Ep. 272 - New Donk, Michigan

### Ep. 272 - New Donk, Michigan

Our beloved panel covers big game worlds, big game choices, and big twin Tallaricos. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers, and Brandon Sheffield. Edited by [goop lord](https://youtube.com/@gooplord678), original music by Kurt Feldman.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V3fYcZYGC7I

**Questions this week:**

  • - [Jason Schreier](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jason_Schreier) asks: Which Mario stage/level/kingdom/board would you want to live in and why? [](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cliff_Bleszinski)(04:02)
  • - How do you trick a player into feeling like your video game world is big? (10:23)
  • - What do people mean when they say that choices you make in a video game should matter? (17:40)
  • - Dirtbag Dusting - Sam: What game emotionally resonated with you most as a teen? Vermont Boy: What games are most improved by listening to something else? Anonymous: What game has the longest time between setup and payoff? (24:58)
  • - Alex Jaffe asks: Is there any reason for a game with a controllable character to not have a jump button? (38:40)
  • - Which video games have caused industry-wide shifts in graphical aesthetics? (45:52)
  • - What video game characters do you think would most overuse emojis? (50:09)
  • - Review the Rubik’s Cube. (53:57)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND:** Name Design (58:50)

    Recommendations and Outro (01:05:13)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Kirby](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/kirby-games)
  • - [10-Yard Fight](https://www.mobygames.com/game/10-yard-fight_)
  • - [Batman: Arkham series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/batman-arkham-series)
  • - [Super Mario series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/super-mario-series)
  • - [E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial](https://www.mobygames.com/game/atari-2600/et-the-extra-terrestrial_)
  • - [Assassin's Creed series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/assassins-creed-series)
  • - [Prince of Persia series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/prince-of-persia-series)
  • - [Spyro the Dragon series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/spyro-the-dragon-universe)
  • - [Zero Divide](https://www.mobygames.com/game/zero-divide)
  • - [Yakuza / Ryū ga Gotoku series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/yakuza-ry-ga-gotoku-series)
  • - [Cheers](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cheers)
  • - [Leisure Suit Larry series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/leisure-suit-larry-series)
  • - [Bashi-bazouk](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bashi-bazouk)
  • - [Dragon Quest series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/dragon-warrior-dragon-quest-series)
  • - [Cyberpunk 2077](https://www.mobygames.com/game/cyberpunk-2077)
  • - [Bioshock series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/bioshock-series)
  • - [The Wolf Among Us](https://www.mobygames.com/game/wolf-among-us)
  • - [Final Fantasy series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/final-fantasy-series)
  • - [Wild Arms](https://www.mobygames.com/game/wild-arms)
  • - [Michiko Naruke](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michiko_Naruke)
  • - [Resident Evil series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/biohazard-resident-evil-series)
  • - [Soul Blade](https://www.mobygames.com/game/soul-blade)
  • - [Vandal Hearts](https://www.mobygames.com/game/vandal-hearts)
  • - [Suikoden](https://www.mobygames.com/game/suikoden)
  • - [Chrono Cross](https://www.mobygames.com/game/chrono-cross)
  • - [Phantasy Star IV](https://www.mobygames.com/game/phantasy-star-iv)
  • - [Clockwork Knight](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sega-saturn/clockwork-knight)
  • - [Gran Turismo 7](https://www.mobygames.com/game/gran-turismo-7)
  • - [Forza Horizon series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/forza-horizon-series)
  • - [Hi-Fi Rush](https://www.mobygames.com/game/hi-fi-rush)
  • - [Hi-Fi Rush trailer](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pgd4aU56Kig)
  • - [Earthworm Jim](https://www.mobygames.com/game/earthworm-jim)
  • - [The Barbarians (1987)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Barbarians_(1987_film))
  • - [Barbarian (2022)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barbarian_(2022_film))
  • - [Barbarella (1968)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barbarella_(film))
  • - [Barb and Star Go to Vista Del Mar (2021)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barb_and_Star_Go_to_Vista_Del_Mar)
  • - [I Am A Barbarian](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/I_Am_a_Barbarian)
  • - [Barber of Seville](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Barber_of_Seville)
  • - [Words with Friends](https://www.mobygames.com/game/words-with-friends)
  • - [Bonk series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/bonk-series)
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/sonic-the-hedgehog-universe)
  • - [Nightmare](https://www.mobygames.com/game/nightmare)
  • - [Sabre Wulf](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sabre-wulf)
  • - [Sid Meier's Civilization II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sid-meiers-civilization-ii)
  • - [Myst](https://www.mobygames.com/game/myst)
  • - [Elden Ring](https://www.mobygames.com/game/elden-ring)
  • - [Demons Souls](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ps3/demons-souls)
  • - [Dark Souls](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dark-souls)
  • - [Ico](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ico)
  • - [Gears of War](https://www.mobygames.com/game/gears-of-war)
  • - [Dark Sector](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dark-sector)
  • - [DOOM](https://www.mobygames.com/game/doom)
  • - [Quake](https://www.mobygames.com/game/quake_)
  • - [Jet Grind Radio](https://www.mobygames.com/game/jet-grind-radio)
  • - [Sunset Overdrive](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sunset-overdrive_)
  • - [Travis Touchdown](https://nomoreheroes.fandom.com/wiki/Travis_Touchdown)
  • - [Princess Peach](https://www.mariowiki.com/Princess_Peach)
  • - [Princess Daisy](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Princess_Daisy)
  • - [Bayonetta](https://bayonetta.fandom.com/wiki/Bayonetta_(character))
  • - [Rubik’s Cube](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rubik%27s_Cube)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Brandon:** [Stonewall's Jerquee](https://www.amazon.com/Stonewalls-Jerquee-Original-1-5-Ounce-Packets/dp/B000LKXQCS), [A Man Called Hawk](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Man_Called_Hawk) on Tubi, reevaluate your taste prejudices every once in a while
    **Tim**: Spell a word in an interesting way if you’re a vegan snack company, don’t ask Tim about anything diet related
    **Frank**: [Deweys Cookies](https://deweys.com/)
    **Jaffe**: See a dentist

    Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    Thank you to goop lord for stepping in to edit this one while @espercontrol is on family leave. Esper will be back next week!

    {“sticky”:true}

    # One day early⁉️

    Best to @espercontrol . Take whatever time you need.

    First thing that comes to mind for games better off muted with your own music playing is always HYDLIDE for family computer

    @“antillese”#p102143 kind of you, thank you!! i promise i‘m not in bad shape or anything, i’m just visiting my hometown for the first time in five years or so and don‘t have access to my editing rig. excellent work by our stand-in editor goop lord, thank you for that. i’ll be back to edit the next one!!

    (the youtube version of the show will be delayed until I get back into town though, close to the end of the week. thank you for your patience)

    As soon as Brandon said he'd been put off Hi-Fi Rush by that Black Keys track (which I, personally, am otherwise partial to occasionally) I internally screamed in agreement because hearing that song during action sequences would make my heart sink.

    I mean I'll probably buy it when it inevitably goes on sale for peanuts for the Steam winter sale but I'd rather Microsoft find a way to get Jet Set Radio Future rereleased than read tweets from babies that are suddenly into The Prodigy.

    Man that HiFi Rush trailer did irreversible damage to me. It is baffling to me when a game comes out that‘s supposed to be centered around music and it just has AWFUL needle drops. Makes the entire inclusion of a music-foward setting / character / mechanic feel disingenuous - how am i supposed to trust this game is good when it’s obvious they either a) have bad taste or b) are phoning in the music supervising. Looking at the soundtrack on NME right now - well. They at least have one of my favorite number girl songs.

    If there‘s a person who can play Wild Arms and get to the part where this track plays about 2 or 3 hours in and not feel anything I do not want to know them. Uh, do yourself a favor and don’t click that if you haven't played it though. Do yourself an even bigger favor and watch the prologue by letting the game sit on the title screen for about 30 seconds after the animated intro if you do play it.

    >!This game and specifically the scene right before that track and the track itself literally rebooted my brain after my best friend died when I was 11.!<

    The Cyberpunk 2077 sidequest Tim speaks of sounds a lot like a subplot in Philip K. Dick‘s Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? If you’ve never read it, I highly recommend it.

    Zoned out to the Ico and FFX-2 idle screens a fair number of times.

    >

    @“esper”#p102138 Alex Jaffe asks: Is there any reason for a game with a controllable character to not have a jump button? (38:40)

    Ah, might as well jump

    >

    @“esper”#p102138 What games are most improved by listening to something else?

    not really answering the question, but:
    probably about half the times i played _thunder fource 5_ (which has incredible music), i muted it and listened to _[broken](https://youtu.be/i2dYO_dgKBk)_ by nine inch nails.

    though i just recalled that some of the music in _[lunacy](https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lunacy_(video_game))_ is too god damn much, it feels like it's screaming at me as i fly around that weird town. in parts i'd love the option to turn it off, but i don't have that option and i can't mute the game because the dialog is spoken and there isn't the option to use subtitles. i guess that's an accessibility issue.

    i guess i'd only want to change the music in a game if it's a decision that really matters.

    >

    @“esper”#p102138 reevaluate your taste prejudices every once in a while

    speaking directly to what was specifically brought up as an example, scritti politti is genuinely incredible. i wanted to mention here that not only does their music rule, but that they've been vocal marxists since their start in the late 70's-early 80's. that dangerous-to-search feeling band name references Antonio Gramsci's Political Writings (Scritti Politici), who was an italian marxist philosopher and antifascist who was imprisoned for criticizing mussolini. a common thread in their music is to use pop symbols/stylings to critique consumerist/capitalist culture by pushing them to the absolute brink of meaning and absurdity, which is why they're so sugary (but also because it sounds cool).

    [they also have a part in a song called A Perfect Way that truly sounds like (and predates) the Super Mario World overworld theme!](https://youtu.be/s-P94UFne-w?t=179) comes in at around 3:00.

    anyways, the albums Cupid and Psyche '85 and Provision rule, and i hope yall get into scritti.

    Hard disagree with Frank, Phantasy Star IV is always interesting.

    Anyway, I've seen Barbershop.

    @“tokucowboy”#p102295

    swap the protagonists and I'd actually want to play it

    @“hellomrkearns”#p102233 [upl-image-preview url=https://i.imgur.com/zmiQMoT.png]


    @exodus I'm glad someone said something about the music used in the debut trailer for Hi-Fi Rush. The game looks great (despite the super vanilla looking protag), but that bay area startup/kickstarter “Whoaahohoooo” music in the trailer for this rhythm based action game made me feel like they were about to tell how I can do my taxes on my phone with complete freedom or something.

    Few kicks going at Hi-Fi RUSH around here so gonna try and balance it with this: trailer aside, that game rules!

    man…. i dunno, my only experience w hifi rush is the trailer, and music aside it seems like this is the game that should be getting all the dialogue-flak that forespoken is getting. visually on point, though! gameplay looks like it could be real fun!