Ep. 274 - Game of the Year 2022

### Ep. 274 - Game of the Year 2022

Our panel debates the rankings greatest video games of 2022, and devises cryptic inscriptions for each one so that others may follow their path. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers, and Brandon Sheffield. Edited by Esper Quinn. Original Music by Kurt Feldman.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FBNHkHZ16wU

### THE INSERT CREDIT GAME OF THE YEAR 2022:

  • 1. ||Elden Ring||
  • 2. ||Citizen Sleeper||
  • 3. ||Return to Monkey Island||
  • 4. ||Immortality||
  • 5. ||Vampire Survivors||
  • 6. ||Sony porting games to Steam||
  • 7. ||Signalis||
  • 8. ||Ghostwire: Tokyo||
  • 9. ||Resident Evil 4 HD Project||
  • 10. ||Neon White||
  • 11. ||Soul Hackers 2||
  • 12. ||Stranger of Paradise: Final Fantasy Origin||
  • 13. ||Xenoblade Chronicles 3||
  • 14. ||Pentiment||
  • 15. ||Pocky & Rocky Reshrined||
  • 16. ||Tunic||
  • 17. ||Square Enix's Lovely Shovelware, feat. Harvestella||
  • 18. ||Lil Gator Game||
  • 19. ||Sonic Frontiers||
  • 20. ||Playdate||
  • 21. ||PowerSlave Exhumed||
  • **NOMINATIONS:**

  • - Frank Round 1 (08:37)
  • - Tim Round 1 (12:35)
  • - Brandon Round 1 (17:46)
  • - Frank Round 2 (28:29)
  • - Tim Round 2 (33:55)
  • - Brandon Round 2 (36:49)
  • - Frank Round 3 (44:22)
  • - Tim Round 3 (57:18)
  • - Brandon Round 3 (01:04:08)
  • - Frank Round 4 (01:11:09)
  • - Tim Round 4 (01:17:20)
  • - Brandon Round 4 (01:24:33)
  • - Frank Round 5 (01:33:50)
  • - Tim Round 5 (01:47:03)
  • - Brandon Round 5 (01:54:16)
  • - Frank Round 6 (02:02:43)
  • - Tim Round 6 (02:05:34)
  • - Brandon Round 6 (02:10:14)
  • - Frank Round 7 (02:15:14)
  • - Tim Round 7 (02:19:30)
  • - Brandon Round 7 (02:25:14)
  • - Wrap-up (02:36:25)
  • **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Top Gun: Maverick (2022)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Top_Gun:_Maverick)
  • - [The Deal Guy](https://www.youtube.com/@thedealguy)
  • - [Nope (2022)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nope_(film))
  • - [Fry's Electronics](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fry%27s_Electronics)
  • - [Once Upon a Time in Hollywood (2019)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Once_Upon_a_Time_in_Hollywood)
  • - [Game Dude](http://www.gamedude.com/)
  • - [Five Fingers for Marseilles (2017)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Five_Fingers_for_Marseilles)
  • - [They Live (1988)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/They_Live)
  • - [Them! (1954)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Them!)
  • - [Capriotti's](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capriotti%27s)
  • - [Elden Ring](https://www.mobygames.com/game/elden-ring)
  • - [Elden Ring Message System (ERMS)](https://eldenring.wiki.fextralife.com/Messages)
  • - [PowerSlave: Exhumed](https://www.mobygames.com/game/powerslave-exhumed)
  • - [System Shock series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/system-shock-series)
  • - [Metroid Prime](https://www.mobygames.com/game/metroid-prime)
  • - [DOOM](https://www.mobygames.com/game/doom)
  • - [Xenoblade Chronicles 3](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/xenoblade-chronicles-3)
  • - [Xenoblade series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/xenoblade-series)
  • - [Xenosaga series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/xenosaga-series)
  • - [Tetsuya Takahashi](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tetsuya_Takahashi)
  • - [Balan Wonderworld](https://www.mobygames.com/game/balan-wonderworld)
  • - [Baten Kaitos series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/baten-kaitos-series)
  • - [F.I.S.T.: Forged in Shadow Torch](https://www.mobygames.com/game/fist-forged-in-shadow-torch)
  • - [Loop Hero](https://www.mobygames.com/game/loop-hero)
  • - [Citizen Sleeper](https://www.mobygames.com/game/citizen-sleeper)
  • - [Inscryption](https://www.mobygames.com/game/inscryption)
  • - [Into the Breach](https://www.mobygames.com/game/into-the-breach)
  • - [Return to Monkey Island](https://www.mobygames.com/game/return-to-monkey-island)
  • - [Monkey Island series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/monkey-island-series)
  • - [Immortality](https://www.mobygames.com/game/immortality)
  • - [Her Story](https://www.mobygames.com/game/her-story)
  • - [Telling L!es](https://www.mobygames.com/game/telling-les)
  • - [Paradise Killer](https://www.mobygames.com/game/paradise-killer)
  • - [Neon White](https://www.mobygames.com/game/neon-white)
  • - [Bubsy 3D: Bubsy Visits the James Turrell Retrospective](https://www.mobygames.com/game/bubsy-3d-bubsy-visits-the-james-turrell-retrospective)
  • - [Donut County](https://www.mobygames.com/game/donut-county)
  • - [Celeste](https://www.mobygames.com/game/celeste)
  • - [Virtual Hydlide](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sega-saturn/virtual-hydlide)
  • - [Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sekiro-shadows-die-twice)
  • - [Bloodborne](https://www.mobygames.com/game/bloodborne)
  • - [Demon's Souls](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ps3/demons-souls)
  • - [Dark Souls](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dark-souls)
  • - [VaatiVidya](https://www.youtube.com/c/VaatiVidya)
  • - [Fextralife build guides](https://eldenring.wiki.fextralife.com/Builds)
  • - [Iron Pineapple](https://www.youtube.com/c/IronPineapple/videos)
  • - [Call of Duty series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/call-of-duty-series)
  • - [Signalis](https://www.mobygames.com/game/signalis)
  • - [Silent Hill series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/silent-hill-series)
  • - [Biohazard / Resident Evil series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/biohazard-resident-evil-series)
  • - [Vampire Survivors](https://www.mobygames.com/game/vampire-survivors)
  • - [Castlevania / Akumajō Dracula series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/castlevania-akumaj-dracula-series)
  • - [Ridiculous Fishing](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ridiculous-fishing)
  • - [Sonic Frontiers](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sonic-frontiers)
  • - [Resident Evil 4 HD Project](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Resident_Evil_4_HD_Project)
  • - [Grand Theft Auto series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/grand-theft-auto-series)
  • - [Stray](https://www.mobygames.com/game/stray_)
  • - [Nintendo Direct 2.8.2023](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yMdUSVSEp7U)
  • - [Shin Megami Tensei IV](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3ds/shin-megami-tensei-iv)
  • - [Shin Megami Tensei series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/shin-megami-tensei-series)
  • - [Fire Emblem series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/fire-emblem-series)
  • - [Etrian Odyssey series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/etrian-odyssey-series)
  • - [Soul Hackers 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/soul-hackers-2)
  • - [Ghostwire: Tokyo](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ghostwire-tokyo)
  • - [Yakuza / Ryū ga Gotoku series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/yakuza-ry-ga-gotoku-series)
  • - [Persona 5](https://www.mobygames.com/game/persona-5)
  • - [Yo-kai Watch series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/yo-kai-watch-series)
  • - [Pokémon games](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/pokmon-universe)
  • - [Astral Chain](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/astral-chain)
  • - [Devil May Cry series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/devil-may-cry-series)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild](https://www.mobygames.com/game/legend-of-zelda-breath-of-the-wild)
  • - [WarioWare series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/warioware-series)
  • - [Ranger X](https://www.mobygames.com/game/genesis/ranger-x)
  • - [Sega Announces Plan To Make A "Super Game"](https://www.gamespot.com/articles/sega-announces-plan-to-make-a-super-game/1100-6491431/)
  • - [Crazy Taxi series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/crazy-taxi-series)
  • - [Jet Grind Radio series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/jet-grind-radio-series)
  • - [Panzer Dragoon series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/panzer-dragoon-series)
  • - [Fortnite: Battle Royale](https://www.mobygames.com/game/fortnite-battle-royale)
  • - [Judgment / Judge Eyes series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/judgment-judge-eyes-series)
  • - [Jack Reacher](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jack_Reacher)
  • - [Freedom Planet 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/freedom-planet-2)
  • - [Flappy Bird](https://www.mobygames.com/game/flappy-bird)
  • - [Horizon: Zero Dawn](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playstation-4/horizon-zero-dawn)
  • - [Sonic creator Yuji Naka arrested in insider trading scandal](https://www.theverge.com/2022/11/18/23465956/sonic-yuji-naka-arrested-insider-trading-scandal-game)
  • - [Solar Ash](https://www.mobygames.com/game/solar-ash)
  • - [Shadow of the Colossus](https://www.mobygames.com/game/shadow-of-the-colossus)
  • - [Tunic](https://www.mobygames.com/game/tunic)
  • - [Landstalker](https://www.mobygames.com/game/landstalker)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time](https://www.mobygames.com/game/legend-of-zelda-ocarina-of-time)
  • - [Crusader of Centy](https://www.mobygames.com/game/genesis/crusader-of-centy)
  • - [Magic Knight Rayearth](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sega-saturn/magic-knight-rayearth_)
  • - [Lil Gator Game](https://www.mobygames.com/game/lil-gator-game)
  • - [A Short Hike](https://www.mobygames.com/game/a-short-hike)
  • - [Yooka-Laylee](https://www.mobygames.com/game/yooka-laylee)
  • - [Banjo-Kazooie](https://www.mobygames.com/game/banjo-kazooie)
  • - [Boku no Natsuyasumi series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/boku-no-natsuyasumi-series)
  • - [Brandon Boyer](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brandon_Boyer)
  • - [Frog Detective 3](https://www.mobygames.com/game/frog-detective-3)
  • - [Pocky & Rocky Reshrined](https://www.mobygames.com/game/pocky-rocky-reshrined)
  • - [Marvel Spider-Man: Miles Morales](https://www.mobygames.com/game/marvel-spider-man-miles-morales)
  • - [God of War](https://www.mobygames.com/game/god-of-war_)
  • - [Uncharted series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/uncharted-series)
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog (2020)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sonic_the_Hedgehog_(film))
  • - [Ghost of Tsushima](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playstation-4/ghost-of-tsushima)
  • - [Horizon II: Forbidden West](https://www.mobygames.com/game/horizon-ii-forbidden-west)
  • - [God of War: Ragnarök](https://www.mobygames.com/game/god-of-war-ragnark)
  • - [Kirby and the Forgotten Land](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/kirby-and-the-forgotten-land)
  • - [Pentiment](https://www.mobygames.com/game/pentiment)
  • - [Harvestella](https://www.mobygames.com/game/harvestella)
  • - [Various Daylife](https://www.mobygames.com/game/various-daylife)
  • - [Octopath Traveler](https://www.mobygames.com/game/octopath-traveler)
  • - [Triangle Strategy](https://www.mobygames.com/game/triangle-strategy)
  • - [Bravely Default series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/bravely-default-series)
  • - [Playdate](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Playdate_(console))
  • - [Keita Takahashi](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keita_Takahashi)
  • - [Casual Birder](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playdate/casual-birder)
  • - [Dragon Quest Treasures](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/dragon-quest-treasures)
  • - [Stranger of Paradise: Final Fantasy Origin](https://www.mobygames.com/game/stranger-of-paradise-final-fantasy-origin)
  • - [Nioh](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playstation-4/nioh)
  • - [Final Fantasy](https://www.mobygames.com/game/final-fantasy)
  • - [Phantasy Star Online](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dreamcast/phantasy-star-online)
  • - [Kingdom Hearts series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/kingdom-hearts-series)
  • - [Limp Bizkit](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Limp_Bizkit)
  • - [Chained Echoes](https://www.mobygames.com/game/chained-echoes)
  • - [Japanese raccoon dog](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Japanese_raccoon_dog)
  • - [Sonic Mania](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sonic-mania)
  • - [The Ninja Warriors series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/ninja-warriors-series)
  • - [Wild Guns](https://www.mobygames.com/game/wild-guns)
  • - [Darius series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/darius-series)
  • - [Pocky & Rocky series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/pocky-rocky-series)
  • - [Atari 50: The Anniversary Celebration](https://www.mobygames.com/game/atari-50-the-anniversary-celebration)
  • - [Record of Lodoss War: Deedlit in Wonder Labyrinth](https://www.mobygames.com/game/record-of-lodoss-war-deedlit-in-wonder-labyrinth)
  • - [The Quarry](https://www.mobygames.com/game/quarry)
  • - [Splatoon 3](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/splatoon-3)
  • - [Mofumofusensen](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/mofumofusensen)
  • - [The Callisto Protocol](https://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/callisto-protocol)
  • - [Evil West](https://www.mobygames.com/game/evil-west)
  • - [Weird West](https://www.mobygames.com/game/weird-west)
  • - [Star Ocean: The Divine Force](https://www.mobygames.com/game/star-ocean-the-divine-force)
  • - [Voice of Cards series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/voice-of-cards-series)
  • - [Saturnalia](https://www.mobygames.com/game/saturnalia)
  • - [NeverAwake](https://www.mobygames.com/game/neverawake)
  • - [Sifu](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sifu)
  • - [Scorn](https://www.mobygames.com/game/scorn)
  • - [Air Twister](https://www.mobygames.com/game/air-twister)
  • - [Shin chan: Me and the Professor on Summer Vacation - The Endless Seven-Day Journey](https://www.mobygames.com/game/shin-chan-me-and-the-professor-on-summer-vacation-the-endless-se)
  • - [Babylon's Fall](https://www.mobygames.com/game/babylons-fall)
  • - [Wolf's Rain](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wolf%27s_Rain)
  • Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    This is one of those long boy episodes but I think it's a pretty solid one and that we should all get raises lol

    @"Syzygy"#p104029 oops I forgot that was 2022 - I got it on my game pass there but with my limited playtime situation I didn't get to it! Heck

    @“Syzygy”#p104029 I still can't believe what a slow burn that anime is. What a god damn experience.

    I have only listened to the first 10 minutes of the episode and having not seen nope the fry's talk at the beginning made me immediately download Nope.

    As a young person who grew up close to California, I got to experience the last good days of Fry's and it was such an special experience to me growing up. I was a really tech savvy and tech fascinated child so I loved spending hours just looking around and getting lost in Fry's.

    The Fry's that was nearest me didn't have a theme and I didn't know about the themes until I went to one in San Marcos, CA and it had this really over the top Atlantis theme and it blew me away.

    I think the last time I was in a Fry's was around 2014 when you could kinda tell they were already in decline. At least it's sewed into my brain as a cool place from my childhood.

    @“穴”#p104032 yeahhhHHHHHH FRY'S

    Also, big news for fry's likers - some of the theme stuff is apparently safe

    [upl-image-preview url=https://i.imgur.com/nMqhGTf.png]

    nice ep, surprised no one mentioned Tactics Ogre Reborn though!

    [upl-image-preview url=https://i.imgur.com/O868rxx.png]


    https://supersmashbros.fandom.com/wiki/Daisy’s_Third_Eye

    Have only just started but Burbank Fry's! I used to hang there all the time from around 2012 to 2014 when I lived in North Hollywood and had nothing much going on. Tim describing the Del Taco and airport was very vivid for me. Love that @“穴”#p104032 came here to say something similar!

    Also, glad to see laggardly sort back! I just started working on my laggard web tool/game again after ignoring it for 7 months.

    my Fry's memory (though not in CA) is walking up to the counter with a copy of Morrowind and the cashier telling me it was great because you could literally kill everyone, and he was slowly working his way through the world murdering every single NPC

    @“yeso”#p104048 holy guacamole

    @“Syzygy”#p104029 I‘m surprised there isn’t more Gungrave talk on IC. It's SEGA and has incredible SFX. Might have caught the panelists during their “I got better stuff to do” years. I think I was 15 when the first came out and it was rad as heck.

    Living in the UK, and never ever hearing of Fry's, I spent about 10 minutes thinking that everyone was talking about a fast food restaurant with amazing fried potatoes.

    @“LeFish”#p104052 I was also imagining this, also with the staff wearing suits??

    @“Chopemon”#p104043 I should've played through the game in 2020 ;_;

    I also love Atlus RPGs and keep forgetting that Soul Hackers 2 is a game that exists. I‘ve been meaning to pick it up eventually at a discount, so I finally sprung for it. It’s $30 most places at the moment.

    I played Solar Ash and Sonic Frontiers within a two week span, can't believe I never made that same connection.

    I ordered a disc copy of soul hackers 2 during the podcast and it showed up 2 hours later, which was spooky and weird! I didn't need it immediately!

    I‘m excited to hear Brandon and Tim’s opinions on Chained Echoes. I'm about 20 hours in and I think this game is pretty special.

    Tim's gushing monologue about Pocky & Rocky warmed my heart…