Ep. 315 - Hut Shack Warehouse Emporium

### Ep. 315 - Hut Shack Warehouse Emporium

Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers and Brandon Sheffield answer Alex Jaffe’s questions about Nintendo’s last video game ever, committing fraud, and Turds of the Castle. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers, and Brandon Sheffield. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

[URL=https://i.imgur.com/3zbR0dC.png][IMG]https://i.imgur.com/3zbR0dC.png[/IMG][/URL]

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. What’s still easier for you to do in real life than in a video game? (11:10)
  • 2. How do you scam the speculative market with a storage container of five hundred copies of an underwhelming NES game? (16:49)
  • 3. What will be the title of Nintendo’s last game? (24:25)
  • 4. SpencerGifs asks: Has the video game controller been finalized? (34:58)
  • 5. What is the video game equivalent of film’s “award bait” traits? (43:27)
  • 6. Jean-Michel Basquiat said that art is how we decorate space, and music is how we decorate time. What do we decorate with video games? (52:09)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND:** GameFAQ&As - Doom (53:47)

    Recommendations and Outro (58:55)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Cracker Barrel](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cracker_Barrel)
  • - [Bacchanal Buffet](https://www.caesars.com/caesars-palace/restaurants/bacchanal-buffet)
  • - [Metal slime](https://dragonquest.fandom.com/wiki/Metal_slime)
  • - [Dragon Quest series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/436/dragon-warrior-dragon-quest-series/)
  • - [Socrates](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Socrates)
  • - [Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Raiders_of_the_Lost_Ark)
  • - [Steven Spielberg](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steven_Spielberg)
  • - [Unicorn](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unicorn)
  • - [Thomas the Tank Engine](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thomas_the_Tank_Engine)
  • - [IKEA](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ikea)
  • - [Densha de Go! series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/7995/densha-de-go-series/)
  • - [R.E.M. - Stand](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AKKqLl_ZEEY)
  • - [R.E.M. - It's The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z0GFRcFm-aY)
  • - [Top Gear](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Top_Gear_(2002_TV_series))
  • - [Gran Turismo series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/428/gran-turismo-series/)
  • - [Red Dead Redemption](https://www.mobygames.com/game/46614/red-dead-redemption/)
  • - [Red Dead Revolver](https://www.mobygames.com/game/13322/red-dead-revolver/)
  • - [Red Dead Redemption II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/115902/red-dead-redemption-ii/)
  • - [The Last of Us](https://www.mobygames.com/game/60922/the-last-of-us/)
  • - [Chun-Li](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chun-Li)
  • - [Retro City Games](https://www.facebook.com/retrocitygamesnv/)
  • - [Impossible Mission](https://www.mobygames.com/game/11254/impossible-mission/)
  • - [CheetahMen II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7318/cheetahmen-ii/)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom](https://www.mobygames.com/game/203119/the-legend-of-zelda-tears-of-the-kingdom/)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild](https://www.mobygames.com/game/84595/the-legend-of-zelda-breath-of-the-wild/)
  • - [Game Dev Story](https://www.mobygames.com/game/50321/game-dev-story/)
  • - [Lady and the Tramp (1955)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lady_and_the_Tramp)
  • - [Wii Vitality Sensor](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wii_Remote#Accessories)
  • - [Synecdoche, New York (2008)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Synecdoche,_New_York)
  • - [Wim Hof Method](https://www.wimhofmethod.com/breathing-techniques)
  • - [Frasier](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frasier)
  • - [Cheers](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cheers)
  • - [SCUF Controllers](https://scufgaming.com/)
  • - [DualShock](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DualShock)
  • - [Duncan Ironmonger](https://www.crunchbase.com/person/duncan-ironmonger)
  • - [Vin Diesel](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vin_Diesel)
  • - [Duncan Ironmonger](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Duncan_Ironmonger)
  • - [Fortnite: Battle Royale](https://www.mobygames.com/game/104208/fortnite-battle-royale/)
  • - [Call of Duty series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/12946/call-of-duty-series/)
  • - [Leonardo DiCaprio](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leonardo_DiCaprio)
  • - [Annapurna Interactive](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Annapurna_Interactive)
  • - [A24](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A24)
  • - [Everything Everywhere All at Once (2022)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Everything_Everywhere_All_at_Once)
  • - [The Witch (2015)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Witch_(2015_film))
  • - [The Lighthouse (2019)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Lighthouse_(2019_film))
  • - [Under the Skin (2013)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Under_the_Skin_(2013_film))
  • - [Florence](https://www.mobygames.com/game/103337/florence/)
  • - [The Last of Us: Part II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/147160/the-last-of-us-part-ii/)
  • - [Crash Bandicoot](https://www.mobygames.com/game/4721/crash-bandicoot/)
  • - [The Game Awards](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Game_Awards)
  • - [Super Mario series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/10044/super-mario-series/)
  • - [A Plague Tale series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/14994/a-plague-tale-series/)
  • - [Ryū ga Gotoku / Like a Dragon / Yakuza series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8208/ryu-ga-gotoku-like-a-dragon-yakuza-series/)
  • - [HowLongToBeat.com](https://howlongtobeat.com/)
  • - [Marvel Spider-Man](https://www.mobygames.com/game/113066/marvel-spider-man/)
  • - [Ghost of Tsushima](https://www.mobygames.com/game/146988/ghost-of-tsushima/)
  • - [Horizon series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/13098/horizon-series/)
  • - [God of War](https://www.mobygames.com/game/107419/god-of-war/)
  • - [Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice](https://www.mobygames.com/game/113492/sekiro-shadows-die-twice/)
  • - [Elden Ring](https://www.mobygames.com/game/174989/elden-ring/)
  • - [Gravitas Ventures](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gravitas_Ventures)
  • - [Alan Wake series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/9457/alan-wake-series/)
  • - [Jean-Michel Basquiat](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jean-Michel_Basquiat)
  • - [Animal Crossing: Happy Home Designer](https://www.mobygames.com/game/74110/animal-crossing-happy-home-designer/)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Frank**: Subscribe to the [Video Game History Foundation newsletter](https://gamehistory.org/), [Small Saga](https://store.steampowered.com/app/1320140/Small_Saga/)
    **Brandon:** [Demonschool Battle Mechanics trailer](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WvhTfNvVfaU)
    **Tim**: [Goblin Bunker Public Access 3 on 12/9 at 6PM PST](https://www.twitch.tv/goblinbunker)

    This week’s Insert Credit Show is brought to you by [patrons like you](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit). Thank you.

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    Hayden Christian Anderson!

    Frank is back! And he's full of gusto

    https://trackmaster-thomas-friends-and-transformers.fandom.com/wiki/Alex#:~:text=Alex%20is%20a%20green%2Cblue,to%20be%20with%20his%20friends.

    @“hellomrkearns”#p142862 I'm glad this is from the transformers wiki

    Y'all took the “insert credit becoming a hardcore vegan podcast” thing with spite cause this episode started with hardcore turkey talk!

    @“hellomrkearns”#p142862 this seems very wholesome but also is that a homemade tank engine?

    Gotta love the return of Frank ‘Caesar’ Cifaldi to the show.

    Also "If god was real he wouldn't have put spines in turkeys in the first place" got me good. In general this episode was full of 10/10 Alex Jaffe content. A good start of the week for sure!

    @“穴”#p142869 it grossed me out a fair bit lol

    @“DaveedNoo”#p142878 yeah it looks like a fan wiki where they make their own tank-sonas.

    >

    What will be the title of Nintendo’s last game?

    So Long & Thanks for all the Money!
    and it'll be a warioware game

    @“Emily”#p142916

    gonna add more to this, a different answer

    with nintendo closing down, they would cave and decide to put all of their games from near all of their consoles into one package

    itd probably be multiple terabytes large or something

    and there would be a game mode, where there are all minigame sized challenges

    maybe more like nes remix stuff, but with all of nintendo games

    maybe there could be a timeline mode like those recent digital eclipse releases…

    honestly this is just me thinking of cool stuff that will probably never be real lol

    @“Emily”#p142917 far more likely than this is Nintendo ceasing to make games and existing solely as a legal organization devoted to taking action against anyone who tries to play or distribute any game they ever published.

    @“esper”#p142827 I love that you linked the Wikipedia article for unicorns just in case

    Paddles are all well and good, but will the left thumb ever do anything but use an analog stick and d-pad?

    The reviews are in

    [URL=https://i.imgur.com/PLuQ4jl.jpg][IMG]https://i.imgur.com/PLuQ4jl.jpg[/IMG][/URL]

    >

    @“Emily”#p142916 So Long & Thanks for all the Money!

    Now I imagine Miyamoto & all Nintendo staff [punching giant footballs, doing double-wackward somersaults while whistling the Star-spangled banner, and flying from a giant aquarium towards outerspace.](https://youtu.be/N_dUmDBfp6k)
    _If I had just one last wish, I would like ~~a tasty fish~~ you to wear your Wii Remote wrist strap properly._

    Proud and relieved to announce that I am officially not a gamer. I don’t like Doom! Never have.

    >

    SpencerGifs asks: Has the video game controller been finalized?

    At the beginning of this question frank says that controllers haven't been finalized because you can't chew on them. But I differ because I have been around toddlers and dogs.