Ep. 275 - Even More Games of the Year 2022

### Ep. 275 - Even More Games of the Year 2022

A single episode could never hope to contain all the video games of 2022 played by Tim Rogers and Brandon Sheffield. Get comfortable and sit down for a hang out with some of the rest of last year’s best. Hosted by Tim Rogers and Brandon Sheffield. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DDx_b9MkFT4

**Games Discussed:**

  • - Square-Enix HD-2D Games (Live A Live, Triangle Strategy, Bravely Default II, Diofield Chronicles) (07:42)
  • - Valkyrie Elysium (26:40)
  • - Star Ocean: Divine Force (30:52)
  • - Voice of Cards (42:45)
  • - Babylon’s Fall (46:22)
  • - Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder's Revenge (54:35)
  • - Gran Turismo 7 (58:07)
  • - Shin chan: Me and the Professor on Summer Vacation - The Endless Seven-Day Journey (59:20)
  • - Sifu (01:05:12)
  • - Rollerdrome (01:10:05)
  • - Potion Craft: Alchemist Simulator (01:11:16)
  • - NORCO (01:12:24)
  • - Chained Echoes (01:13:38)
  • - Cult of the Lamb (01:18:25)
  • - The Quarry (01:18:42)
  • - PowerWash Simulator (01:19:07)
  • - Crisis Core: Final Fantasy VII - Reunion (01:21:19)
  • - NeverAwake (01:25:45)
  • - Final Vendetta (01:26:39)
  • - Weird West (01:27:30)
  • - Evil West (01:29:59)
  • - Horizon II: Forbidden West (01:33:18)
  • - A Plague Tale: Requiem (01:41:16)
  • - The Callisto Protocol (01:45:21)
  • - Gungrave: G.O.R.E (01:50:45)
  • - Splatoon 3 (01:54:38)
  • - Pokemon Scarlet & Violet (01:58:18)
  • - Pokemon Legends: Arceus (02:00:51)
  • - Judgment (02:02:42)
  • - A Few More From Brandon (02:03:51)
  • - 2023 Predictions (02:11:05)
  • - Recommendations and Outro (02:14:34)
  • **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Final Fantasy series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/final-fantasy-series)
  • - [Yakuza / Ryū ga Gotoku series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/yakuza-ry-ga-gotoku-series)
  • - [New York Knicks](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_York_Knicks)
  • - [He Got Game (1998)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/He_Got_Game)
  • - [Live A Live](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/live-a-live_)
  • - [Dragon Quest series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/dragon-warrior-dragon-quest-series)
  • - [Chrono Trigger](https://www.mobygames.com/game/chrono-trigger)
  • - [Sony Alpha a7S III Mirrorless Digital Camera](https://electronics.sony.com/imaging/interchangeable-lens-cameras/all-interchangeable-lens-cameras/p/ilce7sm3-b)
  • - [Triangle Strategy](https://www.mobygames.com/game/triangle-strategy)
  • - [Bravely Default II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/bravely-default-ii)
  • - [Grandia series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/grandia-series)
  • - [Octopath Traveler series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/octopath-traveler-series)
  • - [Shovel Knight](https://www.mobygames.com/game/shovel-knight)
  • - [Suikoden series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/suikoden-series)
  • - [Suikoden 1 and 2 remasters coming next year](https://www.polygon.com/23356523/suikoden-1-and-2-remasters-trailer-ps4-xbox-one-pc-switch)
  • - [Falcom Classics](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sega-saturn/falcom-classics)
  • - [Tokimeki Memorial games](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/tokimeki-memorial-games)
  • - [Snatcher games](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/snatcher-games)
  • - [Tail of the Sun](https://www.mobygames.com/game/tail-of-the-sun)
  • - [Aquanaut's Holiday](https://www.mobygames.com/game/aquanauts-holiday)
  • - [Kaze no NOTAM](https://www.mobygames.com/game/kaze-no-notam-)
  • - [The DioField Chronicle](https://www.mobygames.com/game/diofield-chronicle)
  • - [Valkyrie series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/valkyrie-series)
  • - [Star Ocean: The Divine Force](https://www.mobygames.com/game/star-ocean-the-divine-force)
  • - [Valkyrie Elysium](https://www.mobygames.com/game/valkyrie-elysium)
  • - [Mana series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/seiken-densetsu-mana-series)
  • - [Secret of Evermore](https://www.mobygames.com/game/snes/secret-of-evermore)
  • - [Romancing SaGa](https://www.mobygames.com/game/romancing-saga)
  • - [Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception](https://www.mobygames.com/game/xbox360/project-sylpheed-arc-of-deception)
  • - [Ys series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/ys-series)
  • - [Legend of Heroes series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/legend-of-heroes-series)
  • - [Dark City (1998)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dark_City_(1998_film))
  • - [Star Trek](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Star_Trek)
  • - [Blue Dragon](https://www.mobygames.com/game/xbox360/blue-dragon)
  • - [Lost Odyssey](https://www.mobygames.com/game/lost-odyssey)
  • - [Resonance of Fate](https://www.mobygames.com/game/resonance-of-fate)
  • - [Scarlet Nexus](https://www.mobygames.com/game/scarlet-nexus)
  • - [Xenoblade series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/xenoblade-series)
  • - [Voice of Cards series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/voice-of-cards-series)
  • - [Dungeon Encounters](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dungeon-encounters)
  • - [Babylon's Fall](https://www.mobygames.com/game/babylons-fall)
  • - [Phantasy Star Online](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dreamcast/phantasy-star-online)
  • - [Monster Hunter series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/monster-hunter-series)
  • - [Destiny series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/destiny-series)
  • - [Madden series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/madden-series)
  • - [League of Legends](https://www.mobygames.com/game/league-of-legends)
  • - [World of WarCraft series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/world-of-warcraft-series)
  • - [Warhammer 40,000: Darktide](https://www.mobygames.com/game/warhammer-40000-darktide)
  • - [Warhammer: Vermintide II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/warhammer-vermintide-ii)
  • - [Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder's Revenge](https://www.mobygames.com/game/teenage-mutant-ninja-turtles-shredders-revenge)
  • - [The Ninja Warriors](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ninja-warriors)
  • - [Gran Turismo 7](https://www.mobygames.com/game/gran-turismo-7)
  • - [Shin chan: Me and the Professor on Summer Vacation - The Endless Seven-Day Journey](https://www.mobygames.com/game/shin-chan-me-and-the-professor-on-summer-vacation-the-endless-se)
  • - [Boku no Natsuyasumi series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/boku-no-natsuyasumi-series)
  • - [Attack of the Friday Monsters!](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3ds/attack-of-the-friday-monsters)
  • - [The Castle of Cagliostro (1979)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Castle_of_Cagliostro)
  • - [Sifu](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sifu)
  • - [Bloodsport (1988)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bloodsport_(film))
  • - [The Magnificent Butcher (1979)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Magnificent_Butcher)
  • - [Exodus: Gods and Kings (2014)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Exodus:_Gods_and_Kings)
  • - [Rollerdrome](https://www.mobygames.com/game/rollerdrome)
  • - [Sable](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sable)
  • - [Jean Giraud](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jean_Giraud)
  • - [Potion Craft: Alchemist Simulator](https://www.mobygames.com/game/potion-craft-alchemist-simulator)
  • - [NORCO](https://www.mobygames.com/game/norco)
  • - [Tunic](https://www.mobygames.com/game/tunic)
  • - [Legend of Zelda series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/legend-of-zelda-series)
  • - [Chained Echoes](https://www.mobygames.com/game/chained-echoes)
  • - [Cult of the Lamb](https://www.mobygames.com/game/cult-of-the-lamb)
  • - [The Quarry](https://www.mobygames.com/game/quarry)
  • - [Until Dawn](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playstation-4/until-dawn_)
  • - [PowerWash Simulator](https://www.mobygames.com/game/powerwash-simulator)
  • - [House Flipper](https://www.mobygames.com/game/house-flipper)
  • - [Goat Simulator](https://www.mobygames.com/game/goat-simulator)
  • - [Euro Truck Simulator series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/euro-truck-simulator-series)
  • - [Spintires](https://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/spintires)
  • - [Unpacking](https://www.mobygames.com/game/unpacking)
  • - [Super Mario Sunshine](https://www.mobygames.com/game/gamecube/super-mario-sunshine)
  • - [Crisis Core: Final Fantasy VII - Reunion](https://www.mobygames.com/game/crisis-core-final-fantasy-vii-reunion)
  • - [Kingdom Hearts series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/kingdom-hearts-series)
  • - [Diablo series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/diablo-series)
  • - [Soma Bringer](https://www.mobygames.com/game/nintendo-ds/soma-bringer)
  • - [NeverAwake](https://www.mobygames.com/game/neverawake)
  • - [Final Vendetta](https://www.mobygames.com/game/final-vendetta)
  • - [Weird West](https://www.mobygames.com/game/weird-west)
  • - [Evil West](https://www.mobygames.com/game/evil-west)
  • - [DOOM Eternal](https://www.mobygames.com/game/doom-eternal)
  • - [Devil May Cry series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/devil-may-cry-series)
  • - [Horizon II: Forbidden West](https://www.mobygames.com/game/horizon-ii-forbidden-west)
  • - [Red Dead Redemption II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/red-dead-redemption-ii)
  • - [Marvel Spider-Man](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playstation-4/marvel-spider-man)
  • - [Days Gone](https://www.mobygames.com/game/days-gone)
  • - [The Last of Us series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/last-of-us-series)
  • - [Ghost of Tsushima](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playstation-4/ghost-of-tsushima)
  • - [Elden Ring](https://www.mobygames.com/game/elden-ring)
  • - [Assassin's Creed series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/assassins-creed-series)
  • - [God of War: Ragnarök](https://www.mobygames.com/game/god-of-war-ragnark)
  • - [A Plague Tale: Requiem](https://www.mobygames.com/game/a-plague-tale-requiem)
  • - [A Plague Tale series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/a-plague-tale-series)
  • - [Hellblade: Senua's Sacrifice](https://www.mobygames.com/game/hellblade-senuas-sacrifice)
  • - [Heavenly Sword](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ps3/heavenly-sword)
  • - [Enslaved: Odyssey to the West](https://www.mobygames.com/game/enslaved-odyssey-to-the-west)
  • - [Devs](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Devs)
  • - [The Callisto Protocol](https://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/callisto-protocol)
  • - [Dead Space](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dead-space)
  • - [Lost Planet series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/lost-planet-series)
  • - [Gungrave: G.O.R.E](https://www.mobygames.com/game/gungrave-gore)
  • - [Tomb Raider series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/tomb-raider-series)
  • - [Sakura Taisen games](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/sakura-taisen-sakura-wars-games)
  • - [Stranger of Paradise: Final Fantasy Origin](https://www.mobygames.com/game/stranger-of-paradise-final-fantasy-origin)
  • - [Bullet Witch](https://www.mobygames.com/game/bullet-witch)
  • - [Splatoon 3](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/splatoon-3)
  • - [Quake](https://www.mobygames.com/game/quake_)
  • - [DOOM 64](https://www.mobygames.com/game/doom-64)
  • - [Turok: Dinosaur Hunter](https://www.mobygames.com/game/turok-dinosaur-hunter)
  • - [Boris](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boris_(band))
  • - [Pokémon Scarlet](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/pokmon-scarlet)
  • - [Pokémon Violet](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/pokmon-violet)
  • - [Pokémon Legends: Arceus](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/pokmon-legends-arceus)
  • - [Metroid Prime: Remastered](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/metroid-prime-remastered)
  • - [Judgment](https://www.mobygames.com/game/judgment_)
  • - [Kirby and the Forgotten Land](https://www.mobygames.com/game/kirby-and-the-forgotten-land)
  • - [Mofumofusensen](https://www.mobygames.com/game/switch/mofumofusensen)
  • - [River City Girls 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/river-city-girls-2)
  • - [Scorn](https://www.mobygames.com/game/scorn)
  • - [Air Twister](https://www.mobygames.com/game/air-twister)
  • - [Life on Mars](https://kai-magazine-software.fwscart.com/Life_on_Mars_for_the_Sega_Genesis_(USA_cover)/p4398489_21781088.aspx)
  • - [Amshay](https://store.steampowered.com/app/1836790/Amshay/)
  • - [Fragrant Story](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3ds/fragrant-story)
  • - [Vagrant Story](https://www.mobygames.com/game/vagrant-story)
  • - [SOULVARS](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/soulvars/id1576521142)
  • - [Saturnalia](https://www.mobygames.com/game/saturnalia)
  • - [Illbleed](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dreamcast/illbleed)
  • - [Blue Stinger](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dreamcast/blue-stinger)
  • - [The Ring: Terror's Realm](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dreamcast/ring-terrors-realm)
  • - [Shenmue III](https://www.mobygames.com/game/shenmue-iii)
  • - [Drainus](https://www.mobygames.com/game/drainus)
  • - [Metal Max series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/metal-max-series)
  • - [Record of Lodoss War: Deedlit in Wonder Labyrinth](https://www.mobygames.com/game/record-of-lodoss-war-deedlit-in-wonder-labyrinth)
  • - [Freedom Planet 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/freedom-planet-2)
  • **Recommendations:** Check out shows and movies on Netflix and Tubi

    Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    Whoaaaaa!!!

    Wow! Just two fellas name dropping JRPGs for two hours! My favorite! Yum yum so full of JRPGs!

    (Note: that’s not true it’s more like 45 mins)

    Exodus’s take on Bravely Default II is pretty identical to mine— and I was a big fan of the original despite not loving it enough to finish it yet all these years later

    good to hear jaffe is doing good!

    The French Canadian martial arts game should be called “Québécois-rate” (pronounced like karate)

    I made an account just to make this joke

    crayon shin chan getting destroyed

    I did kind of bounce off of the Crayon Shin-chan natsuyasumi. I do like Shinchan, mostly the character designs are fantastic, but the tone of Shin-chan does kind of fight with what the games like Natsuyasumi are trying to present. The art book that came with the collector‘s edition is juicy though. WAY more in depth than I was expecting, lots of roughs and behind the scenes/software screenshots. The kinda art book I want, rather than "Here’s some key art you already saw everywhere. Don't ask for anything more." that I see with most pack in mini art books.

    Personally, I would have preferred a Chibi Maruko-chan Boku no Natsuyasumi, as her more dire and absurdist humor might work better. Plus I just like Maruko-chan more over all.

    feeling great, feeling good, how are you

    Get Well Soon Jerry!

    My “issue” with the Trails series is similar. I've never met someone that just likes those games — everyone that is into them (i.e. played more than two or three) is a die-hard fan. Very interesting fanbase.

    What do they call those big sailing ships?

    I frigate.

    Halfway through this is just great two-dudes-sittin-in-a-pizza-shop-drinkin-RC-cola-outta-translucent-maroon-plastic-cups-talking-about-weird-video-games vibes, well done everybody, pass me the chili flakes

    (and glad you're on the up @"Jaffe"#205!)

    @“BluntForceMama”#p105204 that's what I shoulda said

    @"tokucowboy"#p105212 very much so, we literally used to do that once or twice per month

    Not even a namedrop for Tactics Ogre Reborn… this show is fake :frowning:

    To echo @“cheezopath”#p105158 , glad to hear Jaffe is doing well as well :slight_smile: Definitely the best Jaffe in video games, and neck-and-neck with Al Jaffe for best Jaffe ever.

    @“2501”#p105230 FORSOOTH, THEE TEXTE WITHIN YON GAMME ISTH OBNOXIOUSSE

    I can't play it, sorry!!!

    @“exodus”#p105240 are you thinking of FFT? That's not how TO is

    @“exodus”#p105240 I just tell everyone: Play the translation patched Super Famicom version of the original, it has better sound than PSX and zero load times. IIRC it's a straight downport of the playstation game.

    As far as tactical RPGs go, less is more is a solid rule to live by. The remakes of TO add content that amounts to literal hours spent browsing menus and team building without progressing the story or battling anything at all. There's too many games in the world to play to have time for all that.

    Valkyrie Elysium is not a tri-Ace game: it‘s by Soleil (ex-Team Ninja folk who left with Itagaki, minus Itagaki, and the same folk who made the just-released Wanted: Dead), and the fact that is explicitly not a tri-Ace game is why people have and continue to be dismissive of it—those games (and most of tri-Ace’s output, save for Star Ocean, I guess) are inextricably linked to the identity and ambition of the developer, so people aren‘t really interested in seeing the IP passed around or slapped over random templates. It seems like a perfectly conventional, low-budget action-RPG, but that’s not at all what VP fans want.

    This new Gungrave isn't by RED, either—a Korean studio named Iggymob licensed the IP, and the new game spent several years in dev and was originally intended to be an open-world game. They put out a Gungrave VR game a year or two back as well.