Ep. 227 - Door Bustin’ Gun Totin’ Flea Men

### Ep. 227 - Door Bustin’ Gun Totin’ Flea Men

In an eternal battle against time constraints, the panel speedruns tricky topics like shader bananas, unusually serious discussion of bullying, and Badstlevanias. Hosted by Alex Jaffe, with Frank Cifaldi, Tim Rogers and Brandon Sheffield. Edited by Esper Quinn, original music by Kurt Feldman.

**Questions this week:**

  • 1. Is there anything we want to talk about from the recent Sony State of Play event? (02:13)
  • 2. How do you use video games to raise $3.5 million for Ukraine in three days? (08:37)
  • 3. When do you feel like a game was made specifically for you? (13:53)
  • 4. How can we stop Quantic Dream’s Star Wars game from being finished? (18:52)
  • 5. Violence Island (26:12)
  • Outro (38:34)

    **A SMALL SELECTION OF THINGS REFERENCED:**

  • - [Gran Turismo](https://www.mobygames.com/game/playstation/gran-turismo)
  • - [Sony State of Play](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IeKlckhHlrc)
  • - [Lost Planet: Extreme Condition](https://www.mobygames.com/game/lost-planet-extreme-condition)
  • - [Dino Crisis](https://www.mobygames.com/game/dino-crisis)
  • - [Exoprimal](https://kotaku.com/capcom-exoprimal-dinosaurs-state-of-play-ps5-ps4-playst-1848631508)
  • - [The Diofield Chronicle](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a_Jnap7qQK8)
  • - [Growlanser](https://www.mobygames.com/game/growlanser)
  • - [Ogre Battle series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/ogre-battle-series)
  • - [Fire Emblem series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/fire-emblem-series)
  • - [Octopath Traveler](https://www.mobygames.com/game/octopath-traveler)
  • - [TMNT: The Cowabunga Collection](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nlaZF5bxc50)
  • - [Valkyrie Elysium](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ve_JJ5uH72A)
  • - [Bundle for Ukraine](https://itch.io/b/1316/bundle-for-ukraine)
  • - [Blind Play Game Recommendations from the Ukraine Bundle - insert credit forums](https://forums.insertcredit.com/d/1384-blind-play-game-recommendations-from-the-ukraine-bundle)
  • - [A Short Hike](https://www.mobygames.com/game/a-short-hike)
  • - [Celeste](https://www.mobygames.com/game/celeste)
  • - [Baba Is You](https://www.mobygames.com/game/baba-is-you)
  • - [Kingdom: Two Crowns](https://www.mobygames.com/game/kingdom-two-crowns)
  • - [Backbone](https://www.mobygames.com/game/backbone)
  • - [Cloud Gardens](https://www.mobygames.com/game/cloud-gardens)
  • - [CrossCode](https://www.mobygames.com/game/crosscode)
  • - [Wandersong](https://www.mobygames.com/game/wandersong)
  • - [Paradise Killer](https://www.mobygames.com/game/paradise-killer)
  • - [Valis](https://www.mobygames.com/game/valis)
  • - [Lupin III: Pandora no Isan](https://www.giantbomb.com/lupin-iii-pandora-no-isan/3030-33521/)
  • - [Attack of the Friday Monsters!](https://www.mobygames.com/game/3ds/attack-of-the-friday-monsters)
  • - [Cheese Cat-Astrophe starring Speedy Gonzales](https://www.mobygames.com/game/cheese-cat-astrophe-starring-speedy-gonzales)
  • - [Star Wars Eclipse from Quantic Dream revealed at The Game Awards](https://www.polygon.com/22827182/star-wars-eclipse-quantic-dream-game-awards)
  • - [Workplace harassment charges jolt Quantic Dream](https://www.polygon.com/2018/1/14/16890536/quantic-dream-workplace-harassment-allegations)
  • - [Detroit: Become Human](https://www.mobygames.com/game/detroit-become-human)
  • - [Gabriel Belmont](https://castlevania.fandom.com/wiki/Dracula_(Lords_of_Shadow))
  • - [Franziska von Karma](https://aceattorney.fandom.com/wiki/Franziska_von_Karma)
  • - [Castlevania / Akumajō Dracula series](https://www.mobygames.com/game-group/castlevania-akumaj-dracula-series)
  • - [Raving Rabbids](https://rabbids.fandom.com/wiki/Rabbids)
  • - [Rub Rabbits](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Rub_Rabbits!)
  • - [Linkle](https://zelda.fandom.com/wiki/Linkle)
  • - [Bowsette](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bowsette)
  • - [Linkle Liver Story](https://www.mobygames.com/game/sega-saturn/linkle-liver-story)
  • - [Geese Howard](https://snk.fandom.com/wiki/Geese_Howard)
  • - [Goose](https://untitledgoosegame.fandom.com/wiki/Goose)
  • **Recommendations: [Bundle for Ukraine](https://itch.io/b/1316/bundle-for-ukraine)**

    Support on [Patreon](https://www.patreon.com/insertcredit)

    Subscribe: [RSS](https://insertcredit.com/show/rss), [Apple Podcasts](https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/insert-credit-show/id1509363651), [Google Podcasts](https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnNlcnRjcmVkaXQuY29tL3Nob3cvcnNzLw), [Spotify](https://open.spotify.com/show/6CwWZE5p7vazIV1jrV9hln), and more!

    {“sticky”:true}

    growl answer growl answer * ding *

    Just a heads-up: I‘m not sure how this plays out on your end, but the new episode isn’t showing up in the app ‘Podcast Addict’.

    I'm okay downloading the MP3 and just listening to it, but other listeners might not know that's an option.

    I'm taking severe issue with the overall Brandon Blast^tm^ing this episode, because I thought Valkyrie Elysium looked terrible

    I also thought it was about linkle liver story….

    I also can’t see this episode on my podcast feed currently. I’m using Overcast on iOS but I guess it’s a problem with the RSS feed rather than anything app specific?

    @“Girard”#p62488 i think i fixed it, i forgot to add the “show” tag on our backend. give it maybe ten minutes and see if it pops up. thanks for the heads up!!

    @“esper”#p62500 Shows up for me now on my Podcast Addict client! I also couldn't see it earlier either.

    I feel like a game was specifically made for me when a game has a jump button and there's no earthly reason for it. Whoever thought up the jump button quest in Ni No Kuni feels exactly like I do about jump buttons.

    I only saw the very end of the State of Play which was Valkyrie Elysium, which I didn‘t understand, and then saw the entire twitter feed blow up about a series I didn’t know about. I was also like “this looks empty, weird”

    >

    @“esper”#p62442 When do you feel like a game was made specifically for you?

    If you are a talking animal in the game, or there is a talking animal in the game somewhere, yeah. It can be terrible, on a game system that's also terrible, and I'll still spend 4-5 hours digging through forums trying to find the bios file to make the emulator work. I like Biomutant, that's how bad this is. I'm not into Elden Ring but after finding ||Blaidd|| I'm like "maybe I'll check this out"

    >

    @“marlfuchs2”#p62537 I’m not into Elden Ring but after finding…

    I think you a-wooould like it!

    @“esper”#p62500

    Yep! It's all good now, and now I can listen in a way that satisfies the part of my brain that appreciates it when an episode gets a green check mark in my podcast app!

    David cage games are like the blood test from the thing where you can figure out who‘s a glassy eyed alien based on how much the ostensibly sane and we’ll adjusted person will praise it

    This week I bought 5 foot of Nikel plated steel chain to use as a bike lock. Castlevania seems pretty realistic when I think about the damage whipping like a 40 lb chain could do. Could definitely smash a science classroom skeleton model with a couple strikes.

    @“treefroggy”#p62625 my first job ever was putting chain on hoists all day, and wow! chain can get so heavy. the weight of the chain scales very quickly with the weight of the individual links. anyone who could whip a chain with links as big as the ones in castlevania look would be crazy strong.

    Here’s my mom’s review of this one:

    “Can’t believe no one laughed at that joke you made about Tim’s answers”

    >

    @“Jaffe”#p62656 Here’s my mom’s review of this one:


    >
    >

    “Can’t believe no one laughed at that joke you made about Tim’s answers”

    It was a revelation to hear an episode or two ago that you have a crummy internet connection, enough so that sometimes your jokes may be not even heard at all.

    Not to also be a mom but _I_ love your jokes (also if you haven't eaten yet go get something to eat)

    I'm looking forward to the quantic dream star wars game - is it taken for granted that star wars is good and needs to be protected or something? What more can anyone really hope for from a relentless corporate media franchise for children than quantic dream wastes a ton of money making something extremely dumb and self-important ?

    anyway I‘m sure they’ll be a tight lease from disney anyway so it's not going to be too huge of a disaster unfortunately