Ep. 261 - Clown Insanity, with Andrés Velasco y Coll and Fūnk-é Joseph

### Ep. 261 - Clown Insanity, with Andrés Velasco y Coll and Fūnk-é Joseph

EVO tournament organizer Andrés Velasco y Coll and PC Gamer editor Fūnk-é Joseph join Frank and Jaffe for the new Sonic game, predatory publisher tactics, and Nickelodeon’s Fortnite. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Andrés Velasco y Coll, and Fūnk-é Joseph. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. Are 3D Sonic games a failed experiment? (04:17)
  • 2. How do games best emulate being able to fly? (10:03)
  • 3. What precautions should developers take to avoid being taken advantage of by publishers? (14:11)
  • 4. How do you curate a video game zine? (18:37)
  • 5. The Adaptation Game: Turn a video game into a daytime game show (24:00)
  • 6. Bearcabin asks: What kinds of developers would video game magazines end up being? (29:44)
  • 7. Are there any good video game ads? (35:45)
  • 8. What is more difficult to do in video games than in real life? (42:32)
  • 9. What is the Avatar: The Way of Water of video games? (46:56)
  • **LIGHTNING ROUND:** Major Arcana (54:52)

    Recommendations and Outro (59:48)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker
  • - [Donkey Kong Country](https://www.mobygames.com/game/donkey-kong-country)
  • - [The King of Fighters '98: The Slugfest](https://www.mobygames.com/game/king-of-fighters-98-the-slugfest)
  • - [Portal series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/portal-series)
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog universe](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/sonic-the-hedgehog-universe)
  • - [SEGA Bass Fishing](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sega-bass-fishing)
  • - [Super Mario World](https://www.mobygames.com/game/nes/super-mario-world_)
  • - [Batman: Arkham series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/batman-arkham-series)
  • - [Pilotwings](https://www.mobygames.com/game/pilotwings)
  • - [Final Fantasy XIV Online: A Realm Reborn](https://www.mobygames.com/game/final-fantasy-xiv-online-a-realm-reborn)
  • - [Minecraft](https://www.mobygames.com/game/minecraft_)
  • - [Defender](https://www.mobygames.com/game/defender)
  • - [Dank Zine](https://agentannk.com/about-dank-zine/)
  • - [the photo Andres drops in question 4](https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/743918905789120552/1040380081111048263/unknown.png)
  • - [Fortnite series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/fortnite-series)
  • - [Candy Crush](https://www.mobygames.com/game/candy-crush-saga)
  • - [Fruit Ninja](https://www.mobygames.com/game/fruit-ninja)
  • - [Carmen Sandiego series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/carmen-sandiego-series)
  • - [Among Us](https://www.mobygames.com/game/among-us)
  • - [Electronic Gaming Monthly](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electronic_Gaming_Monthly)
  • - [Hsu and Chan](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hsu_and_Chan)
  • - [Bubsy series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/bubsy-series)
  • - [Disney's Aladdin](https://www.mobygames.com/game/disneys-aladdin)
  • - [Sneak King](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sneak-king)
  • - [Nintendo Power](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nintendo_Power)
  • - [Clay Fighter 63 1/3](https://www.mobygames.com/game/n64/clay-fighter-63-13)
  • - [Famitsu](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Famitsu)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time](https://www.mobygames.com/game/legend-of-zelda-ocarina-of-time)
  • - [SoulCalibur](https://www.mobygames.com/game/soulcalibur)
  • - [Vagrant Story](https://www.mobygames.com/game/vagrant-story)
  • - [JoJo's Bizarre Adventure: All Star Battle](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ps3/jojos-bizarre-adventure-all-star-battle)
  • - [Final Fantasy XII](https://www.mobygames.com/game/ps2/final-fantasy-xii)
  • - [Super Smash Bros. Brawl](https://www.mobygames.com/game/wii/super-smash-bros-brawl)
  • - [L.A. Noire](https://www.mobygames.com/game/la-noire)
  • - [Clash Royale](https://www.mobygames.com/game/clash-royale)
  • - [Evony: The King's Return](https://www.mobygames.com/game/evony-the-kings-return)
  • - [Mafia City: War of Underworld](https://www.mobygames.com/game/mafia-city-war-of-underworld)
  • - [Mega Man 3](https://www.mobygames.com/game/mega-man-3)
  • - [Twisted Metal series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/twisted-metal-series)
  • - [John Romero's Daikatana](https://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/john-romeros-daikatana)
  • - [Sweet Tooth](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sweet_Tooth_%28Vertigo%29) (the comic)
  • - [the Video Jukebox VJ ad Frank links in question 7](https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/743918905789120552/1040385647086686298/unknown.png)
  • - [Surgeon Simulator](https://www.mobygames.com/game/surgeon-simulator)
  • - [Valorant](https://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/valorant)
  • - [Avatar: The Way of Water (2022)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Avatar:_The_Way_of_Water)
  • - [Avatar (2009)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Avatar_(2009_film))
  • - [The King of Fighters XV](https://www.mobygames.com/game/king-of-fighters-xv)
  • - [EarthBound series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/mother-earthbound-series)
  • - [Duke Nukem Forever](https://www.mobygames.com/game/duke-nukem-forever)
  • - [Cyberpunk 2077](https://www.mobygames.com/game/cyberpunk-2077)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Frank**: Check out the SimCopter 64 article on [GameHistory.org](https://gamehistory.org)
    **Andrés**: [Tampa Never Sleeps](https://www.twitch.tv/tampaneversleeps) for some the best North American KOF fighters
    **Fūnk-é:** [Making Comics](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Making_Comics), [Fūnk-é Joseph](https://funke.cargo.site/)
    **Jaffe**: [Alan Moore's Writing for Comics](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alan_Moore%27s_Writing_for_Comics)

    Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    I've been behind on my podcast listening, so I have a whole backlog of episodes to listen to before I get to this one, but:

    >

    @“esper”#p92792 How do games best emulate being able to fly?

    [My one virtual reality friend's weird flying game was quite successful at it!](https://forums.insertcredit.com/d/2014-vr-thing-on-your-dang-head/5)

    >

    How do games best emulate being able to fly? (10:03)

    this game made by three students is the answer. I was obsessed with it back in 2017. The only thing you do is fly and it's extremely good. Just buy it. You (probably) won't regret it.

    https://store.steampowered.com/app/732430/Superflight/
    [size=0]
    [maybe you'll trust this guy's opinion more than mine](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dVGWpZE_OaU)

    re: zines, apologies for the tweet-posting but people might be interested in this one, which just launched yesterday:

    https://twitter.com/gosokkyu/status/1591691983760003074

    I'd also urge people to check out [Indiepocalypse](https://itch.io/c/689872/indiepocalypse) if they haven't already: dude's been commissioning monthly game anthologies and paying out to hundreds of indie devs for years and has virtually never broken even—in fact, the newest one is the only one that's ever broken even, and that's because it was a sponsored collab.

    >

    @“esper”#p92792 What is the Avatar: The Way of Water of video games? (46:56)

    I have absolutely no way of backing this up but I'm gonna say Metroid Prime 4

    @“gsk”#p92825 welp time to check this out

    other real good comics making books (and definitely second the rec to read Understanding Comics)

    Nate Piekos - The Essential Guide To Comic Book Lettering

    Greg Pak & Fred Van Lente - Make Comics Like The Pros

    well worth checking out Will Eisner's Comics & Sequential Art as well as Graphic Storytelling and Visual Narrative also

    I need to get onto reading Panel x Panel...

    extra credit for reading Reinventing Comics, which is a fun time capsule of the early 2000s, like reading a William Gibson book

    Great ep…. came here hoping to see more zine recs, lets go

    @“gsk”#p92825 ty for this

    Big LOLs from @nothingxs “Lemmie see, what year was it? 1998? Then that would be KOF98!” Great episode so far and expecting that to continue.

    Seems like the iTunes feed hasn't been updated since the Boomer Kozooey episode or whatever it is called.


    Also @Jaffe, I showed my students that videogame timeline visualization we collaborated on in my Data Science class.

    @“compositehiggs”#p92953 we recently had to switch to a new Apple Podcasts feed due to weirdness issues on Apple‘s end, sorry. the incredible shane did everything to try to get it fixed, but in the end we’ve made a new feed you can follow here: https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066

    please unsubscribe from the previous feed and follow this new one. apologies for the inconvenience, thank you for listening!!

    Good ep with good guests!

    When you brought up ads I immediately thought of Alundra 2. A game I really wanted to play back in 2000 and a game I still wanted to play when I saw the ad again looking at old magazines a year or two ago. I then went to track down one and leafed through a couple digital EGM's from 98 and 2000 and I would say about 1/3 of the ads were captivating to me. There were no videos back then! This stuff was endlessly interesting. Here's a couple random ones I just found.
    [upl-image-preview url=https://i.imgur.com/Axy3GNq.png]
    It's more Tekken. And now I know it exists. hook me up!
    [upl-image-preview url=https://i.imgur.com/oQWkVd9.png]
    If you are an 11 year old who likes Anime when this comes out, you 100% want to buy it after seeing this ad.
    [upl-image-preview url=https://i.imgur.com/GAenmai.png]
    This one might be a bad ad! Interesting, but ineffective!
    [upl-image-preview url=https://i.imgur.com/rqlevcs.png]
    This is interesting to me now
    [upl-image-preview url=https://i.imgur.com/pjhEBIJ.png]
    Look at this wild thing!
    [upl-image-preview url=https://i.imgur.com/Y15qOX0.png]
    decent ads back in the 90s/2000s
    [upl-image-preview url=https://i.imgur.com/zfrqTWt.png]

    13 favs in order:

    ff8

    shenmue

    legend of dragoon

    --MVC throughout

    idk that i was expecting to hear another too cool to fool bit within the week

    Favourite games when I was 13 would probably be:

  • - Metroid Prime
  • - Halo 2
  • - Portal
  • Still wonderful games to this date. Good episode as always!

    I'm so happy that @Jaffe committed to the Operation Winback voice acting performance quality at the start.

    I forgot to mention, my favorite game when I was 13 is still my favorite game today. Either I'm a sucker or it was good timing. Can you guess?

    >

    @“esper”#p92792 Turn a video game into a daytime game show

    escape a puzzle box room with onlookers "controlling" a person's actions a la "twitch plays x"?
    https://youtu.be/2zI7HVMoYm8

    and what is the assault course wipeout/takeshi/gladiators subgenre of game show if not real-life super mario courses?

    I feel like The Tower should be Sim Tower