Ep. 288 - El Podcast Regular

# Ep. 288 - El Podcast Regular

The panel you know and love reconvenes to weigh in on Overwatch 2, the GameCube handle, and Minter’s thing. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers, and Brandon Sheffield. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. What does it mean to beat a video game? (05:04)
  • 2. In the “games as service” era, when do you update a game, and when do you make a sequel? (11:20)
  • 3. What’s the best non-game feature a gaming console has ever had? (18:32)
  • 4. What kinds of things aren’t video games licensing that they should? (28:21)
    Insert Credit Quick Break: [Egglien](https://store.steampowered.com/app/1994440/Egglien/) (33:12)
  • 5. From ShlooterMcGavin: What would an eSports Utility Vehicle be like? (34:40)
  • 6. When have game developers best anticipated player behavior? (44:21)
  • 7. What games have successfully ripped off older games without anyone really noticing? (49:17)
  • 8. What is the Who Shot Mr. Burns? of video games? (54:03)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND:** GameFAQ&As: Tears of the Kingdom (01:01:00)

    Recommendations and Outro (01:06:09)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Hexyz Force](https://www.mobygames.com/game/50330/hexyz-force/)
  • - [Tubi](https://tubitv.com/)
  • - [2B](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2B_(Nier:_Automata))
  • - [Ryo Hazuki](https://shenmue.fandom.com/wiki/Ryo_Hazuki)
  • - [Cooking Mama](https://cookingmama.fandom.com/wiki/Mama)
  • - [Pluto TV](https://pluto.tv/)
  • - [AMC+](https://www.amcplus.com/)
  • - [Arthur Morgan](https://reddead.fandom.com/wiki/Arthur_Morgan)
  • - [Interview with the Vampire](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Interview_with_the_Vampire_(TV_series))
  • - [Kanopy](https://www.kanopy.com/)
  • - [Leon Kennedy](https://residentevil.fandom.com/wiki/Leon_Scott_Kennedy)
  • - [Yakuza / Ryū ga Gotoku series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8208/yakuza-ryu-ga-gotoku-series/)
  • - [Final Fantasy XV](https://www.mobygames.com/game/82135/final-fantasy-xv/)
  • - [Overwatch series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/11930/overwatch-series/)
  • - [Overwatch 2’s director explains why its big PvE mode was canceled](https://www.theverge.com/2023/5/19/23730369/overwatch-2-pve-hero-mode-cancellation)
  • - [RuneScape](https://www.mobygames.com/game/9192/runescape/)
  • - [Final Fantasy XIV Online](https://www.mobygames.com/game/48497/final-fantasy-xiv-online/)
  • - [Final Fantasy XI Online](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6663/final-fantasy-xi-online/)
  • - [Forza Motorsport series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/7931/forza-motorsport-series/)
  • - [Gran Turismo series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/428/gran-turismo-series/)
  • - [Crazyracing Kartrider](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crazyracing_Kartrider)
  • - [Mario Kart Tour](https://www.mobygames.com/game/134008/mario-kart-tour/)
  • - [PlayStation 2](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_2)
  • - [PlayStation 3](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_3)
  • - [Lair](https://www.mobygames.com/game/32093/lair/)
  • - [Nintendo 3DS](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nintendo_3DS)
  • - [StreetPass Mii Plaza games](https://www.mobygames.com/group/10539/streetpass-mii-plaza-games/)
  • - [PictoChat](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PictoChat)
  • - [Wii](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wii)
  • - [Dreamcast](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dreamcast)
  • - [Xbox One](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xbox_One)
  • - [GameCube](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GameCube)
  • - [Casio Loopy](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Casio_Loopy)
  • - [Nintendo DS](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nintendo_DS)
  • - [Neo Geo Pocket](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neo_Geo_Pocket)
  • - [PlayStation Portable](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_Portable)
  • - [Talkman](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Talkman)
  • - [Matthew Lesko](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Matthew_Lesko)
  • - [Toro Inoue](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toro_Inoue)
  • - [Animal Crossing series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/4468/animal-crossing-series/)
  • - [Horizon II: Forbidden West](https://www.mobygames.com/game/178917/horizon-ii-forbidden-west/)
  • - [Project Siren](https://www.mobygames.com/company/18527/project-siren/)
  • - [Marvel Spider-Man](https://www.mobygames.com/game/113066/marvel-spider-man/)
  • - [Atari Jaguar](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atari_Jaguar)
  • - [Virtual Light Machine](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Virtual_Light_Machine)
  • - [Xbox 360](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xbox_360)
  • - [Jeff Minter](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jeff_Minter)
  • - [Cliff Bleszinski](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cliff_Bleszinski)
  • - [Creative Business Unit III](https://finalfantasy.fandom.com/wiki/Creative_Business_Unit_III)
  • - [The Witcher series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/10398/the-witcher-series/)
  • - [Pepsiman](https://www.mobygames.com/game/32237/pepsiman/)
  • - [ROG Gaming Routers](https://www.asus.com/us/site/gaming/rog/gaming-routers/rapture.html)
  • - [Alienware](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alienware)
  • - [Mac Pro](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mac_Pro)
  • - [Kris Graft](https://twitter.com/krisgraft/)
  • - [Gunnar Optiks](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gunnar_Optiks)
  • - [Gamers Nexus](https://www.youtube.com/user/GamersNexus)
  • - [StarCraft](https://www.mobygames.com/game/378/starcraft/)
  • - [F.E.A.R. series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/6004/fear-series/)
  • - [The Simpsons: Hit & Run](https://www.mobygames.com/game/10421/the-simpsons-hit-run/)
  • - [Deus Ex](https://www.mobygames.com/game/1749/deus-ex/)
  • - [BioShock](https://www.mobygames.com/game/29886/bioshock/)
  • - [Crazy Taxi series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/514/crazy-taxi-series/)
  • - [Nissan GT-R](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nissan_GT-R)
  • - [Hyper Gunsport](https://www.mobygames.com/game/196718/hyper-gunsport/)
  • - [Ico](https://www.mobygames.com/game/5158/ico/)
  • - [Dog Patch](https://www.mobygames.com/game/124316/dog-patch/)
  • - [Jurassic Park (1993)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jurassic_Park_(film))
  • - [Friends](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Friends)
  • - [Nope (2022)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nope_(film))
  • - [Another World](https://www.mobygames.com/game/564/out-of-this-world/)
  • - [Ecco the Dolphin](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6677/ecco-the-dolphin/)
  • - [Critter Crunch](https://www.mobygames.com/game/44931/critter-crunch/)
  • - [Magical Drop](https://www.mobygames.com/game/57163/magical-drop/)
  • - [Money Puzzle Exchanger](https://www.mobygames.com/game/35678/money-puzzle-exchanger/)
  • - [AstroPop Deluxe](https://www.mobygames.com/game/16122/astropop-deluxe/)
  • - [Zuma](https://www.mobygames.com/game/105918/zuma/)
  • - [Who Shot Mr. Burns?](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Who_Shot_Mr._Burns%3F)
  • - [Angry Birds](https://www.mobygames.com/game/46396/angry-birds/)
  • - [Scorched Earth](https://www.mobygames.com/game/402/scorched-earth/)
  • - [Who shot J.R.?](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Who_shot_J.R.%3F)
  • - [I Love Bees](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/I_Love_Bees)
  • - [Mortal Kombat II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/600/mortal-kombat-ii/)
  • - [NBA Jam](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6609/nba-jam/)
  • - [The Tower of Druaga](https://www.mobygames.com/game/19625/the-tower-of-druaga/)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom](https://www.mobygames.com/game/203119/the-legend-of-zelda-tears-of-the-kingdom/)
  • - [Spelunky](https://www.mobygames.com/game/62698/spelunky/)
  • - [Fez](https://www.mobygames.com/game/55694/fez/)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Frank**: [Unofficial Rent-A-Hero No.1 Translation](https://www.patreon.com/posts/unofficial-rent-82280112), use actual games saves and not save states if you’re using the Redream emulator, the [Xbox Elite Controller](https://www.xbox.com/en-US/accessories/controllers/elite-wireless-controller-series-2)
    **Tim**: the [Xbox Elite Controller](https://www.xbox.com/en-US/accessories/controllers/elite-wireless-controller-series-2), the [Analogue Duo](https://www.analogue.co/duo)
    **Brandon:** talk to your relatives about trans rights issues

    This week’s Insert Credit Show is brought to you by [Egglien](https://store.steampowered.com/app/1994440/Egglien/), and [patrons like you](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit). Thank you.

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    @“Jaffe”#p116825 exactly!!

    >

    @“esper”#p116820 What games have successfully ripped off older games without anyone really noticing? (49:17)

    I think anyone who cares more than a little bit about Vampire Survivors knows that it drew heavily from a Korean-made game called Magic Survival, but so much of the reportage around indie success stories is still steeped in capitalistic jackpot fantasy that people sort of handwave that fact.

    A more definitive example, perhaps: Konami's Tiny Toon Adventures (NES), which came and went as one of a million SMB3 clones but, decades later, was determined to have copied so many specific mechanical elements with such exactness that it could only have been the result of direct reverse-engineering: https://upsilandre.over-blog.com/2021/10/du-clonage-chez-konami.html 🇫🇷

    >

    What’s the best non-game feature a gaming console has ever had? (18:32)

    Since we've previously determined that the Windows PC is a gaming console, I'm gonna say the best non-game feature it has is that video of a guy smoking a blunt in Amish country.

    @“gsk”#p116841 I don‘t know how many francophones are going to read the article in French but it proves that some programmers on Konami’s NES team were copying assembly code wholesale. Wouldn't that be a good show question: what game is so similar to another that it must have copied its code?

    Oh BTW, @gsk, thank you for the link, I immediately subscribed with RSS to that great blog!

    @“buy-frank-lewd-mags”#p116845 Upsilandre is a great follow. They have a secondary Twitter account specifically dedicated to archiving their in-depth threads (that eventually become blog posts later on).

    >

    @“Mnemogenic”#p116843 I’m gonna say the best non-game feature it has is that video of a guy smoking a blunt in Amish country.

    [
    He's up smoking big doinks in Amish Heaven ](https://www.nj.com/entertainment/2018/05/young_king_dave_dead_at_19_smokin_doinks_amish.html)

    Whether intentional or not, the long-running gag of the cast continually failing to react to Jaffe's jokes is, at least to me, hilarious.

    @Jaffe I just want you to know that at least I heard

    >

    ... oh so it's just _za_ then?

    and laughed

    i cackled at “could superman eat captain america's shield ?”

    Hello, just registered to say that whenever I hear talk of The Tower of Druaga I start singing the aforementioned title to the tune of Boney M's “Rivers of Babylon”.

    Appreciated.

    I saw this notification while really sleepy and my first thought was “oh nice Christine Love is back on the show”


    Mainichi Issho and Weekly Toro Station were my favorite applications on any Sony platform. I liked Mainichi a bit more than Weekly Toro Station since it did literally update almost every day, and if you watched enough updates, you could possibly receive points or items from them that you could use to decorate Toro's room. Some of the Metal Gear updates were really good, and I believe he interviewed a cardboard cutout of Snake at some point.

    I'm happy we got at least one (1) Toro dynamic theme for the PS4, but it's one of several on the JP side. I'm still bitter at Astro Bot getting any attention when Toro is still right there. At least he gets a cameo in the little Astro Bot PS5 game...

    Hey gang. Haven’t posted for ages but the first question spurred me to come back and say hello.

    Growing up in Australia in the 90s, people would often refer to finishing a game by saying “I clocked it”.

    As time went on I would say that this more specifically referred to 100%ing a game, but it was definitley used in place of beat or finished.

    @“therealdadsy”#p116894 It‘s always fun to get an australian perspective on terms and slang because it always comes from a place I never would’ve thought of.

    >

    @“esper”#p116820 When have game developers best anticipated player behavior? (44:21)

    Still a big fan of the cheat menu in Spider-Man on the PS1. If you enter a swear word, Spider-man pops up and punches the word, and it transforms into a nice word like "flower" or "puppy"

    >

    @“therealdadsy”#p116894 Growing up in Australia in the 90s, people would often refer to finishing a game by saying “I clocked it”.

    can confirm. wow i havent heard that in ages

    side note: i do still say 'clocked' to mean 'noticed', like 'they clocked me walking in' or 'you clocked it/me straight away'. is that specifically australian too?

    @“exodus”#p116896 you never think of australia?? yeah mate fair enough hey

    >

    @“goonbag”#p116898 do still say ‘clocked’ to mean ‘noticed’, like ‘they clocked me walking in’ or ‘you clocked it/me straight away’. is that specifically australian too?

    I'm American and I use clocked for this purpose. There's an association with gender and trans stuff, too. Clocked in this context means recognized as trans, the opposite of passing. But I'm familiar with it simply meaning "noticed" too.