Ep. 322 - Vehicular Treason Murder

### Ep. 322 - Vehicular Treason Murder

The classic Insert Credit panel covers a game preservation dilemma, the 2007 Honda Shepherd, and a new mascot for Violence Island. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers, and Brandon Sheffield. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

[URL=https://i.imgur.com/7l37ohW.jpg][IMG]https://i.imgur.com/7l37ohW.jpg[/IMG][/URL]

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. Kim Justice asks: In games where water is lethal, at what part of the body should that water kill you? (08:19)
  • 2. Is there a better way to implement communication in video games than dialogue trees? (14:06)
  • 3. What are the top five most fun crimes to commit in video games? (20:36)
  • 4. What would Bayonetta 9 be like? (26:49)
  • 5. Brandon asks: When does bootlegging count as video game preservation? (32:41)
  • 6. Gaagaagiins asks: What are some of the best (or most interesting) games you can get a physical copy of on eBay (or equivalent) for about 10 bucks USD (excluding shipping) without much trouble? (38:56)
  • 7. What is usually the worst kind of vehicle to control in a video game? (42:54)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND:** Violence Island (49:05)

    Recommendations and Outro (01:09:46)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Ninja Gaiden series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/615/ninja-gaiden-series/)
  • - [Cruis'n USA](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3587/cruisn-usa/)
  • - [Sisyphus](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sisyphus)
  • - [Super Mario series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/10044/super-mario-series/)
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6579/sonic-the-hedgehog/)
  • - [Bubsy series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/794/bubsy-series/)
  • - [Death Stranding](https://www.mobygames.com/game/136593/death-stranding/)
  • - [Castlevania series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/402/castlevania-akumajo-dracula-series/)
  • - [Mega Man series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/193/mega-man-rockman-series/)
  • - [Elevator Action](https://www.mobygames.com/game/10914/elevator-action/)
  • - [Square Enix AI Tech Preview: The Portopia Serial Murder Case](https://www.mobygames.com/game/202043/square-enix-ai-tech-preview-the-portopia-serial-murder-case/)
  • - [Snatcher](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7524/snatcher/)
  • - [Princess Tomato in the Salad Kingdom](https://www.mobygames.com/game/13640/princess-tomato-in-the-salad-kingdom/)
  • - [Mass Effect series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8742/mass-effect-series/)
  • - [Ryū ga Gotoku / Like a Dragon / Yakuza series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8208/ryu-ga-gotoku-like-a-dragon-yakuza-series/)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild](https://www.mobygames.com/game/84595/the-legend-of-zelda-breath-of-the-wild/)
  • - [Cyberpunk 2077](https://www.mobygames.com/game/128136/cyberpunk-2077/)
  • - [The Walking Dead](https://www.mobygames.com/game/55762/the-walking-dead/)
  • - [Oxenfree](https://www.mobygames.com/game/76588/oxenfree/)
  • - [Firewatch](https://www.mobygames.com/game/76982/firewatch/)
  • - [Batman: The Telltale Series](https://www.mobygames.com/game/80164/batman-the-telltale-series/)
  • - [The Last of Us series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/10525/the-last-of-us-series/)
  • - [Batman: Arkham series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/9940/batman-arkham-series/)
  • - [Hitman series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/820/hitman-series/)
  • - [Dragon Quest series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/436/dragon-warrior-dragon-quest-series/)
  • - [Mission: Impossible](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mission:_Impossible_(film_series))
  • - [Rockstar Games, Inc.](https://www.mobygames.com/company/1096/rockstar-games-inc/)
  • - [Uwe Boll](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uwe_Boll)
  • - [Indigo Prophecy](https://www.mobygames.com/game/19212/indigo-prophecy/)
  • - [David Cage](https://kotaku.com/detroit-dev-quantic-dreams-wins-lawsuit-without-actuall-1847716375)
  • - [Hideki Kamiya](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hideki_Kamiya)
  • - [Bayonetta series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/11069/bayonetta-series/)
  • - [Kingdom Hearts series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/2842/kingdom-hearts-series/)
  • - [Bayonetta Origins: Cereza and the Lost Demon](https://www.mobygames.com/game/201277/bayonetta-origins-cereza-and-the-lost-demon/)
  • - [Shouzou Kaga](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shouzou_Kaga)
  • - [Fire Emblem series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/2195/fire-emblem-series/)
  • - [TearRing Saga series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/16394/tearring-saga-series/)
  • - [Vestaria Saga series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/17685/vestaria-saga-series/)
  • - [Hideki Naganuma](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hideki_Naganuma)
  • - [Super Real Mahjong PII ・III Custom Special ☆ VER](https://www.mobygames.com/game/72304/super-real-mahjong-pii-iii-custom-special-ver/)
  • - [Action Comics 1](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Action_Comics_1)
  • - [Flipnic: Ultimate Pinball](https://www.mobygames.com/game/20205/flipnic-ultimate-pinball/)
  • - [City Crisis](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7691/city-crisis/)
  • - [Crisis City](https://www.mobygames.com/game/175999/crisis-city/)
  • - [Gears of War series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8069/gears-of-war-series/)
  • - [Halo series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/2782/halo-series/)
  • - [Lost Odyssey](https://www.mobygames.com/game/33332/lost-odyssey/)
  • - [Lost Planet 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/46417/lost-planet-2/)
  • - [Final Fantasy IV](https://www.mobygames.com/game/4572/final-fantasy-ii/)
  • - [L.A. Noire](https://www.mobygames.com/game/51693/la-noire/)
  • - [BioShock series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/9134/bioshock-series/)
  • - [Fallout 3](https://www.mobygames.com/game/37167/fallout-3/)
  • - [The Beatles: Rock Band](https://www.mobygames.com/game/42472/the-beatles-rock-band/)
  • - [Rage (Anarchy Edition)](https://www.mobygames.com/game/53157/rage-anarchy-edition/)
  • - [NASCAR 08](https://www.mobygames.com/game/31443/nascar-08/)
  • - [Grand Theft Auto V](https://www.mobygames.com/game/62275/grand-theft-auto-v/)
  • - [Earth Defense Force series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8735/earth-defense-force-chikyu-boeigun-series/)
  • - [The Hunt for Red October (1990)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Hunt_for_Red_October_(film))
  • - [John McTiernan](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_McTiernan)
  • - [Wave Race series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/1838/wave-race-series/)
  • - [Jet Moto series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/2512/jet-moto-series/)
  • - [F-Zero series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/1601/f-zero-series/)
  • - [PilotWings series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/619/pilotwings-series/)
  • - [Cobra Triangle](https://www.mobygames.com/game/8427/cobra-triangle/)
  • - [The Hunt for Red October](https://www.mobygames.com/game/2210/the-hunt-for-red-october/)
  • - [In the Hunt](https://www.mobygames.com/game/24351/in-the-hunt/)
  • - [Hydro Thunder](https://www.mobygames.com/game/4737/hydro-thunder/)
  • - [Crimson Skies series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/1858/crimson-skies-series/)
  • - [Blast Corps](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3623/blast-corps/)
  • - [Shenmue series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/919/shenmue-series/)
  • - [Final Fantasy VII](https://www.mobygames.com/game/858/final-fantasy-vii/)
  • - [Sub Rebellion](https://www.mobygames.com/game/57847/sub-rebellion/)
  • - [Steel Diver series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/12850/steel-diver-series/)
  • - [Star Fox series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/589/star-fox-series/)
  • - [Super Mario Odyssey](https://www.mobygames.com/game/96127/super-mario-odyssey/)
  • - [Normy's Beach Babe-O-Rama](https://www.mobygames.com/game/39975/normys-beach-babe-o-rama/)
  • - [Greendog: The Beached Surfer Dude!](https://www.mobygames.com/game/13346/greendog-the-beached-surfer-dude/)
  • - [Mr. Gimmick](https://www.mobygames.com/game/17964/mr-gimmick/)
  • - [Yoko Taro](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yoko_Taro)
  • - [Hunter](https://monsterhunter.fandom.com/wiki/Hunter)
  • - [Spy Hunter](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spy_Hunter)
  • - [Black Lotus](https://bushidoblade.fandom.com/wiki/Black_Lotus)
  • - [William](https://nioh.wiki.fextralife.com/william)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Brandon:** [Srigala (1981)](https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0934959/), [Columbo](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Columbo)
    **Tim**: Find things to interrogate about objects you take for granted
    **Frank**: [Final Fantasy VII: Remake](https://www.mobygames.com/game/141485/final-fantasy-vii-remake/)

    This week’s Insert Credit Show is brought to you by [patrons like you](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit). Thank you.

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    Fun episode again! I like the natural way the question about bootlegging entered the podcast and was a very interesting reply from all who discussed it.

    Making compost rocks!

    I feel like a bit of a dumbo, but what was the Ninja Gaiden/Cruisin' USA tune a reference to?

    @“Shaneus”#p149434 https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=XQ0lnz1iv3k

    @“Jaffe”#p149435 By the way, the dancing guy a.k.a. Matt Johnson directed (and co-starred in) the recent BlackBerry movie…

    https://youtu.be/xtIqjhuGQk4

    … For which the singing guy a.k.a. Jay McCarrol composed the main theme.

    https://youtu.be/PMq-R7XcH_M

    [The soundtrack has some deep cuts, too.](https://forums.insertcredit.com/d/150-shmupsstgsshoot-em-ups/1281)
    I recommend the movie.

    @“◉◉maru”#p149437 I saw it in theaters!

    @“Jaffe”#p149438 I have just realized you basically never recommend stuff on the show! You should add your picks!

    I never thought I’d randomly get some closure on the childhood trauma that was Gutman’s stage, today. Speaking of childhood traumas…

    >

    @“esper”#p149421 Is there a better way to implement communication in video games than dialogue trees?

    Captain Blood tried to answer that question, except the entire staff was on drugs. (This is not a denigrating joke. The game was designed and developed on drugs.)

    https://youtu.be/MUGg6l2_sZA

    It is one of the very first games I’ve played in my life (around 6 or 7 years old) and, in retrospect, I am frankly baffled I did not give up on the medium entirely after that.

    >

    @“esper”#p149421 What are the top five most fun crimes to commit in video games? (20:36)

    I am surprised at the tame crimes mentioned by the panel. I would have gone for anything involving the destruction of buildings and cities. Rampage, Earth Defense Force, SimCity, King of the Monsters, the atomic bomb in Civ, you name it!

    https://youtu.be/_Uca6fY7AOg

    When will a game finally allow us to commit vehicular homophones?

    Near the end of the episode, I noticed how consistently Frank signs off and thought, “It would be hilarious if they‘ve continued the bit where they took a recording of him saying ’I‘m Frank Cifaldi’ and put it at the end of the episode where he wasn't actually there and have since used the same recording for every ending,” which left me wide-open to get hurricane-kicked by what actually happened in today's ending.

    Columbo is really good, and the one with Donald Pleasence is one of the best.

    And for those who feel the need to read more or engage with more after an episode, [Columbophile ](https://columbophile.com/columbo-episode-list/) is one of the best fansites for doing that I've ever encountered. I like reading commentary on stuff I like, and this site's commentaries on episodes always give me good observations and trivia to mull over. The site also links to free episodes when available (including both [Etude in Black](https://columbophile.com/2019/08/13/columbo-full-episode-etude-in-black/) and Pleasence's [Any Old Port in a Storm](https://columbophile.com/2018/04/02/columbo-full-episode-any-old-port-in-a-storm/)), so they're a good quick start before you go trying to access other episodes.

    the angry video game nerd melted a CIB greendog in irl lava

    I wonder how he managed that

    [URL=https://i.imgur.com/P325wPE.jpg][IMG]https://i.imgur.com/P325wPE.jpg[/IMG][/URL]

    @“Shaneus”#p149434 I didn‘t get it either, so don’t feel bad! (and I had seen this video)

    @chazumaru I think we got lost on the question and were trying to find the most popular crimes, not the most fun ones.

    I listen to too many podcasts. I'd say about 70% of them consistently contain editing errors, the most common of which is a section of audio gets repeated. The Insert Credit Show is one of maybe two podcasts that I listen to which has never had that kind of error, at least in the modern era. So shout-out to @espercontrol for not only being excellent at what they do, but for being consistently excellent which is a whole other level of excellence.

    Also here‘s a pitch for a patreon tier benefit from a non-supporter (not yet at least!) - be able to submit an audioclip of you saying your name/screen name to be placed at the end of the show. It gets in just once, at esper’s discretion. Make the dollar amount whatever it needs to be to have it be worth espers extra time in doing such a thing.

    Kurt should say “I'm Kurt Feldman” at the end of every episode <3

    Eventually I'll start the Kurt Feldman fanclub thread

    @“◉◉maru”#p149444 I tried recommending comics for a short while but now I have my own comics podcast for that

    >

    @“RubySunrise”#p149482 Also here’s a pitch for a patreon tier benefit from a non-supporter (not yet at least!) - be able to submit an audioclip of you saying your name/screen name to be placed at the end of the show. It gets in just once, at esper’s discretion. Make the dollar amount whatever it needs to be to have it be worth espers extra time in doing such a thing

    I will agree to do this for anyone who pays us Four Hundred Dollars

    @“◉◉maru”#p149437 the timing is so funny because I recently watched the Nirvana the Band the Show tv show and Blackberry!

    Blackberry is a decent movie - Matt's a super interesting guy.

    https://youtu.be/fsEZ852T28w?feature=shared

    >

    @“Girthbound”#p149483 Eventually I’ll start the Kurt Feldman fanclub thread

    [I think you have created that thread already lol](https://forums.insertcredit.com/d/2311-kurt-feldman-love-3)