Ep. 281 - Flawful Loss, with Casey Explosion

### Ep. 281 - Flawful Loss, with Casey Explosion

Twitch streamer [Casey Explosion](https://www.twitch.tv/CaseyExplosion) joins the panel to talk Resident Evil 4 Remake, Ash Ketchum, and region locked soda machines. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers, Brandon Sheffield, and Casey Explosion. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nN7t2-PC4qo

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. [Vincent Diamante](https://www.vincentdiamante.com/) asks: What’s the most dangerous thing you’ve ever done to obtain a video game? (03:08)
  • 2. Has the Steam Deck lived up to everything we thought it might be? (11:17)
  • 3. How do you pick what to play next? (17:49)
  • 4. How would you end Ash Ketchum’s story? (25:17)
  • 5. Scoregem asks: What games have a button that lets you roleplay? (30:57)
  • 6. Are there any games that do what BioShock can’t? (38:37)
  • 7. What is the least evil big video game company? (45:22)
  • 8. How’s that Resident Evil 4 remake? (51:30)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND:** Fursona Royal (55:49)

    Recommendations and Outro (01:07:18)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Resident Evil series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/374/biohazard-resident-evil-series/)
  • - [Acclaim Games](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acclaim_Games)
  • - [Midway Games](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Midway_Games)
  • - [Mortal Kombat series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/87/mortal-kombat-games/)
  • - [100 Bullets](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/100_Bullets_(video_game))
  • - [“Baby Cries” Sketch](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=buK45NW_ikI)
  • - [PlayStation 3](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_3)
  • - [SNK 40th Anniversary Collection](https://www.mobygames.com/game/115293/snk-40th-anniversary-collection/)
  • - [Ridge Racer 7](https://www.mobygames.com/game/26785/ridge-racer-7/)
  • - [Steam Deck](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steam_Deck)
  • - [Persona series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/474/persona-series/)
  • - [Yakuza / Ryū ga Gotoku series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8208/yakuza-ryu-ga-gotoku-series/)
  • - [GPD Win 2](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GPD_Win_2)
  • - [Pandora](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pandora_(computer))
  • - [Slay the Spire](https://www.mobygames.com/game/98734/slay-the-spire/)
  • - [Horizon: Zero Dawn](https://www.mobygames.com/game/84338/horizon-zero-dawn/)
  • - [Uncharted series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8931/uncharted-series/)
  • - [Days Gone](https://www.mobygames.com/game/125834/days-gone/)
  • - [Assassin's Creed series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8195/assassins-creed-series/)
  • - [MiSTer](https://misteraddons.com/)
  • - [Valis series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/3292/valis-series/)
  • - [Amiga](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amiga)
  • - [MSX](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MSX)
  • - [The Walking Dead](https://www.mobygames.com/game/55762/the-walking-dead/)
  • - [The Last of Us](https://www.mobygames.com/game/60922/the-last-of-us/)
  • - [Asterix and Obelix licensees](https://www.mobygames.com/group/460/asterix-and-obelix-licensees/)
  • - [E3 Has Been Canceled](https://www.ign.com/articles/e3-has-been-canceled)
  • - [Summer Game Fest](https://www.summergamefest.com/)
  • - [Pokémon fans say goodbye to show's Ash Ketchum](https://www.npr.org/2023/04/02/1167665486/pokemon-fans-say-goodbye-to-shows-ash-ketchum)
  • - [Detective Pikachu (2019)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Detective_Pikachu_(film))
  • - [The Friends of Ringo Ishikawa](https://www.mobygames.com/game/109141/the-friends-of-ringo-ishikawa/)
  • - [A Boy and His Blob](https://www.mobygames.com/game/44061/a-boy-and-his-blob/)
  • - [Dog's Life](https://www.mobygames.com/game/11786/dogs-life/)
  • - [The Video Game Soda Machine Project](https://vgsmproject.com/)
  • - [Castlevania / Akumajō Dracula series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/402/castlevania-akumajo-dracula-series/)
  • - [Luigi's Mansion](https://www.mobygames.com/game/5501/luigis-mansion/)
  • - [David Cage](https://variety.com/2018/gaming/news/quantic-dreams-court-case-1202886905/?ref=insertcredit.com)
  • - [Dusk](https://www.mobygames.com/game/101077/dusk/)
  • - [SnowRunner](https://www.mobygames.com/game/145044/snowrunner/)
  • - [Dredge](https://www.mobygames.com/game/201121/dredge/)
  • - [BioShock](https://www.mobygames.com/game/29886/bioshock/)
  • - [Cyberpunk 2077](https://www.mobygames.com/game/cyberpunk-2077?ref=insertcredit.com)
  • - [Papers, Please](https://www.mobygames.com/game/62666/papers-please/)
  • - [Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare](https://www.mobygames.com/game/31074/call-of-duty-4-modern-warfare/)
  • - [Adios](https://www.mobygames.com/game/160751/adios/)
  • - [Doc](https://twitter.com/docsquiddy)
  • - [Saudi Arabia Is Now Nintendo's Largest Outside Investor](https://www.gamespot.com/articles/saudi-arabia-is-now-nintendos-largest-outside-investor/1100-6511622/)
  • - [Nintendo will close the Wii U and 3DS eShops on March 27th, 2023](https://www.theverge.com/2022/7/19/23269792/nintendo-wii-u-3ds-eshop-closing-date-2023)
  • - [An interesting link for 3DS owners](https://3ds.hacks.guide/get-started.html)
  • - [Microsoft earns contract worth up to $21.9 billion to make AR devices for the US Army](https://www.cnn.com/2021/03/31/tech/microsoft-army-hololens-contract/index.html)
  • - [Unity signs "multi-million dollar" contract to help U.S. government with defense](https://www.gamedeveloper.com/business/unity-signs-multi-million-dollar-contract-to-help-u-s-government-with-defense)
  • - [Crunch once again in the spotlight after damning report on The Last of Us 2 developer Naughty Dog](https://www.eurogamer.net/crunch-once-again-in-the-spotlight-after-damning-report-on-the-last-of-us-2-developer-naughty-dog)
  • - [Splatoon series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/11875/splatoon-series/)
  • - [Katamari Damacy](https://www.mobygames.com/game/14970/katamari-damacy/)
  • - [Keiji Inafune](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keiji_Inafune)
  • - [God Hand](https://www.mobygames.com/game/27017/god-hand/)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Frank**: Tune in to a future episode of Insert Credit Show if you’d like to hear discussion about the Criterion Channel of Video Games.
    **Casey**: [twitch.tv/CaseyExplosion](https://twitch.tv/CaseyExplosion), [Casey Explosion Steam Curator page](https://store.steampowered.com/curator/28340174/)
    **Brandon:** See if your ceiling fan can go backward for better air distribution, [Frankie Rose](https://www.slumberlandrecords.com/artists/show/82), [Mammoth Volume](https://mammothvolume.bandcamp.com/album/mammoth-volume), [Ritsuko Kurosawa](https://duckduckgo.com/?q=ritsuko+kurosawa&t=ffab&atb=v362-1&ia=web)
    **Tim**: [Fuga: Melodies of Steel](https://www.mobygames.com/game/168138/fuga-melodies-of-steel/)

    Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    SVC Chaos assigned official(?) fursonas to a bunch of SNK & Capcom characters via Athena‘s transformation finisher, plus demon/yokai curses via Red Arremer’s finisher—Terry's a raccoon and/or a really silly-looking werewolf:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hX9ok95ecqs

    The Aruze-published Shadow Hearts Covenant also includes Not Terry in wolf form:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3rfXv0z7mrg

    These are the kind of ceiling fan tips I come to the Insert Credit Show for

    Still listening so forgive me if this was brought up as a classic callback later in the episode, but while the panel went over obsessively how many bullets were present in each of their stories about brushes with danger in acquiring videogames, I don't believe anyone asked Brandon how many bulls were present in his story

    no Ada or mercenaries on release apparently to be added at a later date :frowning:

    Was Frank deliberately looking to have a conversation about the Criterion Channel of video games distinct from the earlier conversation about the Criterion Collection of video games, or did he forget they already did that? Fwiw I do think they're distinct enough services that it would be worth exploring

    @“ponda”#p110803 I think he did forget we did that but it’s good enough to revisit!

    RE: Leon‘s fursona, his RE4 callsign is Condor-1, so let’s make him a nasty old carrion bird.

    >

    Are there any games that do what BioShock can’t? (38:37)

    In terms of games with a substantive philosophical objective, if not meaningful expressions of philosophical stances with nuance and depth, forum users may have occasionally seen other posters mention a little game called [_Patho_](https://www.gog.com/game/pathologic_2)[_l_](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eoNOPmfViCI)[_ogic 2_](https://www.gog.com/game/pathologic_2), a game famous on these forums for trying (and definitively failing) to[ kill Itoi Shigesato](https://forums.insertcredit.com/d/1818-shigesato-itoi-1950-2022) in 2022

    I‘ve got a recommendation for you all: if you are buying something from the grocery store that comes in a jar, don’t take that security seal for granted. Check if it‘s popped before you take it home so you don’t have to walk all the way back to the store to have it exchanged.

    Also: fruit teas! Who needs juice?? Are you packing a lunchbox for school? With gushers and dunkaroos????????????

    @“messemet”#p110826 we have turkey vultures here and they are beautiful and majestic!!

    @“connrrr”#p110851 this sounds like a comment for the last episode!

    I liked Casey‘s idea for an Ash Ketchum send-off. One detail to extrapolate on: Ash has become the very best, but now that he’s in the world of the elites he discovers the grim reality of the world of adventure he's spent years traversing. This is where he uncovers the black market Mr. Mime meat trade. Power, greed, and corruption run rampant behind the scenes, and he has to go through a Speed Racer like plot to take it down.

    @“exodus”#p110858 lmao oops!! I only got the chance to finish listening to it same day as this one so I got them mixed up.

    Just my imo but the Pokemon anime people can retire Ash, but, if they wanted an easy way to thread some continuity into the new protagonists, they should bring back Jesse and James (and Meowth!!)

    >

    @“Gaagaagiins”#p110870 Just my imo

    This just reminds me how much I enjoyed writing "in my IMO" back in like 2005. it infuriated everyone, including myself.

    >

    @“exodus”#p110873 This just reminds me how much I enjoyed writing “in my IMO” back in like 2005. it infuriated everyone, including myself.

    in my imo this is 100% still funny (imo)



    A helpful tip from your very own @exodus ! I remember learning this in a college class about weather. Another helpful tip: make sure to dust your fan blades before switching directions.

    @“Southeastpaw”#p111150 oh yeah I should‘ve mentioned that! you can dust your whole zone if you’re not careful.