Ep. 316 - Insert Credit Game Awards Special

### Ep. 316 - Insert Credit Game Awards Special

Recorded before The Game Awards, and released the week after! The Insert Credit Panel decides the video game winners of categories unwittingly submitted by listeners. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers, and Brandon Sheffield. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

[URL=https://i.imgur.com/RdIzSsc.png][IMG]https://i.imgur.com/RdIzSsc.png[/IMG][/URL]

**And The Categories Are:**

  • 1. Gaagaagiins: Best Standardized Box Art Platform Frames (02:15)
  • 2. Propelleher: Best Scoff (05:35)
  • 3. rice9 : Best eSport of the 1980s (07:16)
  • 4. Breadytodie: Best Overtly Political Japanese Game (08:48)
  • 5. Cole: Best Campfire Scene (10:59)
  • 6. IntergalacticWalrus: Best Playable Non-Anthropomorphic Animal (13:14)
  • 7. Spencer: Best Game By an American Branch of a Japanese Company (16:02)
  • 8. Larky: Most Incidentally Educational Game (18:59)
  • 9. rearnakedwindow: Best Game Exclusive to a Legitimately Bad Console (22:13)
  • 10. Alex Jaffe: Best Video Game to Name Your Band After (24:53)
  • 11. ANONYMOUS GOD HAND LOVER: Game Most Like GOD HAND (27:15)
  • 12. Billy: Best Underwater Tunnel in a Racing Game (28:34)
  • 13. Sfwublin: Best Mine Carts (31:01)
  • 14. Justin Hamrick: Most Dangerous Video Game (33:47)
  • 15. Pro Skater 4: Most Evil Video Game (36:41)
  • 16. Erica: Most Video Game-Ass Video Game (39:05)
  • Recommendations and Outro (42:08)

    [Discuss this episode in the Insert Credit Forums](https://forums.insertcredit.com/)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF NOMINEES AND THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [The Game Awards](https://thegameawards.com/)
  • - [Intellivision](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intellivision)
  • - [PC Engine](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TurboGrafx-16)
  • - [Master System](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Master_System)
  • - [PlayStation](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation)
  • - [PlayStation 2](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_2)
  • - [PlayStation 3](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_3)
  • - [PlayStation Portable](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_Portable)
  • - [PlayStation 5](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_5)
  • - [PlayStation 4](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_4)
  • - [Xbox](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xbox_(console))
  • - [Nintendo Entertainment System](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nintendo_Entertainment_System)
  • - [Quake II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/207099/quake-ii/)
  • - [Terry Bogard](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Terry_Bogard)
  • - [X-Men](https://www.mobygames.com/game/49740/x-men/)
  • - [Street Fighter series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/379/street-fighter-series/)
  • - [Punch-Out series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/6793/punch-out-series/)
  • - [Zelda II: The Adventure of Link](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7296/zelda-ii-the-adventure-of-link/)
  • - [Dog Patch](https://www.mobygames.com/game/124316/dog-patch/)
  • - [Balloon Fight](https://www.mobygames.com/game/8391/balloon-fight/)
  • - [Metal Gear series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/380/metal-gear-series/)
  • - [Death Stranding](https://www.mobygames.com/game/136593/death-stranding/)
  • - [Metal Wolf Chaos](https://www.mobygames.com/game/40881/metal-wolf-chaos/)
  • - [Fire Emblem series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/2195/fire-emblem-series/)
  • - [Independence Day (1996)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Independence_Day_(1996_film))
  • - [Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter (2012)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Abraham_Lincoln:_Vampire_Hunter)
  • - [Chrono Trigger](https://www.mobygames.com/game/4501/chrono-trigger/)
  • - [Grandia](https://www.mobygames.com/game/5751/grandia/)
  • - [Final Fantasy XV](https://www.mobygames.com/game/82135/final-fantasy-xv/)
  • - [Mother 3](https://www.mobygames.com/game/29870/mother-3/)
  • - [Sakuna: Of Rice and Ruin](https://www.mobygames.com/game/153186/sakuna-of-rice-and-ruin/)
  • - [Tenchu series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/414/tenchu-series/)
  • - [Jurassic Park: Rampage Edition](https://www.mobygames.com/game/35476/jurassic-park-rampage-edition/)
  • - [Primal Rage](https://www.mobygames.com/game/5565/primal-rage/)
  • - [Dog's Life](https://www.mobygames.com/game/11786/dogs-life/)
  • - [Tawky Tawny](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tawky_Tawny)
  • - [Sylvester the Cat](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sylvester_the_Cat)
  • - [Tweety](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tweety)
  • - [Stray](https://www.mobygames.com/game/188150/stray/)
  • - [Secret of Evermore](https://www.mobygames.com/game/9981/secret-of-evermore/)
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6611/sonic-the-hedgehog-2/)
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog: Spinball](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6620/sonic-the-hedgehog-spinball/)
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog 3](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6612/sonic-the-hedgehog-3/)
  • - [Sonic & Knuckles](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6614/sonic-knuckles/)
  • - [Sonic the Hedgehog 3 & Knuckles](https://www.mobygames.com/game/65408/sonic-the-hedgehog-3-knuckles/)
  • - [Secret of Mana](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6645/secret-of-mana/)
  • - [Final Fantasy Adventure](https://www.mobygames.com/game/4520/final-fantasy-adventure/)
  • - [Carmen Sandiego series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/47/carmen-sandiego-series/)
  • - [Riichi mahjong](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Japanese_mahjong)
  • - [Rock Band](https://www.mobygames.com/game/32021/rock-band/)
  • - [Gunsmith Cats](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gunsmith_Cats)
  • - [Demonschool](https://store.steampowered.com/app/1900250/Demonschool/)
  • - [The Typing of the Dead](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3268/the-typing-of-the-dead/)
  • - [The House of the Dead 2](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3588/the-house-of-the-dead-2/)
  • - [Call of Duty series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/2640/call-of-duty-universe/)
  • - [Atari Jaguar](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atari_Jaguar)
  • - [3DO Interactive Multiplayer](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/3DO_Interactive_Multiplayer)
  • - [CD-i](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CD-i)
  • - [Way of the Warrior](https://www.mobygames.com/game/12614/way-of-the-warrior/)
  • - [Zelda: The Wand of Gamelon](https://www.mobygames.com/game/21134/zelda-the-wand-of-gamelon/)
  • - [PC-FX](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PC-FX)
  • - [Alien Vs Predator](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6690/alien-vs-predator/)
  • - [Tempest 2000](https://www.mobygames.com/game/927/tempest-2000/)
  • - [Rayman](https://www.mobygames.com/game/2247/rayman/)
  • - [Bonk's Revenge](https://www.mobygames.com/game/17189/bonks-revenge/)
  • - [Der Langrisser](https://www.mobygames.com/game/15010/der-langrisser/)
  • - [Crossed Swords II](https://www.mobygames.com/game/115585/crossed-swords-ii/)
  • - [Neo Geo CD](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neo_Geo_CD)
  • - [Obscure Samurai Shodown RPG finally playable in English](https://www.polygon.com/23982922/samurai-shodown-rpg-neogeo-snk-english-translation)
  • - [Panzer Dragoon Saga](https://www.mobygames.com/game/7436/panzer-dragoon-saga/)
  • - [DragonForce](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DragonForce)
  • - [Scott Pilgrim](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scott_Pilgrim)
  • - [Clash at Demonhead](https://www.mobygames.com/game/10576/clash-at-demonhead/)
  • - [Rejection: Den-No Senshi](https://www.mobygames.com/game/58654/rejection-den-no-senshi/)
  • - [FM Towns](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FM_Towns)
  • - [Lunatic Dawn](https://www.mobygames.com/game/44475/lunatic-dawn/)
  • - [Thexder](https://www.mobygames.com/game/49/thexder/)
  • - [God Hand](https://www.mobygames.com/game/27017/god-hand/)
  • - [Vanquish](https://www.mobygames.com/game/48763/vanquish/)
  • - [Hakaioh: King of Crusher](https://www.mobygames.com/game/35597/hakaioh-king-of-crusher/)
  • - [Band of Brothers](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Band_of_Brothers_(miniseries))
  • - [Stunt Race FX](https://www.mobygames.com/game/14676/stunt-race-fx/)
  • - [Cruis'n Blast](https://www.mobygames.com/game/88676/cruisn-blast/)
  • - [Rush'n Attack](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3020/rushn-attack/)
  • - [Earthworm Jim](https://www.mobygames.com/game/2927/earthworm-jim/)
  • - [Tommy Tallarico](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0twDETh6QaI)
  • - [Lucky & Wild](https://www.mobygames.com/game/149022/lucky-wild/)
  • - [BioShock](https://www.mobygames.com/game/29886/bioshock/)
  • - [Donkey Kong Country](https://www.mobygames.com/game/5199/donkey-kong-country/)
  • - [Little Ralph’s Big Adventure](https://www.mobygames.com/game/52963/chippoke-ralph-no-daiboken-the-adventure-of-little-ralph/)
  • - [Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom (1984)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indiana_Jones_and_the_Temple_of_Doom)
  • - [The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom](https://www.mobygames.com/game/203119/the-legend-of-zelda-tears-of-the-kingdom/)
  • - [Panzer Dragoon II: Zwei](https://www.mobygames.com/game/11063/panzer-dragoon-ii-zwei/)
  • - [Alundra](https://www.mobygames.com/game/5928/alundra/)
  • - [Landstalker](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6955/landstalker/)
  • - [Irritating Stick](https://www.mobygames.com/game/4450/irritating-stick/)
  • - [Pokémon GO](https://www.mobygames.com/game/79246/pokemon-go/)
  • - [The Rub Rabbits!](https://www.mobygames.com/game/21487/the-rub-rabbits/)
  • - [Feel the Magic XY/XX](https://www.mobygames.com/game/15722/feel-the-magic-xyxx/)
  • - [LovePlus](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LovePlus)
  • - [Balan Wonderworld](https://www.mobygames.com/game/161326/balan-wonderworld/)
  • - [Zynga](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zynga)
  • - [Fortnite: Battle Royale](https://www.mobygames.com/game/104208/fortnite-battle-royale/)
  • - [FarmVille](https://www.mobygames.com/game/47268/farmville/)
  • - [Mafia Wars](https://www.mobygames.com/game/46015/mafia-wars/)
  • - [Ryū ga Gotoku / Like a Dragon / Yakuza series](https://www.mobygames.com/group/8208/ryu-ga-gotoku-like-a-dragon-yakuza-series/)
  • - [Dead or Alive: Xtreme Beach Volleyball](https://www.mobygames.com/game/8242/dead-or-alive-xtreme-beach-volleyball/)
  • - [Lost Judgment](https://www.mobygames.com/game/172770/lost-judgment/)
  • - [Takuya Kimura](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Takuya_Kimura)
  • - [Fighting Vipers](https://www.mobygames.com/game/12693/fighting-vipers/)
  • - [Streets of Rage](https://www.mobygames.com/game/6599/streets-of-rage/)
  • **Recommendations:**
    **Tim**: If you are part of the committee that plans The Game Awards with Geoff Keighley, please come up with better award categories
    **Frank**: [The Video Game History Foundation Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/gamehistoryorg)
    **Brandon:** [Mr. Ray’s Wig World - Faster Kitty Cat Play Play](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dD_K7Xch8co)

    This week’s Insert Credit Show is brought to you by [patrons like you](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit). Thank you.

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-insert-credit-show/id1651429066), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    >

    @“esper”#p143678 Spencer: Best Game By an American Branch of a Japanese Company (16:02)

    *Final Fantasy IX*, baby!! Developed in Honolulu!

    Other mechanical awards in videogames I'd like to see

  • -

    Best Idle Animation

  • -

    Best Short Game (100% the plot in under 10 hours)

  • -

    Best Controller Use (using the every part of the controller in intuitive and interesting ways throughout the game and not just as a gimmick, this will probably be 2/3rds nintendo games)

  • It's weird that under the current categories you see the same handful of games in most of them. I guess other awards shows have the same problem, though, but it seems more glaring from my armchair over here.

    In the spirit of The Game Awards 2023 game awards of 2023, this post will be intertwined with too many and too long videos.

    >

    Gaagaagiins: Best Standardized Box Art Platform Frames (02:15)

    It’s definitely the PC Engine for its foresight of having the box and box art guidelines of its HuCard games retrospectively "compatible" with the format of the subsequent CD-ROM^2 and Super CD-ROM^2 games.

    https://youtu.be/m_EGrAavrOI

    >

    Propelleher: Best Scoff (05:35)

    [URL=https://i.imgur.com/0vewNpK.jpg][IMG]https://i.imgur.com/0vewNpK.jpg[/IMG][/URL]

    >

    rice9 : Best eSport of the 1980s (07:16)

    Probably Tecmo Bowl or Tetris but I’ll nominate Ice Hockey (NES/FDS).

    https://youtu.be/XrU_ae84pYo

    >

    Breadytodie: Best Overtly Political Japanese Game (08:48)

    Every city builder is eminently political so I nominate Animal Crossing: New Horizons because I am still not over the stupid animals of my commune docking me some precious (village ranking) stars for planting "too many trees" of which the leaves, wood and fruits were not only a fundamental source of oxygen and photosynthesis for the island but also the main economic resource for the financing of the town’s infrastructures on behalf of their lazy reclusive jobless anti-ecologic conservative arses. My own little Brexit island.

    https://youtu.be/_51_YJQpeg0

    >

    Cole: Best Campfire Scene (10:59)

    The beginning of Dragon Quest VI, specifically because it sets up a subsequent callback way later in the game.

    https://youtu.be/67D7dO43kKU?t=1m35s

    >

    IntergalacticWalrus: Best Playable Non-Anthropomorphic Animal (13:14)

    Tokyo Jungle’s pomeranian, of course. I am quite surprised @"exodus"#3 didn’t go there.

    https://youtu.be/Hre_wG7UFYE

    >

    Spencer: Best Game By an American Branch of a Japanese Company (16:02)

    (Sonic 2 was a great answer, not gonna lie.)

    https://youtu.be/X2z9mwLQEfk

    >

    Larky: Most Incidentally Educational Game (18:59)

    Has to be Minecraft.

    https://youtu.be/-BP7DhHTU-I

    >

    rearnakedwindow: Best Game Exclusive to a Legitimately Bad Console (22:13)

    How topical, here is today’s Rndstranger video.

    https://youtu.be/HFsQohaQzvU

    >

    Alex Jaffe: Best Video Game to Name Your Band After (24:53)

    Peter Jackson's King Kong: The Official Game of the Movie – The Band

    https://youtu.be/IZkhZZOwjjc

    >

    ANONYMOUS GOD HAND LOVER: Game Most Like GOD HAND (27:15)

    ~~Sifu~~ SIFU

    https://youtu.be/d-cuhav01Fc

    >

    Billy: Best Underwater Tunnel in a Racing Game (28:34)

    Let’s give Billy what Billy wanted all along.

    https://youtu.be/DSH-ZQCh15c?t=34s

    >

    Sfwublin: Best Mine Carts (31:01)

    Let’s keep the Sega love truckin’.

    https://youtu.be/gK8XMvjo7Yk

    >

    Justin Hamrick: Most Dangerous Video Game (33:47)

    « The study concluded that the nationwide “increase in crashes attributable to the introduction of Pokémon Go is 145,632 with an associated increase in the number of injuries of 29,370 and an associated increase in the number of fatalities of 256". »

    https://youtu.be/Tm5l2R4jYg4

    >

    Pro Skater 4: Most Evil Video Game (36:41)

    I won’t dignify Custer’s Revenge with an embedded video.

    https://youtu.be/akT8eq2lRk0

    >

    Erica: Most Video Game-Ass Video Game (39:05)

    It’s not the answer, but during that super boring second part of the Game Awards, there was that mind-numbing tunnel of similar-looking UE5 shooters being showcased one after the other, and when this trailer popped up, I remember at first not even realizing we had moved to a different game than the one just shown prior…

    https://youtu.be/fgwZ-xB4cBk

    … Until THIS SHOT (starting around 0m59s):

    [URL=https://i.imgur.com/7z2kiz0.jpg][IMG]https://i.imgur.com/7z2kiz0.jpg[/IMG][/URL]
    [URL=https://i.imgur.com/8xuMDle.jpg][IMG]https://i.imgur.com/8xuMDle.jpg[/IMG][/URL]

    … Which made me go "oh wait! This has to be a different game, this is totally a Korean game, I can tell a video game ass and camera designed by a Korean developer when I see one" and it turned out to be Nexon’s The First Descendant.

    So that’s a "video game ass" video game.

    >

    @“◉◉maru”#p143861 Spencer: Best Game By an American Branch of a Japanese Company (16:02)

    what do you mean by this one? was uncharted the lost legacy not developed by naughty dog? or are you including it just because it was published by sony?

    @“穴”#p143862 Well, Naughty Dog is an American studio owned by the Japanese conglomerate Sony.

    @“◉◉maru”#p143863 got it. the lost legacy seemed like an odd choice to me so I thought there might have been some weird development situation or something

    @“穴”#p143864 If I may be allowed a slightly cheeky response: it’s Uncharted 4, but good!

    @“◉◉maru”#p143866 it‘s the only uncharted I haven’t played cause I got burned out after 4. ill give it a shot. you play as a woman and it‘s a short game so I it’s gotta be the best one

    >

    @“esper”#p143678 Sfwublin: Best Mine Carts (31:01)

    I'd like to nominate Brave Fencer Musashi - provided trolleys are acceptable as a method of transport in a mine:

    https://youtu.be/d1prWMl_Gkw?si=8lY9-wtVilBiqqzw

    @exodus how many Chihuahuas?

    Game I most want to play but probably won't for a few more years

    >

    @“◉◉maru”#p143861 I am quite surprised @exodus_merge didn’t go there.

    Didn't want to give Tim the satisfaction!! Now if it were a chihuahua...

    Mom liked this one! I think she just likes when they're under an hour

    @“Jaffe”#p143935 hey, me too!

    Not Frank with the quick Scott Pilgrim diss!!

    Also, any [Supergiant Games](https://www.supergiantgames.com) game would be a sick band name.

    "We are Hades II, ONE TWO THREE FOUR-!"

    Strong agree with @exodus on PC Engine having the best standardized box art, but I'm surprised there was no mention of Saturn Japanese packaging. I love that tasteful golden strip and otherwise minimal branding. It feels a little out of step with 90s design trends, in a good way; more like a premium line of anime OVA Laserdiscs (much like PC Engine, actually). The obis are hella sweet, too.

    [URL=https://i.imgur.com/TmTuKrt.jpg][IMG]https://i.imgur.com/TmTuKrt.jpg[/IMG][/URL]
    [URL=https://i.imgur.com/mxzFKwb.jpg][IMG]https://i.imgur.com/mxzFKwb.jpg[/IMG][/URL]
    (taken from https://www.ebay.com/itm/304283463408)

    I’m from the U.K. so my best “scoff” is Pac-Man’s :wink:

    @“Fami”#p143979 I thought about it but for me the “brushed steel” (or gold in this case) look feels a bit long in the tooth to me now - also, with a very distinctive color, it looks good on some games and clashes with others. It looks great on Deep Fear! But I linkle liver story it's a bit chashy to me.

    @"Punzai"#p144004 oh! Scoffing is eating?