Ep. 289 - Foamstar Runner

### Ep. 289 - Foamstar Runner

Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers and Brandon Sheffield cover that big Sony event, art styles for games, and the thrilling return of Violence Island. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers, and Brandon Sheffield. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. How ‘bout that Playstation showcase? (05:13)
  • 2. Other than “realistic,” “cel shaded,” and “pixel art,” name some video game art styles. (18:20)
  • 3. Write some of those in-game Elder Scrolls books. (24:44)
  • 4. What would make those in-game Elder Scrolls books worth reading? (27:50)
    Insert Credit Quick Break - [Sully: A Very Serious RPG](https://store.steampowered.com/app/1895490/Sully_A_Very_Serious_RPG/) (29:42)
  • 5. LeFish asks: What is the finding out that Santa isn’t real of video games? (31:26)
  • 6. Tim Rogers asks: HotB, or sofubi? (35:06)
  • 7. What car should be in every video game with cars? (43:02)
  • 8. When do you block, when do you dodge, and when do you parry? (49:26)
  • 9. Is there a system you’ve played every game for? (53:56)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND:** Violence Island (58:37)

    Recommendations and Outro (01:09:47)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Elio's Family Restaurant](https://eliosdining.com/)
  • - [Elder Scrolls series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/125/elder-scrolls-series/)
  • - [Playstation 2023 Showcase](https://www.theverge.com/2023/5/24/23734469/sony-playstation-showcase-2023-news-announcements)
  • - [Bungie announces Marathon, a new sci-fi PvP extraction shooter](https://www.theverge.com/23735830/bungie-marathon-sci-fi-pvp-extraction-shooter)
  • - [Marathon](https://www.mobygames.com/game/22079/marathon/)
  • - [Escape from Tarkov](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Escape_from_Tarkov)
  • - [Capcom announces Dragon's Dogma 2](https://www.polygon.com/23171878/dragons-dogma-2-release-date-capcom-trailer)
  • - [Final Fantasy XVI - Awakening Trailer](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yr6PtdY0i7M)
  • - [The Metal Gear Solid 3 remake is officially happening](https://www.theverge.com/23735626/playstation-showcase-metal-gear-solid-3-delta-snake-eater-remake)
  • - [Metal Gear series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/380/metal-gear-series/)
  • - [Silent Hill 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/5870/silent-hill-2/)
  • - [Panzer Dragoon Saga](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7436/panzer-dragoon-saga/)
  • - [All our burning Qs about PlayStation’s Project Q](https://www.theverge.com/23737403/sony-playstation-portable-project-q-questions)
  • - [Destiny](https://www.mobygames.com/game/68327/destiny/)
  • - [Logitech G Cloud review - no one's handheld](https://www.techradar.com/reviews/logitech-g-cloud-review)
  • - [PlayStation VR2](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_VR2)
  • - [Splatoon series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/11875/splatoon-series/)
  • - [Foamstars is a wild foam party Splatoon-like from Square Enix](https://www.polygon.com/23736518/foamstars-trailer-playstation-showcase-square-enix)
  • - [Jade Raymond's Haven Studios announces new PVP heist game](https://www.polygon.com/23736464/fairgames-trailer-jade-raymond-haven-studio-sony-playstation-showcase)
  • - [Here's a look at promising puzzle sequel The Talos Principle 2](https://www.eurogamer.net/heres-a-look-at-promising-puzzle-sequel-the-talos-principle-2)
  • - [Phantom Blade Zero: release date, trailer, and everything to know](https://www.polygon.com/23737538/phantom-blade-zero-release-date-developer-s-game)
  • - [Revenant Hill is the latest game from Night in the Woods developer](https://www.theverge.com/23736602/revenant-hill-trailer-night-in-the-woods-prequel-glory-society)
  • - [Mario Kart 8](https://www.mobygames.com/game/65975/mario-kart-8/)
  • - [Katamari series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/4708/katamari-series/)
  • - [New Super Mario Bros. series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/14925/new-super-mario-bros-series/)
  • - [Homestar Runner](https://homestarrunner.com/)
  • - [Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines](https://www.mobygames.com/game/44445/terminator-3-rise-of-the-machines/)
  • - [Ore no Ryōri](https://www.mobygames.com/game/60907/ore-no-ryori/)
  • - [Suzuki Bakuhatsu](https://www.mobygames.com/game/68534/suzuki-bakuhatsu/)
  • - [Final Fantasy VII](https://www.mobygames.com/game/858/final-fantasy-vii/)
  • - [Shadow Madness](https://www.mobygames.com/game/5887/shadow-madness/)
  • - [Lost Odyssey](https://www.mobygames.com/game/33332/lost-odyssey/)
  • - [Fast X (2023)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fast_X)
  • - [Santa Claus](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Santa_Claus)
  • - [Dark Souls](https://www.mobygames.com/game/53619/dark-souls/)
  • - [Hot-B Co., Ltd.](https://www.mobygames.com/company/3889/hot-b-co-ltd/)
  • - [Detonator Orgun](https://www.mobygames.com/game/55522/detonator-orgun/)
  • - [Pokémon games](https://www.mobygames.com/group/475/pokemon-universe/)
  • - [Legend of Zelda series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/596/legend-of-zelda-series/)
  • - [Shigeru Miyamoto](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shigeru_Miyamoto)
  • - [Cyberpunk 2077](https://www.mobygames.com/game/128136/cyberpunk-2077/)
  • - [Elden Ring](https://www.mobygames.com/game/174989/elden-ring/)
  • - [Castlevania: Symphony of the Night](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3739/castlevania-symphony-of-the-night/)
  • - [Castlevania Composer Michiru Yamane Goes On Rant Backing Trump](https://www.thegamer.com/castlevania-michiru-yamane-donald-trump/)
  • - [King of Fighters series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/478/king-of-fighters-series/)
  • - [Saudi Arabia now owns 96% of SNK](https://www.pcgamer.com/saudi-arabia-now-owns-96-of-snk/)
  • - [Hideki Naganuma](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hideki_Naganuma)
  • - [Bad Santa (2003)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bad_Santa)
  • - *[Fatman* (2020)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fatman_(2020_film))
  • - [Violent Night (2022)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Violent_Night)
  • - [Detective Crashmore (2021)](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zieppd4yABQ)
  • - [Detroiters](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Detroiters)
  • - [Honda Prelude](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Honda_Prelude)
  • - [Subaru WRX](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subaru_WRX)
  • - [Sega Rally series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8081/sega-rally-series/)
  • - [Kamata Fiera](https://ridgeracer.fandom.com/wiki/Kamata_Fiera)
  • - [Ridge Racer series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/375/ridge-racer-series/)
  • - [Burnout series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/1322/burnout-series/)
  • - [Scribblenauts series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/9749/scribblenauts-series/)
  • - [Toyota Corolla](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_Corolla)
  • - [Toyota Camry](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_Camry)
  • - [Toyota GR Corolla](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_GR_Corolla)
  • - [Toyota Prius](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_Prius)
  • - [Chevrolet Spark](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chevrolet_Spark)
  • - [Chevrolet Volt](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chevrolet_Volt)
  • - [God Hand](https://www.mobygames.com/game/27017/god-hand/)
  • - [Street Fighter series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/379/street-fighter-series/)
  • - [Bloodborne](https://www.mobygames.com/game/72089/bloodborne/)
  • - [Guilty Gear series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/3869/guilty-gear-series/)
  • - [Time Crisis series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/497/time-crisis-series/)
  • - [Cool Boarders](https://www.mobygames.com/game/9125/cool-boarders/)
  • - [Gamate](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gamate)
  • - [GameKing](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GameKing)
  • - [Mega Duck](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mega_Duck)
  • - [PC Engine SuperGrafx](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PC_Engine_SuperGrafx)
  • - [32X](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/32X)
  • - [Neo Geo Pocket Color](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neo_Geo_Pocket_Color)
  • - [Atari 7800](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atari_7800)
  • - [Atari Jaguar](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atari_Jaguar)
  • - [Super A'Can](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Super_A%27Can)
  • - [3DO](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/3DO_Interactive_Multiplayer)
  • - [CD-i](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CD-i)
  • - [MobyGames](https://www.mobygames.com/)
  • - [Herman Melville](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Herman_Melville)
  • - [King James Bible For Use On Game Boy](https://www.mobygames.com/game/28680/king-james-bible-for-use-on-game-boy/)
  • - [King James VI and I](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_VI_and_I)
  • - [Ving Rhames](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ving_Rhames)
  • - [King James Bible For Use On Game Boy screenshots](https://www.mobygames.com/game/28680/king-james-bible-for-use-on-game-boy/screenshots/)
  • - [Buck Bumble](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buck_Bumble)
  • - [Mister Mosquito](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mister_Mosquito)
  • - [Bayonetta](https://bayonetta.fandom.com/wiki/Bayonetta_(character))
  • - [Bullet Witch](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bullet_Witch)
  • - [E-102 Gamma](https://sonic.fandom.com/wiki/E-102_Gamma)
  • - [Robo](https://chrono.fandom.com/wiki/Robo)
  • - [Baby](https://supermonkeyball.fandom.com/wiki/Baby)
  • - [Mature](https://snk.fandom.com/wiki/Mature)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Brandon:** [Fight Back to School (1991)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fight_Back_to_School), [PinkPantheress](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PinkPantheress)
    **Tim**: Hang out in the [discord.gg/actionbutton](http://discord.gg/actionbutton) Goblin Bunker, abandon all social media
    **Frank**: Hear Tim out

    This week’s Insert Credit Show is brought to you by [Sully: A Very Serious RPG](https://store.steampowered.com/app/1895490/Sully_A_Very_Serious_RPG/?ref=insertcredit.com), and [patrons like you](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit?ref=insertcredit.com). Thank you.

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    ONE DAY EARLY (so we can all watch the succession finale)

    Did Konami say something about putting Metal Gear Ghost Babel in that new collection? Frank bringing it up is the first I'm hearing about it

    >

    @“esper”#p117603 Hot-B Co., Ltd.

    He Is Over There Because

    He = misinformation
    Over there = Wikis
    Because = [Brandon](https://twitter.com/necrosofty/status/1390891595386343428?lang=en)

    Whoa I 100% forgot it was even close to Monday

    Buck Bumble did have multiplayer PVP so you could technically mod Mr. Mosquito in duke it out. But gosh darn that multiplayer was not good.

    Bless you Jaffe for calling everyone's bluff on knowing what an “extraction shooter” is.

    I want to see romhacks/mods adding Shigeru Miyamoto to the credits of every game now. Maybe even doing it egregiously like replacing every reference to Kojima in MGS5 (including the NPC) with Miyamoto.

    @“DavidNoo”#p117644 My job is to be the non-expert

    @“DavidNoo”#p117644 Excited to hear this conversation because I had to ask my forum friends what it was too and @sdate came to my rescue.

    @Jaffe re: your “not misrepresenting time played” thing

    i was playing a psp game on my vita the other day, and put it to sleep, turned it on the next day and saved... it COUNTED ALL THAT TIME. says 15 hours! i played maybe 4!

    i considered restarting the game. i feel yr pain

    @“brillpickle”#p117684 that happened a lot with my. Ps4. I had like 200 hours logged on a game I played a couple times

    Can someone fill me in on Naganuma's reputation/actions?

    I fully agree that the PS5 Wii U has very limited use cases. It feels to me like Sony's just trying to get make a competing “handheld” anyway it can. Going for streaming, which is so laggy and undependable (specially in countries where the internet/wifi quality is not great like Mexico where I live) feels like a weak move.

    @“AlbaTross”#p117693 Based on what I can tell he’s got a reputation of being publicly horny for 18-19 year old girls

    @“Jaffe”#p117696 @“AlbaTross”#p117693 he and I also had a big conversation about whether “normalf*g” was a good and fun term to use (I said it wasn't, he decided to listen to everyone who said it was just in good fun)

    I'm hoping to one day see tim cruising down the beltline on that nice wavy section in his GR Corolla

    I want to see more painting styles represented in games like Fauvism or Pointillism. Though I guess you can put your face up to a CRT and that's sort of like Pointillism.

    when brandon was describing non-Newgrounds flash art styles my immediate thought was Popcap