Ep. 276 - Bye Forever DICE 2023

### Ep. 276 - Bye Forever DICE 2023

Brandon Sheffield and Frank Cifaldi report from Las Vegas, where they supposedly attended the 2023 DICE Summit, but mostly ran into used game stores and friends of Insert Credit. Featuring Alex Jaffe, Brandon Sheffield, Frank Cifaldi, Chris Kohler, Ally McLean, Mathew Kumar, and Kris Graft.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qfpH0vpe88s

**SEGMENTS**

  • 1. Retro City Games shopping with [Chris Kohler](http://www.chriskohler.biz/) (00:51)
  • 2. Retro City Games shopping with [Ally McLean](http://ally-mclean.com/) (10:48)
  • 3. Driving with Chris Kohler, Ally McLean and Frank Cifaldi from Retro City Games to another used game store (16:09)
  • 4. Brandon discusses the plot of [The $cheme (2003)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0238205/) with Ally McLean (25:18)
  • 5. Getting lost in the car after Retro City Games #2 (27:08)
  • 6. A miserable situation involving accoustic covers of popular music (38:15)
  • 7. In the Circus Circus hotel room (39:17)
  • 8. Walking through Circus Circus (42:15)
  • 9. 6 AM stories with [Kris Graft](https://twitter.com/krisgraft/) (44:00)
  • 10. Post-show thoughts from Brandon and Frank (58:56))
  • **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [D.I.C.E. Summit](https://www.dicesummit.org/)
  • - [Retro City Games](https://www.facebook.com/retrocitygamesnv/)
  • - [Chris Kohler](http://www.chriskohler.biz/)
  • - [King's Quest series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/3/kings-quest-series/)
  • - [How To Draw Gex & The Gang](https://gex.fandom.com/wiki/How_To_Draw_Gex_%26_The_Gang)
  • - [Space Quest: Chapter I - The Sarien Encounter](https://www.mobygames.com/game/114/space-quest-chapter-i-the-sarien-encounter/)
  • - [Leisure Suit Larry series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/6/leisure-suit-larry-series/)
  • - [Phantasmagoria series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/186/phantasmagoria-series/)
  • - [The 7th Guest](https://www.mobygames.com/game/283/the-7th-guest/)
  • - [Jet Force Gemini](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3792/jet-force-gemini/)
  • - [Demon Destroyer Gunn](https://doomwiki.org/wiki/Demon_Destroyer_Gunn)
  • - [DOOM](https://www.mobygames.com/game/1068/doom/)
  • - [Decent](https://www.mobygames.com/game/692/descent/)
  • - [Heretic](https://www.mobygames.com/game/21987/heretic/)
  • - [Arkanoid: Revenge of DOH](https://www.mobygames.com/game/1088/arkanoid-revenge-of-doh/)
  • - [Taito](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taito)
  • - [Retronauts Episode 498: Taito Part III](https://retronauts.com/article/1975/retronauts-episode-498-taito-part-iii)
  • - [Hard Nova](https://www.mobygames.com/game/4076/hard-nova/)
  • - [Mummy: Tomb of the Pharaoh](https://www.mobygames.com/game/2620/mummy-tomb-of-the-pharaoh/)
  • - [Techno Cop](https://www.mobygames.com/game/11314/techno-cop/)
  • - [The Hunt for Red October](https://www.mobygames.com/game/2210/the-hunt-for-red-october/)
  • - [Phaser Patrol](https://www.mobygames.com/game/13550/phaser-patrol/)
  • - [Starpath Supercharger](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Starpath_Supercharger)
  • - [Bubble Bobble](https://www.mobygames.com/game/787/bubble-bobble/)
  • - [World 1-1 Games](https://world-1-1games.com/)
  • - [Jetpac](https://www.mobygames.com/game/14600/jetpac/)
  • - [Blackthorne](https://www.mobygames.com/game/1445/blackthorne/)
  • - [The Amazing Spider-Man](https://www.mobygames.com/game/471/the-amazing-spider-man/)
  • - [World Series Baseball starring Deion Sanders](https://www.mobygames.com/game/8029/world-series-baseball-starring-deion-sanders/)
  • - [Knuckles' Chaotix](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7592/knuckles-chaotix/)
  • - [The Amazing Spider-Man: Web of Fire](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7292/the-amazing-spider-man-web-of-fire/)
  • - [Magic Knight Rayearth](https://www.mobygames.com/game/49019/magic-knight-rayearth/)
  • - [Radiant Silvergun](https://www.mobygames.com/game/17870/radiant-silvergun/)
  • - [Hyper Duel](https://www.mobygames.com/game/64504/hyper-duel/)
  • - [Dungeons & Dragons Collection](https://www.mobygames.com/game/11020/dungeons-dragons-collection/)
  • - [Rise of the Dragon](https://www.mobygames.com/game/98/rise-of-the-dragon/)
  • - [Sherlock Holmes: Consulting Detective](https://www.mobygames.com/game/392/sherlock-holmes-consulting-detective/)
  • - [Ultraverse Prime / Microcosm](https://www.mobygames.com/game/33951/ultraverse-prime-microcosm/)
  • - [The Firm (1993)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Firm_(1993_film))
  • - [A Fish Called Wanda (1988)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Fish_Called_Wanda)
  • - [The Silence of the Lambs (1991)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Silence_of_the_Lambs_(film))
  • - [Addams Family Values (1993)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Addams_Family_Values)
  • - [Coneheads (1993)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coneheads)
  • - [Dances with Wolves (1988)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dances_with_Wolves)
  • - [Brutal Sports Football](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6340/brutal-sports-football/)
  • - [Shenmue](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3558/shenmue/)
  • - [Ally McLean](http://ally-mclean.com/)
  • - [The Cheetah Girls](https://www.mobygames.com/game/142545/the-cheetah-girls/)
  • - [The Cheetah Girls (2003)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Cheetah_Girls_(film))
  • - [Style Savvy series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/12651/style-savvy-style-boutique-girls-mode-series/)
  • - [Mary-Kate and Ashley licensees](https://www.mobygames.com/group/1676/mary-kate-and-ashley-licensees/)
  • - [Mary-Kate and Ashley: Magical Mystery Mall](https://www.mobygames.com/game/23624/mary-kate-and-ashley-magical-mystery-mall/)
  • - [Space Channel 5](https://www.mobygames.com/game/5764/space-channel-5/)
  • - [Street Fighter: The Movie](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6031/street-fighter-the-movie/)
  • - [Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time (2010)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prince_of_Persia:_The_Sands_of_Time_(film))
  • - [Welcome II the Terrordome (1995)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0111681/)
  • - [Quantum Link](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quantum_Link)
  • - [Habitat](https://www.mobygames.com/game/21889/habitat/)
  • - [CheetahMen II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7318/cheetahmen-ii/)
  • - [The $cheme (2003)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0238205/)
  • - [Lords of Thunder Promotional VHS Tape for the Turbo Duo](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cWA5tMKWI3c)
  • - [Tony Hawk](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tony_Hawk)
  • - [Fry's Electronics](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fry%27s_Electronics)
  • - [Dragon Half](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dragon_Half)
  • - [Major Craft Brewer Lagunitas Sold to Heineken](https://www.eater.com/beer/2017/5/4/15545732/lagunitas-heineken-sale)
  • - [Queen - Don't Stop Me Now](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HgzGwKwLmgM)
  • - [Circus Circus Hotel & Casino](https://www.circuscircus.com/)
  • - [Mathew Kumar](https://twitter.com/mathewkumar)
  • - [Kris Graft](https://twitter.com/krisgraft/)
  • - [Tanjiro from Demon Slayer played Hyper Gunsport](https://twitter.com/necrosoftgames/status/1628083456168316928)
  • - [Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Demon_Slayer:_Kimetsu_no_Yaiba)
  • - [Hyper Gunsport](https://store.steampowered.com/app/1663250/Hyper_Gunsport/)
  • - [A Christmas Story (1983)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Christmas_Story)
  • - [Glitter (2001)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glitter_(film))
  • - [Fighters Megamix](https://www.mobygames.com/game/14634/fighters-megamix/)
  • - [Crazy Taxi](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3575/crazy-taxi/)
  • - [Wolfman Jack](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wolfman_Jack)
  • - [Sonic Adventure](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3530/sonic-adventure/)
  • - [Crush 40](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crush_40)
  • - [Ash Parrish](https://twitter.com/adashtra)
  • - [Sports Talk Baseball](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6594/sports-talk-baseball/)
  • - [Petroglyph Games](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Petroglyph_Games)
  • - [Wicked Monsters: BLAST!](https://www.mobygames.com/game/86709/wicked-monsters-blast/)
  • - [Barnyard Blast: Swine of the Night](https://www.mobygames.com/game/44656/barnyard-blast-swine-of-the-night/)
  • - [Mega Man: Legacy Collection](https://www.mobygames.com/game/74447/mega-man-legacy-collection/)
  • - [SNK 40th Anniversary Collection](https://www.mobygames.com/game/115293/snk-40th-anniversary-collection/)
  • - [Shantae series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8144/shantae-series/)
  • - [Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer](https://www.mobygames.com/game/70033/rudolph-the-red-nosed-reindeer/)
  • - [Jerry Rice & Nitus' Dog Football](https://www.mobygames.com/game/84485/jerry-rice-nitus-dog-football/)
  • - [Game Developers Conference](https://gdconf.com/)
  • - [Video Game History Foundation](https://gamehistory.org/)
  • - [The Strong National Museum of Play](https://www.museumofplay.org/)
  • - [Road Rash series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/383/road-rash-series/)
  • - [The B-52's - Love Shack](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9SOryJvTAGs)
  • Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    Don't buy the ABSGEEGA lavalier mic everybody.

    Also apparently my intro didn't record! It was blank audio! Cool cool. It was me in the airport looking for frank and then finding him and ally mclean and talking about how Penn of Penn and teller got real skinny and now he looks weird.

    Skip this one if you like your ears

    @“exodus”#p106199 Thanks for the heads up. I hate my ears so this is perfect

    EDIT: Oh hey, I've seen Welcome II the Terrordome. It's awful! There's a really disturbing scene where you watch a woman have a violent miscarriage. I would not recommend it.

    real insert credit heads find this the most LISTENABLE episode yet :triumph::triumph::triumph:

    I was that kid who would've loved receiving How to Draw Gex as a gift or something. My best friend and were all about that N64 Gex game for a couple months, which is forever in kid-time.

    >

    @“esper”#p106196 Dances with Wolves (1988)

    Nice

    (Haven't listened yet)

    I remember throwing away Sherlock Holmes: Consulting Detective for the Sega CD.


    Turns out phones have pretty good inbuilt mics (sorry I know the LAV should be better, but it definitely isn’t)

    @“chrisbandicoot”#p106284 mine sucked which is why I bought the lav. you can hear the difference in the tokyo episode as it goes along, once I get a mic plugged in. I assumed one that cost more money would be of higher quality, like a CAPITALIST FOOL

    we will look into some software to fix this and maybe reupload. it‘s pretty atrocious, and I wouldn’t be able to listen to it with the ears I've got.

    @“exodus”#p106292 You should keep the original on file, though. Something about the audio quality makes this episode feel like a video game podcast interpretation of Waiting for Godot. I quite like it for metaphorical reasons.

    I was thinking “hearing a familiar voice would be nice to de-stess with right about now” and then I put the episode on and you know what……………………………………………………………………………………… it is!

    my ears! My precious ears!!!

    If anyone didn‘t notice, it’s listenable from 39:17 onwards

    yeah maybe we should re-release the original version, or an even worse version, as the “ultimate pain edition” as a patreon bonus with a new intro.

    @“exodus”#p106301 can i remix it . . . ULTIMATE PAIN DICEGAME UCHIHA BONE ROLLER MIX

    @“dicegame”#p106304 absolutely, THAT should be the patreon bonus. you want the raw files?

    @“exodus”#p106306 YEA DUUUUDE hit me up

    What fun. I hate Vegas! But I do love buffets, and Wicked Spoon, and the Cosmo hotel is neat. I‘m a little mad at myself that I’ve never bothered checking out Retro City Games. Also completely forget about DICE every year.