Ep. 305 - Trouble Bobble, with Mathew Kumar and MoxBagel

### Ep. 305 - Trouble Bobble, with Mathew Kumar and MoxBagel

Insert Credit Scottish Correspondent [Mathew Kumar](https://everygame.tumblr.com/) joins the panel to answer MoxBagel’s questions on Dragon Quest’s art style, mutants without souls, and Zom Brady. Hosted by MoxBagel, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers, and Mathew Kumar. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. When has depriving you of your equipment or weapons felt best in a video game? (05:19)
  • 2. What video game house would you want to live in? (08:40)
  • 3. What other Bobble genres should Taito explore? (12:16)
  • 4. How big of an influence on Dragon Quest is Toriyama's art? (16:02)
  • 5. What would be the best type of game to release in weekly small installments over 5-6 months like a TV show? (21:33)
  • 6. What futuristic sports game would make the best transition to real life, assuming an unlimited budget? (28:29)
  • 7. Has any game captured the elegant action of Yuen Woo Ping's fight choreography? (34:34)
  • 8. What game is most improved by promoting and powering up the lowliest enemy to be the final boss? (40:18)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND:** Scottish Games Shootout (43:22)

    Recommendations and Outro (53:10)

    [Discuss this episode in the Insert Credit Forums](https://forums.insertcredit.com/)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door](https://www.mobygames.com/game/15199/paper-mario-the-thousand-year-door/)
  • - [Final Fantasy VII](https://www.mobygames.com/game/858/final-fantasy-vii/)
  • - [Densha de Go! Final](https://www.mobygames.com/game/34023/densha-de-go-final/)
  • - [Karateka](https://www.mobygames.com/game/1268/karateka/)
  • - [The Making of Karateka](https://www.mobygames.com/game/208114/the-making-of-karateka/)
  • - [Wolfenstein: The New Order](https://www.mobygames.com/game/65716/wolfenstein-the-new-order/)
  • - [Nintendo Brain Game series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/5076/nintendo-brain-game-series/)
  • - [Final Fantasy VI](https://www.mobygames.com/game/180087/final-fantasy-vi/)
  • - [Fortnite: Battle Royale](https://www.mobygames.com/game/104208/fortnite-battle-royale/)
  • - [The Last Express](https://www.mobygames.com/game/1172/the-last-express/)
  • - [Train](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Train_(board_game))
  • - [Uncharted 2: Among Thieves](https://www.mobygames.com/game/42918/uncharted-2-among-thieves/)
  • - [Star Wars: Shadows of the Empire](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3105/star-wars-shadows-of-the-empire/)
  • - [Unreal Tournament](https://www.mobygames.com/game/587/unreal-tournament/)
  • - [Animal Crossing series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/4468/animal-crossing-series/)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom](https://www.mobygames.com/game/203119/the-legend-of-zelda-tears-of-the-kingdom/)
  • - [Castlevania: Symphony of the Night](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3739/castlevania-symphony-of-the-night/)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening](https://www.mobygames.com/game/4267/the-legend-of-zelda-links-awakening/)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild](https://www.mobygames.com/game/84595/the-legend-of-zelda-breath-of-the-wild/)
  • - [Super Metroid](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6627/super-metroid/)
  • - [Metroid Prime](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7783/metroid-prime/)
  • - [Days Gone](https://www.mobygames.com/game/125834/days-gone/)
  • - [Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6692/super-mario-rpg-legend-of-the-seven-stars/)
  • - [Tomb Raider series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/68/tomb-raider-series/)
  • - [Perfect Dark](https://www.mobygames.com/game/4034/perfect-dark/)
  • - [Final Fantasy VIII](https://www.mobygames.com/game/1149/final-fantasy-viii/)
  • - [Alan Wake](https://www.mobygames.com/game/46408/alan-wake/)
  • - [Grand Theft Auto series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/167/grand-theft-auto-series/)
  • - [Cyberpunk 2077](https://www.mobygames.com/game/128136/cyberpunk-2077/)
  • - [System Shock](https://www.mobygames.com/game/681/system-shock/)
  • - [Yakuza / Ryū ga Gotoku series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8208/yakuza-ryu-ga-gotoku-series/)
  • - [Bubble Bobble](https://www.mobygames.com/game/787/bubble-bobble/)
  • - [Bust-A-Move](https://www.mobygames.com/game/5518/bust-a-move/)
  • - [Bubblen Roulette](https://bubblebobble.fandom.com/wiki/Bubblen_Roulette)
  • - [Elevator Action Returns](https://www.mobygames.com/game/17195/elevator-action-ii/)
  • - [The Ninja Warriors](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7637/the-ninja-warriors/)
  • - [Space Invaders](https://www.mobygames.com/game/8806/space-invaders/)
  • - [Pocky & Rocky series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/7069/pocky-rocky-series/)
  • - [Toki: Going Ape Spit](https://www.mobygames.com/game/12234/toki-going-ape-spit/)
  • - [Hatsune Miku licensees](https://www.mobygames.com/group/10481/hatsune-miku-licensees/)
  • - [Power Blade](https://www.mobygames.com/game/12333/power-blade/)
  • - [Chase H.Q.](https://www.mobygames.com/game/9832/chase-hq/)
  • - [Kick Master](https://www.mobygames.com/game/18675/kick-master/)
  • - [Lucky & Wild](https://www.mobygames.com/game/149022/lucky-wild/)
  • - [Dragon Quest series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/436/dragon-warrior-dragon-quest-series/)
  • - [Akira Toriyama](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Akira_Toriyama)
  • - [Rumiko Takahashi](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rumiko_Takahashi)
  • - [Jean Giraud](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jean_Giraud)
  • - [Dr. Slump](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dr._Slump)
  • - [Wizardry games](https://www.mobygames.com/group/114/wizardry-games/)
  • - [Panzer Dragoon](https://www.mobygames.com/game/2897/panzer-dragoon/)
  • - [Sam & Max licensees](https://www.mobygames.com/group/6520/sam-max-licensees/)
  • - [Kentucky Route Zero](https://www.mobygames.com/game/61122/kentucky-route-zero/)
  • - [Succession](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Succession_(TV_series))
  • - [The Great](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Great_(TV_series))
  • - [Bill Laimbeer's Combat Basketball](https://www.mobygames.com/game/27205/bill-laimbeers-combat-basketball/)
  • - [Speedball series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/211/speedball-series/)
  • - [Cyberball](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7789/cyberball/)
  • - [Blood of Heroes AKA The Salute of the Jugger (1989)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Salute_of_the_Jugger)
  • - [Jugger](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jugger)
  • - [Quidditch](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quidditch)
  • - [Rocket League](https://www.mobygames.com/game/73767/rocket-league/)
  • - [Soccer Brawl](https://www.mobygames.com/game/57266/soccer-brawl/)
  • - [Sensible World of Soccer](https://www.mobygames.com/game/2945/sensible-world-of-soccer/)
  • - [Mutant League Football](https://www.mobygames.com/game/10318/mutant-league-football/)
  • - [XFL](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/XFL_(2020))
  • - [Anthony Fauci](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anthony_Fauci)
  • - [Yuen Woo-ping](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yuen_Woo-ping)
  • - [Shachō Eiyūden: The Eagle-Shooting Heroes](https://www.mobygames.com/game/21493/shacho-eiyuden-the-eagle-shooting-heroes/)
  • - [Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon](https://www.mobygames.com/game/18762/crouching-tiger-hidden-dragon/)
  • - [Jet Li: Rise to Honor](https://www.mobygames.com/game/13250/jet-li-rise-to-honor/)
  • - [Punch-Out!!](https://www.mobygames.com/game/64010/punch-out/)
  • - [Dark Souls III](https://www.mobygames.com/game/77737/dark-souls-iii/)
  • - [Super Mario Bros.](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7298/super-mario-bros/)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Mathew:** the [Games for the Weans Scottish Game Sale](https://neonhive-newsroom.prezly.com/ninja-kiwi-nerial-and-nocode-amongst-scots-devs-involved-in-games-for-the-weans-scottish-games-steam-sale)
    **Frank**: [The Video Game History Hour](https://gamehistory.org/the-video-game-history-hour/)
    **MoxBagel**: [Raining in the Mountain (1975)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Raining_in_the_Mountain)

    This week’s Insert Credit Show is brought to you by [patrons like you](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit). Thank you.

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    just started the ep but I'm surprised the main thing people remember about the Phantom Train is suplexing it.

    definitely my enduring memory is that you can end the fight on the very first turn by using a Phoenix Down on the train. as a 12-year-old kid the idea that you could defeat a ghost boss in one turn by bringing it back to life absolutely blew my mind.

    mox bagel and mathew kumar means this is a rare and highly collectible podcast episode

    I like that train in FF8 that you have to climb on and do secret crime to.

    I was just thinking recently that it's been too long since Mathew has been on the show, hell yeah

    Great job Mox! Just as last time he hosted, all of these questions are refinements of ones he’s submitted before to the Dirtbag. I helped him curate which ones would work best on the episode, and I think it turned out nice.

    The Games for the Weans / GCHC recommendation is a good one - my little brother spent a bunch of childhood hours playing a hospital Mega CD courtesy of that very charity.

    great episode

    cronos house in chrono trigger seems real comfy


    >

    @“Jaffe”#p133719 all of these questions are refinements of ones he’s submitted before to the Dirtbag

    y'all refined the dirtbag into a claybag!

    Cool episode - very nicely played.

    Missed a great opportunity for a Bubble Bobble beat-em-up though. Where Bub and Bob go to rescue Bub's girlfriend from the Black Warriors gang.

    Bobble Dragon.

    I'll get me coat.

    In Orthodox Judaism, we don’t give our baby names to the public until 8 days after the birth, which is when the ritual circumcision takes place when applicable.

    My favorite video game train is the train levels in Wario Land: Super Mario Land 3

    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=94E1BuAQO6o

    Best train: Yakuza 2


    I caught that Monster Factory reference you muttered under your breath, Mox

    @“Jaffe”#p133752

    I just hit the pitches that fly over the plate lol

    Btw if anyone is looking for what distinguishes Yuen Woo Ping from others even in his typical genre please watch Iron Monkey. There's a non combat king fu scene that is simply gorgeous (also the finale goes nuts)

    Every dog is the dog that refreshes if you ask me

    the final boss of the original bubble bobble is Super Drunk which seems like would be appropriate for the gta-narc trouble bobble game

    As a person making a nominally episodic game series (and who at one point attempted to make a weekly episodic game series), one of my frustrations is that Telltale kind of poisoned the well in regards to what “episodic games” means (although this is also part of a larger trend with TV series as well). Most of the Telltale games, in addition to most prestige TV, is less Episodic and more Serialized. It‘s a single continuous story broken into parts. I think this partially contributes to the "I’ll wait until it‘s done" mentality that was mentioned on the podcast. This leads to the situation where, when I’m talking about my own episodic game series, I have to explain that it's “Less like The Walking Dead, and more like Star Trek, where each episode is mostly a self-contained story with the same set of characters and maybe some continuing story in the background.”

    Like they alluded to on the Podcast, a lot of classic JRPGs, particularly the Dragon Quest games, actually have a very Episodic structure even if they're not released episodically.

    @“AlecS”#p133776 Great profile pic!

    My favourite train level is from Goldeneye, I used to smash that level non-stop.

    I think VNs suit the episodic structure best, or at least that is how I tend to play them. Like I'm putting time into 13 Sentinels currently, it's best if I play a chapter in a sitting - which I treat as it's own episode. I haven't played Asura's Wrath but it came to mind as a game that filled the bill.