Ep. 277 - The Hitness, with MoxBagel

### Ep. 277 - The Hitness, with MoxBagel

Guest host and frequent dirtbag @"MoxBagel"#254 keeps the panel in order as they discuss the definition of “visual novel,” fighting games, and, *finally,* Fortnite.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mwi63gKWDTE

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. What is your “The Last Starfighter” game? (05:20)
  • 2. How would you redesign pinball to be more of a 30 minute experience than a five minute experience?(11:25)
  • 3. What fighting game has the most creative single player campaign?(18:57)
  • 4. If Capcom made a Mega Man Legends every year since 1997, what would it be like now? (24:43)
  • 5. What game would have flourished with the amount of post-release support that No Man’s Sky has? (32:26)
  • 6. What is your favorite novel gameplay mechanic or moment in an otherwise unremarkable game? (40:23)
  • 7. What is the best video game to play in fifteen minute sessions? (47:17)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND**: World of Lords (54:22)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - **[INSERT CREDIT EPISODE 276 ULTIMATE PAIN DICEGAME UCHIHA BONE ROLLER MIX](https://www.patreon.com/posts/79512464)**, a free noise album by [dicegame uchiha](https://twitter.com/dicegameuchiha) based on [Episode 276 of Insert Credit Show](https://insertcredit.com/show/276/)
  • - [Colin AKA MoxBagel](https://twitter.com/ColinButDigital)
  • - [√Letter](https://www.mobygames.com/game/86392/letter/)
  • - [The Cat in the Hat](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Cat_in_the_Hat)
  • - [Understanding Comics](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Understanding_Comics)
  • - [Hotel Dusk: Room 215](https://www.mobygames.com/game/26506/hotel-dusk-room-215/)
  • - [Ace Attorney series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/5132/ace-attorney-gyakuten-saiban-series/)
  • - [Tokimeki Memorial](https://www.mobygames.com/game/45812/tokimeki-memorial/)
  • - [Memories Off](https://www.mobygames.com/game/57368/memories-off/)
  • - [The Last Starfighter (1984)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Last_Starfighter)
  • - [Space Jam (1996)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Space_Jam)
  • - [Osu! Tatakae! Ouendan](https://www.mobygames.com/game/20162/osu-tatakae-ouendan/)
  • - [Asuka 120% Final: BURNING Fest.](https://www.mobygames.com/game/65045/asuka-120-final-burning-fest/)
  • - [Puyo Puyo~n](https://www.mobygames.com/game/12501/puyo-puyon/)
  • - [Mother](https://www.mobygames.com/game/13529/earthbound-beginnings/)
  • - [Alien Pinball](https://www.williamsamusements.co.uk/alien-pinball/)
  • - [Kyuutenkai: Fantastic Pinball](https://www.mobygames.com/game/26877/kyuutenkai-fantastic-pinball/)
  • - [Devil's Crush](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7487/devils-crush/)
  • - [Alien Crush](https://www.mobygames.com/game/17756/alien-crush/)
  • - [Yoku's Island Express](https://www.mobygames.com/game/109356/yokus-island-express/)
  • - [Pinball Quest](https://www.mobygames.com/game/15173/pinball-quest/)
  • - [Super Mario series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/10044/super-mario-series/)
  • - [Pachio-kun series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/9501/pachio-kun-series/)
  • - [Flipnic: Ultimate Pinball](https://www.mobygames.com/game/20205/flipnic-ultimate-pinball/)
  • - [Pac-Man](https://www.mobygames.com/game/138/pac-man/)
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog: Spinball](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6620/sonic-the-hedgehog-spinball/)
  • - [Kirby's Pinball Land](https://www.mobygames.com/game/18368/kirbys-pinball-land/)
  • - [Metroid Prime Pinball](https://www.mobygames.com/game/21714/metroid-prime-pinball/)
  • - [Mario Pinball Land](https://www.mobygames.com/game/15298/mario-pinball-land/)
  • - [Ys: Book I & II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/15971/ys-book-i-ii/)
  • - [Tobal series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/2631/tobal-series/)
  • - [Batman Forever](https://www.mobygames.com/game/31028/batman-forever/)
  • - [Guilty Gear Isuka](https://www.mobygames.com/game/24328/guilty-gear-isuka/)
  • - [Guilty Gear series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/3869/guilty-gear-series/)
  • - [Revengers of Vengeance](https://www.mobygames.com/game/32119/revengers-of-vengeance/)
  • - [Final Lap Twin](https://www.mobygames.com/game/17754/final-lap-twin/)
  • - [Super Tennis](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6596/super-tennis/)
  • - [Tekken 3](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3569/tekken-3/)
  • - [Soul Blade](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3676/soul-blade/)
  • - [King of Fighters series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/478/king-of-fighters-series/)
  • - [American Dream](https://www.mobygames.com/game/26296/american-dream/)
  • - [Mega Man Legends](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3322/mega-man-legends/)
  • - [EA FIFA series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/183/ea-fifa-series/)
  • - [Monster Hunter](https://www.mobygames.com/game/26011/monster-hunter/)
  • - [Fortnite: Battle Royale](https://www.mobygames.com/game/104208/fortnite-battle-royale/)
  • - [Kingdom Hearts series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/2842/kingdom-hearts-series/)
  • - [Lost Planet series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/9248/lost-planet-series/)
  • - [Bryan Cranston](https://powerrangers.fandom.com/wiki/Bryan_Cranston)
  • - [Mighty Morphin Power Rangers](https://powerrangers.fandom.com/wiki/Mighty_Morphin_Power_Rangers)
  • - [Zordon](https://powerrangers.fandom.com/wiki/Zordon/2017_movie)
  • - [Invader Zim](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Invader_Zim)
  • - [No Man's Sky](https://www.mobygames.com/game/80257/no-mans-sky/)
  • - [Cyberpunk 2077](https://www.mobygames.com/game/153627/cyberpunk-2077-collectors-edition/)
  • - [There Is No Saving *Cyberpunk 2077*](https://kotaku.com/cyberpunk-2077-fixed-re-review-2023-impressions-saved-1850143200)
  • - [Kyōryū Sentai Zyuranger](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ky%C5%8Dry%C5%AB_Sentai_Zyuranger)
  • - [VR Troopers](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VR_Troopers)
  • - [Big Bad Beetleborgs](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Big_Bad_Beetleborgs)
  • - [Masked Rider](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Masked_Rider_(TV_series))
  • - [Final Fantasy XIV Online: A Realm Reborn](https://www.mobygames.com/game/61766/final-fantasy-xiv-online-a-realm-reborn/)
  • - [Ultima Online](https://www.mobygames.com/game/1762/ultima-online/)
  • - [Phantasy Star Online](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3573/phantasy-star-online/)
  • - [Skies of Arcadia](https://www.mobygames.com/game/4052/skies-of-arcadia/)
  • - [Phantasy Star IV](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6584/phantasy-star-iv/)
  • - [Ice Trek](https://www.mobygames.com/game/33244/ice-trek/)
  • - [The Witness](https://www.mobygames.com/game/76709/the-witness/)
  • - [Mambo No. 5](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mambo_No._5)
  • - [Harvestella](https://www.mobygames.com/game/193709/harvestella/)
  • - [BioShock](https://www.mobygames.com/game/29886/bioshock/)
  • - [Final Fantasy XV](https://www.mobygames.com/game/82135/final-fantasy-xv/)
  • - [The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt](https://www.mobygames.com/game/76174/the-witcher-3-wild-hunt/)
  • - [Final Fantasy VII](https://www.mobygames.com/game/858/final-fantasy-vii/)
  • - [Yakuza / Ryū ga Gotoku series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8208/yakuza-ryu-ga-gotoku-series/)
  • - [Space Harrier](https://www.mobygames.com/game/1434/space-harrier/)
  • - [Shenmue](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3558/shenmue/)
  • - [Half-Minute Hero](https://www.mobygames.com/game/45751/half-minute-hero/)
  • - [Destiny series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/11045/destiny-series/)
  • - [Uncharted series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8931/uncharted-series/)
  • - [Loop Hero](https://www.mobygames.com/game/160063/loop-hero/)
  • - [Densha de Go!! Hashirō Yamanote-sen](https://www.mobygames.com/game/196640/densha-de-go-hashiro-yamanote-sen/)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Frank**: [Metroid Prime: Remastered](https://www.mobygames.com/game/199460/metroid-prime-remastered/), the [DigitalFoundry video on Metroid Prime Remastered](https://www.digitalfoundry.net/metroid-prime-remastered-df-tech-review-an-essential-buy-for-nintendo-switch)
    **Brandon:** When buying coconut milk and other coconut products, watch out for companies that use monkey slaves. Go to [Digikey.com](http://Digikey.com) for purchases of electrostatic bags. Stick the stems of limp vegetables in water to refresh them.
    **Colin**: [The Taste of Tea (2004)](https://archive.org/details/the-taste-of-tea-2004)

    Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    Whooooa cool. The Taste of Tea is my favourite movie.

    I‘m sure one of you mentioned this, but pinball is a 30 minute experience… if you’re good at pinball. :sunglasses:

    ||Why isn't there a pinball table emoji??||

    Feeling extra old after hearing Saber Marionette J mentioned in this year of our demon lord 2023. That was a really really really weird anime, but back in the day i never thought it was that weird of an art.

    It speaks volumes that nobody when answering about single player modes for fighting games didn't mention the Persona Arena games, that had a complete visual novel as a single player experience.

    The Cat in the Hat is not a graphic novel because the images are subservient to the text and are not designed in tandem with it. If you just published the text of The Cat in the Hat you would lose none of the narrative.

    The beat em up mode in Guilty Gear Isuka is included with the game like the dungeon mode in Tobal 2, TIM.

    Also, the roaming beat em up story in Tekken 6 is hella dumb fun. Lars Alex Anderson beating on fools wearing sunglasses and everyone is completely multi-lingual.

    Musashi: Samurai Legend is a real mediocre Action RPG/Adventure game but right at the end of the game >!after the final boss you have to 1v1 duel with Kojiro, in a completely different sort of fast draw game mode that isn't used anywhere else in the entire game, and if you lose you game over and have to fight the last boss again from your save file.!<

    And that sort of rules.

    Also Tobal 2 is my favorite 3D fighter and Soul Blade is my second favorite 3D fighter. There is no game called Tobal no. 2 however because nobody cares who the number 2 strongest fighter on the planet Tobal is.

    Was the rpg/sim mode in Project Justice any good?

    Virtua Fighter 5 Quest Mode is fun because you can unlock all manners of clothing accessories for your character and customise them and should've been brought back in all the subsequent versions of the game

    I was in the grocery store buying a can of Grace coconut water and the recommendations came up just as I was about to go through the checkout, so I googled it but didn't find anything conclusive. Thanks for making me more aware of where all my coconut water might come from, cause I buy kind of a lot of the stuff.

    @“connrrr”#p107264 it‘s unfortunately pretty tough to find out, but it’s good to try!! chaokoh makes so many products that a vegetarian would want (like canned young/green jackfruit etc), it‘s a tough one. I’ve been buying my jackfruit at trader joe‘s since then, but I haven’t been able to confirm where they source theirs. maybe I should send an email!

    moxbagel thanks for being backup jaffe nice work

    Now that there have been 3 backup Jaffes, we need an episode where real Jaffe is the host and the 3 back up Jaffes are the panelists.

    @“穴”#p107296 it would have to be a meta episode where all the questions are either about questions or are answers to which a question must be asked, jeopardy style

    @“穴”#p107296 your mind . . .

    best backup Jaffe to date, no shade intended towards previous backup Jaffes

    that snippet of dicegame's remix episode sounds extremely funny but also good and i need to listen to the whole thing so screw it i guess i'll just have to find room in my budget to become a patron again

    @“goonbag”#p107347 You should support the patreon if you can, of course, but this one is for everybody. https://www.patreon.com/posts/79512464

    >

    @“IncompatibleKaiser”#p107206 There is no game called Tobal no. 2

    They should have called the game Tobal No.1 2. Then they could have continued the series and made an ever more confusing chronology (Tobal No.1 3, Tobal No.2 1, Tobal 2 No.1 3, and so on).

    I was actually just messing around with Tobal 2 last week. Definitely a lot less user friendly than something like Tekken or DOA, but I can tell there some deep mechanics here once you figure them out. I like the grappling system a lot. Clinch strikes, throws, throw reversals, even some ground fighting. This is basically a fantasy MMA game. I never quite got the hang of it, but I am intrigued and I like it enough to play it more for sure.

    That "Mambo #5" parody was a great ender. Well done, Mox.

    @“diogo”#p107251 I am perpetually salty about Quest Mode not being included in Final Showdown. You can still buy that version on the Xbox store, lemme do the quests!

    MoxBagel did a great job!

    Some Grandma is playing Katawa Shoujo because that's the only game I could think of off the top of my head. Maybe she will have a good time.

    I wanna say Tekken 4 and maybe Tekken Tag 2 had fun single player modes? I remember them being pretty funny at least. I also watched a friend play some Mortal Kombat that came out around 2008 or 2009 I'm guessing that had a huge single player mode and I was pretty surprised and thought that was cool. I don't know if it was good..