Ep. 303 - Updates on Development for the 3DO, with Max Krieger

### Ep. 303 - Updates on Development for the 3DO, with Max Krieger

Game developer and streamer [Max Krieger](https://www.aqualounge.tv/) joins the panel to discuss booing Elon Musk, the worst year for video games in the 21st century, and Eurobeat. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers, and Max Krieger. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IzhJJqBG6_c

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. Which living person would be booed the loudest if they appeared at a video game tournament? (05:43)
  • 2. How do you know if a puzzle game is too hard? (11:13)
  • 3. What kind of immersive arcade experience has no one ever really tried before, or not tried hard enough? (16:43)
  • 4. What was the worst year for video games from 2000 to 2020? (23:42)
  • 5. You have a GDC panel but need to make sure that zero people attend. What do you title it?(30:22)
  • 6. Spencer Gifts asks: Which Japanese game is the most American, and which American game is the most Japanese? (36:12)
  • 7. When in visual design is ugliness a feature? (43:50)
  • 8. What is the Planet of the Bass of video games? (49:29)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND:** Box Office Bomb Reviews (54:22)

    Recommendations and Outro (01:04:08)

    [Discuss this episode in the Insert Credit Forums](https://forums.insertcredit.com/)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - Mary Schneider - Yodelling The Classics
  • - [In Utero](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/In_Utero)
  • - [Bad](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bad_(album))
  • - [Nevermind](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nevermind)
  • - [Steve Albini](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steve_Albini)
  • - [No Strings Attached](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/No_Strings_Attached_(NSYNC_album))
  • - [Aqua](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aqua_(band))
  • - [Barbie (2023)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barbie_(film))
  • - [Elon Musk trolled by Valorant fans](https://www.polygon.com/gaming/23849085/elon-musk-valorant-champions-tournament-boos)
  • - [Valorant](https://www.mobygames.com/game/146290/valorant/)
  • - [Henry Kissinger](https://www.motherjones.com/politics/2023/05/henry-kissinger-at-100-still-a-war-criminal/)
  • - [Call of Duty: Black Ops - Cold War](https://www.mobygames.com/game/153502/call-of-duty-black-ops-cold-war/)
  • - [EA Voted Worst Company in America, Again](https://www.forbes.com/sites/insertcoin/2013/04/09/ea-voted-worst-company-in-america-again/)
  • - [David Cage](https://kotaku.com/david-cages-quantic-dreams-accused-of-being-a-toxic-wor-1822068440)
  • - [Todd Howard](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Todd_Howard)
  • - [Stephen's Sausage Roll](https://www.mobygames.com/game/87896/stephens-sausage-roll/)
  • - [The Witness](https://www.mobygames.com/game/76709/the-witness/)
  • - [Jonathan Blow](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jonathan_Blow)
  • - [Threes!](https://www.mobygames.com/game/67672/threes/)
  • - [Baba Is You](https://www.mobygames.com/game/112739/baba-is-you/)
  • - [Crossniq+](https://www.mobygames.com/game/135061/crossniq/)
  • - [GameWorks](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GameWorks)
  • - [BattleTech Centers](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BattleTech_Centers)
  • - [Melty Blood games](https://www.mobygames.com/group/9591/tsukihime-melty-blood-games/)
  • - [Kessen](https://www.mobygames.com/game/4241/kessen/)
  • - [SSX](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3570/ssx/)
  • - [Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/21922/tony-hawks-pro-skater-2/)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3550/the-legend-of-zelda-majoras-mask/)
  • - [Baldur's Gate II: Shadows of Amn](https://www.mobygames.com/game/2465/baldurs-gate-ii-shadows-of-amn/)
  • - [Final Fantasy IX](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3556/final-fantasy-ix/)
  • - [Wii Sports](https://www.mobygames.com/game/25099/wii-sports/)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess](https://www.mobygames.com/game/25103/the-legend-of-zelda-twilight-princess/)
  • - [The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion](https://www.mobygames.com/game/21735/the-elder-scrolls-iv-oblivion/)
  • - [The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6280/the-elder-scrolls-iii-morrowind/)
  • - [The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim](https://www.mobygames.com/game/53545/the-elder-scrolls-v-skyrim/)
  • - [BioShock Infinite](https://www.mobygames.com/game/60152/bioshock-infinite/)
  • - [The Last of Us](https://www.mobygames.com/game/60922/the-last-of-us/)
  • - [DmC: Devil May Cry](https://www.mobygames.com/game/59494/dmc-devil-may-cry/)
  • - [Grand Theft Auto V](https://www.mobygames.com/game/62275/grand-theft-auto-v/)
  • - [God of War series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/7242/god-of-war-series/)
  • - [Candy Crush Saga](https://www.mobygames.com/game/61070/candy-crush-saga/)
  • - [Grand Theft Auto V: Online Edition](https://www.mobygames.com/game/108916/grand-theft-auto-v-premium-online-edition/)
  • - [Beyond: Two Souls](https://www.mobygames.com/game/76570/beyond-two-souls/)
  • - [Willem Dafoe](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Willem_Dafoe)
  • - [Elliot Page](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elliot_Page)
  • - [Detroit: Become Human](https://www.mobygames.com/game/105139/detroit-become-human/)
  • - [Game Developers Conference](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Game_Developers_Conference)
  • - [Will Wright](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Will_Wright_(game_designer))
  • - [Spore](https://www.mobygames.com/game/36030/spore/)
  • - [Advance Wars](https://www.mobygames.com/game/4990/advance-wars/)
  • - [Hideo Kojima](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hideo_Kojima)
  • - [P.T.](https://www.mobygames.com/game/70757/pt/)
  • - [Gex](https://www.mobygames.com/game/8333/gex/)
  • - [Metal Wolf Chaos](https://www.mobygames.com/game/40881/metal-wolf-chaos/)
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6611/sonic-the-hedgehog-2/)
  • - [Shadow Madness](https://www.mobygames.com/game/5887/shadow-madness/)
  • - [Final Fantasy VII](https://www.mobygames.com/game/858/final-fantasy-vii/)
  • - [Septerra Core: Legacy of the Creator](https://www.mobygames.com/game/661/septerra-core-legacy-of-the-creator/)
  • - [MTV's Beavis and Butt-Head in Virtual Stupidity](https://www.mobygames.com/game/2470/mtvs-beavis-and-butt-head-in-virtual-stupidity/)
  • - [Shadowgate](https://www.mobygames.com/game/1070/shadowgate/)
  • - [Shovel Knight](https://www.mobygames.com/game/67038/shovel-knight/)
  • - [The Black Onyx](https://www.mobygames.com/game/18757/the-black-onyx/)
  • - [Binary Domain](https://www.mobygames.com/game/55126/binary-domain/)
  • - [Vanquish](https://www.mobygames.com/game/48763/vanquish/)
  • - [Yuke’s Co.](https://www.mobygames.com/company/1937/yukes-co-ltd/)
  • - [Space Funeral](https://www.mobygames.com/game/74253/space-funeral/)
  • - [Mortal Kombat games](https://www.mobygames.com/group/87/mortal-kombat-games/)
  • - [Paul Verhoeven](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paul_Verhoeven)
  • - [Gears of War](https://www.mobygames.com/game/25761/gears-of-war/)
  • - [Quantum Theory](https://www.mobygames.com/game/53821/quantum-theory/)
  • - [Planet of the Bass](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Planet_of_the_Bass)
  • - [Space Channel 5](https://www.mobygames.com/game/5764/space-channel-5/)
  • - [Bust A Groove](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3840/bust-a-groove/)
  • - [EarthBound](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6676/earthbound/)
  • - [Yume Nikki](https://www.mobygames.com/game/44624/yume-nikki/)
  • - [Hypnospace Outlaw](https://www.mobygames.com/game/123473/hypnospace-outlaw/)
  • - [Bomb Rush Cyberfunk](https://www.mobygames.com/game/207427/bomb-rush-cyberfunk/)
  • **Recommendations:**

    **Frank**: [The Video Game History Hour Ep. 117: Nintendo Knitting Machine](https://gamehistory.org/ep-117-nintendo-knitting-machine/)

    **Max**: [Aqualounge.tv](https://www.aqualounge.tv/), [Indiepocalypse](https://itch.io/c/689872/indiepocalypse)

    This week’s Insert Credit Show is brought to you by [patrons like you](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit). Thank you.

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    My first album, too, was “No Strings Attached” by N*Sync.

    And it so happens that I *will* be in southern Florida this week, and I just may visit 10th Level Tavern.

    My first album was Millennium by the Backstreet Boys, but I do specifically remember going with my mom to her friends house at like 4 years old to burn a cd of The Dance by Fleetwood Mac, which I listened to hundreds of times before I ended up getting my own CD. My sister's first CD was the single of “Oops!… I Did It Again” by Britteny Spears. It was was a rough time to grow up—the pop music was bad, 9/11, etc.

    Cool episode! Really enjoyed the addition of Max and some great questions too (nice work @“Jaffe”#205)

    The first album I ever bought myself was "The Real Thing" by Faith No More. Still holds up even now and "From Out of Nowhere" is still in my top 5 songs of all time!
    However (and this could be a confession as well), the first album I ever owned was a prize in a school raffle where we could choose what we wanted. I was taken in by this amazing looking vinyl which stood out compared to all the other prizes.

    "1987" by Whitesnake.

    I stand by my choice!

    I haven‘t listened to the episode but the first album I bought for myself was they might be giants don’t let‘s start ep when I was 9. The second was Napalm Death’s Scum. lol

    lmao regrettably my first album I ever owned was New And Used Hits by ApologetiX, a Christian parody band. It‘s as bad as you hope it is. For example, here’s their parody of “In The End” by Linkin Park.

    https://youtu.be/GX-ah9r0MXo?feature=shared

    The first _good_ album was probably [_Brothers_ by The Black Keys](https://album.link/i/1052966893). "Everlasting Light" is one of those grooves that will forever be in my bones.

    https://youtu.be/oE2U01cUHE0?feature=shared

    I have a very bad memory, but the first album I bought with my own money was almost certainly either: Fatboy Slim Halfway Between the Gutter and the Stars or Daft Punk Discovery. There is a slight chance it is On the Floor at the Boutique, which I think I got around the same time as Gutter.

    My first album was Beck‘s Odelay. 11 year old me saw the video for Where It’s At and became obsessed with getting the cassette, even though I had never been interested in music before that. Second album, fittingly for today, was Smash Mouth's Fush Yu Mang.

    I think the most American Japanese game might be a city/business management game. Maybe it's SimCity for the SNES or Yoot Tower?

    i think that the first cds that i got for myself was citizen steely dan (a collection of steely dan albums up to gaucho)

    i love steely dan

    ive listened to them maybe almost too much lol

    but i still love it

    my first CD was the Animaniacs soundtrack which my mom let me pick when she was signing up for one of those 15 CDs for $5 promotions at Columbia House.

    a lot of y'all have some pretty good not-too-embarrassing first albums. my second album was L.P. by The Rembrandts which i found at a Goodwill for $3.00 and i got because i loved the TV show Friends. i almost lied and said this was my first album, just to see if i could have the most embarrassing one.

    first piece of music owned: oasis “Don't Look Back In Anger” cassette tape with a cover of Come On Feel The Noise on the back

    first album owned: The Simpsons Sing the Blues (gift, along with cd player)

    first CD I ever bought myself: Hello Nasty by the Beastie Boys

    My first album was Sugar Ray‘s 14:59 on a cassette. I don’t remember how I‘d even heard of them, or if I’d heard any of the music before I bought it. But I was pretty into Sugar Ray after that for a few years after that, until I discovered hard rock and went down that route. I was pretty young when I first got it, maybe 5th grade?

    >!having just listened to planet of the bass earlier today, then hearing that end quote…!<

    is this what it‘s like to get a pop-culture based joke not from the context surrounding it?

    (i feel like usually with a joke like that i either just don’t get it, or i have to work forwards from vague knowledge and backwards from the joke's structure/content to get it, but this time i just laughed without having to do any work!)

    yay max!! i'm going to be annoying and plug the interview i did with him for superjump about aqualounge. he was great to talk to then and great to listen to here!

    the first album i owned (was given) was britney spears _...baby one more time._ my first album i bought with my own money was yellowcard _lights and sounds._ "lol"

    >

    @“esper”#p131516 Steve Albini

    Albini Babies

    First album that was ever mine alone was a CD of Random Access Memories by Daft Punk, which I received as a Christmas gift in seventh grade (I really liked “Get Lucky”). Still love that album!! Kind of a weird one for a kid that didn’t know anything about music considering its historical/celebratory bent, but it got me listening to Chic and Donna Summer much earlier than I otherwise would have.

    First album I bought for myself was an _In the Aeroplane Over the Sea_ LP. I was in ninth grade at the time, and to this day I think it’s really silly that I only started listening to Neutral Milk Hotel because they featured a song from _On Avery Island_ in an episode of _Parks and Recreation_. I was still blissfully unaware of that album’s post-2010 resurgence on 4chan and Reddit.

    When I was a kid I used to glue myself via headphones to the hi-fi tuner and listen to David Bowie The Singles Collection. The first album I properly owned though was Fever to Tell by YYYs. Then again, I definitely choreographed dance routines for the neighborhood kids to the first half of the Vengaboys Party Album.

    Probably the first CD album I actually bought was Manipulator by Fall of Troy, but that wasn‘t until I was 19. I wasn’t really a money haver.

    The first album I ever bought with my own money was also Nevermind I bought Use Your Illusion Part II in the same purchase, but I don't like to talk about that