBAKABAbABCg&sclient=gws-wiz)
  • - [FINAL FANTASY XVI REVENGE trailer](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-U9SEYZDf0A)
  • - [Tetsuya Nomura](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tetsuya_Nomura)
  • - [Independent Games Festival](https://igf.com/)
  • - [IndieCade](https://www.indiecade.com/)
  • - [D.I.C.E. Awards](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/D.I.C.E._Awards)
  • - [Dredd (2012)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dredd)
  • - [Call of Duty: Warzone](https://www.mobygames.com/game/call-of-duty-warzone-20)
  • - [Sayonara Wild Hearts](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sayonara-wild-hearts)
  • - [Disco Elysium](https://www.mobygames.com/game/disco-elysium)
  • - [Stray](https://www.mobygames.com/game/stray_)
  • - [Xenoblade Chronicles 3](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/xenoblade-chronicles-3)
  • - [A Plague Tale: Requiem](https://www.mobygames.com/game/a-plague-tale-requiem)
  • - [Elden Ring](https://www.mobygames.com/game/elden-ring)
  • - [Horizon II: Forbidden West](https://www.mobygames.com/game/horizon-ii-forbidden-west)
  • - [God of War: Ragnarök](https://www.mobygames.com/game/god-of-war-ragnark)
  • - [Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sekiro-shadows-die-twice)
  • - [Fortnite: Battle Royale](https://www.mobygames.com/game/fortnite-battle-royale)
  • - [Final Fantasy XIV Online: A Realm Reborn](https://www.mobygames.com/game/final-fantasy-xiv-online-a-realm-reborn)
  • - [Genshin Impact](https://www.mobygames.com/game/genshin-impact)
  • - [Apex Legends](https://www.mobygames.com/game/apex-legends)
  • - [Destiny 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/destiny-2)
  • - [Final Fantasy VII: The First Soldier](https://www.mobygames.com/game/final-fantasy-vii-the-first-soldier)
  • - [Marvel Snap](https://www.mobygames.com/game/marvel-snap)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Legend_of_Zelda:_Tears_of_the_Kingdom)
  • - [Starfield](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Starfield_(video_game))
  • - [Resident Evil 4](https://www.mobygames.com/game/resident-evil-4)
  • - [Mass Effect series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/mass-effect-series)
  • - [Skyrim series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/skyrim-series)
  • - [League of Legends](https://www.mobygames.com/game/league-of-legends)
  • - [Dota 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dota-2)
  • - [Counter-Strike series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/counter-strike-series)
  • - [Valorant](https://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/valorant)
  • - [Rocket League](https://www.mobygames.com/game/rocket-league)
  • - [Splatoon 3](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/splatoon-3)
  • - [Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder's Revenge](https://www.mobygames.com/game/teenage-mutant-ninja-turtles-shredders-revenge)
  • - [Overwatch series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/overwatch-series)
  • - [MultiVersus](https://www.mobygames.com/game/multiversus)
  • - [Baskin-Robbins](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baskin-Robbins)
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog 2 (2022)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sonic_the_Hedgehog_2_(film))
  • - [Uncharted (2022)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uncharted_(film))
  • - [The Cuphead Show!](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Cuphead_Show!)
  • - [Cyberpunk: Edgerunners](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cyberpunk:_Edgerunners)
  • - [Arcane](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arcane_(TV_series))
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sonic-the-hedgehog-2)
  • - [Nintendo Switch Sports](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/nintendo-switch-sports)
  • - [Kirby and the Forgotten Land](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/kirby-and-the-forgotten-land)
  • - [LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga](https://www.mobygames.com/game/lego-star-wars-the-skywalker-saga_)
  • - [Mario + Rabbids: Sparks of Hope](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/mario-rabbids-sparks-of-hope)
  • - [Immortality](https://www.mobygames.com/game/immortality)
  • - [Grammy Awards](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grammy_Awards)
  • - [Academy Awards](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Academy_Awards)
  • - [Triangle Strategy](https://www.mobygames.com/game/triangle-strategy)
  • - [Live A Live](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/live-a-live_)
  • - [Pokémon Legends: Arceus](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/pokmon-legends-arceus)
  • - [Ashly Burch](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ashly_Burch)
  • - [Gran Turismo 7](https://www.mobygames.com/game/gran-turismo-7)
  • - [Sifu](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sifu)
  • - [Neon White](https://www.mobygames.com/game/neon-white)
  • - [Tunic](https://www.mobygames.com/game/tunic)
  • - [Cult of the Lamb](https://www.mobygames.com/game/cult-of-the-lamb)
  • - [Vampire Survivors](https://www.mobygames.com/game/vampire-survivors)
  • - [Evo](https://www.evo.gg/)
  • - [Los Angeles Thieves](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Los_Angeles_Thieves)
  • - [GamePro](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GamePro)
  • - [Casino (1995)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Casino_(1995_film))
  • - [Pacific Pinball Museum](https://www.pacificpinball.org/)
  • - [Tim’s Elden Ring guy](https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/743918905789120552/1050532668695134268/IMG_9551.jpg)
  • - [Chuck Rock series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/chuck-rock-series)
  • - [Joe & Mac: Caveman Ninja](https://www.mobygames.com/game/joe-mac-caveman-ninja)
  • - [Joe & Mac Returns](https://www.mobygames.com/game/joe-mac-returns)
  • - [Toki](https://www.mobygames.com/game/toki_)
  • - [Clockwork Knight](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sega-saturn/clockwork-knight)
  • - [Bug! series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/bug-series)
  • - [Bleach](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bleach_(TV_series))
  • - [One Piece](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/One_Piece_(TV_series))
  • - [Hunter × Hunter](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hunter_%C3%97_Hunter_(disambiguation))
  • - [Turok: Dinosaur Hunter](https://www.mobygames.com/game/turok-dinosaur-hunter)
  • - [Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus](https://www.mobygames.com/game/wolfenstein-ii-the-new-colossus)
  • - [Descent series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/descent-series)
  • - [Halo series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/halo-series)
  • - [Titanfall series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/titanfall-series)
  • - [Metroid Prime series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/metroid-prime-series)
  • - [Left 4 Dead series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/left-4-dead-series)
  • - [DOOM series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/doom-series)
  • - [Street Fighter series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/street-fighter-series)
  • - [Sonya Blade](https://mortalkombat.fandom.com/wiki/Sonya_Blade/Film)
  • - [Makoto](https://streetfighter.fandom.com/wiki/Makoto)
  • - [Elena](https://streetfighter.fandom.com/wiki/Elena)
  • - [King of Fighters series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/king-of-fighters-series)
  • - [Angel](https://thekingoffighters.fandom.com/wiki/Angel)
  • - [Yuri Sakazaki](https://snk.fandom.com/wiki/Yuri_Sakazaki)
  • - [Asuka 120% series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/asuka-120-series)
  • - [May](https://guiltygear.fandom.com/wiki/May)
  • - [Jam Kuradoberi](https://guiltygear.fandom.com/wiki/Jam_Kuradoberi)
  • - [King](https://snk.fandom.com/wiki/King)
  • - [Tekken series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/tekken-series)
  • - [King](https://tekken.fandom.com/wiki/King)
  • - [Marvel vs. Capcom series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/marvel-vs-capcom-series)
  • - [Iron Fist](https://marvel.fandom.com/wiki/Iron_Fist)
  • - [Akira](https://streetfighter.fandom.com/wiki/Akira)
  • - [Skullomania](https://streetfighter.fandom.com/wiki/Skullomania)
  • - [Superman](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Superman)
  • - [Terry Bogard](https://snk.fandom.com/wiki/Terry_Bogard)
  • - [Super Smash Brothers series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/super-smash-brothers-series)
  • - [Mai Shiranui](https://snk.fandom.com/wiki/Mai_Shiranui)
  • - [Kyo Kusanagi](https://snk.fandom.com/wiki/Kyo_Kusanagi)
  • - [Ryu](https://streetfighter.fandom.com/wiki/Ryu)
  • - [Ken Masters](https://streetfighter.fandom.com/wiki/Ken_Masters)
  • - [Bayonetta](https://bayonetta.fandom.com/wiki/Bayonetta_(character))
  • - [Bayonetta series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/bayonetta-series)
  • - [Jeanne Dielman, 23 quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles (1975)](https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jeanne_Dielman,_23,_quai_du_commerce,_1080_Bruxelles)
  • - [‘Jeanne Dielman’ Tops Sight & Sound’s 2022 Poll of the Best Films of All Time](https://www.indiewire.com/2022/12/sight-and-sound-best-films-of-all-time-poll-2022-results-1234786615/)
  • - [Citizen Kane (1941)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Citizen_Kane)
  • - [Vertigo (1958)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vertigo_(film))
  • - [Tokyo Story (1953)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tokyo_Story)
  • - [Bicycle Thieves (1948)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bicycle_Thieves)
  • - [Bomberman: Act:Zero](https://www.mobygames.com/game/xbox360/bomberman-actzero)
  • - [Fallout: New Vegas](https://www.mobygames.com/game/fallout-new-vegas)
  • - [BioShock](https://www.mobygames.com/game/bioshock)
  • - [Journey](https://www.mobygames.com/game/journey)
  • - [Linda³](https://www.mobygames.com/game/turbografx-cd/linda-)
  • - [Oreshika: Tainted Bloodlines](https://www.mobygames.com/game/oreshika-tainted-bloodlines)
  • - [Gears of War series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/gears-of-war-series)
  • - [Frank’s photo of Ed Semrad](https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/743918905789120552/1050545626280112228/image.png)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Frank**: [The Prototypes in Ed Semrad’s Basement](https://gamehistory.org/ed-semrad-roms/)
    **Brandon:** Watch a few episodes of [Hunter X Hunter](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hunter_%C3%97_Hunter_(disambiguation)), [wishlist Hyper Gunsport on Steam](https://store.steampowered.com/app/1663250/Hyper_Gunsport/)

    Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    i highly approve of question 9!

    Akira‘s not from Street Fighter EX, she’s from Rival Schools! (and more recently, Street Fighter V)

    re: Linda Cube & Oreshika: the creator of both those games (as well as Gunparade March, which might be the game I'd name in response to that question—there's a spiritual sequel coming soon with a guaranteed international release, even) is also a veteran of the Momotaro Dentetsu series and recently earned a massive royalty from the latest, hugely successful Momotetsu Switch game, and he publicly floated the idea of using that money to produce a new port of one of those three games—he put it to a public poll and I want to say Oreshika won, but he ended up dismissing the poll after some news blog picked it up, as he felt they tainted the vote. He also said they'd probably be mobile ports rather than console, as he didn't think his games would be okayed on Sony platforms nowadays, but given that he was prompted to port them by the news of Sony's legacy PS store closings and the need to preserve them for future generations, mobile seems like a terrible idea.

    @“gsk”#p96748 ah crap! Right you are…

    I have reviewed the tapes and I am definitely right about the Dragonlord killing you if you try to join him

    My first thought when it came to the fail state prompt is a bad ending in 428 Shibuya Scramble in which the cop character decides to stop being a cop and moves to the countryside to work as a farmer, and there's a really goofy couple of photos of the actor in a field wearing farming clothes. Cool game.

    >

    @“LeFish”#p96780 bad ending

    >

    @“LeFish”#p96780 the cop character decides to stop being a cop

    idk man sounds like a Good Ending

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Kr8NGIi1Uk

    >

    @“esper”#p96740 What is the Jeanne Dielman, 23 quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles of video games? (01:05:24)

    I like the _Fallout: New Vegas_ answer since it definitely seems like if you start polling a larger number of people these days they will be increasingly likely to include _New Vegas_ as one of their top 10 games and it probably would similarly jet to the top of the list by virtue of constant inclusion (even if potentially fewer people would mark it number _one_ on a ranking).

    ...but also kind of curious to tackle that question more regarding the content of the film itself, which is more a gradual exploration through observation with little in the way of action....which is kind of just a description of a walking simulator? I don't think I can point to any single walking simulator that seems a best fit (also: a genre I just haven't played much of), but curious if there is one that really fits the bill here (or if there is another more _Jeanne Dielman_-like game in it's daily-task-focused content)

    @“soapbox”#p96814 it‘s The Sims, ||including the part where you get tired of playing the sims and decide you don’t want to do it anymore||

    I had no clue that's where Pro Tip originated.

    Hunter x Hunter rules. If you want a long running Shounen series that feels like a Saturn game, watch Yu-Gi-Oh!

    Hmm [upl-image-preview url=https://i.imgur.com/RfLJAyd.jpeg]


    @“Syzygy”#p96860 I‘ve watched all of them up to Arc-V and I love Duel Monsters and 5D’s best. 5D's ridiculousness cannot be beaten, moments like the prison arc and crash town need to be seen to be believed!

    What is the original Xbox of turn of the century shounen anime?

    Most of the fail states in Hotel Dusk: Room 215 involve getting kicked out of the hotel for one reason or another. There's at least one scenario, though, where Kyle screws something up and just gets so depressed he decides to quit pursuing the mystery, lock himself in his room, and go to bed early. Very funny ending imo

    Jaffe‘s comment reminded me that I also used to play Monopoly as all four players, although I don’t think I ever finished a game because it would get far too confusing. There were a few other board games I used to play like this, and I also played two-player video games against myself with both controllers plugged in because I didn't like the CPUs. I also found a way to play indoor mini-hockey against myself by shooting the ball against the wall and then trying to block it once it bounced.

    It sounds like only-child behaviour but I actually have three siblings. I guess because I was the youngest I couldn't force anyone to play with me.

    @“wickedcestus”#p96878 I have two younger sisters but they would rather do other things

    Playboy only gave Gungrave a 65%