Ep. 301 - SimCommune, with Liz Ryerson

### Ep. 301 - SimCommune, with Liz Ryerson

Insert Credit regular [Liz Ryerson](http://ellaguro.com/) joins the panel to cover refreshed questions about the state of game journalism, romhacks, and running studios as co-ops. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Brandon Sheffield, and Liz Ryerson. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. What the hell is wrong with game journalism? (03:56)
  • 2. Back in April of 2020, the panel was asked about the long term effects of the COVID outbreak on video games. What were they? (11:25)
  • 3. Liz Ryerson asked: What’s the hot new genre of video game in the year 2050? (20:17)
  • 4. Liz Ryerson asked: What’s your favorite romhack? (24:06)
  • 5. Which games have the most accurate names? (30:52)
  • 6. Who should get a PlayStation 5, and who should get an Xbox Series X? (35:22)
  • 7. Can a video game studio feasibly be run as a co-op? (41:27)
  • 8. How much fun should you put in a game before it starts making money? (46:42)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND:** The Ten Commandments of Video Games (52:45)

    Recommendations and Outro (55:30)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [EarthBound](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6676/earthbound/)
  • - [G/O Media reportedly fires Kotaku editor-in-chief Patricia Hernandez](https://www.gamesindustry.biz/go-media-fires-kotaku-editor-in-chief-patricia-hernandez)
  • - [Yelling Is Not Journalism](https://insertcredit.com/opinion/igns/)
  • - [ContraPoints](https://www.youtube.com/user/ContraPoints)
  • - [Animal Crossing: New Horizons](https://www.mobygames.com/game/141533/animal-crossing-new-horizons/)
  • - [Doom](https://www.mobygames.com/game/78860/doom/)
  • - [A Short Hike](https://www.mobygames.com/game/125707/a-short-hike/)
  • - [Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder's Revenge](https://www.mobygames.com/game/185858/teenage-mutant-ninja-turtles-shredders-revenge/)
  • - [Fortnite: Battle Royale](https://www.mobygames.com/game/104208/fortnite-battle-royale/)
  • - [More metaverse concerts are coming to Fortnite](https://www.theverge.com/2022/8/25/23321395/fortnite-charlie-puth-metaverse-concert-iheartland)
  • - [100 gecs Hosting Square Garden Music Festival in Minecraft](https://pitchfork.com/news/100-gecs-hosting-square-garden-music-festival-in-minecraft/)
  • - [Mariah Carey](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mariah_Carey)
  • - [Rasputin Music](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rasputin_Music)
  • - [Unpacking](https://www.mobygames.com/game/174628/unpacking/)
  • - [Ooblets](https://www.mobygames.com/game/148201/ooblets/)
  • - [Legend of Zelda series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/596/legend-of-zelda-series/)
  • - [World of WarCraft](https://www.mobygames.com/game/15620/world-of-warcraft/)
  • - [Cruelty Squad](https://www.mobygames.com/game/156947/cruelty-squad/)
  • - [B3313](https://b3313.fandom.com/wiki/B3313)
  • - [Yume Nikki](https://www.mobygames.com/game/44624/yume-nikki/)
  • - [Super Mario 64](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3533/super-mario-64/)
  • - [Mother 3 Fan Translation](http://mother3.fobby.net/)
  • - [Mother 3](https://www.mobygames.com/game/29870/mother-3/)
  • - [Private Eye Dol Fan Translation](http://stargood.org/trans/pidol.php)
  • - [Fushigi no Yume no Alice Fan Translation](https://www.romhacking.net/translations/6353/)
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog: Triple Trouble](https://www.mobygames.com/game/26919/sonic-the-hedgehog-triple-trouble/)
  • - [Star Fox](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6629/star-fox/)
  • - [Phantasy Star Retranslation Project](https://github.com/maxim-zhao/psrp)
  • - [Mortal Kombat Arcade Edition](https://www.romhacking.net/hacks/6446/)
  • - [Super Mario Bros. Peach's Adventure](https://archive.org/details/super-mario-bros.-peachs-adventure_20230429)
  • - [Doom](https://www.mobygames.com/game/1068/doom/)
  • - [MyHouse.wad](https://www.doomworld.com/forum/topic/134292-myhousewad/)
  • - [A.L.T.](https://www.doomworld.com/idgames/levels/doom2/Ports/megawads/alt)
  • - [The Doom Mod That Best Describes Our Uncanny Reality](https://www.vice.com/en/article/paq5bz/alt-doom-mod-stalker)
  • - [Watch_Dogs](https://www.mobygames.com/game/66948/watch_dogs/)
  • - [Mr. Run and Jump](https://www.mobygames.com/game/206445/mr-run-and-jump/)
  • - [Dino Crisis](https://www.mobygames.com/game/2822/dino-crisis/)
  • - [Virtua Quest](https://www.mobygames.com/game/81325/virtua-quest/)
  • - [You Have to Win the Game](https://www.mobygames.com/game/65518/you-have-to-win-the-game/)
  • - [Stephen's Sausage Roll](https://www.mobygames.com/game/87896/stephens-sausage-roll/)
  • - [Soccer](https://www.mobygames.com/game/8624/soccer/)
  • - [Mahjong](https://www.mobygames.com/game/47961/mahjong/)
  • - [Golf](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7316/golf/)
  • - [Videoball](https://www.mobygames.com/game/79738/videoball/)
  • - [Virtual Soccer](https://www.mobygames.com/game/41172/virtual-soccer/)
  • - [Virtual Pinball](https://www.mobygames.com/game/14633/virtual-pinball/)
  • - [David's Midnight Magic](https://www.mobygames.com/game/19099/davids-midnight-magic/)
  • - [Digital Pinball: Necronomicon](https://www.mobygames.com/game/51589/digital-pinball-necronomicon/)
  • - [Montezuma's Revenge](https://www.mobygames.com/game/1178/montezumas-revenge/)
  • - [Tetris](https://www.mobygames.com/game/42119/tetris/)
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6579/sonic-the-hedgehog/)
  • - [Mario Bros.](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7301/mario-bros/)
  • - [Super Mario Bros.](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7298/super-mario-bros/)
  • - [Grand Theft Auto series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/167/grand-theft-auto-series/)
  • - [PlayStation 5](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_5)
  • - [Xbox Series X and Series S](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xbox_Series_X_and_Series_S)
  • - [EA FIFA / EA Sports FC series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/183/ea-fifa-ea-sports-fc-series/)
  • - [Quake II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/207099/quake-ii/)
  • - [Slayers X: Terminal Aftermath - Vengance of the Slayer](https://www.mobygames.com/game/203941/slayers-x-terminal-aftermath-vengance-of-the-slayer/)
  • - [Baldur's Gate III](https://www.mobygames.com/game/150689/baldurs-gate-iii/)
  • - [Wizardry games](https://www.mobygames.com/group/114/wizardry-games/)
  • - [Astarion](https://baldursgate3.wiki.fextralife.com/Astarion)
  • - [Saints Row series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8629/saints-row-series/)
  • - [Play Your Favorite Arcade Games Today with Antstream Arcade on Xbox](https://news.xbox.com/en-us/2023/07/21/play-arcade-games-with-antstream-arcade-on-xbox/)
  • - [KO_OP](https://www.ko-opmode.com/)
  • - [F.I.S.T.: Forged in Shadow Torch](https://www.mobygames.com/game/172229/fist-forged-in-shadow-torch/)
  • - [Wolfenstein 3D](https://www.mobygames.com/game/306/wolfenstein-3d/)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Brandon:** [Avengement (2019)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Avengement)
    **Frank**: [12 Angry Men (1957)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/12_Angry_Men_(1957_film)), [Fargo (1996)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fargo_(1996_film)), [The Making of Karateka](https://store.steampowered.com/app/1163060/The_Making_of_Karateka)
    **Liz**: [Peking Opera Blues (1985)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peking_Opera_Blues), [To the White Sea](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/to-the-white-sea/id1677795107), [follow Liz’s music on Bandcamp](https://ellaguro.bandcamp.com)

    This week’s Insert Credit Show is brought to you by [patrons like you](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit). Thank you.

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    The joke was before the recording started liz said she went to long island and I said how long was it

    It was so aggressively stupid that I couldn't make myself do it a second time!! It's not even a joke!! It's like a brain disease to say that stuff. So anyway that's what that intro is about

    @“exodus”#p129489 seems like a fine joke to me

    What do Brandon's jokes, and someone who is asked what it means when a piece of land is surrounded by water, both say?

    >!

    “I(s)land”

    @“Gaagaagiins”#p129491 With violence, I land

    Another great podcast! Just for your information I‘m typing this out on my vinyl player you Gen X ers always seem to talk about (I’ve got Gears POP! downloaded on my phone)


    I realized from the 2050 discussion that I don‘t think video games right now are that different from what they were in the year 2000, so in 2050 they’ll also probably be the same I dunno.

    It's actually kinda funny if you look at the wikipedia Year 2000 in Video Games article. Because it's like, new diablo, new final fantasy, jet set radio, new baldur's gate, new zelda. It's a familiar year, from where I'm sitting!

    The Ten Commandments bit made me want a Bible where every part is changed to video game quotes.

    Like Deuteronomy 23:1 "No one who has been emasculated by crushing or cutting may enter the assembly of the Lord."

    Could easily be "Avoid missing ball for high score"

    Maybe the book of Genesis (that's the book of Mega Drive for European Christians) has to specifically be Sega quotes.

    not my place to say perhaps, but I‘ve noticed some pushback from the panel about Jaffe’s questions and I don‘t think that’s right. In fact, I think it would be nice if they said “thank you for the question” before they respond

    @“yeso”#p129522 I think I won Brandon over in the end. He was dreading a clip show from the initial premise, which was my intention to evoke, and to then subvert with thoughtful curation and remixing.

    I mean after 301 episodes (roughly 2408 questions) you would think there'd be a thank you for the question at some point

    Insert Credit 2408. The Video Game.

    insert credit

    the best monday and/or sunday podcast


    >

    Liz Ryerson asked: What’s your favorite romhack?

    [URL=https://i.imgur.com/A7sf7se.jpg][IMG]https://i.imgur.com/A7sf7se.jpg[/IMG][/URL]

    I admit that Kotaku confuses me. Sometimes their staff produce some fantastic writing, but sometimes their content is a mess. It‘s very frustrating. I really do worry when people talk down Kotaku, though, because even though G/O Media has issues, some of this is wrapped up in GamerGate, which isn’t the origin of things but certainly plays a role. I don‘t want to give GGers any credit whatsoever, and I also want to make sure those writers who are fighting to publish good content get supported. I don’t want Kotaku gone. I want it to be better. And the writers are unionized, so that's something good!

    ughhh god i am so buying that making of karateka

    excited for that

    chill eppisode

    im gonna play a bunch of bomb rush cyber funk now >:3

    >

    @“marurun”#p129577 I admit that Kotaku confuses me. Sometimes their staff produce some fantastic writing, but sometimes their content is a mess

    It's actually very simple: the writers are good and the people who tell those writers what to write are bad.

    TIL how to say Karateka. Anyone else overemphasize the syllables of stuff they've read but never heard aloud (care-uh-take-uh)?

    Anyway, the Making of Karateka sounds fascinating, and I don't know how they pitch that audience either.

    I love Liz Ryerson episodes!

    I've been binging all episodes. I started listening around 250 - > most recent, then 120-250 and now am on my way through 1-119 (currently on 83) and enjoyed the throwback questions.
    Great job, panelists and host!

    It's amazing how fast the podcast improved it's quality and never really lost its essence. You guys predict a lot of industry stuff years before happening.

    Up to this point, i'd like to put emphasis on a few things i recall:

  • - _Nanaca Crash_ was mentioned 3 times (1-83, 120- most recent one), mostly by Brandon
  • - Frank is the one who talks about _Leisure Suit Larry_ the most
  • - Tim predicted the Corgi pokémon (_Yamper_) and the Switch OLED