That IGN video

I wrote a little “article” about this and I have nowhere to put it, so here it is.

(note: I put this on the front page in somewhat edited form. I forgot I could do that.)

--
IGN just released a video called "Baldur's Gate 3 is causing some developers to panic." You can [watch it here](https://www.ign.com/videos/baldurs-gate-3-is-causing-some-developers-to-panic) if you haven't. The video has gotten a lot of game developers upset, and has gotten a lot of gamers up in arms.

I decided to comment on this as a former journalist myself, after few people told me that the video "raises a good point." I will first say that no point is raised in this video, certainly not a new one. The video asks a rhetorical question that has been posed ad nauseum since the advent of DLC: why can't triple-A games come out with perfect polish from day 1?

If it were me, and I worked as a journalist, and I had a question, and that question had been asked by players constantly since the advent of DLC, I would attempt to do some journalism to find out the answer. Why CAN'T they do this, if the same question has been floating out there for nearly 20 years? Clearly this is not an easy answer if it has been around for such a long time.

Instead of talking to people and attempting to answer that question, IGN's Destin Legarie chooses to make a reaction video, multiple times admitting he doesn't know anything about the subject, but is simply angry. This is not what journalism should be, starting from the fact no attempt has been made to learn to pronounce Xalavier's name, the main dev (notably an indie, NOT A TRIPLE A DEV) who he is criticizing in the video. It is likewise irresponsible to say that Xalavier's tweets go on to "give a lot of good context" but then not share what that context is or attempt to understand it.