Ep. 287 - Rated L, with Kat Bailey

### Ep. 287 - Rated L, with Kat Bailey

IGN news director and Axe of the Blood God creator [Kat Bailey](https://twitter.com/The_Katbot) joins the panel to discuss Metacritic scores, ranked polls, and what the ESRB actually does all day. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers, Brandon Sheffield, and Kat Bailey. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. Frank Cifaldi asks: What are the best British games? (05:11)
  • 2. Why doesn’t a Sight & Sound-style poll work for video games? (12:22)
  • 3. How does IGN review games? (25:33)
  • 4. If ESRB ratings were literal, which games would actually be for everyone, for teens, and mature? (29:43)
    Insert Credit Ad Break - [Sully: A Very Serious RPG](https://store.steampowered.com/app/1895490/Sully_A_Very_Serious_RPG/) (36:45)
  • 5. Azurelore Korrigan asks: What medium is best for adapting to video games? (38:29)
  • 6. What’s something you wished video games would do, they eventually did, and now you’ve had enough? (45:14)
  • 7. What counts as video game news? (50:12)
  • 8. Did everyone here always know what IGN stands for? (58:09)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND:** From Yeso - Oblique Game Designs (59:24)

    Recommendations and Outro (01:06:54)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Final Fantasy VII: Remake](https://www.mobygames.com/game/141485/final-fantasy-vii-remake/)
  • - [Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6932/teenage-mutant-ninja-turtles/)
  • - [Final Fantasy XV](https://www.mobygames.com/game/82135/final-fantasy-xv/)
  • - [Final Fantasy V](https://www.mobygames.com/game/4876/final-fantasy-v/)
  • - [Sonic R](https://www.mobygames.com/game/2899/sonic-r/)
  • - [Plok](https://www.mobygames.com/game/22321/plok/)
  • - [July 4th Best British Games Spectacular, with Bennett Foddy and Mathew Kumar](https://insertcredit.com/show/192/)
  • - [Cannon Fodder](https://www.mobygames.com/game/210/cannon-fodder/)
  • - [Batman](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3848/batman/)
  • - [Ste and John Pickford](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ste_and_John_Pickford)
  • - [Solar Jetman: Hunt for the Golden Warpship](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7377/solar-jetman-hunt-for-the-golden-warpship/)
  • - [Equinox](https://www.mobygames.com/game/12231/equinox/)
  • - [Tim Follin](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tim_Follin)
  • - [The Bitmap Brothers](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Bitmap_Brothers)
  • - [The Chaos Engine series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/2940/the-chaos-engine-series/)
  • - [Judge Dredd](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7151/judge-dredd/)
  • - [Alien³](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7278/alien3/)
  • - [OutRun series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/123/outrun-series/)
  • - [Snake Rattle N Roll](https://www.mobygames.com/game/11270/snake-rattle-n-roll/)
  • - [Battletoads](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6134/battletoads/)
  • - [Bubsy series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/794/bubsy-series/)
  • - [Slippy Toad](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slippy_Toad)
  • - [Star Fox](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6629/star-fox/)
  • - [Croc: Legend of the Gobbos](https://www.mobygames.com/game/2884/croc-legend-of-the-gobbos/)
  • - [Donkey Kong Country](https://www.mobygames.com/game/5199/donkey-kong-country/)
  • - [Star Fox Adventures](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7290/star-fox-adventures/)
  • - [Slalom](https://www.mobygames.com/game/8392/slalom/)
  • - [Highlander: The Last of the MacLeods](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6993/highlander-the-last-of-the-macleods/)
  • - [Cobra Triangle](https://www.mobygames.com/game/8427/cobra-triangle/)
  • - [R.C. Pro-Am](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7501/rc-pro-am/)
  • - [Sensible Soccer series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/2850/sensible-soccer-games/)
  • - [Football Manager series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/3617/football-manager-series/)
  • - [Dog's Life](https://www.mobygames.com/game/11786/dogs-life/)
  • - [Red Dog: Superior Firepower](https://www.mobygames.com/game/28692/red-dog-superior-firepower/)
  • - [Jeanne Dielman, 23 quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles (1975)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jeanne_Dielman,_23_quai_du_Commerce,_1080_Bruxelles)
  • - [The Sight and Sound Greatest Films of All Time 2022](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Sight_and_Sound_Greatest_Films_of_All_Time_2022)
  • - [100 best video games, ranked by experts](https://www.gq-magazine.co.uk/article/best-video-games-all-time)
  • - [Ernest Borgnine](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ernest_Borgnine)
  • - [Laser Mission (1989)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Laser_Mission)
  • - [From Here to Eternity (1953)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/From_Here_to_Eternity)
  • - [Seven of Nine](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seven_of_Nine)
  • - [Wild Arms series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/1334/wild-arms-series/)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild](https://www.mobygames.com/game/84595/the-legend-of-zelda-breath-of-the-wild/)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3549/the-legend-of-zelda-ocarina-of-time/)
  • - [StarCraft](https://www.mobygames.com/game/378/starcraft/)
  • - [The Last of Us](https://www.mobygames.com/game/60922/the-last-of-us/)
  • - [Age of Empires II: The Age of Kings](https://www.mobygames.com/game/368/age-of-empires-ii-the-age-of-kings/)
  • - [Super Mario Bros.](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7298/super-mario-bros/)
  • - [Pac-Man](https://www.mobygames.com/game/138/pac-man/)
  • - [Final Fantasy VI](https://www.mobygames.com/game/5202/final-fantasy-iii/)
  • - [Tetris](https://www.mobygames.com/game/1630/tetris/)
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog games](https://www.mobygames.com/group/584/sonic-the-hedgehog-universe/)
  • - [Academy Awards](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Academy_Awards)
  • - [Goichi Suda](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Goichi_Suda)
  • - [NetHack](https://www.mobygames.com/game/820/nethack/)
  • - [Dwarf Fortress](https://www.mobygames.com/game/196112/dwarf-fortress/)
  • - [Factorio](https://www.mobygames.com/game/84918/factorio/)
  • - [IGN](https://www.ign.com/)
  • - [Eurogamer](https://www.eurogamer.net/)
  • - [Edge](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edge_(magazine))
  • - [Metacritic](https://www.metacritic.com/)
  • - [Hyper Gunsport](https://www.mobygames.com/game/196718/hyper-gunsport/)
  • - [Deadly Premonition](https://www.mobygames.com/game/46145/deadly-premonition/)
  • - [ESRB Ratings](https://www.esrb.org/)
  • - [Call of Duty series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/12946/call-of-duty-series/)
  • - [Wii Sports](https://www.mobygames.com/game/25099/wii-sports/)
  • - [Diablo II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/1878/diablo-ii/)
  • - [Mad Planets](https://www.mobygames.com/game/68804/mad-planets/)
  • - [California Extreme](https://caextreme.org/)
  • - [Skies of Arcadia](https://www.mobygames.com/game/4052/skies-of-arcadia/)
  • - [Koudelka](https://www.mobygames.com/game/5387/koudelka/)
  • - [Flappy Bird](https://www.mobygames.com/game/63533/flappy-bird/)
  • - [Candy Crush Saga](https://www.mobygames.com/game/61070/candy-crush-saga/)
  • - [Grand Theft Auto series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/167/grand-theft-auto-series/)
  • - [Mortal Kombat games](https://www.mobygames.com/group/87/mortal-kombat-games/)
  • - [MSCHF's Tax Heaven 3000](https://www.theverge.com/2023/3/22/23651802/mschf-tax-heaven-3000-dating-simulator)
  • - [Star Wars: Jedi - Survivor](https://www.mobygames.com/game/201867/star-wars-jedi-survivor/)
  • - [Disco Elysium](https://www.mobygames.com/game/136046/disco-elysium/)
  • - [David Cage](https://www.polygon.com/2018/1/14/16890536/quantic-dream-workplace-harassment-allegations)
  • - [VIDEOBALL](https://www.mobygames.com/game/79738/videoball/)
  • - [Baroque](https://www.mobygames.com/game/11064/baroque/)
  • - [Neon White](https://www.mobygames.com/game/186311/neon-white/)
  • - [2K Sports](https://www.mobygames.com/company/7161/2k-sports/)
  • - [Jake From State Farm Is A Character In NBA 2K22's City](https://kotaku.com/uh-jake-from-state-farm-is-in-nba-2k22-1847658431)
  • - [God of War](https://www.mobygames.com/game/107419/god-of-war/)
  • - [Marko's Magic Football](https://www.mobygames.com/game/19537/markos-magic-football/)
  • - [Michael Jordan: Chaos in the Windy City](https://www.mobygames.com/game/13780/michael-jordan-chaos-in-the-windy-city/)
  • - [Fire Pro Wrestling series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/5418/fire-pro-wrestling-series/)
  • - [Dear Boys](https://dearboys.fandom.com/wiki/Dear_Boys_(1994_game))
  • - [Captain Tsubasa licensees](https://www.mobygames.com/group/10459/captain-tsubasa-licensees/)
  • - [Football Drama](https://www.mobygames.com/game/163858/football-drama/)
  • - [Dragon Quest series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/436/dragon-warrior-dragon-quest-series/)
  • - [Carcassone](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8906/carcassonne-licensees/)
  • - [Baldur's Gate](https://www.mobygames.com/game/712/baldurs-gate/)
  • - [Forgotten Realms](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Forgotten_Realms)
  • - [Pathfinder licensees](https://www.mobygames.com/group/13827/pathfinder-licensees/)
  • - [Cyberpunk 2077](https://www.mobygames.com/game/153627/cyberpunk-2077-collectors-edition/)
  • - [Disney's DuckTales](https://www.mobygames.com/game/8606/disneys-ducktales/)
  • - [Battlefield series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/1175/battlefield-series/)
  • - [Legend of the Red Dragon series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/6095/legend-of-the-red-dragon-series/)
  • - [Final Fantasy XIV Online](https://www.mobygames.com/game/48497/final-fantasy-xiv-online/)
  • - [Ultima Online](https://www.mobygames.com/game/1762/ultima-online/)
  • - [EverQuest](https://www.mobygames.com/game/275/everquest/)
  • - [World of WarCraft](https://www.mobygames.com/game/15620/world-of-warcraft/)
  • - [Kingdoms of Amalur series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/11292/kingdoms-of-amalur-series/)
  • - [The Lord of the Rings Online series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8595/the-lord-of-the-rings-online-series/)
  • - [Star Wars: The Old Republic](https://www.mobygames.com/game/54477/star-wars-the-old-republic/)
  • - [The Matrix Online](https://www.mobygames.com/game/17101/the-matrix-online/)
  • - [Destiny](https://www.mobygames.com/game/68327/destiny/)
  • - [Phantasy Star Online](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3573/phantasy-star-online/)
  • - [Monster Hunter series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/7144/monster-hunter-series/)
  • - [GameDeveloper.com](https://www.gamedeveloper.com/)
  • - [Thegia](http://www.thegia.com/)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Brandon:** Continue to listen to this if we keep doing it, [I Am a Hero (2015)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/I_Am_a_Hero)
    **Kat**: Episode 400 of [Axe of the Blood God](https://bloodgodpod.com/) with Felipe Pepe
    **Frank**: Episode 34 of [Video Game History Hour](https://gamehistory.org/ep-34-the-crpg-book/) with Felipe Pepe

    This week’s Insert Credit Show is brought to you by [Sully: A Very Serious RPG](https://store.steampowered.com/app/1895490/Sully_A_Very_Serious_RPG/), and [patrons like you](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit). Thank you.

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    I almost mentioned how Guatemala is Central American not South American but I didn‘t feel like ruining the flow. I’m sure Tim knew as well and just misspoke!

    @exodus It got lost in the cross talk but I‘ve been laughing at "It’s short for IG News" intermittently for a few hours.

    @“coreywilliams”#p116032 That would‘ve been a good joke but I actually said "it’s short for igenous“ which is why I later say ”it's a type of rock." sorry to ruin the fun!! but hey, you got a bonus joke out of it.

    does wipeout count as a british game?

    that game seems pretty damn good, wipeout hd is rad

    If ever an Insert Credit member needs to be replaced, Lyndon-Johnston-in-Air-Force-One-style, I nominate Kat Bailey.

    P.S: The best British game is of course GTA: Vice City.

    dark thoughts from “buy-frank-lewd-mags”…

    Is that British though? The source material is Scarface.

    >

    @“buy-frank-lewd-mags”#p116054 If ever an Insert Credit member needs to be replaced, Lyndon-Johnston-in-Air-Force-One-style, I nominate Kat Bailey.

    She's got her own podcast!

    https://bloodgodpod.com/

    @“Jaffe”#p116060 I know but vice-president Johnston had his own stuff too! He was running the space program.

    @“Jaffe”#p116060 I can trace finding IC back to Blood God Pod in a kind of roundabout way!

    @“Emily”#p116040 absolutely 100% British game!

    BRB, getting Felipe Pepe

    A British game that falls into the sweet spot of time that the podcasters wouldn't have played but was massively popular amongst kids when I was a kid was Runescape. Something us working class stiffs could play on our toasters that was F2P but upgradeable to $5 a month, which compared to WoW was much more amenable to parents (if you could convince your Mom to use her credit card online, which was still new at the time in my house).

    I really enjoyed the discussion about sports being ripe for exploration outside of the sorts of sports games that are already frequent. When mentioning more sports RPGs, I was reminded I have had Inazuma Eleven sitting on my 3DS backlog ever since the eShop closure was initially announced and I really need to get around to it at some point because considering two of my favorite things in the world are sports manga and JRPGs, it seems like it literally is a combination of those two things. As far as an open world sports game goes, I am turning into the guy who unintentionally keeps bringing up skateboarding in every post, but Skate 3 is probably the best skateboarding game out there, probably like the one open world sports game out there (outside of its predecessors, which I haven‘t played yet), and I think is a great example of what open world design should be: the world is dense and navigating it itself is just fun because you’re always trying to navigate the environment to come up with cool tricks and skate around obstacles instead of an open world that's just scenery without anything to interact with.

    I think a sports visual novel has a lot of potential. I always really liked the sports social stuff in Persona 3-5. It's been a while since I've played 3, but I remember the friendship you formed with the guy on the kendo team being really emotional when you learned he was basically having his dreams crushed thanks to injury, and I felt similarly about Ryuji and his track injury in 5. I think there's a lot of storytelling potential about the career and personal life of an athlete that hasn't been touched yet in games, and it kinda sucks from what I've heard the career story stuff in like an NBA 2K is both basically just sponsored content like Kat was saying and from what I've seen is pretty "safe" in what it can present because of league licensing.

    I have always wanted to get into football/soccer IRL and maybe what Kat brought up about people getting into Football Manager and becoming a fan of some random team IRL is my gateway.

    @“HeavenlyHalberd”#p116081 we need a persona game without the dungeons and more school activities

    I think the format/genre distinction that Tim brings up is a fantastic mental tool for avoiding a lot of confusion and sloppy thinking. It‘s so obvious that I’m surprised I haven‘t seen anyone talk about it before. (I’m sure as soon as I say this someone is going to bring up ten different notable examples of people distinguishing the two that I somehow haven't seen.)

    Case in point, one of the things Tim says over and over again that has always annoyed me is that "Dating sims are more like JRPGs than Visual Novels". I can think of clear counter-examples, e.g. many of [Elf's](https://www.mobygames.com/company/3843/elf-co-ltd/) games (see my write-up on Doukyuusei @"saddleblasters"#p67955), which are much more like open ended visual novels than JRPGs -- for instance there are barely any numbers.

    When you add the additional axis of format, the statement becomes a lot less egregious. On one end there is the (very much RPG adjacent) raising sim format, which Tokimeki Memorial belongs to. On the other end there's some other format which I'm not sure has a name, where you walk around an environment and do things that trigger events in a story. This includes both Doukyuusei and, say, Boku no Natsuyasumi, as well as the "dating sim" elements of Personas 3-5.

    I imagine that this is a pattern you'd find with a a lot of these "formats": they don't really have names of their own, because they're so enmeshed with whatever genre they're associated with. Maybe as a public service to video game criticism everywhere we need to start isolating all the various formats and give them names.

    For some reason “one dot at a time” makes me want a Pacman version of Splatoon where each dot gobbler poops out a different colored dot each time they eat one. Player with the most dots of their color at round end wins. Throw in some random abilities of course.

    Really enjoyed this episode, Kat fit right in with the panel. I will check out her pod.