Ep. 314 - Tofurtacular Thank Tank

### Ep. 314 - Tofurtacular Thank Tank

Every member of the Insert Credit panel gathers for a feast of questions regarding cartridge consumption, Tom Cruise title changes, and Bangai-O. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers, and Brandon Sheffield. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

[URL=https://i.imgur.com/vlsJJVu.png][IMG]https://i.imgur.com/vlsJJVu.png[/IMG][/URL]

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. How would video games be different if the concept of a sequel didn’t exist? (10:39)
  • 2. How do you keep enemy encounters from feeling repetitive? (17:53)
  • 3. What’s the best law to break in a video game? (24:28)
  • 4. What is the best jump noise in video games? (32:03)
  • 5. What’s the worst first impression you’ve had of a game due to outside circumstances? (37:58)
  • 6. What video game cartridge or disc would you like to eat the most? (43:02)
  • 7. What can the U.S. healthcare system learn from healthcare in video games? (49:04)
  • 8. What are the greatest non-corporate rivalries in video games? (55:09)
  • 9. Is it possible to make a competitive multiplayer game completely diagetic to its story? (01:00:55)
  • 10. Has a piano ever been dropped on or near someone in a video game to great effect? (01:06:14)
  • 11. Should fall damage be phased out? (01:11:09)
  • 12. How would you explain Bangai-O to your mom? (01:18:03)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND:** Potpourri (01:25:36)

    Recommendations and Outro (01:30:02)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Yakuza / Ryū ga Gotoku series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8208/yakuza-ryu-ga-gotoku-series/)
  • - [Alex Jaffe](https://bsky.app/profile/alexjaffe.bsky.social)
  • - [Insert Credit Patreon (The Dirtbag)](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)
  • - [Insert Credit Flavored Questions that are too stupid for the Dirtbag](https://forums.insertcredit.com/d/1195-insert-credit-flavored-questions-that-are-too-stupid-for-the-dirtbag)
  • - [Topher Florence](https://bsky.app/profile/topherflorence.bsky.social)
  • - [Tofurky](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tofurky)
  • - [Impossible Foods](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Impossible_Foods)
  • - [Be'f](https://www.gardein.com/beefless-and-porkless/classics/bef-burger)
  • - [Repo Man (1984)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Repo_Man_(film))
  • - [Taylor Swift](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taylor_Swift)
  • - [Mission: Impossible](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mission:_Impossible)
  • - [Tom Cruise](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tom_Cruise)
  • - [Nintendo Entertainment System](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nintendo_Entertainment_System)
  • - [Balloon Fight](https://www.mobygames.com/game/8391/balloon-fight/)
  • - [Clu Clu Land](https://www.mobygames.com/game/10182/clu-clu-land/)
  • - [Urban Champion](https://www.mobygames.com/game/12035/urban-champion/)
  • - [Popeye](https://www.mobygames.com/game/9378/popeye/)
  • - [Donkey Kong](https://www.mobygames.com/game/574/donkey-kong/)
  • - [Mario Bros.](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7301/mario-bros/)
  • - [Super Mario Bros.](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7298/super-mario-bros/)
  • - [Yume Kōjō: Dokidoki Panic](https://www.mobygames.com/game/55533/yume-kojo-dokidoki-panic/)
  • - [Super Mario Bros. 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/27861/super-mario-bros-2/)
  • - [Metroid](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7303/metroid/)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3393/the-legend-of-zelda/)
  • - [Kid Icarus](https://www.mobygames.com/game/10072/kid-icarus/)
  • - [Psycho Fox](https://www.mobygames.com/game/9002/psycho-fox/)
  • - [DEcapAttack](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7272/decapattack/)
  • - [Magical Hat no Buttobi Turbo! Daibōken](https://www.mobygames.com/game/38632/magical-hat-no-buttobi-turbo-daiboken/)
  • - [Wonder Boy series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/2142/wonder-boy-series/)
  • - [Brave Fencer Musashi](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3695/brave-fencer-musashi/)
  • - [Threads of Fate](https://www.mobygames.com/game/4204/threads-of-fate/)
  • - [Yu Suzuki](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yu_Suzuki)
  • - [After Burner](https://www.mobygames.com/game/1424/after-burner/)
  • - [Space Harrier](https://www.mobygames.com/game/1434/space-harrier/)
  • - [OutRun](https://www.mobygames.com/game/16/outrun/)
  • - [Fire Emblem series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/2195/fire-emblem-series/)
  • - [Gunstar Heroes](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6581/gunstar-heroes/)
  • - [Chrono Trigger](https://www.mobygames.com/game/4501/chrono-trigger/)
  • - [Dragon Quest series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/436/dragon-warrior-dragon-quest-series/)
  • - [Final Fantasy series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/4847/final-fantasy-series/)
  • - [Pokémon series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8656/pokemon-main-rpg-series/)
  • - [Final Fantasy VII](https://www.mobygames.com/game/858/final-fantasy-vii/)
  • - [Cliff Bleszinski](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cliff_Bleszinski)
  • - [LawBreakers](https://www.mobygames.com/game/94032/lawbreakers/)
  • - [Uncharted series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8931/uncharted-series/)
  • - [Animal Crossing series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/4468/animal-crossing-series/)
  • - [Cyberpunk 2077](https://www.mobygames.com/game/128136/cyberpunk-2077/)
  • - [Base Wars - Cyber Stadium Series](https://www.mobygames.com/game/11139/base-wars-cyber-stadium-series/)
  • - [Atari Jaguar](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atari_Jaguar)
  • - [Virtual Boy](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Virtual_Boy)
  • - [Wii U](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wii_U)
  • - [Deca Sports](https://www.mobygames.com/game/36248/deca-sports/)
  • - [MLB The Show series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/15120/mlb-the-show-series/)
  • - [Spider-Man 2](https://www.mobygames.com/search/?q=spider-man%202)
  • - [Power Pros](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_Pros)
  • - [Super Mario series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/10044/super-mario-series/)
  • - [Mega Man series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/193/mega-man-rockman-series/)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild](https://www.mobygames.com/game/84595/the-legend-of-zelda-breath-of-the-wild/)
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/584/sonic-the-hedgehog-universe/)
  • - [The Witness](https://www.mobygames.com/game/76709/the-witness/)
  • - [Jonathan Blow](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jonathan_Blow)
  • - [Elon Musk](https://www.businessinsider.com/spacex-paid-250000-to-a-flight-attendant-who-accused-elon-musk-of-sexual-misconduct-2022-5?op=1)
  • - [Elden Ring](https://www.mobygames.com/game/174989/elden-ring/)
  • - [Joseph Conrad](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joseph_Conrad)
  • - [Vladimir Nabokov](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vladimir_Nabokov)
  • - [Minecraft](https://www.mobygames.com/game/110401/minecraft/)
  • - [Markus “Notch” Persson](https://arstechnica.com/gaming/2019/04/online-conduct-leaves-markus-notch-persson-out-of-minecraft-10th-anniversary/)
  • - [GameCube](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GameCube)
  • - [PlayStation 5](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_5)
  • - [HuCard](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HuCard)
  • - [PlayStation Vita](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_Vita)
  • - [Nintendo Switch](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nintendo_Switch)
  • - [Yes, Nintendo Switch cartridges taste terrible](https://www.theverge.com/2017/3/1/14778316/nintendo-switch-cartridge-taste-test-dont-lick-it)
  • - [PC Engine](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TurboGrafx-16)
  • - [John Woo](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Woo)
  • - [Live, Die, Repeat: Edge of Tomorrow (2014)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edge_of_Tomorrow)
  • - [All You Need Is Kill](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/All_You_Need_Is_Kill)
  • - [Pokémon Center](https://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wiki/Pok%C3%A9mon_Center)
  • - [Call of Duty series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/12946/call-of-duty-series/)
  • - [Control](https://www.mobygames.com/game/129106/control/)
  • - [Gears of War series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8069/gears-of-war-series/)
  • - [Alan Wake II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/210927/alan-wake-ii/)
  • - [Pregnant Elsa Dies at Dentist](https://insertcredit.com/show/149/)
  • - [Daigo Umehara](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daigo_Umehara)
  • - [Justin Wong](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Justin_Wong)
  • - [Evo Moment 37](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Evo_Moment_37)
  • - [Kazuma Kiryu](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kazuma_Kiryu)
  • - [Goro Majima](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Goro_Majima)
  • - [SonicFox](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SonicFox)
  • - [Battlefield series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/1175/battlefield-series/)
  • - [Cloud Strife](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cloud_Strife)
  • - [Sephiroth](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sephiroth_(Final_Fantasy))
  • - [Capcom](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capcom)
  • - [SNK](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SNK)
  • - [Marvel](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marvel_Comics)
  • - [Monday Night Combat](https://www.mobygames.com/game/47775/monday-night-combat/)
  • - [Apex Legends](https://www.mobygames.com/game/121713/apex-legends/)
  • - [Football Manager](https://www.mobygames.com/game/18587/football-manager/)
  • - [Videoball](https://www.mobygames.com/game/79738/videoball/)
  • - [Tokimeki Memorial](https://www.mobygames.com/game/45812/tokimeki-memorial/)
  • - [Boku no Natsuyasumi](https://www.mobygames.com/game/82250/boku-no-natsuyasumi/)
  • - [Destiny](https://www.mobygames.com/game/68327/destiny/)
  • - [Hyper Gunsport](https://www.mobygames.com/game/196718/hyper-gunsport/)
  • - [Looney Tunes licensees](https://www.mobygames.com/group/1945/looney-tunes-licensees/)
  • - [WarioWare series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/3512/warioware-series/)
  • - [Bugs Bunny](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bugs_Bunny)
  • - [Wile E. Coyote and the Road Runner](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wile_E._Coyote_and_the_Road_Runner)
  • - [Coyote vs. Acme](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coyote_vs._Acme)
  • - [The Day the Clown Cried](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Day_the_Clown_Cried)
  • - [Dave the Diver](https://www.mobygames.com/game/194057/dave-the-diver/)
  • - [CTR: Crash Team Racing](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7525/ctr-crash-team-racing/)
  • - [Mario Kart series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/1773/mario-kart-series/)
  • - [Super Mario 64](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3533/super-mario-64/)
  • - [Bangai-O](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6485/bangai-o/)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Tim**: Check out some cheese, drink whole milk if you’re gonna drink milk
    **Brandon:** [RoboDoc: The Creation of RoboCop](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt5759360/)
    **Jaffe**: [52 Pickup](https://insertcredit.podcast.audio/@52pickup)

    This week’s Insert Credit Show is brought to you by [patrons like you](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit). Thank you.

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    i hope everyone had a good thanksgiving weekend and that all retail workers were able to survive black friday unharmed

    meow

    >

    “Just make a cut, like, right here.” Drums crash in

    Thanks @espercontrol.

    There WAS multiplayer football manager, FMO, it was weird, I tried playing it for a while! I wish I had written down my thoughts at the time, I forget most of that game but geez it was something! The only part I remember is that there were real players whose names became partially censored because anyone could also make up names, so they ***ed out bad words, and that‘s where I learned that “quim” is apparently a bad word because one actual football player’s entire name…. Was quim.

    so he was entirely unsearchable

    (also I believe dbd is entirely diegetic) (unless I am misunderstanding the question)

    Lol my thought process for posting that first question was “well I’m not a patron right now but I like this question, maybe someone else will submit this if they read it here, also maybe the premise sucks? Whatever!” Thanks for scraping, @Jaffe !

    Wait are PS5 disc edges as round as WiiU disc edges?

    Great show - some awesome questions and equally awesome replies there!

    No coffee spilling today (hurrah) mostly because I was drinking a cup of tea while listening. With milk.

    The only times I tried Be‘f is in those frozen pot pies, it’s chewy and salty with the idea of beef flavorong and in the context of that pot pie it's alright, I can not imagine eating it by itself in a non-goo environment.

    Looks like Frank was in this episode for Tax Purposes only.

    I gotta say, the tofurky roast hard me farting

    Almond milk is the best milk as an ingredient but I can't stand drinking it for some reason. In general I think I can never get used to non-dairy milks. The naming of mock meats is honestly the biggest hit or miss, here they even sell an entire line of weed replacements.

    While we are in the middle of milk talk. I recently joked about how a milk like oat milk doesn't become a milk to my mom (and possibly many other moms) until it is sold at Costco under the Kirkland brand.

    Also it took me until last week to realize on my own why the brand Silk has that name.

    My mom, no joke, called this our “best one so far.” What's her problem with Frank

    When the piano crash sound happened I laughed so hard I dropped my iPod (it's fine and kept playing).

    Almond milk doesn't have enough protein in it for some reason. Oat milk is too expensive. Natur-a makes my favourite unsweetened soy milk that doesn't have weird fillers like carrageenan and all those gums in it. It's delicious and refreshing. I love it! But I don't think you can get it outside of Canada.

    Ya got me. I was wondering about Frank the whole time.

    @“DiscountDaikon”#p142103 Me too lol.

    What's this respiratory disease @exodus was mentioning? Sorry if this has already been discussed elsewhere but I was mildly alarmed to hear about it!

    >

    @“穴”#p142093 While we are in the middle of milk talk.

    They just released a new single. I haven’t listened to the episode yet, so I thought the gang did talk about Milk Talk for a hot second.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j-QkNPTkC8M

    “ʸᵒᵘ ᵍᵒᵗᵗᵃ ᵖᵃʸ ᵐᵉ ᵉᵛᵉⁿ ᶦᶠ ᶦ ᵈᵒ ᵃ ᵇᵃᵈ ʲᵒᵇ” - @Jaffe