Wachenröder on the Saturn

So I started playing Wachenröder. It's a late-Saturn, turn-based strategy RPG with a lot of heavyweight talent:

・Art by Range Murata (Blue Sub. 6, Spy Fiction)

・MORE art by Yoshitoshi Abe (Serial Experiments Lain)

・Character designs by Katsumi Yokota (Panzer Dragoon series)

・Compositions by Ian McDonald (King Crimson, Foreigner)

According to the Wikipedia page, it was made in the Shining Force III engine, and although I haven't played SFIII yet, it does appear to be a spiritual successor. The storybook your character reads to his sister at the beginning of the game also sounds like a reference to Shining Force, but that's just my guess based on the term "輝士" ("shining knight"?)
I was surprised to discover the game is quite polished, atmospheric, and even sometimes cute, and it has some interesting ideas like mechanical steampunk swords that you can rev like Nero's Red Queen in Devil May Cry 4-5. I don't think Wachenröder gets anywhere near the love other Saturn RPGs get, probably because it was never localized and the title doesn't stick with non-German speakers (even though Panzer Dragoon does).

[upl-image-preview url=//i.imgur.com/iaGtA8g.gif]
The title screen is a fancy steampunky machine thingy.

[upl-image-preview url=//i.imgur.com/108TFBp.png]
This is a BLEAK game, especially in the beginning. There's an extended metaphor for nuclear power, where pollution from a towering "heavy water processing plant" covers the slums where you're from in ash, contaminating the air and drinking water and making people sick. You're a bereaved survivor with a lot of rage and nowhere to direct it.

[upl-image-preview url=//i.imgur.com/fZwzasP.jpg]
Battles unfold in your standard sprites-on-a-3D-grid format, but special moves treat you to a 3D cutscene.
[upl-image-preview url=//i.imgur.com/OsscYsP.png]

[upl-image-preview url=//i.imgur.com/6TgS0II.png]