Ep. 278 - Nintendo 3DSpectacular, with Mathew Kumar

### Ep. 278 - Nintendo 3DSpectacular, with Mathew Kumar

Insert Credit Scottish Correspondent [Mathew Kumar](https://twitter.com/mathewkumar) sits with the panel just before the March 27, 2023 closing of the Nintendo 3DS eShop to cover the console's legacy, hardware innovations, and games worth playing. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Tim Rogers, Brandon Sheffield, and Mathew Kumar. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WXYqO_U5_ac

**Segments this week**:

  • - How was the 3DS hardware used? (08:37)
  • - What 3DS games need to be brought to another console? (25:04)
  • - 3DS Recommendations (38:25)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND**: Ranking the 3DS Recommendations (01:17:55)

    **THE INSERT CREDIT RANKED RECOMMENDATION LIST FOR NINTENDO 3DS:**

  • 1. Attack of the Friday Monsters!
  • 2. Shin Megami Tensei IV
  • 3. The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
  • 4. Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Shadow Wars
  • 5. Gotta Protectors
  • 6. Kokuga
  • 7. Sega 3D Classics Collection
  • 8. Super Mario 3D Land
  • 9. Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked
  • 10. Dragon Quest VII: Fragments of the Forgotten Past
  • 11. Dillon's Dead-Heat Breakers
  • 12. Fire Emblem Echoes: Shadows of Valentia
  • 13. Etrian Odyssey IV
  • 14. Etrian Odyssey Nexus
  • 15. Code Name: S.T.E.A.M.
  • 16. Rusty's Real Deal Baseball
  • 17. Persona Q (Series)
  • 18. Culdcept Revolt
  • 19. Picross
  • 20. Pocket Card Jockey
  • 21. Ridge Racer 3D
  • Recommendations and Outro (01:29:42)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Nintendo 3DS](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nintendo_3DS)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D](https://www.mobygames.com/game/71114/the-legend-of-zelda-ocarina-of-time-3d-ocarina-edition/)
  • - [Satoru Iwata](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Satoru_Iwata)
  • - [Reggie Fils-Aimé](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reggie_Fils-Aim%C3%A9)
  • - [Sega 3D Classics Collection](https://www.mobygames.com/game/79840/sega-3d-classics-collection/)
  • - [Picross 3D](https://www.mobygames.com/game/46970/picross-3d/)
  • - [Avatar: The Way of Water (2023)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Avatar:_The_Way_of_Water)
  • - [Nintendo 2DS](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nintendo_2DS)
  • - [Animal Crossing: New Leaf](https://www.mobygames.com/game/58784/animal-crossing-new-leaf/)
  • - [Steel Diver](https://www.mobygames.com/game/50994/steel-diver/)
  • - [Super Mario 3D World](https://www.mobygames.com/game/62942/super-mario-3d-world/)
  • - [R4 cartridge](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/R4_cartridge)
  • - [Dragon Quest VII: Fragments of the Forgotten Past](https://www.mobygames.com/game/142627/dragon-quest-vii-fragments-of-the-forgotten-past/)
  • - [Dragon Quest VIII: Journey of the Cursed King](https://www.mobygames.com/game/20096/dragon-quest-viii-journey-of-the-cursed-king/)
  • - [Dragon Quest XI: Echoes of an Elusive Age](https://www.mobygames.com/game/98424/dragon-quest-xi-echoes-of-an-elusive-age/)
  • - [Kyary Pamyu Pamyu](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kyary_Pamyu_Pamyu)
  • - [Dillon's Dead-Heat Breakers](https://www.mobygames.com/game/106671/dillons-dead-heat-breakers/)
  • - [Kokuga](https://www.mobygames.com/game/61731/kokuga/)
  • - [Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney - Dual Destinies](https://www.mobygames.com/game/73455/phoenix-wright-ace-attorney-dual-destinies/)
  • - [Etrian Odyssey series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/9117/etrian-odyssey-series/)
  • - [Shin Megami Tensei IV](https://www.mobygames.com/game/61143/shin-megami-tensei-iv/)
  • - [Persona Q: Shadow of the Labyrinth](https://www.mobygames.com/game/84853/persona-q-shadow-of-the-labyrinth/)
  • - [Spirit Camera: The Cursed Memoir](https://www.mobygames.com/game/82886/spirit-camera-the-cursed-memoir/)
  • - [Nintendo Badge Arcade](https://www.mobygames.com/game/75887/nintendo-badge-arcade/)
  • - [Rusty's Real Deal Baseball](https://www.mobygames.com/game/91409/rustys-real-deal-baseball/)
  • - [Miitomo](https://www.mobygames.com/game/78205/miitomo/)
  • - [Pikmin Bloom](https://www.mobygames.com/game/174515/pikmin-bloom/)
  • - [Metroid series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/606/metroid-series/)
  • - [Shin Megami Tensei: Strange Journey Redux](https://www.mobygames.com/game/97485/shin-megami-tensei-strange-journey-redux/)
  • - [Annihilation](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Annihilation_(VanderMeer_novel))
  • - [Wizardry games](https://www.mobygames.com/group/114/wizardry-games/)
  • - [Grateful Dead](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grateful_Dead)
  • - [Black Sabbath](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_Sabbath)
  • - [Attack of the Friday Monsters!](https://www.mobygames.com/game/76067/attack-of-the-friday-monsters/)
  • - [Liberation Maiden](https://www.mobygames.com/game/58144/liberation-maiden/)
  • - [The Starship Damrey](https://www.mobygames.com/game/60684/the-starship-damrey/)
  • - [Bugs vs Tanks!](https://www.mobygames.com/game/95042/bugs-vs-tanks/)
  • - [Crimson Shroud](https://www.mobygames.com/game/59318/crimson-shroud/)
  • - [Weapon Shop de Omasse](https://www.mobygames.com/game/73418/weapon-shop-de-omasse/)
  • - [Liberation Maiden](https://www.mobygames.com/game/58144/liberation-maiden/)
  • - [Guild01](https://www.mobygames.com/game/60259/guild01/)
  • - [Aero Porter](https://www.mobygames.com/game/92510/aero-porter/)
  • - [Boku no Natsuyasumi](https://www.mobygames.com/game/82250/boku-no-natsuyasumi/)
  • - [Soul of Darkness](https://www.mobygames.com/game/59573/soul-of-darkness/)
  • - [Super Mario 3D Land](https://www.mobygames.com/game/53511/super-mario-3d-land/)
  • - [Super Mario Bros. 3](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7300/super-mario-bros-3/)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds](https://www.mobygames.com/game/62785/the-legend-of-zelda-a-link-between-worlds/)
  • - [Landstalker](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6955/landstalker/)
  • - [Gotta Protectors](https://www.mobygames.com/game/100495/gotta-protectors/)
  • - [Gotta Protectors: Cart of Darkness](https://www.mobygames.com/game/193736/gotta-protectors-cart-of-darkness/)
  • - [Monster Hunter series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/7144/monster-hunter-series/)
  • - [Left 4 Dead](https://www.mobygames.com/game/38055/left-4-dead/)
  • - [Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor - Overclocked](https://www.mobygames.com/game/144336/shin-megami-tensei-devil-survivor-overclocked/)
  • - [Demonschool now wishlistable on Steam](https://store.steampowered.com/app/1900250/Demonschool/)
  • - [Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2 - Record Breaker](https://www.mobygames.com/game/85935/shin-megami-tensei-devil-survivor-2-record-breaker/)
  • - [Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Shadow Wars](https://www.mobygames.com/game/50996/tom-clancys-ghost-recon-shadow-wars/)
  • - [X-COM series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/76/x-com-series/)
  • - [Splinter Cell series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/2122/splinter-cell-series/)
  • - [Code Name: S.T.E.A.M.](https://www.mobygames.com/game/85135/code-name-steam/)
  • - [Fire Emblem: Awakening](https://www.mobygames.com/game/61666/fire-emblem-awakening/)
  • - [Fire Emblem Echoes: Shadows of Valentia](https://www.mobygames.com/game/87199/fire-emblem-echoes-shadows-of-valentia/)
  • - [Ridge Racer 3D](https://www.mobygames.com/game/55183/ridge-racer-3d/)
  • - [Pocket Card Jockey](https://www.mobygames.com/game/74281/pocket-card-jockey/)
  • - [Kingdom Hearts 3D: Dream Drop Distance](https://www.mobygames.com/game/62804/kingdom-hearts-3d-dream-drop-distance/)
  • - [Karous: The Beast of Re:Eden](https://www.mobygames.com/game/100422/karous-the-beast-of-reeden/)
  • - [Fragrant Story](https://www.mobygames.com/game/184665/fragrant-story/)
  • - [Mega Man: Legacy Collection](https://www.mobygames.com/game/74447/mega-man-legacy-collection/)
  • - [Automaton Lung](https://www.mobygames.com/game/193062/automaton-lung/)
  • - [Harold's Walk](https://www.mobygames.com/game/156528/harolds-walk/)
  • - [Waku Waku Sweets: Happy Sweets Making](https://www.mobygames.com/game/106037/waku-waku-sweets-happy-sweets-making/)
  • - [G.G Series Assault Buster](https://www.mobygames.com/game/88051/gg-series-assault-buster/)
  • - [Dementium: Remastered](https://www.mobygames.com/game/99364/dementium-remastered/)
  • - [The Legend of Dark Witch series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/12452/the-legend-of-dark-witch-series/)
  • - [Parascientific Escape series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/12386/parascientific-escape-series/)
  • - [Punch Club](https://www.mobygames.com/game/78893/punch-club/)
  • - [Culdcept Revolt](https://www.mobygames.com/game/91305/culdcept-revolt/)
  • - [Dragon Quest Wars](https://www.mobygames.com/game/52345/dragon-quest-wars/)
  • - [Tokyo Crash Mobs](https://www.mobygames.com/game/91708/tokyo-crash-mobs/)
  • - [Pushmo series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/11478/pushmo-series/)
  • - [Fairune series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/12738/fairune-series/)
  • - [Culdcept series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8281/culdcept-series/)
  • - [Kid Icarus: Uprising](https://www.mobygames.com/game/55482/kid-icarus-uprising/)
  • - [The Denpa Men series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/13144/the-denpa-men-series/)
  • - [Fantasy Life](https://www.mobygames.com/game/84848/fantasy-life/)
  • - [Pilotwings Resort](https://www.mobygames.com/game/50998/pilotwings-resort/)
  • - [Crash City Mayhem](https://www.mobygames.com/game/99548/crash-city-mayhem/)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Tim**: Buy a ticket to see Tim Rogers perform stand-up comedy at [GirlGodLive.com](https://girlgodlive.com/)

    Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    Check out my new microphone setup y'all. I figure out how to talk into it halfway through lol

    Hearing about how much a new 3ds costs geniunly made me sad. it‘s so fucked up that stuff gets over retail price just because they aren’t in production. poked around a little bit and this only seems to be affecting the U.S. and Canada for some reason. You can get a new 3ds on Yahoo auctions or even on ebay imported from Japan for like 120 american bucks which is way more reasonable. Europe seems to be slightly more expensive than Japan but not as expensive as north america from looking at ebay UK and ebay germany.

    now getting a backup japanese regular non xl new 3ds is on the back of my mind as something to do whenever I get some extra cash

    @“esper”#p108363 Just want to note that the ranking isn't in spoilers like past rankings posts were!

    Holy shooooooot this is the episode I’ve all been waiting for!!

    Kokuga was delisted years ago for some reason, but it did get a physical version in Japan if anyone really wants to hunt one down. Hiroshi Iuchi hasn‘t made any brand-new games since but he has put his hands on a few things, like the arrange mode of 3D Afterburner 2 (which was delisted a few weeks ago, as was the third Sega 3D Fukkoku Archives collection) and Legend of Dark Witch 3 (for which M2 handled production, with Iuchi as director, not that you’d particularly know it without reading the credits).

    Pocket Card Jockey is still best on 3DS, as far as I know—I haven't played the Apple Arcade version but my understanding is that Game Freak took the old, years-dead Japanese f2p version and non-f2p'd it for global release, but without sufficiently altering the rate of progression, so you hit a lot of roadblocks that used to be paywalls but are now just the game arbitrarily not letting you win despite playing perfect games with optimal stats.

    Code Name S.T.E.A.M. had nothing to do with Miyamoto, it was all IntSys—specifically, the director was a European dude who'd been there for a decade or so, and all the core folk were from the Advance Wars crew. The thinking behind that game was "the average western fan doesn't like tactics games (because Advance Wars plateaued ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ ) so let's make a tactics game that reads like a TPS and trojan-horse them into liking it" but putting aside the faulty premise, the game's just not that interesting and the whole "steampunk fairytale cthulu Lincoln mecha" thing is both on-the-nose and really dull.

    The mobile version of DQVII, based on the 3DS port, never left Japan AFAIK, but I think it's an otherwise competent port (as opposed to, say, DQVIII, which is distinct from both the PS2 and 3DS versions and not that great). The 3DS version came out way, way earlier in Japan but came out worldwide right next to the much later DQVIII remake, which did neither game any favours.

    My big problem with the Dillon games is that the tower defense stuff just isn't that interesting, and Dead Heat Breakers in particular bums me out because the devs straight-up said they tried moving away from tower defense but when it was decided that they were going to be releasing at retail, they realised they needed more Content and put all the tower defense stuff back in. It's not offensively bad or anything but I don't think I'm alone when I say the gameplay is not the draw. (I have zero idea what makes Tim think they're "MOMA games", except that Vanpool made them and he likes other stuff they've done.)

    Chef’s kiss on the editing this episode - queuing up the Wii shop music to match Brandon’s little singing moment was expertly done!

    For reasons I don‘t want to get into, I have two 2DSs. They’re ugly, but nicer to hold than they should be.

    I'll always love my 2ds for getting me through being stranded in florida for 6 months with no other video games. Played a lot of shovel knight and picked up a cheap copy of the ocarina of time remake (which taught me that game doesn't really need to be played anymore).

    I'd love to pick up one of those new 3ds xls, but boy I'm not shelling out $300+...

    Tim, Brandon and Mathew all first played the 3DS at E3? More like E3DS!

    @“deepspacefine”#p108389 god is that how much they cost now?

    yall i can start sending you 3DS LLs from Japan for less than half that price. granted shipping won't be cheap, but hey.

    @“saddleblasters”#p108379 yeah, I figured since it’s more of a recommendation list than a proper ranking episode this time around, it’s okay for people to see what we’re suggesting in advance. good catch!

    finally my relentless Dillon's Dead Heat Breakers awareness campaign is paying dividends

    Haven’t listened yet but the list is cool enough that I can almost excuse the lack of love for Crimson Shroud. Weird that I actually own and/or have played a clear majority of the games mentioned for once. (Paper Mario: Sticker Star is also better than people say but that’s my only other 3DS hot take)

    Also cool that Tim is trying standup, seems like a natural extension of his interests and writing style

    That‘s completely nuts that used 3DS systems are going for that much. I can’t disagree on the aesthetic design of the 2DS, but the thing feels and looks indestructible; the 3DS (XL at least) on the other hand is like “oh no, my hinges!!”

    Here's my small collection of 2/3DS consoles:
    [img]https://i.imgur.com/npl0ueL.png[/img]

    Also big thanks to Matthew Kumar for the throwaway line about the Wii U bricking itself, I turned mine on this morning (and was greeted by a "Hot Games for 2016" news banner) just in case.

    If anyone enjoyed me on this particularly, I bought a new microphone for it so if you want to help out (and get access to a ton of my writing): https://ko-fi.com/mathewkumar

    Haven't listened to the ep yet but: Ohhh heck yeah, I am ready to listen to some OPINIONS

    @“gsk”#p108381 I never played codename STEAM because I found the art style so abhorrent lol. “for western audiences” makes sense in that regard. There were a few statements made in the episode where I was like (??) but I didn‘t know enough about them so assumed correctness. Odd that iuchi would’ve worked on legend of dark witch 3, maybe dude is having trouble getting work

    @“exodus”#p108427 I think GSK is being a bit unfair to Code Name: STEAM–it‘s a better Valkyria Chronicles than Valkyria Chronicles II, imho (though I’ll admit that‘s a low bar.) Here’s what I wrote about it back in the day: https://everygame.tumblr.com/post/160987820266/code-name-steam-nintendo-3ds

    Also, it still costs less than $10 physical--it's a worthy budget pick-up!