Ep. 302 - Gaba’d by the Goolies

### Ep. 302 - Gaba’d by the Goolies

The panel you just can’t get enough of covers immediate pick-up-and-play-right-now games, Charles Marinet’s departure as Mario, and the stunning return of Violence Island. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers, and Brandon Sheffield. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. Tim Rogers asks: what’s the deal with people thinking you need to have played earlier games in a triple-A franchise’s newest release? (04:56)
  • 2. Brandon Sheffield asks: What are five games you could play any time? (14:04)
  • 3. What does a Mario Ambassador do? (23:00)
  • 4. Seth asks: If you could replace one of your arms with the arm of a video game character, whose arm would you pick? (34:36)
  • 5. If you could only judge real world animals by the way they were presented in video games, how would your opinions on animals be different? (39:07)
  • 6. What was the most significant “sliding doors” moment in video game history? (42:27)
  • 7. What happens when a player reports a bug in a video game? (47:28)
  • 8. What are the Mario and Sonic of food? (49:15)
  • 9. Tim Rogers asks: What if Charles Martinet just starts his own video game company, and like he makes a new character named Charlieo? (53:36)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND:** Violence Island Season 3 (55:13)

    Recommendations and Outro (01:15:26)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - Diablo IV
  • - [Baldur's Gate III](https://www.mobygames.com/game/150689/baldurs-gate-iii/)
  • - [Final Fantasy XVI](https://www.mobygames.com/game/204724/final-fantasy-xvi/)
  • - [Armored Core VI: Fires of Rubicon](https://www.mobygames.com/game/207710/armored-core-vi-fires-of-rubicon/)
  • - [Street Fighter 6](https://www.mobygames.com/game/203910/street-fighter-6/)
  • - [87% Missing: the Disappearance of Classic Video Games](https://gamehistory.org/87percent/)
  • - [Street Fighter: 30th Anniversary Collection](https://www.mobygames.com/game/99454/street-fighter-30th-anniversary-collection/)
  • - [Resident Evil series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/374/biohazard-resident-evil-series/)
  • - [Legend of Zelda series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/596/legend-of-zelda-series/)
  • - [Dragon Quest series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/436/dragon-warrior-dragon-quest-series/)
  • - [Kingdom Hearts series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/2842/kingdom-hearts-series/)
  • - [Metal Gear series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/380/metal-gear-series/)
  • - [Final Fantasy VII: Remake](https://www.mobygames.com/game/141485/final-fantasy-vii-remake/)
  • - [Super Smash Bros. Ultimate](https://www.mobygames.com/game/110476/super-smash-bros-ultimate/)
  • - [Castlevania: Harmony of Dissonance](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7232/castlevania-harmony-of-dissonance/)
  • - [Gunstar Heroes](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6581/gunstar-heroes/)
  • - [Ys series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/1497/ys-series/)
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/584/sonic-the-hedgehog-universe/)
  • - [Battle Garegga](https://www.mobygames.com/game/63055/battle-garegga/)
  • - [Donkey Kong Country](https://www.mobygames.com/game/5199/donkey-kong-country/)
  • - [H.E.R.O.](https://www.mobygames.com/game/10150/hero/)
  • - [Shark! Shark!](https://www.mobygames.com/game/10582/shark-shark/)
  • - [Minesweeper](https://www.mobygames.com/game/4828/minesweeper/)
  • - [Picross series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/6020/picross-series/)
  • - [Doom 64](https://www.mobygames.com/game/5195/doom-64/)
  • - [Turok: Dinosaur Hunter](https://www.mobygames.com/game/2203/turok-dinosaur-hunter/)
  • - [Quake series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/12/quake-series/)
  • - [Another World](https://www.mobygames.com/game/564/out-of-this-world/)
  • - [Castlevania: Rondo of Blood](https://www.mobygames.com/game/16246/castlevania-rondo-of-blood/)
  • - [Cadash](https://www.mobygames.com/game/15986/cadash/)
  • - [Super Mario Bros. 3](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7300/super-mario-bros-3/)
  • - [Blazing Lazers](https://www.mobygames.com/game/17635/blazing-lazers/)
  • - [Galactic Attack](https://www.mobygames.com/game/36903/galactic-attack/)
  • - [Charles Martinet Retires From Longtime Voice Role Of Nintendo's Mario](https://deadline.com/2023/08/charles-martinet-nintendo-mario-1235523914/)
  • - [Conan O'Brien meets Charles Martinet](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F0JR6VP9h5M)
  • - [Disney DuckTales: Remastered](https://www.mobygames.com/game/61870/disney-ducktales-remastered/)
  • - [Banjo-Kazooie](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3583/banjo-kazooie/)
  • - [Super Mario Bros. Wonder](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Super_Mario_Bros._Wonder)
  • - [Super Mario Galaxy](https://www.mobygames.com/game/31282/super-mario-galaxy/)
  • - [The Super Mario Bros. Movie (2023)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Super_Mario_Bros._Movie)
  • - [Coach](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coach_(TV_series))
  • - [Coach Ernie Pantusso](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coach_Ernie_Pantusso)
  • - [Craig T. Nelson](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Craig_T._Nelson)
  • - [Dead Rising](https://www.mobygames.com/game/23514/dead-rising/)
  • - [Enchanted Arms](https://www.mobygames.com/game/25899/enchanted-arms/)
  • - [Wild Arms series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/1334/wild-arms-series/)
  • - [Ruin Arm](https://www.mobygames.com/game/14180/ruin-arm/)
  • - [Loadout: Arm Floaties](https://www.mobygames.com/game/162619/loadout-arm-floaties/)
  • - [Arms](https://www.mobygames.com/game/90128/arms/)
  • - [Mega Man series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/193/mega-man-rockman-series/)
  • - [Dizzy series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/361/dizzy-series/)
  • - [Thousand Arms](https://www.mobygames.com/game/8433/thousand-arms/)
  • - [Rayman series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/288/rayman-series/)
  • - [Plok](https://www.mobygames.com/game/22321/plok/)
  • - [Just Arms](https://www.mobygames.com/game/197622/just-arms/)
  • - [Bayonetta](https://www.mobygames.com/game/43659/bayonetta/)
  • - [Cooking Mama](https://www.mobygames.com/game/22521/cooking-mama/)
  • - [Ecco the Dolphin](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6677/ecco-the-dolphin/)
  • - [E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial](https://www.mobygames.com/game/8874/et-the-extra-terrestrial/)
  • - [Tetris](https://www.mobygames.com/game/42121/tetris/)
  • - [Super Mario 64](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3533/super-mario-64/)
  • - [Pilotwings](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6632/pilotwings/)
  • - [Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/10197/mario-sonic-at-the-olympic-games-series/)
  • - [Inti Creates](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inti_Creates)
  • - [Ceaseless Discharge](https://darksouls.wiki.fextralife.com/Ceaseless+Discharge)
  • - [Gargantua Blargg](https://www.mariowiki.com/Gargantua_Blargg)
  • - [Mario](https://www.mariowiki.com/Mario)
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog](https://sonic.fandom.com/wiki/Sonic_the_Hedgehog)
  • - [Browny](https://contra.fandom.com/wiki/Browny)
  • - [Robbit](https://jumping-flash.fandom.com/wiki/Robbit)
  • - [The Noid](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Noid)
  • - [Mr. Domino](https://www.giantbomb.com/mr-domino/3005-4/)
  • **Recommendations:**

    **Brandon:** Adopt [this dog I’ve been fostering](https://www.petfinder.com/dog/juice-66228450/ca/lafayette/underdog-animal-rescue-ca2285/) if you’re a single person or a couple without children, [Steve Stanchfield's Video Collection (Thunderbean)](https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLKUaurxzzOJycMyZGBI7jvWznXAgo0zTI)

    **Frank**: Mini golf is pretty fun still

    This week’s Insert Credit Show is brought to you by [patrons like you](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit). Thank you.

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    Coolest Guy, signing off

    >

    Seth asks: If you could replace one of your arms with the arm of a video game character, whose arm would you pick? (34:36)

    RISTAR!!!!

    yahoo!

    ill listen to this tomorrow morning

    i watched a bunch of furuhata ninzaburo tonight and its now almost midnight


    I’m having breakfast listening to the episode. Thought I’d answer Brandon’s question before I heard any answers.

    What are five games you could play any time?

  • - Noby Noby Boy
  • - Katamari Damacy
  • - Tetris Plus
  • - Street Fighter 3: 3rd Strike
  • - Final Fantasy XII, which is the odd one out.
  • Has an all homework episode happened? The start of this episode prompted me to imagine what that would look like. I think it would be fun and also irritate Frank.

  • - Halo 3/Reach - Especially since you can level select a mid-game mission (the horde mode in Reach, which I played hours of), you can really just drop into action. The classic moon jump feels so good and the guns work right. If I want a little bit of fps action, this is a go-to. And the visuals hold up impossibly well.
  • - Elden Ring - I did this recently. Just fired it up, ran around a few areas and started smacking dudes. It feels like returning to my college campus. _Yes this area is mine. I know all your secrets_
  • - _Doom_ (any of them really) - surprised this one didn't come up
  • - _Into the Breach_ - I fire up this game once a year just to play a few levels and remember how dangerous this is for me.
  • - ~~_Cookie Clicker_~~ - ~~I do play this any time~~
  • Great episode - very entertaining while working! Loved Brandon's question about what games to play anytime mainly because he said Picross, which I still play randomly on the DS even now. And not just that I worked on Q&A for it at Nintendo and saved them from a very embarrasing localisation issue, but you can pick it up and put it down so easily and still feel like you played a game!

    Also Nathan Spencer's arm from Bionic Commando would be best - Mike Patton can voice it so if I need entertainment it could sing to me.

    … GABA?

    [URL=https://i.imgur.com/9XGnlL3.png][IMG]https://i.imgur.com/9XGnlL3.png[/IMG][/URL]

    >

    Seth asks: If you could replace one of your arms with the arm of a video game character, whose arm would you pick? (34:36)

    I am surprised nobody among the panel went for Link’s magic arm in TOTK, given the (entire?) panel has just recently played the game and would still be rather accustomed to the versatility and usability of each power in a real life situation.

    Would having Mega Man’s arm give you his copy ability when you kill someone of significant authority? Or is that specific ability independent from the Mega Buster?

    >

    What was the most significant “sliding doors” moment in video game history? (42:27)

    Ralph Baer not getting that "brown box" pet project approved at Sanders.

    Universal Studios winning that Donkey Kong v. King Kong trial.

    Atari agreeing to handle the Famicom in the West.

    [Sega waiting and releasing the successor to the Mega Drive in 1996, rather than 1994.](https://forums.insertcredit.com/d/366-lets-fix-the-sega-timeline/25)

    Brandon deciding that it’s too much of a hassle to set up that Ukraine relief bundle.

    Boring answer but it’s probably still the cancelled Nintendo Playstation, given the tremendous impact of Sony’s Playstation on modern video games.

    Maybe the only thing trumping that would be 2600-era Atari being awarded their proposal of patenting video game genres (e.g. if Atari released a chess game, nobody else would be allowed to release another chess game) but that ruling would have been so murky that it would have most likely never held for long anyway…

    Sonic 2 (got up to hill top zone last night)

    Civ 5 (dangerous to start up tho)

    FF7

    Vampire Survivors

    Magic Arena, if that counts

    i got a miyoo mini plus and that thing is the ultimate bedtime handheld. excited to dive into dozens of games that before seemed like too much of a hassle because i'd have to "sit down and play" em

    @“穴”#p130488 Would it make the noise and everything?

    @“esper”#p130534 My Miyoo mini is the perfect go to for a quick blast of gaming when time permits. The instant load feature on Onion OS is amazing!

    Edited :Plus - i forget it's the bigger model!

    >

    @“Mnemogenic”#p130518 Has an all homework episode happened?

    We call these ranking episodes.

    “What the hell is wrong with videogames” was also prepped. I had everyone coordinate 3 talking points each.

    >

    @“TomoftheFog”#p130520 saved them from a very embarrasing localisation issue

    WELL!? Don't leave us hanging unless you contractually must

    great episode as always

    five games i could play at any time…. hmmm

  • - noita
  • - nuclear throne
  • - zeroranger
  • - cookie clicker
  • - everyday shooter
  • this is a tough question
    but these 5 come to mind
    im a sucker for games that have that replay ability/arcade-esque gameplay loops
    4 out of these 5, starting a new run is just like plunking in a quarter (without the quarter!)

    @“exodus”#p130547 No NDA here!

    I worked in Germany for NOE on Q&A and localisation back in 2006 - we had the text come over and one of the translators took a flower name from Japanese to English as "morning glory". I logged an amazing ticket about how that was a very popular slang for waking up happy (I was more graphic in the ticket) and so they changed it.

    Needless to say no one was left hanging... ;)

    i was out walking with my dog in the park and that ducktales/charles part made me laugh so hard I had tears

    @“DavidNoo”#p130557 so after i posted i immediately watched the linked video in the notes which was pretty funny and then I watched another video that autoplayed and I was like “he seems like an alright dude” and then I just straight up googled Charles Martinet and am lmao on the ground because of the results

    @“DavidNoo”#p130561 Now that's a look