Ep. 307US - Tomorrowind, with Christa Lee

### Ep. 307US - Tomorrowind, with Christa Lee

Console modification expert Christa Lee joins our stateside panel to answer the same gauntlet of questions 8-4 Play faced in episode 307J. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers, and Christa Lee. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. How has Japanese corporate culture manifested itself in the history of game development? (03:29)
  • 2. What are Japanese arcades like right now? (08:54)
  • 3. Design an online multiplayer game where the mechanics are intended to incorporate international time zone differences. (14:43)
  • 4. Jaffe’s NieR Automata Dilemma: How is it that sometimes a video game sequel or follow-up can be technically better than the previous one in every way, but you don’t like it as much? (20:32)
  • 5. What’s your approach to game localization purity? (28:19)
  • 6. Which game studio has produced the most good games without releasing ANY bad ones? (37:31)
  • 7. What is the “But doctor, I *am* Pagliacci!” of video games? (48:02)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND:** First Person Pronouns (55:31)

    Recommendations and Outro (01:07:48)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Merzbow](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Merzbow)
  • - [Swans](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Swans_(band))
  • - [Ep. 307J - Podcast Swap Situation, with 8-4 Play](https://insertcredit.com/show/307j/)
  • - [8-4 Play](https://8-4.jp/podcasts/?ref=insertcredit.com)
  • - [No More Heroes series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/9301/no-more-heroes-series/)
  • - [Rising Sun (1993)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rising_Sun_(film))
  • - [OutRun 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/15252/outrun-2/)
  • - [Gunslinger Stratos](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gunslinger_Stratos)
  • - [Jeans Mate](https://www.jeansmate.co.jp/)
  • - [Yakuza / Ryū ga Gotoku series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8208/yakuza-ryu-ga-gotoku-series/)
  • - [Phantasy Star Online](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3573/phantasy-star-online/)
  • - [Final Fantasy XI Online](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6663/final-fantasy-xi-online/)
  • - [Swatch Internet Time](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Swatch_Internet_Time)
  • - [Satellaview](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Satellaview)
  • - [1 vs. 100](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1_vs._100_(2009_video_game))
  • - [HQ Trivia](https://www.mobygames.com/game/151267/hq-trivia/)
  • - [Scott Rogowsky](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scott_Rogowsky)
  • - [Death Stranding](https://www.mobygames.com/game/136593/death-stranding/)
  • - [Braid](https://www.mobygames.com/game/35529/braid/)
  • - [Lemnis Gate](https://www.mobygames.com/game/172919/lemnis-gate/)
  • - [NieR](https://www.mobygames.com/game/46486/nier/)
  • - [NieR: Automata](https://www.mobygames.com/game/84102/nier-automata/)
  • - [Crash Bandicoot series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/470/crash-bandicoot-series/)
  • - [Final Fantasy XIV Online](https://www.mobygames.com/game/48497/final-fantasy-xiv-online/)
  • - [Donkey Kong Country series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8396/donkey-kong-country-series/)
  • - [Assassin's Creed series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8195/assassins-creed-series/)
  • - [Elder Scrolls series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/125/elder-scrolls-series/)
  • - [Mega Man / Rockman series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/193/mega-man-rockman-series/)
  • - [Super Mario series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/10044/super-mario-series/)
  • - [Grand Theft Auto V](https://www.mobygames.com/game/62275/grand-theft-auto-v/)
  • - [Red Dead Redemption series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/9887/red-dead-redemption-series/)
  • - [Ys series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/1497/ys-series/)
  • - [Maneater](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maneater_(Hall_%26_Oates_song))
  • - [Calamity Jane](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calamity_Jane)
  • - [Final Fantasy VII games](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8248/final-fantasy-vii-games/)
  • - [War and Peace](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/War_and_Peace)
  • - [Constance Garnett](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Constance_Garnett)
  • - [Persona 5](https://www.mobygames.com/game/86408/persona-5/)
  • - [Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 4](https://www.mobygames.com/game/38259/shin-megami-tensei-persona-4/)
  • - [Dragon Ball](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dragon_Ball)
  • - [Capcom](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capcom)
  • - [Exoprimal](https://www.mobygames.com/game/205743/exoprimal/)
  • - [The DioField Chronicle](https://www.mobygames.com/game/191409/the-diofield-chronicle/)
  • - [Dragon Quest series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/436/dragon-warrior-dragon-quest-series/)
  • - [Hudson Soft](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hudson_Soft)
  • - [Rockstar North](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rockstar_North)
  • - [FromSoftware](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FromSoftware)
  • - [Rockstar Games presents Table Tennis](https://www.mobygames.com/game/22531/rockstar-games-presents-table-tennis/)
  • - [Manhunt](https://www.mobygames.com/game/11164/manhunt/)
  • - [Remedy Entertainment](https://www.mobygames.com/company/164/remedy-entertainment-oyj/)
  • - [Quantum Break](https://www.mobygames.com/game/78021/quantum-break/)
  • - [Max Payne series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/1692/max-payne-series/)
  • - [Alan Wake](https://www.mobygames.com/game/46408/alan-wake/)
  • - [Dead Rising](https://www.mobygames.com/game/23514/dead-rising/)
  • - [Far Cry series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/4089/far-cry-series/)
  • - [Far Cry (2008)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Far_Cry_(film))
  • - [EarthBound](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6676/earthbound/)
  • - [Star Wars Outlaws](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Star_Wars_Outlaws)
  • - [Avatar: Frontiers of Pandora](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Avatar:_Frontiers_of_Pandora)
  • - [Peter Jackson's King Kong: The Official Game of the Movie](https://www.mobygames.com/game/20441/peter-jacksons-king-kong-the-official-game-of-the-movie/)
  • - [Watch_Dogs series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/10743/watch_dogs-series/)
  • - [Child of Light](https://www.mobygames.com/game/66059/child-of-light/)
  • - [For Honor](https://www.mobygames.com/game/83670/for-honor/)
  • - [Michael Jackson: The Experience](https://www.mobygames.com/game/138138/michael-jackson-the-experience/)
  • - [Tonic Trouble](https://www.mobygames.com/game/2765/tonic-trouble/)
  • - [Batman: Vengeance](https://www.mobygames.com/game/5190/batman-vengeance/)
  • - [DC Universe Infinite](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DC_Universe_Infinite)
  • - [Batman: Rise of Sin Tzu](https://www.mobygames.com/game/10700/batman-rise-of-sin-tzu/)
  • - [id Software](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Id_Software)
  • - [Valve Corporation](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Valve_Corporation)
  • - [Doogie Howser, M.D.](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doogie_Howser,_M.D.)
  • - [Kingdom Hearts series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/2842/kingdom-hearts-series/)
  • - [Karnov](https://www.mobygames.com/game/77/karnov/)
  • - [StarCraft](https://www.mobygames.com/game/378/starcraft/)
  • - [Diablo II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/1878/diablo-ii/)
  • - [Tooth Protectors](https://www.mobygames.com/game/21492/tooth-protectors/)
  • - [Mortal Kombat games](https://www.mobygames.com/group/87/mortal-kombat-games/)
  • - [Fight Club](https://www.mobygames.com/game/16303/fight-club/)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild](https://www.mobygames.com/game/84595/the-legend-of-zelda-breath-of-the-wild/)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom](https://www.mobygames.com/game/203119/the-legend-of-zelda-tears-of-the-kingdom/)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Tim**: Invite a friend to a movie but don’t tell them what it is, then have them do the same to you. But make sure the movie is interesting, not Expendables 4 or whatever.
    **Christa:** [Void Stranger](https://store.steampowered.com/app/2121980/Void_Stranger/)

    This week’s Insert Credit Show is brought to you by [patrons like you](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit). Thank you.

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    Last week I listened to episode 307J while waiting to board a flight at Logan International Airport (arrived two and a half hours before departure time)

    >

    @“esper”#p135826 Christa: Void Stranger

    Come check out [the thread](https://forums.insertcredit.com/d/2816-warp-zone-game-club-void-stranger/) where a bunch of people on these forums are playing / have played this game rather recently! I've only just barely started it and haven't had a chance to come back to it yet, but Christa's rather strong recommendation at the end of this episode is very similar to the sentiments people have left in that thread

    going in on Constance Garnett damn. 100 years of people saying her translations were bad and now a video game podcast is piling on lol

    I gotta say, I think 8-4 wins.

    Play Void Stranger.

    @“yeso”#p135836 I haven’t read her but from Tim’s description I’m guessing this is one of the cases like the King James Bible where the translation is “localized” to the point of undermining the original language’s meaning and texture, but in a way then becomes its own work in which some people find unique literary merits. (To quote a scholar of video game literature, in an ancient text since lost to history: “While a translation cannot, as a rule, be superior to the source, a localization most certainly can.”)

    My preferences on the localization vs. translation scale honestly depend on the work in question, a lot of the time. If it’s something obviously frivolous and lighthearted, or where the language is just not hugely important in the delivery of meaning, I don’t mind very liberal localization. If it’s a text where communicating relatability and emotional intent are paramount, I think it’s best to adapt the translation around the intent of the language - which may be reliant on culturally specific norms, idioms, etc. - before the lettering. And obviously, if the purpose of the language is primarily to communicate direct “factual” information (exposition, etc.) than the exact meaning and information provided should be carried over as much as can be managed without becoming linguistically unwieldy.

    I tend to really _not_ like translations that try too hard to recreate the exact texture of foreign language and idiom in a different language. I think if you don’t actually speak the source language or anything similar, it simply doesn’t work. It renders an unwieldy, alien construction into the target language that undermines its own meaning and coherency, renders it emotionally foreign in ways the author never intended it to be, and is still nothing like actually examining the original text in its source language. Its appeal is solely as an academic exercise in linguistics, not as a work of human expression or even practical conveyance of information. Recreate tone and subtext as much as possible, but always favor the spirit over the letter of the law, in my book.

    One thing I like about anime is that in between dubs and subs, you often - if the localization is good - get a choice between a more adapted, localized presentation and a more precise, truer-to-the-letter version. Which one I want depends on the work in question, but I think it’s valuable to approach those two types of translation differently and accentuate the merits of each. If you are going to have English-speaking actors _perform_ the script out loud though, for god’s sake, it _must_ sound like something a native English speaker might actually say. There is no approach more “worst of both worlds” than a dubbed game or anime with an ultra-literal script translation. (Looking at you, _Persona_ games.)

    Alexander O. Smith strikes me as one of the best video game translators to ever do it, in that he has a profound grasp of both Japanese and English and can write English dialogue that is rich and readable on its own merits without (at least according to anything I’ve ever heard) sacrificing any meaning from the original script. When he does translate liberally, as in his George RR Martin-like scripts for Yasumi Matsuno games, it’s with the original writers’ blessing and input. I’d be inclined to hold him up as the gold standard for Japanese-to-English localization in video games, and one of the major forces that pushed the field from the Wild West of the 90s into its more mature and consistently professional present state.

    one translation question I hadn‘t considered: the English versions of Fernanda Melchor’s novels were done by a British translator, so the Mexican characters swear UK style with bollocks and stuff like that. Seems weird, but to be fair there's no reason why Mexican Spanish has to = American English swear words other than I guess geographical proximity.

    gonna listen to this podcast while ||smoking weed B)|| (drug use)

    Oira / オイラ



    Goemon is an Oira man. I believe he says it in the introduction to the anime, at least.

    ### [2 Morro Morro Wind](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xwEQeGbUbZI)

    i think 8-4 definitely wins

    but really, we got some chill podcasts, so everyone wins

    now im gonna listen to the Bonus Credit episode >:3
    i hope everyone is having a good monday

    I did stack the deck in 8-4’s favor by writing the questions specifically for them. Next time I’ll ask them about video game preservation

    >

    @“Jaffe”#p135892 I did stack the deck in 8-4’s favor by writing the questions specifically for them. Next time I’ll ask them about video game preservation

    That seems relatively fair, but let it be known that only Insert Credit is a powerful enough podcast panel to be able to handle the heat of the dreaded Dirtbag

    @“Gaagaagiins”#p135899 They were pretty stymied by the “But Doctor, I am Pagliacci” of video games question but that itself was charming

    @“yeso”#p135858 I always felt the UK-translated Xenoblade games were viscerally wrong because the characters talk about bollocks and mum while in all the other games Xeno world anime characters are Americans. I’m sorry but when anime characters speak English they’re Americans. I don’t make the rules.

    Pancho Reyes from Zacatecas: “oi! oi! it‘s gone bleedin tits up, it ’as”

    nothing logically wrong with that. Pure monroe doctrine mindset on my part

    This was also my issue with the movie Death of Stalin. Steve Buscemi didn’t even attempt a Russian accent. Or HBO historical dramas where the Nazis and Soviets are posh English chaps. The ancient Romans, however, did speak British. It is known.

    My personal feeling is that if I had not been on the 8-4 version (jaffe hosted) and had been on this one instead, America would've won

    I believe it‘s been stated before, but this pair of episodes proves to me that the star of the show is the format. Get a group of people that are relatively on the same page regarding video game experience to answer these kinds of questions this kind of way, that’s a good time for this kind of listener.