The language learning thread

I thought it might be interesting to hear what experiences people have on here with languages.

I started learning (Mandarin) Chinese in 2014. I had graduated from high school a year early but, for various reasons, I didn't immediately go to college. This wasn't really a "gap year", since that term makes me think of people going on luxurious trips around the world or at least working in some capacity. I just sat in my room without going outside. Until the spring of 2015, when I started seeing a therapist, I don't think I spoke aloud with anyone except my parents. Very early on though, I think maybe a week or two after I finished high school, I bought an old Chinese textbook and downloaded the tapes that were supposed to go with it off the internet. Over the summer and fall working through the textbook was pretty much all I did.