Ep. 311 - Cathcula, with Phil Salvador

### Ep. 311 - Cathcula, with Phil Salvador

[Phil Salvador](https://obscuritory.com/), library director for the Video Game History Foundation, steps over to the panel for Maxis facts, Five Nights at Freddy’s lore, and pigeon kings. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Tim Rogers, Brandon Sheffield, and Phil Salvador. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

[URL=https://i.imgur.com/pHgTb4C.jpg][IMG]https://i.imgur.com/pHgTb4C.jpg[/IMG][/URL]

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. Do Maxis Sim games have an evolving line of game design you can trace from title to title? (07:29)
  • 2. What else could Maxis have done after The Sims 2? (15:16)
  • 3. What are some interesting regional differences in video games? (22:01)
  • 4. How and why do mass game company layoffs keep happening? (27:37)
  • 5. Without looking anything up, what do you think Five Nights at Freddy’s is about? (34:57)
  • 6. Slightly More Five Nights at Freddy’s talk (44:48)
  • 7. Isla asks: What is a game mechanic or system you really like that is in a game you don't like? (45:57)
  • 8. What would it be like if video games had playable forewords? (56:46)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND:** Who Said It? (01:01:39)

    Recommendations and Outro (01:13:17)

    [Discuss this episode in the Insert Credit Forums](https://forums.insertcredit.com/)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening](https://www.mobygames.com/game/4267/the-legend-of-zelda-links-awakening/)
  • - [Ninja Gaiden](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7703/ninja-gaiden/)
  • - [Bloodborne](https://www.mobygames.com/game/72089/bloodborne/)
  • - [Super Mario World 2: Yoshi's Island](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6602/super-mario-world-2-yoshis-island/)
  • - [Shining Force III](https://www.mobygames.com/game/9744/shining-force-iii/)
  • - [Tori no Hoshi: Aerial Planet](https://www.mobygames.com/game/59869/tori-no-hoshi-aerial-planet/)
  • - [Billy Hatcher and the Giant Egg](https://www.mobygames.com/game/15525/billy-hatcher-and-the-giant-egg/)
  • - [Chocobo](https://finalfantasy.fandom.com/wiki/Chocobo)
  • - [The Matrix Online](https://www.mobygames.com/game/17101/the-matrix-online/)
  • - [Yakuza / Ryū ga Gotoku series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8208/yakuza-ryu-ga-gotoku-series/)
  • - [Maxis](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maxis)
  • - [Firaxis](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Firaxis_Games)
  • - [Sixaxis](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SIXAXIS)
  • - [Sid Meier's SimGolf](https://www.mobygames.com/game/5700/sid-meiers-simgolf/)
  • - [SimGolf](https://www.mobygames.com/game/1246/simgolf/)
  • - [Will Wright](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Will_Wright_(game_designer))
  • - [SimAnt](https://www.mobygames.com/game/1809/simant/)
  • - [SimEarth: The Living Planet](https://www.mobygames.com/game/1835/simearth-the-living-planet/)
  • - [The Sims](https://www.mobygames.com/game/860/the-sims/)
  • - [Marvel Midnight Suns](https://www.mobygames.com/game/195971/marvel-midnight-suns/)
  • - [Spore](https://www.mobygames.com/game/36030/spore/)
  • - [SimTower: The Vertical Empire](https://www.mobygames.com/game/312/simtower-the-vertical-empire/)
  • - [Alexey Pajitnov](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alexey_Pajitnov)
  • - [El-Fish](https://www.mobygames.com/game/314/el-fish/)
  • - [The Sims 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/14877/the-sims-2/)
  • - [The Sims 3](https://www.mobygames.com/game/41069/the-sims-3/)
  • - [Capitalism](https://www.mobygames.com/game/1344/capitalism/)
  • - [Diner Dash](https://www.mobygames.com/game/22237/diner-dash/)
  • - [The Sims Online](https://www.mobygames.com/game/8422/the-sims-online/)
  • - [Kirby games](https://www.mobygames.com/group/493/kirby-games/)
  • - [Crash Bandicoot series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/470/crash-bandicoot-series/)
  • - [Ratchet & Clank series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/2390/ratchet-clank-series/)
  • - [Splatterhouse](https://www.mobygames.com/game/16377/splatterhouse/)
  • - [Exile](https://www.mobygames.com/game/15027/exile/)
  • - [Police Quest 2: The Vengeance](https://www.mobygames.com/game/147/police-quest-2-the-vengeance/)
  • - [Might and Magic](https://www.mobygames.com/game/49135/might-and-magic/)
  • - [J.J. & Jeff](https://www.mobygames.com/game/16519/jj-jeff/)
  • - [DJ Jazzy Jeff](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DJ_Jazzy_Jeff)
  • - [Populous](https://www.mobygames.com/game/613/populous/)
  • - [Peter Molyneux](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peter_Molyneux)
  • - [Destiny 2 dev Bungie facing layoffs](https://www.polygon.com/23939245/bungie-layoffs-destiny-2-final-shape-delay)
  • - [Embracer Group](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Embracer_Group)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom](https://www.mobygames.com/game/203119/the-legend-of-zelda-tears-of-the-kingdom/)
  • - [Baldur's Gate III](https://www.mobygames.com/game/150689/baldurs-gate-iii/)
  • - [Street Fighter 6](https://www.mobygames.com/game/203910/street-fighter-6/)
  • - [Diablo IV](https://www.mobygames.com/game/204085/diablo-iv/)
  • - [Five Nights at Freddy's](https://www.mobygames.com/game/68564/five-nights-at-freddys/)
  • - [Chuck E. Cheese](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chuck_E._Cheese)
  • - [ShowBiz Pizza](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ShowBiz_Pizza_Place)
  • - [The Rock-afire Explosion](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Rock-afire_Explosion)
  • - [USA Store Fanon](https://usastorefanon.fandom.com/wiki/USA_Store_Fanon_Wikia)
  • - [FNaF World](https://www.mobygames.com/game/157602/fnaf-world/)
  • - [Roblox](https://www.mobygames.com/game/74075/roblox/)
  • - [Scott Cawthon](https://kotaku.com/sorry-fnaf-creator-scott-cawthon-political-donations-1847095005)
  • - [Arachnophobia (1990)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arachnophobia_(film))
  • - [The Birds (1963)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Birds_(film))
  • - [The Golem (2018)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Golem_(2018_film))
  • - [The Young Pope](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Young_Pope)
  • - [Five Nights at Freddy's (2023)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Five_Nights_at_Freddy%27s_(film))
  • - [Undertale](https://www.mobygames.com/game/74938/undertale/)
  • - [Robot City](https://www.mobygames.com/game/4794/robot-city/)
  • - [P.N.03](https://www.mobygames.com/game/10347/pn03/)
  • - [God Hand](https://www.mobygames.com/game/27017/god-hand/)
  • - [God of War](https://www.mobygames.com/game/107419/god-of-war/)
  • - [The Last of Us series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/10525/the-last-of-us-series/)
  • - [NieR](https://www.mobygames.com/game/46486/nier/)
  • - [David Cage](https://www.polygon.com/2018/1/14/16890536/quantic-dream-workplace-harassment-allegations)
  • - [Roman Polanski](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roman_Polanski_sexual_abuse_case)
  • - [Martin Scorsese](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Martin_Scorsese)
  • - [Killers of the Flower Moon (2023)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Killers_of_the_Flower_Moon_(film))
  • - [Trouble Is My Business](https://archive.org/details/troubleismybusin0000chan)
  • - [F. Scott Fitzgerald](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/F._Scott_Fitzgerald)
  • - [Toby Fox](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toby_Fox)
  • - [Um Jammer Lammy NOW!](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_TECGwfkGZM)
  • - [Guillermo del Toro](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guillermo_del_Toro)
  • - [Death Stranding](https://www.mobygames.com/game/136593/death-stranding/)
  • - [Æon Flux](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C3%86on_Flux)
  • - [Peter Chung](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peter_Chung)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Phil**: [The Video Game History Foundation](https://gamehistory.org/)
    **Brandon:** [Fushigi](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fushigi) and [Crimson](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crimson_(Akina_Nakamori_album)) by Nakamori Akina

    This week’s Insert Credit Show is brought to you by [patrons like you](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit). Thank you.

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    Finally an episode where I get the most things correct and I still don't win!!

    This episode is for me. I’m excited for this book!

    Sim Diner - see Za Famiresu, Za Famiresu sijyou saikyou no menu, and The Bistro! The first two are like The Conbini but its a restaurant, and The Bistro has a non expansionist view of running a business in which you can turn your profits around to increase the quality of your ingredients rather than to expand your chain. You are also regularly quizzed by diners to give wine recommendations for dishes on your menu from a huge wine database.

    This is a good episode. Phil is cool. I have three thoughts:


  • -

    I am admittedly still classified as a “Rookie” by the language bird, but does Tori no Hoshi translate as birdstar? Is that like if Yasiin Bey and Talib Kweli were rapping tucans instead of people?

  • -

    Last night I played the scene in _Alan Wake Remastered_ where the quest just says “Defeat the birds.” The birds are fine, maybe a little obligatory (is that a bilingual bird pun?), but that text is the best bird text I've seen in a game.

  • -

    I hurt myself laughing at the reveal to the _Halo_ quote and am consulting my attorney re: options.



  • These birds from Sakura Wars are fighting the NYPD which is pretty cool if you ask me.

    >

    @“deepspacefine”#p139262 does Tori no Hoshi translate as birdstar?

    I'd say Bird Planet or Planet of the Birds depending on how you felt. Hoshi means star [but also planet](https://thejapanesepage.com/planets/)! kind of how we might say "journey to the stars" but we are actually going to Rigel VII.

    can confirm religious overtones in horror movies make me press that eject button as fast as possible.

    And you know I was raised Catholic because tim's joke about pretending to sing had me rolling on the floor.

    haven't listened yet so maybe this comes up but when I was living in Orlando in, like, 2013 Aaron Fechter was working with what was only described as “experimental fuels” and blew up a warehouse/loading dock downtown housing the Rock-afire Explosion. Fatz Geronimo is survived by his wife, Esmeralda.

    for good measure

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b90Cf6ARscc

    If you love hatching a chicken from an egg in Shining Force, then boy I can’t wait to tell you about Mothers 1 2 and 3, where the egg is one of the more complex items in all three games.

    From egg, you can:

    Eat it to restore HP

    Eat it with condiments to restore HP

    Boil it in a hot spring and it becomes boiled egg

    Or if you leave it in your inventory, it hatches into a Chick, which will then cause a very tiny, inoffensive peeping sound every once and a while during overworld gameplay. Can be sold for a small cash amount.

    If you wait another cycle, the chick grows into a full grown chicken, which makes a slightly richer, fuller sound effect, and can be sold for a much larger sum.

    Being inside hot areas like a volcano increase the speed of egg incubation.

    The only bird that matters…



    Minute the Time Dominator (1st).

    never understood what’s up with non-ethnic Catholics not singing during mass. How can you resist belting out “On Eagle’s Wings” wtf

    what a wild quote

    https://www.azquotes.com/picture-quotes/quote-i-could-make-halo-it-s-not-that-i-couldn-t-design-that-game-it-s-just-that-i-choose-shigeru-miyamoto-92-64-01.jpg

    @“hellomrkearns”#p139305 Very often I‘ll write a lightning round and then delete it if I find there’s no meat on the bone. Once I found this quote I knew we had to do it

    it's true, frank does make that sound

    hello forum, been a little minute

    i listened to this episode on the Seattle lightrail, making my way to the airport to take the flight back home

    helped ease the nerves a little as i traversed the big and busy airport to get to my gate

    i also saw chat pile and agriculture last night and it kicked so much ass, what a great time

    was a wonderful little trip, would definitely go again sometime

    five nights at freddys is something i was around for in 2014, i saw it happening and i wasnt really interested in it much because i dont like jumpscares! and i used to think about fnaf 4 and how the animatronics were in the kids bedroom and i would be scared in my bed, pretend that the bed is like a magical shield from danger
    and i watched some of those matpat videos while it was going so i could find out what the hell was up with it (the plot be convoluted)

    a maxis book sounds neat, i never really dived into their games mostly because i havent really tried out any simulator type stuff when it comes to games
    because it seems complicated and tough
    i should try one of em out to see what its like

    I feel like this is as good an opportunity as any to plug my Showa J-pop thread from a year ago, where I recommended Fushigi. @wickedcestus also put a bunch of recommendations I'd never heard before, and then no one else recommended anything, despite there being so many records like Fushigi that are mysterious and unexpected.

    @“yeso”#p139290 have you ever been to mass in spanish? we have some bangers like “alabare alabare”

    @“穴”#p139322 I’ve been going to bilingual mass recently and the music is indeed better