Ep. 270 - Leisure Suit Locusts, with Cliff Bleszinski

### Ep. 270 - Leisure Suit Locusts, with Cliff Bleszinski

Game Designer and Broadway Producer [Cliff "CliffyB" Bleszinski](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cliff_Bleszinski) joins a very sensual episode to cover what makes good third person shooters, Avatar 2, and disrespecting Hitman. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers, Brandon Sheffield, and Cliff Bleszinski. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yg_fiSQ4RRY

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. From Brandon Sheffield: What makes a good third person shooter? (06:18)
  • 2. Who has more power, a game director, or a game producer? (14:44)
  • 3. Design a video game around the Aroma Shooter. (23:27)
  • 4. Design a sequel to Frank Cifaldi’s Super Sherlock Holmes. (31:25)
  • 5. Improv Zone: Guess the COG Squadron (37:04)
  • 6. Seth asks: What is the best sound related to video games that is not from a video game? (43:26)
  • 7. If you could design a level for an existing video game series, which would it be and what would you do? (49:58)
  • 8. What was Fortnite supposed to be? (55:03)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND:** Name Design – Gears of War Achievements (01:00:53)

    Recommendations and Outro (01:07:14)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Time.is](https://time.is/)
  • - [The Menu (2022)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Menu_(2022_film))
  • - [Jazz Jackrabbit series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/jazz-jackrabbit-series)
  • - [NFL 2K](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dreamcast/nfl-2k)
  • - [Assault](https://www.mobygames.com/game/assault_)
  • - [Street Fighter series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/street-fighter-series)
  • - [Unreal Tournament series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/unreal-tournament-series)
  • - [Gears of War series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/gears-of-war-series)
  • - [Hadestown](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hadestown)
  • - [Robotron: 2084](https://www.mobygames.com/game/robotron-2084)
  • - [Tokyo Wars](https://www.mobygames.com/game/arcade/tokyo-wars)
  • - [Phoenix](https://www.mobygames.com/game/phoenix_)
  • - [Mindjack](https://www.mobygames.com/game/mindjack)
  • - [Resident Evil 4](https://www.mobygames.com/game/resident-evil-4)
  • - [Lunar: The Silver Star](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sega-cd/lunar-the-silver-star)
  • - [Control](https://www.mobygames.com/game/control)
  • - [Alan Wake](https://www.mobygames.com/game/alan-wake)
  • - [High on Life](https://www.mobygames.com/game/high-on-life)
  • - [Ori and the Blind Forest](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ori-and-the-blind-forest)
  • - [Donkey Kong Country](https://www.mobygames.com/game/donkey-kong-country)
  • - [Shigeru Miyamoto](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shigeru_Miyamoto)
  • - [Hideo Kojima](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hideo_Kojima)
  • - [Rod Fergusson](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rod_Fergusson)
  • - [BioShock Infinite](https://www.mobygames.com/game/bioshock-infinite)
  • - [3D Realms](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/3D_Realms)
  • - [Jaws (1975)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jaws_(film))
  • - [Duke Nukem 3D](https://www.mobygames.com/game/duke-nukem-3d)
  • - [DOOM](https://www.mobygames.com/game/doom)
  • - [John Carmack](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Carmack)
  • - [John Romero](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Romero)
  • - [Masters of Doom](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Masters_of_Doom)
  • - [Quake](https://www.mobygames.com/game/quake)
  • - [Contra](https://www.mobygames.com/game/contra_)
  • - [Aroma Shooter®](https://aromajoin.com/products/aroma-shooter/)
  • - [Elden Ring](https://www.mobygames.com/game/elden-ring)
  • - [The Last of Us series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/last-of-us-series)
  • - [Journey](https://www.mobygames.com/game/journey)
  • - [Flower](https://www.mobygames.com/game/flower)
  • - [Super Mario Odyssey](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/super-mario-odyssey)
  • - [Hidetaka Suehiro](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hidetaka_Suehiro)
  • - [Ep. 218 - Donkey Milk, with Kris Graft](https://insertcredit.com/show/218/)
  • - [VA-11 HALL-A: Cyberpunk Bartender Action](https://www.mobygames.com/game/va-11-hall-a-cyberpunk-bartender-action)
  • - [Guitar Hero series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/guitar-hero-series)
  • - [Rock Band series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/rock-band-series)
  • - [Sixaxis](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SIXAXIS)
  • - [Kinect](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kinect)
  • - [Peter Molyneux](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peter_Molyneux)
  • - [Ratatouille (2007)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ratatouille_(film))
  • - [Dactyl Nightmare](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Virtuality_(product))
  • - [Avatar: The Way of Water (2022)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Avatar:_The_Way_of_Water)
  • - [Being John Malkovich (1999)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Being_John_Malkovich)
  • - [Public Domain Day 2023](https://web.law.duke.edu/cspd/publicdomainday/2023/)
  • - [Sherlock Holmes](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sherlock_Holmes)
  • - [Final Fantasy series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/final-fantasy-series)
  • - [Sherlock Holmes in the 22nd Century](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sherlock_Holmes_in_the_22nd_Century)
  • - [Fictional character: Sherlock Holmes](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/fictional-character-sherlock-holmes)
  • - [Batman: The Video Game](https://www.mobygames.com/game/nes/batman-the-video-game_)
  • - [PlatinumGames](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlatinumGames)
  • - [Knives Out (2019)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Knives_Out)
  • - [Batman: Arkham Asylum](https://www.mobygames.com/game/batman-arkham-asylum)
  • - [Lost Viking series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/lost-viking-series)
  • - [Heavy Rain](https://www.mobygames.com/game/heavy-rain)
  • - [Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons](https://www.mobygames.com/game/brothers-a-tale-of-two-sons)
  • - [Knuckles the Echidna](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Knuckles_the_Echidna)
  • - [Leisure Suit Larry](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leisure_Suit_Larry)
  • - [Kratos (God of War)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kratos_(God_of_War))
  • - [Alex Kidd series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/alex-kidd-series)
  • - [Leisure Suit Larry series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/leisure-suit-larry-series)
  • - [Dragon's Lair](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dragons-lair)
  • - [Dreamcast Startup (60fps)](https://archive.org/details/dreamcaststartup60fps)
  • - [Degaussing](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Degaussing)
  • - [NES Zapper](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NES_Zapper)
  • - [Time Crisis series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/time-crisis-series)
  • - [The House of the Dead series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/house-of-the-dead-series)
  • - [Casio Loopy](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Casio_Loopy)
  • - [Nintendo DS](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nintendo_DS)
  • - [Yes, Nintendo Switch cartridges taste terrible](https://www.theverge.com/2017/3/1/14778316/nintendo-switch-cartridge-taste-test-dont-lick-it)
  • - [Celeste](https://www.mobygames.com/game/celeste)
  • - [Hitman series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/hitman-series)
  • - [Assassin's Creed: Unity](https://www.mobygames.com/game/assassins-creed-unity)
  • - [Thief series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/thief-series)
  • - [Mission: Impossible](https://www.mobygames.com/game/mission-impossible)
  • - [Superman Returns](https://www.mobygames.com/game/superman-returns)
  • - [Ridge Racer series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/ridge-racer-series)
  • - [Forza Horizon series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/forza-horizon-series)
  • - [Mario Kart series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/mario-kart-series)
  • - [Sōkoban series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/skoban-series)
  • - [Fortnite series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/fortnite-series)
  • - [Plants vs. Zombies series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/plants-vs-zombies-series)
  • - [PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playerunknowns-battlegrounds)
  • - [LawBreakers](https://www.mobygames.com/game/lawbreakers)
  • - [Overwatch series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/overwatch-series)
  • - [League of Legends](https://www.mobygames.com/game/league-of-legends)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Cliff**: [Neon White](https://www.mobygames.com/game/neon-white), [Vampire Survivors](https://www.mobygames.com/game/vampire-survivors), [NORCO](https://www.mobygames.com/game/norco)
    **Tim**: [Interview with the Vampire](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Interview_with_the_Vampire_(TV_series)), [follow MiSTerAddons on twitter](https://twitter.com/MisterAddons), get a 4K 48-inch OLED computer monitor
    **Brandon:** Hit “publish” on your patches submitted to Nintendo, [The Equalizer](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Equalizer_(film)), please leave a review for Hyper Gunsport on Steam if you’ve purchased it
    **Frank**: Squeeze an airhorn at Frank Cifaldi every time he mentions the MiSTer if you know him in real life

    Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    i feel i am being pranked but i like it

    The guest was ok. You should try to get CliffyB next time.

    representation matters

    Cliff speaks at x2 speed naturally (complimentary)

    I love that Brandon loved playing Knuckles so much that he kept it up thru the break. Keep getting those chaos emeralds!

    Get CliffyB on your podcast. Boom step 3 profit.

    Seriously though Cliffy was great. Good club house vibes in this episode.

    I want Jaffe to fill in for all of tim's SFX sometime. Busted out laughing right away

    donkey milk, dude!

    @“rootfifthoctave”#p100712 DONKEY milk.

    To everyone looking for the next Peggle: try Peglin! It’s pachinko x Slay The Spire, and oh boy it works. With enough randomness so I don’t feel bad when I do badly. Incredible hangout game.

    frank, i‘d like to see your sokoban level. it’d probably suck.

    (...i also can't design good sokoban levels, i just want you to eat your sokoban-disparaging words)

    I manifested this episode by bemoaning how underrated Gears of War is yesterday during our stream hangout. You're welcome to everyone other than Alex Jaffe and Brandon Sheffield

    Oh my GOD I had to pause the pod and post here because jaffe just announced Improv Zone I am fucking TREMBLING!!! LETS GO

    Okay frank just mentioned “rubbers” I'm tapping out lmfao

    Wow! Cool episode, there was a lot of energy coursing around.

    There was a vibe of getting to hang out with the older cousins when I was a kid, lol!

    I really liked the discussions on the original fortnite and how cutting features led to strong releases.

    The episode also reminded me how cool Knuckles is. 100% my favourite sonic character

    @“beets”#p100814 Our goal on the Insert Credit Show is always to remind you how cool Knuckles is. This week we hit the mark.

    Improv zone is the best segment of the show, why do so many fear it?