Ep. 286 - Musouls, with Blessing Adeoye Jr.

# Ep. 286 - Musouls, with Blessing Adeoye Jr.

[Kinda Funny Games](https://www.youtube.com/kindafunnygames) host and producer [Blessing Adeoye Jr.](https://twitter.com/BlessingJr) joins the panel to cover review scores for video games, Frank’s answer for good adventure game design, and the Capcom Five. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers, Brandon Sheffield, and Blessing Adeoye Jr. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HE-qRAcRR78

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. What do people expect from a review of a new game? (06:29)
  • 2. Who have been the best level designers since Doom? (17:23)
  • 3. How can a difficult video game puzzle keep players from losing patience and resolve to solve it? (25:06)
  • 4. Let’s all record some all purpose video game sample dialogue. (33:13)
    Insert Credit Ad Break: [100 Gold](https://100gold.press/) (37:36)
  • 5. Lloyd Irving asks: Rank the Capcom Five (38:50)
  • 6. Koei Tecmo wants you to scout the right IP for their next Musou game. Who do you approach? (46:46)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND:** Reccing Crew - Star Wars characters (54:42)

    Recommendations and Outro (01:07:06)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Chun-Li](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chun-Li)
  • - [The Pest (1997)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Pest_(1997_film))
  • - [K'](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/K%27)
  • - [Terry Bogard](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Terry_Bogard)
  • - [Garou: Mark of the Wolves](https://www.mobygames.com/game/5467/garou-mark-of-the-wolves/)
  • - [Asuka 120% series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8581/asuka-120-series/)
  • - [Blue Mary](https://snk.fandom.com/wiki/Blue_Mary)
  • - [Ramlethal Valentine](https://guiltygear.fandom.com/wiki/Ramlethal_Valentine)
  • - [Eddy Gordo](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eddy_Gordo)
  • - [Scorpion](https://mortalkombat.fandom.com/wiki/Scorpion)
  • - [Takeda Takahashi](https://mortalkombat.fandom.com/wiki/Takeda_Takahashi)
  • - [Fight Night Round 3](https://www.mobygames.com/game/24001/fight-night-round-3/)
  • - [PS5 controller could track your sweat and heart rate](https://www.independent.co.uk/tech/ps5-controller-playstation-new-biofeedback-heart-rate-sweat-patent-a9360231.html)
  • - [The Last of Us: Part I](https://www.mobygames.com/game/190774/the-last-of-us-part-i/)
  • - [Redfall](https://www.mobygames.com/game/202522/redfall/)
  • - [Star Wars: Jedi - Survivor](https://www.mobygames.com/game/201867/star-wars-jedi-survivor/)
  • - [Dead Rising](https://www.mobygames.com/game/23514/dead-rising/)
  • - [Cyberpunk 2077](https://www.mobygames.com/game/153627/cyberpunk-2077-collectors-edition/)
  • - [Pokémon Scarlet](https://www.mobygames.com/game/195388/pokemon-scarlet/)
  • - [Xenoblade Chronicles 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/97266/xenoblade-chronicles-2/)
  • - [Fallout: New Vegas](https://www.mobygames.com/game/48717/fallout-new-vegas/)
  • - [GamePro Magazine](https://archive.org/details/gameproissue009april1990)
  • - [Super Mario series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/10044/super-mario-series/)
  • - [Doom](https://www.mobygames.com/game/1068/doom/)
  • - [Gears of War series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8069/gears-of-war-series/)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds](https://www.mobygames.com/game/62785/the-legend-of-zelda-a-link-between-worlds/)
  • - [Dishonored](https://www.mobygames.com/game/58218/dishonored/)
  • - [Prey](https://www.mobygames.com/game/88058/prey/)
  • - [Deathloop](https://www.mobygames.com/game/172205/deathloop/)
  • - [Hitman series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/820/hitman-series/)
  • - [Hirokazu Yasuhara](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hirokazu_Yasuhara)
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/584/sonic-the-hedgehog-universe/)
  • - [Uncharted series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8931/uncharted-series/)
  • - [Sonic R](https://www.mobygames.com/game/2899/sonic-r/)
  • - [Jak X: Combat Racing](https://www.mobygames.com/game/20329/jak-x-combat-racing/)
  • - [Ghostwire: Tokyo](https://www.mobygames.com/game/181888/ghostwire-tokyo/)
  • - [Silent Hill series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/476/silent-hill-series/)
  • - [Resident Evil series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/374/biohazard-resident-evil-series/)
  • - [Nintendo patents in-game hint system](https://www.eurogamer.net/nintendo-patents-in-game-hint-system)
  • - [Digital Pictures](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_Pictures)
  • - [Until Dawn](https://www.mobygames.com/game/74492/until-dawn/)
  • - [The Quarry](https://www.mobygames.com/game/185574/the-quarry/)
  • - [Star Wars: Jedi - Fallen Order](https://www.mobygames.com/game/137302/star-wars-jedi-fallen-order/)
  • - [Horizon II: Forbidden West - Burning Shores](https://www.mobygames.com/game/201901/horizon-ii-forbidden-west-burning-shores/)
  • - [Call of Duty series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/12946/call-of-duty-series/)
  • - [Audio Atrocities](http://www.audioatrocities.com/index.html)
  • - [Vincent Price](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vincent_Price)
  • - [Bloody Wolf](https://www.mobygames.com/game/28820/bloody-wolf/)
  • - [Capcom Five](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capcom_Five)
  • - [P.N.03](https://www.mobygames.com/game/10347/pn03/)
  • - [Viewtiful Joe](https://www.mobygames.com/game/10626/viewtiful-joe/)
  • - [Dead Phoenix](https://capcom.fandom.com/wiki/Dead_Phoenix)
  • - [Resident Evil 4](https://www.mobygames.com/game/16373/resident-evil-4/)
  • - [Killer7](https://www.mobygames.com/game/18931/killer7/)
  • - [The Silver Case](https://www.mobygames.com/game/87085/the-silver-case/)
  • - [Flower Sun and Rain](https://www.mobygames.com/game/37907/flower-sun-and-rain/)
  • - [Shenmue series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/919/shenmue-series/)
  • - [Huge Earthbound Fan Excited to Play It for First Time](https://hard-drive.net/hd/video-games/huge-earthbound-fan-excited-play-first-time/)
  • - [Gundam](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gundam)
  • - [God Hand](https://www.mobygames.com/game/27017/god-hand/)
  • - [Ace Attorney / Gyakuten Saiban series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/5132/ace-attorney-gyakuten-saiban-series/)
  • - [Koei's Warriors / Musō series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/9580/koeis-warriors-muso-series/)
  • - [Hyrule Warriors](https://www.mobygames.com/game/68628/hyrule-warriors/)
  • - [Funko Pop](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Funko)
  • - [Dragon Quest Heroes: The World Tree's Woe and the Blight Below](https://www.mobygames.com/game/83568/dragon-quest-heroes-the-world-trees-woe-and-the-blight-below/)
  • - [Berserk and the Band of the Hawk](https://www.mobygames.com/game/83852/berserk-and-the-band-of-the-hawk/)
  • - [Berserk Millennium Falcon Arc: Seimasenki no Sho](https://www.mobygames.com/game/27989/berserk-millennium-falcon-arc-seimasenki-no-sho/)
  • - [Super Smash Brothers series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/508/super-smash-brothers-series/)
  • - [Fortnite: Battle Royale](https://www.mobygames.com/game/104208/fortnite-battle-royale/)
  • - [Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain](https://www.mobygames.com/game/75522/metal-gear-solid-v-the-phantom-pain/)
  • - [Bloodborne](https://www.mobygames.com/game/72089/bloodborne/)
  • - [Nioh](https://www.mobygames.com/game/83462/nioh/)
  • - [Wo Long: Fallen Dynasty](https://www.mobygames.com/game/200023/wo-long-fallen-dynasty/)
  • - [Ninja Gaiden series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/615/ninja-gaiden-series/)
  • - [Kingdom Hearts series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/2842/kingdom-hearts-series/)
  • - [Stranger of Paradise: Final Fantasy Origin](https://www.mobygames.com/game/181690/stranger-of-paradise-final-fantasy-origin/)
  • - [Dissidia: Final Fantasy NT](https://www.mobygames.com/game/102265/dissidia-final-fantasy-nt/)
  • - [Mortal Kombat series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/87/mortal-kombat-games/)
  • - [Warriors All-Stars](https://www.mobygames.com/game/95388/warriors-all-stars/)
  • - [Earth Defense Force series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8735/earth-defense-force-chikyu-boeigun-series/)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Blessing**: Check out [The Blessing Show](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pepkcF9UXng) on [Kinda Funny Games](https://www.youtube.com/@KindaFunnyGames) and the [Phil Spencer interview](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yKwfEQ1eEyM) from Kinda Funny
    **Brandon:** [Demonschool public demo](https://store.steampowered.com/app/1900250/Demonschool/), [Koudelka](https://www.mobygames.com/game/5387/koudelka/)
    **Tim**: Play the [Shadow Hearts series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/2214/shadow-hearts-series/) and [Sōkaigi](https://www.mobygames.com/game/26998/sokaigi/) if you want to play a couple other weirder lesser talked about or looked at video games that are all somewhat related to Koudelka, have a unionized workplace if you have the option

    This week’s Insert Credit Show is brought to you by [100 Gold](https://100gold.press/) and [patrons like you](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit). Thank you.

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    I've never heard Tim do a George Lucas impression before and let me say: he nailed it

    What continues to surprise me about the musou series is that the big IP that you'd expect to be a perfect fit for the format, like Hokuto no Ken and Berserk and what have you, have tended to be the worst ones.

    Warriors All-Stars isn't quite as lacking in stars as Tim made it seem, but the roster was certainly not aligned to global awareness of Tecmo or Koei's franchises: it has characters from Ninja Gaiden, DOA, Deception, Opoona, Toukiden, Atelier, Nights of Azure, Haruka (a Ruby Party series that remains unlocalised, IIRC) and a pachinko series... how they passed up the opportunity to include Bo Jackson is beyond me. It's in the same boat as Project X Zone, where the Sega side of the crossover is mostly characters from games that overseas players mostly haven't played or wouldn't associate with Sega.

    @“gsk”#p115083 The Pirate Warriors/One Piece musou games have been pretty uniformly good, and that's a series that makes sense for the format. JJBA musou game when??

    That tune during the 100Gold ad break is pretty dope. Blessing seems like a chill guy. I like how so many 80s-90s gaming references and gamer dad jokes subtly passed over his head until the more direct and inevitable “wait what is that Gamecube thing you fossils are talking about”.

    Best possible Musou would be Musou Chocolat.

    John Wick Musou

    Can‘t believe there’s no Animal Crossing musou

    Persona 5 Strikers was surprisingly decent, and that was essentially P5 Warriors. On the back of that, I reckon they could just cut the human Persona protagonists out entirely and give us a SMT Warriors, where we directly control Jack Frost or Daisoujou or Trumpeter or whomever and just wreak havoc across some play fields.

    Time for a KOF Musou where you can pick from a bunch of different characters but all you fight are a billion different shades of Kyo clones.

    LOL Bloodborne Musou. That's exactly how I felt when there was a rumor P5 was coming to switch and then they said hey folks its P5 Strikers!!!

    However jokes on me, because when it did come out on everything I downloaded it then I never played it because that shit is too long. (I played it back on ps3 and it was a crusty experience) Cool game though!

    @“marurun”#p115235

    Read this as KFC and just imagined The Colonel whipping down hordes of chickens with a giant chicken bone, like some evil fowl maniac

    @“edward”#p115305 why not just Fast Food Musou? Chickens, Hamburglars, and broccoli must be defeated!

    @exodus “Mandaborian” didn't get enough cred, made me chuckle big time.

    Is the Game Over voiceover from Ridge Racer 2 one that Frank was subconsciously thinking of?

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1c1csaOcANE&t=333s

    For the original experience (and the only way I hear it in my head TBH) is to pair it with this:
    https://vgmrips.net/packs/pack/ridge-racer-2-namco-system-22#14-game-over

    @“marurun”#p115331

    This is becoming a VeggieTales musou!

    >

    @“esper”#p115064 Who have been the best level designers since Doom?

    sort of surprised that current souls-era fromsoft didn't get a mention (though i guess that's rather obvious)

    It did come up later but tbh I think C-3P0 would be the one to be really into Cooking Mama.

    Mom report: she liked this one. The Star Wars segment was her favorite, even though she hasn’t seen Star Wars.

    I always wanted to play that Fist of the North Star musou, which I remember costing around $100 to buy everything digitally on the Wii U, presumably till its dying day.