"I Need to do X before I can do Y"

Does anyone else feel a weird type of psychological compulsion where there are things you Must Do In Order To Do Other Things? I‘m thinking particularly of my hobbies. i.e. I started playing Hardspace Shipbreaker last weekend for a bit, and I’ve wanted to jump back into it all week; however I am also currently trying to finish reading Dune before the movie comes out (I‘m not a very fast reader). So all week I’ve been like “No, I Cannot play Hardship Spacebreaker; I Must Finish Dune First.”

I also get this with my "backlog" of games, like I will find a game that looks neat and think I should play it but then I go "No, I Must First Finish Baldur's Gate 3" or whatever the heck. It's not always like this though, if there's something I *really* wanna do I'll just do it or start playing it or reading it but sometimes it gets in the way and it feels weird.

Anyone else got this? How do you manage it?

I do 100% do this. And no, I don‘t know how to manage it, lol. Although I did have some success recently with letting myself enjoy the good thing Now. I’ve been reading some dc comics from around the time of Crisis on Infinite Earths and I gave myself a reading list that charts a course through a few different characters I‘m interested in. The problem is that some of those old comics can get a little stale 50 issues in. So I set up an escape valve for myself where at any point I was losing interest, I promised myself I would read the proven good Gaiman Sandman. And it worked! I got bored during a Teen Titans storyline and switched to Sandman and I’m excited about comics again.